Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

ECKHARDT-GRAMATTÉ, S.C. (Sophie Carmen), 1899-1974
MUS 33

S.C. Eckhardt-Gramatté fonds.  - [ca. 1915]-[1974].  - 1.42 m of textual records.  - 69 photographs.  - 41 audio tape reels.  - 14 audio tape cassettes. 

Biographical sketch
A composer, pianist, violinist and teacher born in Russia, Sophie Carmen Eckhardt-Gramatté (née Friedman) began piano studies in Paris with her mother.  In 1909 she was accepted by the Paris conservatory, where she studied violin with Alfred Brun and Guillaume Rémy, piano with Ms. S. Chenée, and chamber music with Vincent d'Indy and Camille Chevillard.  Around 1915, she was awarded a scholarship in Berlin which allowed her to perfect her bowing technique with the famous violinist Bronislav Huberman.  A violin and piano virtuoso, Eckhardt-Gramatté performed in recital in such places as Paris, Berlin, Geneva, Barcelona and the United States with the Philadelphia Orchestra and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.  In 1930, the artist abandoned her concert career in favour of composition.  She won a number of awards, including one from the Austrian Republic for her Triple Concerto (1950).  In 1953 she moved to Winnipeg, Manitoba with her second husband and gave her first Canadian concert on the English radio network of the CBC.  In Canada she was also involved in composition and private teaching.  Compositions include Symphony No.  2 (Manitoba), Concerto for Bassoon and Orchestra, String Quartet No.  3 and Sonata No.  6 for piano

Scope and content
The fonds contains records illustrating the musical activities of S.C. Eckhardt-Gramatté:  biographical records; manuscript and photocopies of compositions by Eckhardt-Gramatté; correspondence; press clippings; diplomas; concert programmes; photographs of Eckhardt-Gramatté; sound recordings Eckhardt-Gramatté's works by, among others, the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, the Purcell String Quartet, the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and Eckhardt-Gramatté.

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Ferdinand Eckhardt in 1975 and 1976. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  catalogue of works written by Ferdinand Eckhardt; descriptive list of photographs. 

Associated material:  S.C. Eckhardt-Gramatté fonds at the Eckhardt-Gramatté Foundation in Winnipeg, Manitoba. 

Proactive Disclosure