Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Literature > Tales from the Vault! Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Tales From The Vault! Canadian Pulp Fiction 1940-1952
Table of Contents
About Tales From the Vault!
Introduction
Canadian Pulp Industry
English Pulp Collection
French Pulp Collection
Themes
Corrupting Morals
Decline of the Pulps
Effects of the Pulps

Gallery!

Flash Version

Full-Length Magazines
Educational Resources
Letters to the Editor
Credits

Section title: Societal and Cultural Themes in the Pulps

"Brown Paper Wrappers"

Advertisements in the Pulps

Delivered to your door in a discrete brown paper wrapper! Sold only to engaged or married adults! Don't delay! Check, sign and mail coupon today!

Advertisements in Canadian pulp magazines from the 1940s and 1950s reveal something about the character of the Canadian public at the time -- something that normally would only have been revealed behind closed bedroom doors.

As the popularity of the pulps themselves shows, there was definitely a market opportunity for those willing to pander to the public's more carnal interests, and mail order provided the perfect way to do it. Publications that people wouldn't be seen buying at their local newsstand or druggist could easily be purchased anonymously through mail-order companies and delivered directly to their doors in a "discrete brown paper wrapper."

Page 65 of pulp magazine SENSATIONAL LOVE EXPERIENCES, volume 9, number 1 (January 1950), featuring an advertisement for eight romance novels   Page 68 of pulp magazine SENSATIONAL LOVE EXPERIENCES, volume 9, number 1 (January 1950), featuring advertisements for books on contraception and hypnotism
Source   Source

Titles such as Live, Love and Like It, How to Get Along with Girls, and Natural Control of Contraception might seem mild by today's standards, but as Carolyn Strange and Tina Loo (2004, p. 56) observe in True Crime, True North, in an era when the publication of information about birth control was technically illegal, books that dealt frankly with the facts of life were dynamite.

Most of the ads for these books directed people to send their money to the Alexander Sales Co. of Toronto, by far the most prominent purveyor of such materials. Mindful of the watchful eyes of censors, many of Alexander's ads included the prohibition "sold only to engaged or married adults" -- although how the customer's marital status was established is unclear.

Even more dubious is the stipulation that accompanies the ad for the book How to Draw from the Nude by Charles Hope Provost. The ad claims that the book is "The Buy of the Year" and includes "34 photographs from nature." Due to its content, however, it is to be "sold only to art students and adults" (Scoop Detective Cases, 1950, p. 80). Clearly, anyone interested in ogling the models of How to Draw from the Nude could claim to be an art student and, assuming their money was good, get the chance.

Based on the ads, we can construct a profile of the pulp magazine audience, at least as they were perceived by the publishers. The ads indicate that the publishers saw the readership of the pulps as distinct from (and distinctly older than) that of their comic books, and they pitched their sales accordingly. There were no X-ray glasses or itching powders for sale here, and any cartoon books that were advertised were likely to be what was euphemistically referred to as a "bachelor's book," full of saucy illustrations and bawdy jokes.

Page 80 of pulp magazine SCOOP DETECTIVE CASES, volume 8, number 1 (April 1950), featuring advertisement for a book, How to Draw from the Nude   Page 64 of pulp magazine SENSATIONAL LOVE EXPERIENCES, volume 9, number 1 (January 1950), featuring an advertisement for a book, DIANA, on lesbian love affairs
Source   Source

The people reading the pulps were by and large adults, of both genders, with disposable incomes. They were ready to order and spend for everyday items, such as household tools or gadgets for work or leisure. More risqué items were implicitly advertised in accordance with possible marital duties, and the ads indicated that the publishers knew it. Along with the publications listed above, the pulps sold products designed to appeal to their female readers, such as "Sexational Perfume" (Sensational Love Experiences, 1950, p. 55), the "Great Date Blouse" -- an original creation of the seemingly illustrious "Elizabeth of Hollywood" (Sensational Love Experiences, 1950, p. 49) -- and a mysterious "Hormone Cream" (Sensational Love Experiences, 1950, p. 58) that may or may not have had aphrodisiac properties.

Page 55 of pulp magazine SENSATIONAL LOVE EXPERIENCES, volume 9, number 1, featuring an advertisement for love HOW-TO books and SEXATIONAL perfume (January 1950)   Page 58 of pulp magazine SENSATIONAL LOVE EXPERIENCES, volume 9, number 1, featuring an advertisement for Nocturne Hormone Cream (January 1950)
Source   Source

Alongside these items were less spicy offerings like hands-free flashlights, four-in-one screwdrivers, instructions on how to make your own wine at home, complete cutlery sets, luminous paint kits, first-aid guides, pocket telescopes and fire extinguishers. For married or engaged couples looking to equip a modern household (and a modern library) the pulps were clearly an invaluable resource.

Page 78 of pulp magazine SCOOP DETECTIVE CASES, volume 8, number 1 (April 1950), featuring advertisements for adult books, screwdrivers and a winemaking kit
Source

For single men and women looking to satisfy their carnal curiosity, though, they offered more -- in the form of the romance pulps and bachelor's magazines.

 

 

 

 

References

Scoop Detective Cases. Vol. 8, no. 1 (April 1950).

Sensational Love Experiences. Vol. 9, no. 1 (January 1950).

Strange, Carolyn, and Tina Loo. True Crime, True North: the Golden Age of Canadian Pulp Magazines. Vancouver: Raincoast Books, 2004.

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Littérature > Des histoires à bon marché! English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : Des histoires à Bon Marché! Les romans en fascicules de 1940 à 1952
Table des matières
À propos des histoires à bon marché!
Introduction
Industrie du roman en fascicules
Collection de langue anglaise
Collection de langue française
Thèmes
Corruption des moeurs
Le déclin des romans en fascicules
L'influence des romans en fascicules

Galerie!

Version Flash

Éditions intégrales des magazines
Ressources pédagogiques
Boîte aux lettres
Générique du site

Titre de section : Thèmes

« Emballage discret en papier brun »

La publicité dans les romans en fascicules

Livré à votre porte dans un emballage discret en papier brun! Vendu uniquement à des adultes fiancés ou mariés! Ne tardez plus! Remplissez et signez ce coupon et postez-le dès aujourd'hui!

La publicité dans les romans en fascicules des années 1940 et 1950 révélait certaines particularités du public canadien de l'époque, des particularités qui n'auraient pourtant dû être révélées qu'en privé.

Comme en témoignait la popularité des romans en fascicules, le marché était très florissant pour les éditeurs disposés à assouvir les instincts du public porté sur la chose, et les commandes par correspondance étaient pour eux la façon idéale de vendre leurs produits. Si les lecteurs voulaient s'assurer de ne pas être vus en train d'acheter des publications au kiosque à journaux ou à la pharmacie du coin, ils pouvaient facilement se les procurer dans l'anonymat. Ils n'avaient qu'à placer une commande par correspondance et leur publication était livrée à leur porte dans un « emballage discret en papier brun ».

Page 65 du fascicule SENSATIONAL LOVE EXPERIENCES, volume 9, numéro 1 (janvier 1950), annonçant huit romans d'amour   Page 68 du fascicule SENSATIONAL LOVE EXPERIENCES, volume 9, numéro 1 (janvier 1950), annonçant des livres sur la contraception et sur l'hypnotisme
Source   Source

Des titres tels que Live, Love and Like It, How to Get Along with Girls et Natural Control of Contraception peuvent sembler banals de nos jours. Cependant, comme l'ont observé Carolyn Strange et Tina Loo (2004, p. 56) dans True Crime, True North, à une époque où l'information sur le contrôle des naissances était en principe illégale, les livres qui traitaient ouvertement de ce sujet explosif connaissaient un succès clandestin assuré.

La plupart des publicités annonçant ces livres invitaient les gens à envoyer leur argent à l'entreprise Alexander Sales Co. de Toronto, qui était de loin le plus important fournisseur de ce type de publications. Consciente qu'elle était la cible de censeurs vigilants, l'entreprise ajoutait à ses annonces la restriction « Vendu uniquement à des adultes fiancés ou mariés ». Cependant, comment l'entreprise déterminait l'état matrimonial de ses clients demeure à ce jour un mystère insoluble.

Mais l'annonce du livre How to Draw from the Nude, de Charles Hope Provost, comportait une affirmation encore plus douteuse. Cette annonce soutenait que le livre était « l'achat de l'année » et qu'il contenait « 34 photos de modèles dans le plus simple appareil ». Puis elle ajoutait que, en raison de son contenu, le livre ne pouvait être vendu « qu'aux adultes et aux étudiants en art » (Scoop Detective Cases, 1950, p. 80). Évidemment, quiconque avait envie de reluquer les modèles de How to Draw from the Nude pouvait se prétendre étudiant en beaux-arts, et ce, pourvu qu'il ait l'argent nécessaire pour obtenir son exemplaire.

L'examen de ces publicités permet de dresser le profil des lecteurs de romans en fascicules, du moins de celui que perçoivent les éditeurs. Les annonces révèlent en effet que, aux yeux des éditeurs, les amateurs de romans en fascicules constituaient un groupe bien distinct de celui que formaient les lecteurs de bandes dessinées, et considérablement plus âgé. Les éditeurs se fondaient sur cette conception pour cibler leurs produits. Les annonces de lunettes à rayon X et de poudre à gratter n'avaient pas leur place dans les fascicules, et les seuls albums de bandes dessinées susceptibles d'y être annoncés étaient ceux que l'on appelait euphémiquement les « livres pour hommes seulement », des publications regorgeant d'images émoustillantes et d'histoires grivoises.

Page 80 du fascicule SCOOP DETECTIVE CASES, volume 8, numéro 1 (avril 1950), annonçant le livre How to Draw from the Nude   Page 64 du fascicule SENSATIONAL LOVE EXPERIENCES, volume 9, numéro 1 (janvier 1950), annonçant le livre intitulé DIANA qui porte sur l'amour entre lesbiennes
Source   Source

De façon générale, le public intéressé aux romans en fascicules se composait d'hommes et de femmes adultes qui disposaient d'un revenu personnel de consommation. Ces lecteurs n'hésitaient pas à commander des objets usuels tels que des articles ménagers et des gadgets liés au travail ou aux loisirs. Les articles plus osés étaient annoncés dans le but implicite de servir à l'accomplissement du devoir conjugal, et les annonces indiquaient que les éditeurs le savaient. Outre les publications mentionnées plus haut, les publicités des fascicules annonçaient des produits qui s'adressaient tout spécialement aux lectrices, tels que le parfum sensuel « Sexational Perfume » (Sensational Love Experiences, 1950, p. 55), le chemisier « Great Date Blouse », une création originale de l'apparemment célèbre « Elizabeth of Hollywood » (Sensational Love Experiences, 1950, p. 49), ainsi qu'une mystérieuse « crème aux hormones » (Sensational Love Experiences, 1950, p. 58), qui aurait prétendument eu certaines propriétés aphrodisiaques.

Page 55 du fascicule SENSATIONAL LOVE EXPERIENCES, volume 9, numéro 1 (janvier 1950), annonçant des livres sur les relations amoureuses et le parfum SEXATIONAL   Page 58 du fascicule SENSATIONAL LOVE EXPERIENCES, volume 9, numéro 1 (janvier 1950), annonçant la crème aux hormones Nocturne
Source   Source

Les annonces offraient aussi des articles moins libertins, comme des lampes de poche mains libres, des tournevis à quatre fonctions, des guides pour la fabrication du vin à domicile, des ensembles de coutellerie, des trousses de peinture luminescente, des manuels de secourisme, des télescopes de poche et des extincteurs. Pour les couples mariés ou fiancés qui désiraient se procurer des produits ménagers modernes (et garnir leur bibliothèque de publications modernes), les fascicules se révélaient une ressource inestimable.

Page 78 du fascicule SCOOP DETECTIVE CASES, volume 8, numéro 1 (avril 1950), annonçant des livres pour adultes, des tournevis et un nécessaire à vin
Source

Mais les fascicules en offraient encore davantage aux célibataires qui cherchaient à satisfaire leurs connaissances charnelles : les romans d'amour et les magazines pour hommes seulement étaient spécialement conçus à leur intention.

 

 

 

 

Références

Scoop Detective Cases, vol. 8, no 1 (avril 1950).

Sensational Love Experiences, vol. 9, no 1 (janvier 1950).

Strange, Carolyn, et Tina Loo. True Crime, True North: the Golden Age of Canadian Pulp Magazines, Vancouver, Raincoast Books, 2004.