Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

FLEMING, ROBERT, 1921-1976
MUS 95


Robert Fleming fonds.  - [ca.  1900], 1932-1976.  - 5.29 m of textual records.  - 313 photographs.  1 negative.  - 2 cm.  of drawings.  - 68 audio tape reels.  - 114 audio discs. 

Biographical sketch
Born in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Robert Fleming began his musical studies with his mother before continuing his training in Saskatoon with various teachers.  At age 10, he joined the St. John's Cathedral Choir under the direction of W. Seemer Betts.  He also competed in music festivals as a pianist, solo singer, choir member and accompanist.  From 1937 to 1939, the young artist attended the Royal College of Music in England, where he studied piano with Arthur Benjamin and composition with Herbert Howells.  On his return to Canada, he taught piano and in 1940 embarked on a recital tour in Saskatchewan, which included an appearance at Dark Hall in Regina.  Under the direction of Dean Arthur Collingwood, Fleming worked as a regular pianist with the Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra during the 1941-42 season while pursuing his piano studies with Lyell Gustin.  In 1941 and 1945, he obtained CAPAC scholarships and enrolled at the Toronto Conservatory of Music, where he received instruction from Healey Willan (composition), Norman Wilks (piano), Ettore Mazzoleni (conducting) and Frederick Silvester (organ), among others. 

In 1946, after teaching piano at Upper Canada College, he went to work for the National Film Board of Canada as a composer (1946-58), first in Ottawa and then in Montreal, where he served as Music Director (1958-70).  In 1970, he returned to Ottawa as a professor and course instructor at Carleton University.  A prolific composer, Fleming composed over 500 works, including 250 for ballet and film (Air Ambulance, Camp for Kids, Canada at War, Canada - USA, Jacky Visits the Zoo, Red Runs the Fraser, Rural Music Festival, Tuktu Series, etc.).  A number of Fleming's works were commissions, including Ballet Introduction (Les Grands Ballets Canadiens), Three Contrasts (Canadian Music Centre), Our Mind Was the Singer (National Arts Centre) and Of a Timeless Land (Ottawa Civic Orchestra).  During his career, he was also active as an organist and music director in cities throughout Saskatchewan, Quebec and Ontario.  After his death in November 1976, the Robert Fleming Award, administered by the Canadian Music Council and then by the Canada Council, was created as well as a second Robert Fleming Award, established by the Ottawa Music Festival Association. 

Scope and content
The fonds consists of records pertaining to Robert Fleming's career as a composer and his activities at the National Film Board.  In addition, it contains material pertaining to other activities in which Fleming was involved such as teaching and music direction.  The records include, among other items, biographical notes; lists of works; correspondence; contracts; minutes; musical works; shot lists; transcripts; course notes; exercises; certificates; examination questions; texts of public addresses; concert programmes; financial documents; scrapbooks; press clippings; photographs, mainly of Robert Fleming; drawings and sound recordings of works by Fleming and other composers. 

The fonds comprises the following series:  MUS 95/A Correspondence; MUS 95/B Studies; MUS 95/C Teaching and Public Speaking; MUS 95/D Musical Works; MUS 95/E Concert Programmes; MUS 95/F Oklahoma! - Music Direction; MUS 95/G Scrapbooks; MUS 95/H Press Clippings; MUS 95/I Photographs; MUS 95/J Drawings; MUS 95/K Sound Recordings; and MUS 95/L Miscellaneous. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Margaret Fleming, Robert Fleming's widow, in several accessions between 1978 and 1986. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  Stéphane Jean.  The Robert Fleming fonds:  Numerical List.  Ottawa:  National Library of Canada.  1998.  148 p.  (http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/music/index-e.html#fonds).



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

FLEMING, ROBERT, 1921-1976
MUS 95


Fonds Robert-Fleming.  - [ca 1900], 1932-1976.  - 5,29 m de documents textuels.  - 313 photographies.  - 1 négatif.  - 2 cm de dessins.  - 68 bandes sonores.  - 114 disques sonores. 

Notice biographique
Né à Prince Albert (Saskatchewan), Robert Fleming débute ses études musicales avec sa mère avant de poursuivre sa formation à Saskatoon avec divers professeurs.  À l'âge de 10 ans, il devient chanteur pour le St. John's Cathedral Choir sous la direction de W. Seemer Betts.  Il s'implique aussi dans des festivals de musique comme pianiste, chanteur solo, choriste et accompagnateur.  De 1937 à 1939, le jeune artiste fréquente le Royal College of Music en Angleterre où il étudie le piano avec Arthur Benjamin ainsi que la composition avec Herbert Howells.  De retour au pays, il enseigne le piano et entreprend en 1940 une tournée de récitals en Saskatchewan dont au Dark Hall de Regina.  Sous la direction de Dean Arthur Collingwood, Fleming travaille, lors de la saison 1941-42, comme pianiste régulier avec le Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra tout en poursuivant ses études de piano avec Lyell Gustin.  En 1941 et 1945, il obtient des bourses de la CAPAC et s'inscrit au Toronto Conservatory of Music où il suit les leçons, entre autres, d'Healey Willan (composition), de Norman Wilks (piano), d'Ettore Mazzoleni (direction d'orchestre) et de Frederick Silvester (orgue). 

En 1946, après avoir enseigné le piano à l'Upper Canada College, il entre à l'Office national du film du Canada.  Il oeuvre d'abord à Ottawa et ensuite à Montréal comme compositeur (1946-58) puis comme directeur de la musique (1958-70).  En 1970, il revient à Ottawa comme professeur et chargé de cours à l'Université Carleton.  Compositeur prolifique, Fleming compose au-delà de 500 oeuvres dont 250 pour ballet et film (Air Ambulance, Camp for Kids, Canada at War, Canada - USA, Jacky Visits the Zoo, Red Runs the Fraser, Rural Music Festival, Tuktu Series, etc.).  Plusieurs oeuvres de Fleming sont réalisées sur commande telles que Ballet Introduction (Les Grands ballets canadiens), Three Contrasts (Centre de musique canadienne), Our Mind Was the Singer (National Arts Centre) et Of a Timeless Land (Ottawa Civic Orchestra).  Au cours de sa carrière, il occupe également les fonctions d'organiste et de directeur de la musique dans différentes villes de la Saskatchewan, du Québec et de l'Ontario.  Suite à son décès en novembre 1976, le Prix Robert-Fleming, administré par le Conseil canadien de la musique puis par le Conseil des arts du Canada, a été créé ainsi qu'un second prix Robert Fleming institué par l'Ottawa Music Festival Association. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds est constitué de documents qui témoignent de la carrière de compositeur de Robert Fleming et de ses activités à l'Office national du film du Canada.  Il contient de plus des documents qui illustrent d'autres activités de Fleming telles que l'enseignement et la direction musicale.  L'ensemble documentaire renferme, entre autres, des notes biographiques; des listes d'oeuvres; de la correspondance; des contrats; des procès-verbaux; des oeuvres musicales; des listes de sections de film; des bulletins scolaires; des notes de cours; des exercices; des certificats; des questionnaires d'examens; des textes de conférence; des programmes de concerts; des documents financiers; des spicilèges; des coupures de presse; des photographies représentant principalement Robert Fleming; des dessins et des enregistrements sonores d'oeuvres de Fleming et de divers compositeurs. 

Le fonds est composé des séries suivantes :  MUS 95/A Correspondance; MUS 95/B Études; MUS 95/C Enseignement et conférences; MUS 95/D Oeuvres musicales; MUS 95/E Programmes de concerts; MUS 95/F Oklahoma! - Direction musicale; MUS 95/G Spicilèges; MUS 95/H Coupures de presse; MUS 95/I Photographies; MUS 95/J Dessins; MUS 95/K Enregistrements sonores; MUS 95/L Varia. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de Margaret Fleming, veuve de Robert Fleming, en plusieurs versements entre les années 1978 et 1986. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  Stéphane Jean.  Le Fonds Robert-Fleming :  répertoire numérique.  Ottawa :  Bibliothèque nationale du Canada.  1998.  154 p.  (www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/musique/index-f.html#fonds). 



Divulgation proactive