Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Literature Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Tales From The Vault! Canadian Pulp Fiction 1940-1952
Table of Contents
About Tales From the Vault!
Introduction
Canadian Pulp Industry
English Pulp Collection
French Pulp Collection
Themes
Corrupting Morals
Decline of the Pulps
Effects of the Pulps

Gallery!

Flash Version

Full-Length Magazines
Educational Resources
Letters to the Editor
Credits

Section title: About Tales from The Vault

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) is proud to present its Canadian pulp art and fiction collection, straight from the special collections vault. The collection featured in this virtual exhibit, Tales from the Vault!: Canadian Pulp Fiction, 1940-1952, is one of the very few known pulp magazine holdings in Canada, and is available for consultation at LAC.

This site is written in a snappy style similar to that used by the pulp writers of the 1940s and 1950s. It highlights and exhibits portions (covers and some text) of the English and French sections of the collection while providing an introduction to the pulp fiction industry in general, the beginnings of the Canadian pulp fiction industry, and selected areas of discussion and themes found within the collection.

In this exhibit you will be able to examine a diverse presentation of covers, selected advertisements and text, as well as a gallery of covers of particular interest to fans of pulp art. An additional feature is the presence of six full-length issues from the LAC collection that reflect a variety of societal themes such as gender portrayal and relationships, racism, Canadian identity and language use.

The LAC pulp fiction collection contains a cross-section of magazines, original manuscripts, cover art and proofs of covers, as well as source material such as photos and newspaper and magazine clippings. The collection also includes various pocket novels and serials written mainly between 1940 and 1952. The English portion of the collection was acquired in 1997 while the French portion was obtained over the course of the years 2002 and 2003.

Most of the pulp publishers active during the 1940s were marginal at best and often published under various guises and from more than one location. Generally, the activities of these publishers were viewed as disreputable. With the passage of the Fulton Act of 1949, it became illegal to publish comics, magazines or books that allegedly depicted crime, immorality or lurid tales.

The years following the passage of the Fulton Act were unkind to the pulp publishers; by the mid-1950s few of the companies established in the 1940s remained in business. For this reason, it is extremely unlikely that more of this literature will surface in the foreseeable future. As these were cheaply produced publications, this meant they were rarely kept and, once thrown away, were lost forever.

Tales from the Vault! and the LAC pulp fiction collection offer the opportunity for invaluable study of the development of literature genres, gender stereotypes, societal mores and laws, popular entertainment and art, and the pulp production process in the period following the Second World War.

Be warned! Canadian culture is multifaceted, spanning great human triumphs and disappointment. However, pulp fiction from this era was considered lewd, bawdy and seedy -- a bit embarrassing, too. What was once lowbrow has become mainstream. Nevertheless, the study of pulp fiction contributes to our understanding of Canada's documentary heritage. Pulp fiction is a part of our society and continues to creep into our daily lives.

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Littérature English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : Des histoires à Bon Marché! Les romans en fascicules de 1940 à 1952
Table des matières
À propos des histoires à bon marché!
Introduction
Industrie du roman en fascicules
Collection de langue anglaise
Collection de langue française
Thèmes
Corruption des moeurs
Le déclin des romans en fascicules
L'influence des romans en fascicules

Galerie!

Version Flash

Éditions intégrales des magazines
Ressources pédagogiques
Boîte aux lettres
Générique du site

Titre de section : À propos des histories à bon marché

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) a le plaisir de présenter sa collection de romans en fascicules, qui provient directement des rayons de la salle des collections spéciales. L'exposition virtuelle, Des histoires à bon marché! Les romans en fascicules, de 1940 à 1952, présente l'une des très rares collections de romans en fascicules du Canada, collection que le public peut consulter sur place à BAC.

Ce site a été rédigé dans un style vif et mordant, similaire à celui qu'adoptaient les auteurs de romans en fascicules dans les années 1940 et 1950. Il présente des parties (couvertures et textes) de romans en français et en anglais, tout en faisant un survol de l'industrie des romans en fascicules, des débuts de cette industrie au Canada et de certains sujets choisis et autres thèmes traités dans la collection.

Dans cette exposition, vous pourrez observer divers styles de couvertures, une sélection de publicités et de textes, ainsi qu'une galerie de couvertures qui plaira particulièrement aux amateurs d'illustrations de fascicules. De plus, vous y trouverez six exemplaires en texte intégral provenant de la collection de BAC, qui illustrent plusieurs thèmes à caractère social, tels que les stéréotypes masculins et féminins, les relations entre les hommes et les femmes, le racisme, l'identité canadienne et les usages linguistiques.

La collection de romans en fascicules de BAC contient des exemplaires de fascicules, de manuscrits originaux, de dessins et d'épreuves de couvertures, ainsi que des documents de première main tels que des photos et des coupures de journaux et de magazines. Elle comprend également divers romans de poche et publications en série écrits principalement entre 1940 et 1952. Les documents en anglais de la collection ont été acquis en 1997 et les documents en français, au cours des années 2002 et 2003.

La plupart des éditeurs de romans en fascicules des années 1940 ne réalisaient au mieux qu'un faible profit, et ils exerçaient souvent leur commerce sous différents noms et à plusieurs endroits. Les activités de ces éditeurs avaient généralement mauvaise réputation. L'adoption de la Loi Fulton, en 1949, a interdit la publication de bandes dessinées, de magazines et de livres illustrant des crimes, des scènes immorales et des histoires à sensation.

Les années qui ont suivi l'adoption de la Loi Fulton ont été difficiles pour les éditeurs de romans en fascicules. Au milieu des années 1950, la plupart des entreprises établies dans les années 1940 avaient cessé leurs activités. Par conséquent, il est fort peu probable que ressurgissent d'autres exemplaires de ces romans aujourd'hui. Comme ces publications étaient produites à bon marché, les lecteurs les conservaient rarement. Une fois jetées, elles étaient perdues à jamais.

Le site Des histoires à bon marché! Les romans en fascicules, de 1940 à 1952 et la collection de fascicules de BAC sont des sources d'information inestimables pour la recherche sur l'évolution des genres littéraires, les stéréotypes sexuels, les mœurs, les lois, le divertissement et l'art populaires, ainsi que le processus de publication des romans en fascicules après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale.

Prenez garde! La culture canadienne présente de nombreux aspects et elle a été imprégnée de grandes victoires humaines et d'amères déceptions. Il faut rappeler que les romans en fascicules étaient à l'époque considérés comme obscènes, paillards et indécents; ils suscitaient même une certaine gêne. Ils ont néanmoins contribué à notre société et, encore aujourd'hui, leur influence se manifeste dans notre vie quotidienne. Ce qui était autrefois sans prétention intellectuelle est devenu courant. En définitive, l'étude des romans en fascicules nous permet de mieux comprendre le patrimoine documentaire du Canada.