Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

MUS 186

Norman Sherman fonds.  - 1962-1988.  - 26 cm of textual records. 

Biographical sketch
Born in Boston, Massachusetts, Norman Sherman arrived in Canada in 1957, where he worked as first bassoonist in a number of orchestras, including the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, the CBC Symphony Orchestra, the National Arts Centre Orchestra, and the London and Kingston symphony orchestras.  At the same time, he was a composer:  to date, his corpus consists of some twenty major works:  Sinfonia Concertante for Bassoon and Strings (1949), Thesis for Orchestra (1975), among others. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to Norman Sherman's activity as a composer:  18 manuscript compositions including:  Entretien, Le Jardin d'amour, Euphoria, Thesis for Orchestra, The Aquarium, La Bodega, The Reunion, Icthyon, Quadron, The Events of November 10, 1812, Quintessant, The Pioneers, Tango, The Two-Bit Dance Hall, Two Pieces, Canadian Summer

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Norman Sherman in 1989. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  none. 

Accruals:  further accessions expected. 

Proactive Disclosure