Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

LUCAS, CLARENCE, 1866-1947
MUS 8


Thumbnail[60K] Page of Ossian - Ballade celtique, Op. 78 by composer Clarence Lucas.  (by permission of Jessica Luginbuhl Lucas)

Clarence Lucas fonds.  - 1874-1947.  - 94 cm of textual records.  - 101 photographs. 

Biographical sketch
Smithville, Ontario native Clarence Lucas moved to Montréal with his family in 1878 and studied piano, violin and organ there.  In addition to conducting an amateur orchestra, he played the organ in a number of churches and was a violinist in the Montreal Philharmonic Society.  Around 1885, he continued his training in Paris with Georges-Eugène Marty and Théodore Dubois.  Returning to Canada in 1888, Lucas taught harmony and counterpoint at the Toronto College of Music, and in 1889, became musical director of Wesleyan Ladies College in Hamilton.  During his extensive career, he also worked in London, New York and Paris as a correspondent and editor for the Musical Courier.  In 1904, the artist composed and conducted his musical comedy Peggy Machree in London, and also staged it in the United States during a brief tour in 1907.  His compositions include the opera The Money Spider, overtures to Othello, Macbeth and As You Like It, the cantata The Birth of Christ, and a Prelude and Fugue for piano. 

Scope and content
The fonds consists of records pertaining to Clarence Lucas' composing and writing activities.  It includes, among other items, a will; correspondence; a diary and note pad; writings on music and novels (A Composer's Equipment, A Parson's Daughter, Annazalla, Karnac, Ignota, Pianists I Have Met, etc.); ca. 350 manuscripts of compositions, transcriptions and arrangements for voice, choir, piano, organ, chamber orchestra, band and symphony orchestra; press clippings; and photographs of Lucas, members of his family and friends. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Jessica Luginbuhl and Angelo A. Lucas, Clarence Lucas's daughter and son, in 1996 and 1997. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  provisional description. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

LUCAS, CLARENCE, 1866-1947
MUS 8


Thumbnail[60K]

Page de Ossian - Ballade celtique, op. 78 par le compositeur Clarence Lucas.  (avec l'autorisation de Jessica Luginbuhl Lucas)

Fonds Clarence-Lucas.  - 1874-1947.  - 94 cm de documents textuels.  - 101 photographies. 

Notice biographique
Originaire de Smithville (Ontario), Clarence Lucas s'installe à Montréal avec sa famille en 1878 et il y étudie le piano, le violon et l'orgue.  En plus de diriger un orchestre amateur, il est organiste dans plusieurs églises et devient aussi violoniste à la Montreal Philharmonic Society.  Vers 1885, il poursuit sa formation à Paris avec Georges-Eugène Marty et Théodore Dubois.  De retour au Canada en 1888, Lucas donne des cours d'harmonie et de contrepoint au Toronto College of Music et il assume, en 1889, le poste de directeur musical du Wesleyan Ladies College à Hamilton.  Au cours de sa vaste carrière, il travaille également à Londres, New York et Paris comme correspondant et rédacteur du Musical Courier.  En 1904, l'artiste compose et dirige à Londres sa comédie musicale Peggy Machree et il la présente aussi aux États-Unis en 1907 lors d'un brève tournée.  Parmi les oeuvres du compositeur, mentionnons l'opéra The Money Spider, les ouvertures Othello, Macbeth et As You Like It, la cantate The Birth of Christ ainsi que le Prelude and Fugue pour piano. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds est composé de documents qui témoignent des activités de compositeur et d'écrivain de Clarence Lucas.  On y retrouve, entre autres, un testament; de la correspondance; un agenda et un bloc-notes; des écrits sur la musique et des romans (A Composer's Equipment, A Parson's Daughter, Annazalla, Karnac, Ignota, Pianists I Have Met, etc.); env.  350 manuscrits de compositions, de transcriptions et d'arrangements pour voix, choeur, piano, orgue, orchestre de chambre, harmonie et orchestre symphonique; des coupures de presse; des photographies de Lucas, de membres de sa famille et d'amis du compositeur. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de Jessica Luginbuhl et Angelo A. Lucas, fille et fils de Clarence Lucas, en 1996 et 1997. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  description provisoire. 



Divulgation proactive