GUIDE FOR ABORIGINAL GENEALOGY - Communiqué - News & Events - Library and Archives Canada
Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Symbol of the Government of Canada
Library and Archives Canada - www.collectionscanada.gc.ca
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's WebsiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional WebsiteSearch - Search the institutional Websitehttp://www.canada.gc.ca/home.html

Who We Are
About Us
Contact Us
Visit Us
What We Have
In Our Collection
On Our Website
What We Do For
The Public
Government
Archivists, Libraries and Publishers
What's Happening
What's New

Proactive Disclosure
Home > What's New
What's New

THE CANADIAN GENEALOGY CENTRE ADDS A NEW ONLINE GUIDE 
FOR ABORIGINAL GENEALOGY

Ottawa, February 23, 2004 - Library and Archives Canada is adding a new guide to its virtual Canadian Genealogy Centre. Titled Researching Your Aboriginal Ancestry at Library and Archives Canada, the guide is designed for those who wish to undertake genealogical research on their Aboriginal ancestors at Library and Archives Canada.

The production of this guide by the Canadian Genealogy Centre is part of a 
collaboration between Library and Archives Canada and Aboriginal researchers. The Centre also intends to work with Aboriginal communities and other partners on a second part of the guide, which would provide even more information on the sources available to researchers throughout Canada.

According to Richard Collins, who wrote the guide and is one of the Aboriginal genealogy specialists at Library and Archives Canada, “the best part of this new tool is that it allows everyone to acquire the proper methodology to do effective genealogical research while avoiding numerous pitfalls.”

The wealth and diversity of Canada’s Aboriginal cultures bring a unique quality to the lives of many Canadians. More and more people find pride in seeking out their Aboriginal roots as they turn to Library and Archives Canada for help in their research.

To access Researching Your Aboriginal Ancestry at Library and Archives Canada, you can go to the Canadian Genealogy Centre Web site at www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/genealogy/index-e.html, click on “How To” then click on “Guides.” 

The Canadian Genealogy Centre is made possible through the support of the Canadian Culture Online Program of the Department of Canadian Heritage.

Information:
Louisa Coates, Media Relations
Library and Archives Canada 
E-mail: media@bac-lac.gc.ca

GUIDE DE GÉNÉALOGIE AUTOCHTONE - Communiqué - Nouvelles et événements - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Symbole du gouvernement du Canada
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - www.collectionscanada.gc.ca
English - English version of the Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelcanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Qui nous sommes
À notre sujet
Contactez-nous
Visitez-nous
Notre collection
Dans notre collection
Sur notre site Web
Nos services pour
Le public
Le gouvernement
Les archivistes, bibliothèques et éditeurs
Que se passe-t-il
Quoi de neuf?

Divulgation proactive
Page d'accueil > Nouvelles et événements

Quoi de neuf

LE CENTRE CANADIEN DE GÉNÉALOGIE 
MET EN LIGNE UN NOUVEAU GUIDE 
DE GÉNÉALOGIE AUTOCHTONE

Ottawa, le 23 février 2004 - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada ajoute un nouveau guide sur le site Web du Centre canadien de généalogie. Intitulé Chercher ses ancêtres autochtones dans la documentation archivistique de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, le guide s’adresse aux personnes qui désirent entreprendre des recherches généalogiques sur leurs ancêtres autochtones à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

La production de ce guide par le Centre canadien de généalogie s’inscrit dans les activités de collaboration entre Bibliothèque et Archives Canada et les usagers autochtones. Le Centre prévoit également mettre au point, avec les communautés autochtones et différents partenaires, une deuxième partie au guide, qui donnera davantage de renseignements sur les sources accessibles aux chercheurs partout au Canada.

Selon Richard Collins, auteur du guide et l’un des spécialistes en généalogie autochtone à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, « ce qu’il y a d’avantageux avec cet outil, c’est qu’il permet à tous d’acquérir la méthodologie nécessaire pour entreprendre des recherches généalogiques fructueuses tout en évitant de nombreuses embûches ».

La richesse et la diversité des cultures autochtones du Canada confèrent un caractère unique à la vie de bon nombre de Canadiens et de Canadiennes. C’est avec fierté que de plus en plus de gens font des recherches afin de retrouver leurs racines autochtones et s’adressent à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada pour les aider à faire leurs recherches.

Pour accéder au guide « Chercher ses ancêtres autochtones dans la documentation archivistique de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada » sur le site du Centre canadien de généalogie à www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/genealogie/index-f.html, cliquez sur « Comment faire » et ensuite sur « Guides ». 

Le Centre canadien de généalogie a été rendu possible grâce au programme Culture canadienne en ligne du ministère du Patrimoine canadien.

Renseignements :
Louisa Coates, Relations avec les médias
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Téléphone : 613-992-9361 / cell. : 613-295-5516
Courriel : media@bac-lac.gc.ca