Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - The Council on Access to Information for Print-Disabled Canadians

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Proposal for Canadian Heritage Support for Alternate Format Production of Canadian Content

January 2003


The focus of our cultural policies for the future must be on excellence in the creative process, diverse Canadian content, and access to the arts and heritage for all Canadians. (Speech from the Throne, January 2001)

The Council on Access to Information for Print-Disabled Canadians was formed by the National Librarian of Canada to pursue implementation of the recommendations contained in Fulfilling the Promise, the final report of the Task Force on Access to Information for Print-Disabled Canadians. The Council membership comprises individuals with extensive experience in all areas of not-for-profit and for profit production and delivery of accessible content including direct service to user communities. Its mandate is to improve access to information for all Print-Disabled communities; according to the Participation and Activity Limitation Survey 2001, 17.4% of adults reporting disabilities had visual disabilities, and an almost equal number, or 16.7% had learning or developmental disabilities.

The Council is proposing that the Department of Canadian Heritage fund a three-year pilot project to increase the availability of Canadian-authored works for all Print-Disabled Canadians. This proposed annual grant program calls for annual expenditures of $2.5 million. The program would fund up to 50% of the production cost of a master copy of eligible audio and braille titles. Based on reliable estimates of current alternate format production in Canada, this proposed grant program would result in the availability of 500 new audio book titles and 200 new braille titles per year. That these seemingly small numbers would result in a significant improvement in access to Canadian writing for the approximately 3 million Print-Disabled Canadians is a reflection of the totally unacceptable situation which currently exists-it is estimated that only 3-4% of what is published is available in accessible formats for the Print-Disabled.

The Task Force on Access to Information for Print-Disabled Canadians recommended that the Government of Canada, through the Department of Canadian Heritage, annually appropriate at least $7.5 million to support the production of multiple formats of titles which have authorship outside governments. The Council fully supports this Task Force recommendation. Since the Task Force report was issued, the situation has worsened as a result of the recent well-publicized decision by the Province of British Columbia to cancel its audio book production program. In order to immediately address this deplorable lack of access to Canadian writing, the Council is proposing this pilot project. The pilot project, once evaluated, would lead to a permanent program to guarantee a more acceptable level of access to written culture in Canada for Print-Disabled Canadians. It is also recommended that in cooperation with the National Library of Canada, a consultant be retained as soon as possible to develop the implementation details for the program including criteria for supporting titles with significant variations in production cost.

The Council proposes the following general parameters for the pilot project:

  • Both for profit and not-for-profit producers should be eligible;
  • Grant monies must be allocated to the production of new alternate format titles;
  • Funded titles must be unabridged versions of Canadian authored works;
  • Funded titles must exist in digital form although distribution may be in traditional formats;
  • Government publications should not be eligible for support;
  • The determination of eligibility should be structured to ensure nominal administrative requirement for program operations;
  • The National Library of Canada should administer this program;
  • Funded titles must be listed in the National Library of Canada's CANWIP (Canadian Works in Progress) program and be available for inter-library loan to eligible institutions and individuals.

Prepared by Council on Access to Information for Print-Disabled Canadians January 2003

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Le Conseil sur l'accès à l'information pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Proposition pour le soutien du Patrimoine canadien pour la production de contenu canadien en média substitut

janvier 2003


Nos politiques culturelles devront viser l'excellence en matière de créativité, encourager la diversité du contenu canadien et favoriser l'accès aux arts et au patrimoine pour tous les Canadiens. (Discours du Trône, janvier 2001)

Le Conseil sur l'accès à l'information pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés a été créé par l'administrateur général de la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada pour permettre la mise en œuvre des recommandations émises dans Une promesse à respecter le rapport final du Groupe de travail sur l'accès à l'information pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés. Les membres du Conseil possèdent une vaste expérience dans tous les domaines de la production et la distribution sans but lucratif et à but lucratif de contenu accessible, y compris un service direct aux groupes d'utilisateurs. Le mandat du Conseil consiste à améliorer l'accès à l'information pour les groupes incapables de lire les imprimés; selon l'Enquête 2001 sur la participation et les limitations d'activités, 17,4 % des adultes déclarant une incapacité souffraient d'une déficience visuelle et un nombre équivalent, ou 16,7 % souffraient de difficultés d'apprentissage ou de déficience développementale.

Le Conseil propose que le ministère du Patrimoine canadien finance un projet pilote de trois ans visant à accroître la disponibilité d'ouvrages d'auteurs canadiens pour tous les Canadiennes et Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés. Ce programme annuel de subvention serait doté d'un budget de dépenses annuelles de 2,5 millions de dollars. Le programme financerait jusqu'à 50 % des coûts de production d'originaux de titres admissibles en format audio et en braille. Si l'on se fie aux statistiques fiables concernant la production actuelle de médias substituts au Canada, ce programme de subvention permettrait de créer 500 nouveaux titres de livres en format audio et 200 nouveaux titres en braille par an. Le fait que ces petits nombres permettent d'améliorer notablement l'accès aux auteurs canadiens pour les quelque trois millions de Canadiennes et de Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés, illustre combien la situation actuelle est totalement inacceptable : on estime qu'entre trois et quatre pour cent seulement des ouvrages publiés sont disponibles en format accessible pour les personnes incapables de lire les imprimés.

Le Groupe de travail sur l'accès à l'information pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés a recommandé que le gouvernement du Canada, par le biais du ministère du Patrimoine canadien, affecte annuellement au moins 7,5 millions de dollars pour promouvoir la production de titres non gouvernementaux en formats alternatifs ou substituts. Le Conseil soutient pleinement cette recommandation du Groupe de travail. Depuis la parution du rapport du Groupe de travail, la situation s'est détériorée à la suite de la décision hautement médiatisée qu'a prise la province de la Colombie-Britannique d'annuler son programme de production de livres sonores. Afin d'immédiatement remédier au déplorable manque d'accès aux ouvrages canadiens, le Conseil propose ce projet pilote. Ce projet, une fois soumis à une évaluation, serait transformé en programme permanent pour garantir aux Canadiennes et Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés un niveau d'accès plus acceptable à la culture écrite du Canada.

Le Groupe de travail recommande aussi qu'en collaboration avec la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, le Conseil procède à l'embauche d'un consultant dès que possible afin de cerner les détails de mise en œuvre du programme, y compris les critères à conférer aux titres à l'appui, compte tenu des variations considérables des coûts de production.

Le Conseil propose ainsi les paramètres généraux suivants pour le projet pilote :

  • L'appel d'offres devrait admettre aussi bien les maisons de production sans but lucratif que celles à but lucratif.
  • Les sommes des subventions doivent être allouées à la production de nouveaux titres en médias substituts.
  • Les titres subventionnés doivent être des versions intégrales de travaux d'auteurs canadiens.
  • Les titres subventionnés doivent déjà exister en format numérique, par contre, la publication peut se faire en format traditionnel.
  • Les subventions devraient exclure les publications gouvernementales.
  • L'admissibilité devrait être structurée de manière à garantir les exigences administratives essentielles des opérations du programme.
  • La Bibliothèque nationale du Canada devrait administrer ce programme.
  • Les titres subventionnés doivent être répertoriés au Registre des ouvrages canadiens en préparation (CANWIP) et offerts au programme de prêt entre bibliothèques s'adressant aux établissements et aux particuliers admissibles.

Préparé par le Conseil sur l'accès à l'information pour les Canadiennes et Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés janvier 2003