Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

CANADIAN LEAGUE OF COMPOSERS (1951- )
MUS 84


Canadian League of Composers fonds.  - 1951-1988.  2.65 m of textual records.  - 560 photographs.  - 90 negatives.  - 16 audio tape cassettes.  - 8 audio tape reels. 

Administrative history
Organization founded in 1951 at the instigation of composer John Weinzweig, in order to promote the dissemination of works of contemporary Canadian music and to protect the professional interests of composers.  The League has established its head office in Toronto.  In 1954 it established Canadian Music Associates, an organization which served as its concert committee. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the League's activities:  documents of incorporation, constitution and by-laws; general correspondence; minutes of annual general meetings and meetings of the board of directors; financial records; relations with other organizations; records pertaining to the preparation of the Newsletter; photographs, mainly of personalities in the world of music; sound recordings of lectures. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from the League in 1977 and 1991. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  provisional description. 

Accruals:  further accessions expected. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

LIGUE CANADIENNE DE COMPOSITEURS (1951-  )
MUS 84


Fonds de la Ligue canadienne de compositeurs.  - 1951-1988.  - 2,65 m de documents textuels.  - 560 photographies.  - 90 négatifs.  - 16 cassettes sonores.  - 8 bandes sonores. 

Histoire administrative
Organisation fondée en 1951, à l'instigation du compositeur John Weinzweig, afin de promouvoir la diffusion des oeuvres de musique canadienne contemporaine et protéger les intérêts professionnels des compositeurs.  La Ligue a établi son siège social à Toronto.  En 1954, elle mettait sur pied le Canadian Music Associates, organisme lui tenant lieu de comité des concerts. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds contient des documents qui témoignent des activités de la Ligue :  documents d'incorporation, constitution et règlements; correspondance générale; procès-verbaux relatifs aux assemblées annuelles et aux réunions du conseil d'administration; documents financiers; relations avec d'autres organismes; documents relatifs à la préparation du Newsletter; photographies, principalement, de personnalités du milieu musical; enregistrements sonores de conférences. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de l'organisme en 1977 et 1991. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  description provisoire. 

Versements complémentaires :  autres versements attendus. 



Divulgation proactive