Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

WALTER, ARNOLD, 1902-1973
MUS 71


Arnold Walter fonds.  - [ca. 1920]-[ca. 1973].  - 5 m of textual records.  - 170 photographs. 

Biographical sketch
Educator, administrator, musicologist and composer born in Czechoslovakia, Arnold Walter studied jurisprudence at the University of Prague and musicology at the University of Berlin.  He also took private piano lessons with Rudolf Breithaupt and Frederic Lamond, and composition lessons with Franz Schreker.  Being without employment as a pianist-composer in Berlin, Walter decided to turn to writing, and contributed to the magazine Melos.  In the early 1930s, he was put in charge of the music column for the periodical Die Weltbühne, and also became music critic for the Vorwärts magazine.  Arnold Walter moved to Canada in 1937, finding employment as a teacher at Upper Canada College in Toronto.  In 1945, hired by the Toronto Conservatory of Music, he applied the recommendations of Ernest Hutcheson's report on the reform of music education in Toronto by establishing the Senior School of the Toronto Conservatory of Music and the opera school (Royal Conservatory Opera School).  In 1952 he became director of the University of Toronto's Faculty of Music.  As a composer, he wrote works for piano and for orchestra, as well as chamber music and electroacoustic music. 

Scope and content
The fonds contains records pertaining to the musical activities of Arnold Walter.  His writings also reveals a man who was conscious of the development of musical education in Canada and open to new music learning theories.  It includes: curriculum vitae; passports; certificates and diploma; personal and professional correspondence, including letters from such personalities as Carl Orff, Jean-Marie Beaudet, Aaron Copland, Emily Carr and Marshall McLuhan; lecture notes and speeches; articles; radio texts; reports; files on the publication of Aspects of Music in Canada and other publication projects; files on his visits to Japan, Moscow and Vienna; music manuscripts; articles on Arnold Walter; brochures; press clippings; photographs, chiefly of Arnold Walter, artists and performances. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Trudi Le Caine, stepdaughter of Arnold Walter, in a number of accessions between 1976 and 1995. 

Restrictions:  the personal correspondence is confidential. 

Finding aids:  provisional description. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

WALTER, ARNOLD, 1902-1973
MUS 71


Fonds Arnold-Walter.  - [ca 1920]-[ca 1973].  - 5 m de documents textuels.  - 170 photographies. 

Notice biographique
Éducateur, administrateur, musicologue et compositeur né en Tchécoslovaquie, Arnold Walter étudie la jurisprudence à l'Université de Prague et la musicologie à l'Université de Berlin.  Il suit également, en privé, des leçons de piano avec Rudolf Breithaupt et Frederic Lamond ainsi que de composition avec Franz Schreker.  N'ayant pas d'emploi comme pianiste-compositeur à Berlin, Walter décide alors de se tourner vers l'écriture et collabore à la revue Melos.  Au début des années 1930, il est nommé responsable de la rubrique musicale pour le périodique Die Weltbühne et devient aussi critique musical à la revue Vorwärts.  Arnold Walter s'installe au Canada en 1937 et occupe, à Toronto, un poste d'enseignant au Upper Canada College.  En 1945, engagé par le Toronto Conservatory of Music, il applique les recommandations du rapport d'Ernest Hutcheson sur la réforme de l'éducation musicale à Toronto et met ainsi sur pied la Senior School du Toronto Conservatory of Music et l'opera school (Royal Conservatory Opera School).  En 1952, il devient directeur de la faculté de musique de l'Université de Toronto.  Comme compositeur, il écrit des oeuvres pour piano, orchestre, de la musique de chambre et électroacoustique. 

Portée et contenu
Le fonds contient des documents qui témoignent des activités musicales d'Arnold Walter.  Les écrits de Walter nous révèle aussi un homme soucieux du développement de l'éducation musical au Canada et ouvert aux nouvelles théories d'apprentissage de la musique.  On y retrouve un curriculum vitae; des passeports; des certificats et des diplômes; de la correspondance personnelle et professionnelle comprenant des lettres de personnalités telles que Carl Orff, Jean-Marie Beaudet, Aaron Copland, Emily Carr et Marshall McLuhan; des notes de conférences et d'allocutions; des articles; des textes radiophoniques; des rapports; des dossiers relatifs à la publication de Aspects de la musique au Canada et autres projets de publication; des dossiers concernant ses séjours au Japon, à Moscou et à Vienne; des manuscrits de musique; des articles sur Arnold Walter; des brochures; des coupures de presse; des photographies, principalement, d'Arnold Walter, d'artistes et de scènes. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de Trudi Le Caine, belle-fille d'Arnold Walter, en plusieurs versements entre les années 1976 et 1995. 

Restrictions :  la correspondance personnelle est confidentielle. 

Instruments de recherche :  description provisoire. 



Divulgation proactive