Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

PEAKER, CHARLES, 1899-1978
MUS 61


Charles Peaker fonds.  - 1912-1975.  - 9 cm of textual records.  - 2 photographs. 

Biographical sketch
Born in England, Charles Peaker emigrated to Canada at age 13, studying music in Toronto with Healey Willan, Sir Ernest MacMillan and Ernest Seitz.  During the course of his career, he worked as organist and choirmaster in many Canadian churches, including Rosedale United (1930-36), Deer Park United (1937-44) and St. Paul's Anglican (1944-75).  A renowned organist, he also performed in the United States and Great Britain.  From 1934 to 1950, he conducted the Hart House Glee Club choir and, from 1940 to 1942, the Coliseum Chorus.  In 1930 Charles Peaker became a professor at the Toronto Conservatory of Music (today the RCMT), holding this position until 1970.  From 1952 to 1965, he also taught choral technique at the University of Toronto.  He was made a Member of the Order of Canada in 1974. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the career of Charles Peaker:  correspondence; concert programmes; press articles by and on C. Peaker; radio texts; photographs of an organ. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Charles Peaker in 1975. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  numerical list. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

PEAKER, CHARLES, 1899-1978
MUS 61


Fonds Charles-Peaker.  - 1912-1975.  - 9 cm de documents textuels.  - 2 photographies. 

Notice biographique
Originaire d'Angleterre, Charles Peaker émigre au Canada à l'âge de 13 ans et étudie la musique, à Toronto, avec Healey Willan, sir Ernest MacMillan et Ernest Seitz.  Au cours de sa carrière, il oeuvre comme organiste et maître de chapelle dans plusieurs églises canadiennes dont l'église unie Rosedale (1930-36), l'église unie de Deer Park (1937-44) et l'église anglicane Saint Paul's (1944-75).  Organiste réputé, il se produit également aux États-Unis et en Grande-Bretagne.  De 1934 à 1950, il dirige le choeur du Hart House Glee Club et, de 1940 à 1942, le Coliseum Chorus.  Charles Peaker devient, en 1930, professeur au Toronto Conservatory of Music (aujourd'hui RCMT) et occupe ce poste jusqu'en 1970.  De 1952 à 1965, il enseigne aussi la technique chorale à l'Université de Toronto.  En 1974, il est fait membre de l'Ordre du Canada. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds contient des documents qui témoignent de la carrière de Charles Peaker :  correspondance; programmes de concerts; articles de presse par et sur C. Peaker; textes radiophoniques; photographies d'un orgue. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de Charles Peaker en 1975. 

Restrictions :  aucune. 

Instruments de recherche :  répertoire numérique. 



Divulgation proactive