Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

ASSOCIATION OF CANADIAN ORCHESTRAS (1972- )
MUS 201


Association of Canadian Orchestra fonds.  - 1972-1989.  - 3.25 m of textual records.  - 98 photographs.  - 1 audio tape cassette. 

Administrative history
Born of the need to protect and serve the interests of orchestras at the national level, the ACO was founded in 1972 by Kenneth Winters, executive director of the Ontario Federation of Symphony Orchestras (OFSO) and first executive director of the ACO.  The Association comprises a federated group of professional, semi-professional, community and chamber orchestras.  It is involved in a number of areas, such as labour relations, retirement funds, trainee systems, professional management training, federal grants, and terms of employment for foreign instrumentalists.  Although it shares the premises and administration of OFSO, the ACO has its own board of directors, program and initiatives.  The ACO and OFSO are co-publishers of the periodical Orchestra Canada and the yearly Directory of Canadian Orchestras and Youth Orchestras

Scope and content
The fonds contains records illustrating the activities of the Association:  correspondence; memoranda; minutes; reports; financial records; programmes; press clippings and brochures; membership lists; photographs; sound recording of the Parkdale United Church Orchestra. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from the ACO in 1991. 

Restrictions:  written permission is required for access to the financial records and minutes. 

Finding aids:  provisional description. 

Accruals:  further accessions expected. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

ASSOCIATION DES ORCHESTRES CANADIENS (1972-  )
MUS 201


Fonds de l'Association des orchestres canadiens.  - 1972-1989.  - 3,25 m de documents textuels.  - 98 photographies.  - 1 cassette sonore. 

Histoire administrative
Née du besoin de protéger et servir les intérêts des orchestres à l'échelle nationale, l'AOC a été fondée en 1972 par Kenneth Winters, directeur administratif de la Fédération des orchestres symphoniques de l'Ontario (FOSO) et premier directeur administratif de l'AOC.  L'association consiste en un regroupement en fédération d'orchestres professionnels, semi-professionnels ainsi que d'orchestres communautaires et de chambre.  Elle s'est impliquée dans plusieurs dossiers dont les relations de travail, les caisses de retraite, les systèmes de stagiaires, la formation à la gestion professionnelle, les subventions fédérales et les conditions pour l'emploi d'instrumentistes étrangers.  Bien qu'elle partage les locaux et l'administration de la FOSO, l'AOC n'en possède pas moins son propre conseil d'administration, son programme et ses initiatives.  L'AOC et la FOSO publient en collaboration le périodique Orchestres Canada et à chaque année l'Annuaire des orchestres et orchestres des jeunes canadiens

Portée et contenu
Le fonds contient des documents qui illustrent les activités de l'organisme :  correspondance; notes de service; procès-verbaux; rapports; documents financiers; programmes; coupures de presse et brochures; listes de membres; photographies; enregistrement sonore du Parkdale United Church Orchestra. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de l'ACO en 1991. 

Restrictions :  une permission écrite est requise pour avoir accès aux documents financiers et aux procès-verbaux. 

Instruments de recherche :  description provisoire. 

Versements complémentaires :  autres versements attendus. 



Divulgation proactive