Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

DAVIES, VICTOR, 1939-
MUS 261


Victor Davies fonds.  - 1951-1999.  - 4.45 m of textual records.  - 23 photographs.  - 457 audio tape reels.  - 29 audio tape cassettes.  - 16 audio compact discs.  - 15 audio videocassettes   - 1 audio disc.  - 18 videocassettes.  - 2 video reels.  - 1 computer disk. 

Biographical sketch
Winnipeg composer, pianist and conductor Victor Davies began studying piano and violin as a child, then enrolled at the University of Manitoba where he took courses from Ronald Gibson and Peggie Sampson.  He continued his studies at the University of Indiana, and in 1969 undertook conducting courses with Pierre Boulez in Switzerland.  He became organist and choirmaster at Wesley United Church in Winnipeg, then Music Director at the Manitoba Theatre Centre, and worked for a number of years for CBC radio and television as a composer, arranger and conductor.  His major compositions include Let Us Pay Tribute to Lord Gordon Gordon, Pulsations, A Mennonite Piano Concerto, Animal Capers, Let's Talk and Fun for Four.  He has also written many songs for the children's series programs Let's Go and Rockets

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to Victor Davies' musical career.  It includes, among other items, biographical material; professional correspondence; drafts and manuscripts of compositions and arrangements by Victor Davies (Revelation, Mamma, Dream Variations, Teddy, Yukon Scenes, etc.); radio and television scripts; contracts; concert programs and promotional material; press clippings; photographs of Victor Davies and various musicians; sound recordings of works and arrangements by Davies (Pulsations, Fun for Four, A Mennonite Piano Concerto, Beowulf. . .) and an interview with Chad Allan; video recordings of American Caesar, The Catch, The Big Top, Silhouettes, etc. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Victor Davies, in several accessions, between 1995 and 2000. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  provisional description. 

Accruals:  further accessions expected. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

DAVIES, VICTOR, 1939-
MUS 261


Fonds Victor-Davies .  - 1951-1999.  - 4,45 m de documents textuels.  - 23 photographies.  - 457 bandes sonores.  - 29 cassettes sonores.  - 16 disques compacts sonores.  - 15 vidéocassettes sonores   - 1 disque sonore.  - 18 vidéocassettes.  - 2 bobines vidéo.  - 1 disquette. 

Notice biographique
Compositeur, pianiste et chef d'orchestre né à Winnipeg (Manitoba), Victor Davies débute l'étude du piano et du violon dans son enfance et s'inscrit par la suite à l'Université du Manitoba où il suit les cours de Ronald Gibson et Peggie Sampson.  Il poursuit sa formation à l'Université de l'Indiana et entreprend en 1969 des cours de direction avec Pierre Boulez en Suisse.  Organiste et maître de chapelle à l'église unie Wesley à Winnipeg, il devient ensuite directeur musical du Manitoba Theatre Centre et travaille pendant plusieurs années à la radio et à la télévision de la SRC comme compositeur, arrangeur et chef d'orchestre.  Parmi les oeuvres importantes du compositeur, mentionnons Let Us Pay Tribute to Lord Gordon Gordon, Pulsations, A Mennonite Piano Concerto, Animal Capers, Let's Talk et Fun for Four.  Il écrit de plus de nombreuses chansons pour les séries d'émissions pour enfant Let's Go et Rockets

Portée et contenu
Le fonds comprend des documents qui témoignent de la carrière musicale de Victor Davies.  Il contient, entre autres, des documents biographiques; de la correspondance professionnelle; des ébauches et manuscrits de compositions et d'arrangements de Victor Davies (Revelation, Mamma, Dream Variations, Teddy, Yukon Scenes, etc.); des textes pour la radio et la télévision; des contrats; des programmes de concerts et des documents publicitaires; des coupures de presse; des photographies de Victor Davies et de divers musiciens; des enregistrements sonores d'oeuvres et d'arrangements de Davies (Pulsations, Fun for Four, A Mennonite Piano Concerto, Beowulf. . . ), d'une entrevue avec Chad Allan; des enregistrements vidéos de :  American Ceasar, The Catch, The Big Top, Silhouettes, etc. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de Victor Davies, en plusieurs versements, entre les années 1995 et 2000. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche description provisoire. 

Versements complémentaires :  autres versements attendus. 



Divulgation proactive