Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Literature > Tales from the Vault! Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Tales From The Vault! Canadian Pulp Fiction 1940-1952
Table of Contents
About Tales From the Vault!
Introduction
Canadian Pulp Industry
English Pulp Collection
French Pulp Collection
Themes
Corrupting Morals
Decline of the Pulps
Effects of the Pulps

Gallery!

Flash Version

Full-Length Magazines
Educational Resources
Letters to the Editor
Credits


Educational Resources

Lesson 3

The resource is being field-tested and is subject to revision.

Overview | Lesson 1 | Lesson 2 | Lesson 3 | Lesson 4

Women and Gender Roles in the Pulp

Synopsis

Women are most likely to be portrayed in Canadian pulp magazines of the 1940s as either 'bad girls' or victims. Four English stories along with a male-voice monologue, and five French stories will provide an opportunity for students to examine variations on gender stereotyping in pulp stories.

Specific Expectations

Students will

  • Conduct an inductive study of women characters in four stories and observe gender stereotyping in Canadian pulp stories of the 1940s.
  • Analyze an issue of a contemporary pop 'romance' magazine such as True Confessions or an equivalent in French or English in order to detect the presence or absence of gender stereotyping.
  • Manipulate the narrative point of view of a pulp story in order to counterbalance gender stereotyping.

Preparation

1.Make available the following stories from the Tales From the Vault Website at www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/pulp/027019-1900-e.html:

"I Was the Moll of a Hot Car Mob" - Sensational Crime Confessions, January 1946, p. 32
"I Was a Gambling Girl" - Sensational Crime Confessions, January 1946, p. 4
"Murder in the Graveyard" - Uncanny Tales, November 1940, p. 1
"Dead Men Do Talk" - Yarns, July 1941, p. 23
"Dear Clara" - Stag, Fall 1941, p. 30.
"Combats sanglants" - Histoires de cow-boys, p. 3*
"Santa-Claus et ses pareils", Histoires de Cow-Boys, p. 24*
"Le cow-boy au coeur tendre" , Histoires de cow-boys, p. 28*
"Le Perroquet des prairies", Histoires de cow-boys, p. 31*
"Les aventures amoureuses d'un 'lumberJack'", Les Drames de l'amour

*It is interesting to examine the way women were portayed in Histoires des cow-boys. They were mostly mentionned at the end of the story and were shown as being the victim.

2. Have available one or more copies of a contemporary pulp magazine with stories featuring male / female interaction or relationships.

3. Make copies of Handout 3.1 - "A Rubric for writing to alter a narrative point of view"

4. Bookmark these online resources dealing with women and pulp magazines:

www.news.utoronto.ca/bin5/040426c.asp

www.mutoworld.com/pulps.htm

www.mutoworld.com/SpicyGenrePulps.htm

http://www.arts.mcgill.ca/programs/AHCS/cultureofcities/Gallery2/index.html

www.arts.mcgill.ca/programs/AHCS/cultureofcities/Gallery3/front.html

5. Additional background resources:

Bad Girls of Pulp Fiction, Campbell, Armstrong and Rekulak, Harper-Collins, 2002
True Crime, True North, Strange and Loo, Raincoast Books, 2004 "'Unfaithful to Both': Romance and the Portrayal of Women in the Pulps" LAC monograph
Culture of Cities: Montreal, Dublin, Toronto, Berlin. McGill Research Team, Straw, Will. "Culture of Cities: Print Culture and Urban Visuality."

Time

75-100 minutes

Process

Introduction (20 minutes)

1. Show overheads or projected images of pulp magazine covers from the Tales From the Vault "gallery" featuring female characters. Brainstorm with students what these images communicate about female characters in the 'classic' pulp magazine genres" detective, romance, western, ghost/supernatural.
2. Broaden the discussion to include what students see as 'traditional' male/female roles in popular fiction - make two columns on the board or on an overhead transparency and head one "men" and the other "women".
3. Explain that students will analyze four Canadian pulp magazine stories written in the 1940s in order to determine the cultural depiction of gender roles and the presence of gender stereotyping.

Body of Lesson (40-60 minutes)

1. In order to get male / female reader responses to the stories, divide the class into groups with both perspectives represented. Assign members of half the groups to read "I Was A Gambling Girl" and "Murder in the Graveyard", and the other half to read "I Was the Moll of a Hot Car Mob", "Dead Men Do Talk", and "Dear Clara". This way all students will read one pulp 'confession' from a female point of view, and another where the narrator is either male - in two cases - or third person narration in the other case.

Note: Why is it that every story is written from a male point of view? What does this suggest about the perceptions of gender roles in this time period? Do these views accurately describe women as individuals? What would women from that era say about these perceptions?

2. Give students time to read their two stories and to keep a reader's response log while reading. Ask them to record things that they observe concerning gender roles. They should use direct quotes where possible, or summarize plot action or character interaction. As part of their response, ask them to include personal reaction to the depiction of gender roles or to the presence of what they consider gender stereotyping - particularly in regard to the limitations placed on women characters' behaviour and roles.
3. When students have finished their reading logs, ask them, in their groups, to trade logs with another person in the group. Students will read each other's logs. Ask students to share with the group something from that person's reading log that you found interesting, or that was a point of agreement or disagreement for them. Let the discussion continue until all students have had an opportunity to express these views.
4. Give each group an overhead transparency and pen, and ask them to summarize their main observations about gender roles and cultural views of women that emerge from the stories.
5. Each group should present its overhead and comment on the findings of their gender analysis of the stories.
6. Summarize by discussing some tentative conclusions about the roles and depiction of women in Canadian pulp fiction of the 1940s.

Conclusion

Ask students to brainstorm about how women's roles in Canadian society - and in fiction and the media - have changed since the 1940s. You may wish to touch on the impact of World War II in terms of a major shift in women's cultural and social roles, contrasting the 'war years' with the cultural and social realities of Canada today.

Writing opportunity

Considering these stories in the context of the depiction of women provides an opportunity to work with point of view as a fictional variable - an important aspect of contemporary feminist literary critical practice. Students could be asked to choose a female character from one of the stories and write an interior monologue revealing what this character is really thinking or would like to do as a human being in this situation to throw off the 'bad girl' or 'victim' persona.

The goal is not to have students rewrite the entire story, but to show how a major female character might make different decisions and gain more control over her life and situation. In other words, in what ways might these women characters have more freedom to make different decisions if they were operating in a more contemporary Canadian social context?

See Handout 3.1 for an evaluation rubric.

Handout 3.1

Writing to Alter a Narrative Point of View

Categories Level 1
(50-59%)
Level 2
(60-69%)
Level 3
(70-79%)
Level 4
(80-100%)
Creation of an interior monologue point of view Limited attempt to capture character's thoughts and feelings Some attempt to capture character's thoughts and feelings Good attempt to reveal character's inner thoughts and feelings Excellent character portrait through interior monologue
Understanding of issues relating to women's character roles Limited understanding demonstrated Some understanding demonstrated Considerable understanding demonstrated Excellent understanding demonstrated
Mechanics of writing Limited effectiveness Some effectiveness Quite well handled Excellent
Previous Next

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Littérature > Des histoires à bon marché! English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : Des histoires à Bon Marché! Les romans en fascicules de 1940 à 1952
Table des matières
À propos des histoires à bon marché!
Introduction
Industrie du roman en fascicules
Collection de langue anglaise
Collection de langue française
Thèmes
Corruption des moeurs
Le déclin des romans en fascicules
L'influence des romans en fascicules

Galerie!

Version Flash

Éditions intégrales des magazines
Ressources pédagogiques
Boîte aux lettres
Générique du site


Ressources pédagogiques

Leçon 3

La ressource est présentement soumise à des essais et fait l’objet d’une révision.

Survol | Leçon 1 | Leçon 2 | Leçon 3 | Leçon 4

Les femmes et les rôles assignés à chacun des sexes dans les romans en fascicules

Sommaire

Dans les romans en fascicules des années 1940, les femmes tenaient le plus souvent des rôles de « vilaines filles » ou de victimes. Les élèves pourront évaluer différents stéréotypes sexuels des romans en fascicules à partir de quatre histoires accompagnées d'un monologue masculin anglophone et de cinq histoires francophones.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les élèves vont :

  • étudier les personnages féminins et les stéréotypes des romans en fascicules des années 1940 de manière inductive.
  • analyser un numéro d'un magazine populaire contemporain comme True Confessions ou d'un autre magazine semblable en français ou en anglais afin de comparer la présence ou l'absence de stéréotypes sexuels.
  • modifier le point de vue narratif d'un roman en fascicules afin de contrecarrer les stéréotypes sexuels.

Préparation

1. Préparez des copies des histoires suivantes du site Internet Des Histoires à bon marché! www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/romansfascicules/027019-1900-f.html :

« I Was the Moll of a Hot Car Mob », Sensational Crime Confessions, de janvier 1946, p. 132
« I Was a Gambling Girl », Sensational Crime Confessions, janvier 1946, p. 4
« Murder in the Graveyard », Uncanny Tales, novembre 1940, p. 1
« Dead Men Do Talk », Yarns, juillet 1941, p. 23
« Dear Clara », Stag, automne 1941, p. 30.
« Combats sanglants », Histoires de Cow-Boys, p. 3*
« Santa-Claus et ses pareils », Histoires de Cow-Boys, p. 24*
« Le Cow-Boy au cœur tendre », Histoires de Cow-Boys, p. 28*
« Le Perroquet des Prairies », Histoires de Cow-Boys, p. 31*
« Les Aventures amoureuses d'un "LumberJack" », Les Drames de l'amour

* Il est d'ailleurs bien intéressant d'observer les femmes dans Histoires de Cow-Boys. Elles sont le plus souvent des victimes et n'apparaissent qu'à la fin de l'histoire.

2. Procurez-vous un ou plusieurs exemplaires d'un magazine sensationnel démontrant des relations hommes-femmes.

3. Faites des copies du document 3.1  -  « Écrire de façon à modifier le point de vue narratif »

4. Consultez les liens ci-dessous. Ces liens touchent les femmes et les magazines de romans en fascicules :

www.news.utoronto.ca/bin5/040426c.asp (en anglais seulement)

www.mutoworld.com/pulps.htm (en anglais seulement)

www.mutoworld.com/SpicyGenrePulps.htm (en anglais seulement)

http://www.arts.mcgill.ca/programs/AHCS/cultureofcities/Gallery2/index.html (en anglais seulement)

www.arts.mcgill.ca/programs/AHCS/cultureofcities/Gallery3/front.html (en anglais seulement)

5. Autres références :

Bad Girls of Pulp Fiction, Campbell, Armstrong et Rekulak, Harper-Collins, 2002.
True Crime, True North, Strange and Loo, Raincoast Books, 2004. « "Unfaithful to Both": Romance and the Portrayal of Women in the Pulps », monographie de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.
Culture of Cities: Montreal, Dublin, Toronto, Berlin, équipe de recherche de McGill, STRAW, Will, « Culture of Cities: Print Culture and Urban Visuality ».

Durée

75 à 100 minutes

Déroulement

Introduction (20 minutes)

1. Présentez des transparents ou des images de pages couvertures de magazines de la galerie virtuelle du site Des histoires à bon marché qui illustrent des personnages féminins. Faites un remue-méninges avec les élèves sur ce que ces images projettent au sujet des personnages féminins des romans en fascicules « classiques » qui racontent des histoires policières, romantiques, western et fantastiques.
2. Élargissez la discussion pour y inclure ce que les élèves considèrent comme les rôles féminins et masculins traditionnels dans la culture populaire. Inscrivez deux colonnes au tableau ou sur un transparent et donnez-leur les titres suivants : « hommes » et « femmes ».
3. Expliquez aux élèves qu'ils auront à analyser quatre romans en fascicules canadiens des années 1940 afin de déterminer la représentation culturelle des hommes et des femmes et la présence de stéréotypes sexuels.

Contenu de la leçon (40 à 60 minutes)

1. Afin d'obtenir des réactions féminines et masculines aux histoires, divisez la classe en équipes représentant les deux points de vue. Demandez à la moitié des équipes de lire « I Was A Gambling Girl » et « Murder in the Graveyard » et à l'autre moitié « I Was the Moll of a Hot Car Mob », « Dead Men Do Talk » et « Dear Clara ». Les élèves liront donc ainsi un roman sur les confidences d'une femme et deux dont le narrateur est un homme et un autre ou il s'agit d'un narrateur à la troisième personne.

Note : Pourquoi les histoires sont-elles toutes écrites d'un point de vue masculin? Qu'est-ce que cela vous indique au sujet de la perception des hommes et des femmes de l'époque? Est-ce que ce point de vue décrit les femmes adéquatement en tant que personnes? Qu'est-ce que les femmes de cette époque diraient de cette perception?

2. Donnez deux histoires à lire aux élèves et demandez-leur de garder un journal de lecteur. Demandez-leur de noter les éléments sur les rôles des sexes. Ils devraient utiliser des citations lorsque c'est possible ou résumer l'action ou l'intéraction des personnages. Demandez-leur aussi d'ajouter leurs impressions personnelles à cette présentation des rôles sexuels ou des stéréotypes, surtout en ce qui a trait aux limites imposées aux comportements des personnages féminins.
3. Lorsque les élèves auront fini leurs journaux de lecture, demandez-leur de les échanger avec les membres de leur équipe. Les élèves liront les journaux des autres. Demandez-leur de partager avec leur équipe ce qu'ils ont remarqué d'intéressant dans le journal d'une autre personne, s'ils sont en accord ou en désaccord. Laissez-les discuter jusqu'à ce qu'ils aient tous exprimé leurs impressions.
4. Donnez un transparent vierge et un feutre à chaque équipe et demandez-leur de faire un résumé de leurs observations sur les rôles sexuels et culturels des femmes de ces histoires.
5. Chaque équipe devrait présenter son acétate et ses commentaires sur son analyse des rôles sexuels de ces histoires.
6. Faites un résumé du cours en discutant de conclusions possibles au sujet du rôle et de l'image des femmes dans les romans en fascicules des années 1940.

Conclusion

Demandez aux élèves de faire un remue-méninges au sujet des changements dans les rôles des femmes dans la société canadienne, tant dans les romans que les médias, depuis les années 1940. Vous souhaiterez peut-être faire une parenthèse et discuter des répercussions de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et de la façon dont elle a permis d'orchestrer un grand revirement des rôles culturels et sociaux des femmes. Vous pourrez d'ailleurs faire un lien entre la période de guerre et les réalités culturelles et sociales d'aujourd'hui.

Occasion d'écriture

L'image des femmes de ces histoires constitue une occasion de travailler le point de vue comme un élément fictif; c'est un aspect important des pratiques critiques littéraires féministes contemporaines. Les élèves pourraient choisir un personnage féminin existant ou écrire un monologue personnel révélant la pensée de ce personnage ou ce que ce personnage ferait en réalité pour se débarrasser de l'étiquette de « vilaine fille » ou de « victime ».

Cet exercice ne vise pas à faire réécrire l'histoire au complet par les élèves mais à leur démontrer comment un personnage féminin important peut prendre des décisions différentes et prendre le dessus sur sa propre vie et situation. En d'autres mots, dans quelle mesure ces personnages féminins auraient-ils l'occasion de faire d'autres choix s'ils avaient existé dans le contexte social canadien contemporain?

Voyez la grille d'évaluation du document 3.1.

Document 3.1

Écrire de façon à modifier le point de vue du narrateur

Catégories Niveau 1
(50 à 59 p. 100)
Niveau 2
(60 à 69 p. 100)
Niveau 3
(70 à 79 p. 100)
Niveau 4
(80 à 100 p. 100)
Création du point de vue d'un monologue Tentative limitée de cerner les pensées et les sentiments du personnage Tentative raisonnable de cerner les pensées et les sentiments du personnage Bonne tentative de cerner les pensées et les sentiments du personnage Excellente définition du personnage dans un monologue
Compréhension des rôles des personnages féminins Compréhension limitée Peu de compréhension Solide compréhension Excellente compréhension
Techniques d'écriture Efficacité limitée Un peu efficaces Bien maîtrisées Excellentes
Précédent Suivant