Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

LAVIGNE-MAUFFETTE FAMILY
MUS 162


Lavigne-Mauffette family fonds.  - 1869-1984.  - 90 cm of textual records.  - 199 photographs.  - 2 tintypes. 

Biographical sketches

Émery Lavigne (1859-1902):  Younger brother of Ernest, founder of Sohmer Park, and of Arthur, a music dealer in Québec City, he studied organ with R.O. Pelletier in Montréal.  With the exception of a period in Oswego, New York (1878-1883), Émery Lavigne's career as an organist, accompanist and teacher took place in Montréal.  In 1893 he founded the Haydn Trio; about the same time he was appointed an adjudicator at the Académie de musique de Montréal. 

Léontine Lavigne-Mauffette (1879-1939):  Daughter of Émery Lavigne, she was born in Oswego.  At the turn of the century, she gave a few piano concerts, notably at the Ladies' Morning Musical Club, and was a member of the Montréal cathedral choir. 

Estelle Mauffette (1904-1984):  Daughter of Léontine Lavigne Mauffette, she was born in Montréal.  After studying dramatic art with Jeanne Maubourg, she performed many roles in CBC radio plays.  She was the first to play the role of Donalda on the program Un homme et son péché by Claude-Henri Grignon.  She also had a career as a monologist and wrote the words to some songs set to music by Hector Gratton. 

Lucien Thériault (1897-1983):  Husband of Bérengère Mauffette, daughter of Léontine Lavigne-Mauffette, Thériault was a producer with Radio-Canada.  An enthusiast of Canadian songs, he also wrote and composed many himself. 

Scope and content
The fonds consists of records pertaining to the activities of members of the Lavigne-Mauffette family.  One will find, among others items, biographical notes; official records; correspondence; musical works; records pertaining to studies and teaching; Canadian song collection; press clippings; photographs and tintypes of family members. 

The fonds comprises the following series:  A - Émery Lavigne; B - Léontine Lavigne Mauffette; C - Estelle Mauffette; D - Lucien Thériault; E - Press Clippings and Biographical Notes; F - Photographs and Tintypes. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Guy Mauffette, grandson of Émery Lavigne, in 1985, and from Clotilde Painchaud in 1999. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  Monique Ostiguy.  "Numerical List of Lavigne-Mauffette Family fonds."  Ottawa:  National Library of Canada.  June 1990.  53 p.  (unpublished). 

Associated material:  Guy Mauffette fonds (MG 30 D 347) at the National Archives of Canada.



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

LAVIGNE-MAUFFETTE, FAMILLE
MUS 162


Fonds de la famille Lavigne-Mauffette.  - 1869-1984.  - 90 cm de documents textuels.  - 199 photographies.  - 2 ferrotypes. 

Notices biographiques
Émery Lavigne (1859-1902) :  frère cadet d'Ernest, fondateur du parc Sohmer, et d'Arthur, marchand de musique à Québec, il étudie l'orgue avec R.O. Pelletier à Montréal.  À l'exception d'un séjour à Oswego, New York (1878 à 1883), la carrière d'organiste, d'accompagnateur et d'enseignant d'Émery Lavigne se déroule à Montréal.  En 1893, il fonde le Trio Haydn et est nommé, à la même époque, juge à l'Académie de musique de Montréal. 

Léontine Lavigne-Mauffette (1879-1939) :  fille d'Émery Lavigne, elle est née à Oswego.  Au début du siècle, elle donne quelques concerts de piano, notamment au Ladies' Morning Musical Club, et fait partie du choeur de la cathédrale de Montréal. 

Estelle Mauffette (1904-1984) :  fille de Léontine Lavigne Mauffette, elle est née à Montréal.  Après des études d'art dramatique avec Jeanne Maubourg, l'artiste tient plusieurs rôles dans les radiothéâtres de la Société Radio-Canada.  Elle sera la première Donalda de l'émission Un Homme et son péché de Claude-Henri Grignon.  Elle fait aussi carrière de «diseuse» et écrit les paroles de quelques chansons mises en musique par Hector Gratton. 

Lucien Thériault (1897-1983) :  époux de Bérengère Mauffette, fille de Léontine Lavigne Mauffette, il occupe le poste de réalisateur à Radio-Canada.  Amateur de chansons canadiennes, il est également auteur-compositeur de plusieurs chansons. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds est constitué de documents qui témoignent des activités de membres de la famille Lavigne-Mauffette.  On y retrouve, entre autres, des notes biographiques; des documents officiels; de la correspondance; des oeuvres musicales; des documents concernant les études et l'enseignement; une collection de chansons canadiennes; des coupures de presse; des photographies et des ferrotypes de membres de la famille. 

Le fonds est formé des séries suivantes :  A - Émery Lavigne; B - Léontine Lavigne Mauffette; C - Estelle Mauffette; D - Lucien Thériault; E - Coupures de presse et notes biographiques; F - Photographies et ferrotypes. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de Guy Mauffette, petit-fils d'Émery Lavigne, en 1985, et de Clotilde Painchaud en 1999. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  Monique Ostiguy.  «Répertoire numérique du fonds de la famille Lavigne-Mauffette».  Ottawa :  Bibliothèque nationale du Canada.  juin 1990.  53 p.  (inédit). 

Documents connexes :  Fonds Guy-Mauffette (MG 30 D 347) aux Archives nationales du Canada.



Divulgation proactive