Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - The Council on Access to Information for Print-Disabled Canadians

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Council Achievements
February 2001 - December 2001


Introduction

Dr. Roch Carrier established the Council on Access to Information for Print Disabled Canadians in response to Fulfilling the Promise: Report of the Task Force on Access to Information for Print Disabled Canadians (October 31, 2000). To implement the 26 recommendations of the Task Force, it was acknowledged that a group of experts needed collaboratively to develop strategies and implement solutions to provide more content in multiple formats for the three million Canadians who do not read conventional print, because they have a visual, perceptual or physical disability. More resources are needed to ensure accessibility of services and products on the Internet; and to build a strengthened network of trained service providers who are able to maximize the systems and services already in place and create new ones for digital content.

As only about 3% of the world's library materials are available in multiple formats, such as large print, braille, audio and marked up electronic text, it becomes evident that the technologies must be used to create new content and that sharing existing materials is imperative if users are to have access to the information they require, in the format of their choice. In a knowledge-based economy, where access to information is a prerequisite to educational opportunity and education facilitates employment, the Council's work is critical and time-sensitive.

The first meeting of the Council was held in February 2001. The first task was to digest the essence of the Task Force report and to arrange the recommendations in groups that allowed for quick progress as well as longer-term improvements.

In the two subsequent meetings, the Council, having learned of the programs of key departments within government and several lead organizations, has taken decisions about appropriate actions and has debated varied approaches to policy, service and funding issues. Between meetings, Council members and the Secretariat have furthered the implementation of the Council's decisions.

Highlights

  • Through a letter and a meeting with officials of the Treasury Board Secretariat, the revised Communications Policy of the Government of Canada has been strengthened to include the need for multiple formats in its opening statement and in subsequent sections of the document;

  • With resources from Treasury Board, Industry Canada, through its Assistive Devices Industry Office, has consulted widely with the community in preparing the Manager's Guide to Multiple Formats. This manual, in French and English and multiple formats, will be available early in 2002 and may be used by all authors and publishers in planning multiple format materials for publication and the Internet;

  • The Manager's Guide to Multiple Formats will also be an appendix to the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada;

  • Training sessions on use of the Manager's Guide are planned; a session has already been confirmed for the Government's Communicators Annual Conference in Ottawa, April 23 - 25, 2002;

  • Council has applauded the National Library for making AMICUS free to service providers and end users; the AMICUS data base contains about 250,000 records of materials in alternate format;

  • Several meetings have been held with senior officials at Canadian Heritage to ensure that the terms and conditions of their agreements for distributing monies to organizations producing digital content also ensure the accessibility of the products on websites;

  • The Council has taken part in the reform of the copyright legislation and has written Canadian delegates to the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) about the need for an international convention on alternate format materials;

  • Council members have met with senior officials at Canadian Heritage to discuss possible programs and approaches to acquiring funds for the production of multiple format materials, using digital technologies and internationally recognized standards;

  • A committee of the Council has met with members of the Canadian publishing community to plan for the development of a clearinghouse of electronic text masters; the purpose of the Clearinghouse is to facilitate the timely and affordable production of multiple format titles, while protecting management rights and keeping a copy of the original text for archiving;

  • From the discussion with educational publishers, a pilot project is planned for 2002 to learn the procedures, standards and systems necessary for publishers, the depository agency and the authorized alternate format producers;

  • The Minister of Industry has gained approval and is seeking money for a proposal to strengthen research and marketing of the Assistive Technologies industry in Canada; one part of the proposal aims to support libraries serving the public in becoming accessible in the presentation of materials and delivery of services in both the print and the digital environment;

  • A successful workshop on resource sharing for 30 persons was held at the National Library of Canada at the end of October. Included were four users, alternate format producers, service providers, and staff from several types of library. The purpose was to learn what materials and services are available to print disabled Canadians; to share experience and expertise in training, technologies, policies and services; and to build a more coherent set of guidelines and information on services to students from Kindergarten to Grade 12, college and university students, employed and unemployed adults, and seniors. The workshop report is available on the website at:
    www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/accessinfo/005003-3001-10-2001-e.html.

  • Council members and Secretariat staff have visited several of the alternate format producers and service providers in Montréal: l'Institut canadien pour les aveugles (INCA), La Magnétothèque, l'Institut Nazareth et Louis Braille; others have had a tour of the CNIB Library in Toronto;

  • Secretariat staff have had demonstrations of services provided by Carleton University, which has attracted 800 disabled students to its campus, 400 of whom have learning disabilities; the Secretariat staff go to the University of Ottawa in early January;

  • The Council hosted a meeting between staff of Recordings for the Blind & Dyslexic (RFB&D) from Princeton, N. J. A number of Canadians acquire audio titles from this organization; the Council is developing approaches to increasing the sources and types of materials available in alternate format for Canadians, including works from RFB&D.

  • The activities of the Council are regularly presented to the Assistant Deputy Ministers' Steering Committee on the Federal Disability Agenda and to appropriate committees within Parliament and the bureaucracy.

  • Information and training sessions on materials and services for print disabled Canadians have been held in 2001 at conferences and regional meetings; more are planned at the local, provincial and national levels for 2002, to meet the concern of lack of awareness of the needs of print disabled Canadians and the need for training of service providers and users.

  • Training materials are being shared among service providers, so that a more coherent and consistent service may be provided to all print disabled Canadians;

  • The first issue of the Council bulletin Access Info was published in the fall of 2001 after consultation on its format with staff from the Learning Disabilities Association of Canada.

  • Articles on the work of the Council and links to the website have been made in several magazines published by organizations working with disabled persons;

  • The website on Council activities includes a resource page; the site is regularly updated at
    www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/accessinfo/005003-5000-e.html.

  • Listservs have been created to encourage discussion and exchange at Accessinfo-L and the email address is accessinfo@bac-lac.gc.ca. In addition listservs maintained by disability organizations are linked to the Council website.

The Council Secretariat is pleased to facilitate communication among readers and members of the Council and other groups and organizations. If you are looking for information, a speaker, or a reference to service providers and experts, please write accessinfo@bac-lac.gc.ca or call 613-995-3904. Staff would be pleased to assist.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Le Conseil sur l'accès à l'information pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Liste des réalisations,
février 2001 - décembre 2001


Introduction

M. Roch Carrier a créé le Conseil sur l'accès à l'information pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés en réponse au document intitulé Une promesse à respecter : Rapport du Groupe de travail sur l'accès à l'information pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés (31 octobre 2000). Pour exécuter les 26 recommandations du Groupe de travail, un groupe d'experts devait collaborer à stratégies et lancer des moyens pour fournir davantage de contenu en formats multiples aux 3 millions de Canadiennes et de Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés conventionnels, en raison d'une déficience visuelle, perceptuelle ou physique. Il faut davantage de ressources pour garantir l'accès aux produits et services sur Internet et bâtir un réseau consolidé de fournisseurs de services compétents, pour optimiser les systèmes et services existants et en créer de nouveaux pour le contenu numérique.

Comme 3 % seulement des collections des bibliothèques du monde sont disponibles en formats multiples (gros caractères, braille, format sonore et texte électronique balisé), il semble que, pour offrir aux utilisateurs l'accès à l'information dont ils ont besoin, dans le format de leur choix, il faut, d'une part, se servir des technologies pour créer un nouveau contenu et, d'autre part, mettre en commun les collections existantes. Dans une économie axée sur le savoir, où l'accès à l'information est une condition préalable aux possibilités d'instruction et où l'instruction, à son tour, facilite l'emploi, les travaux du Conseil revêtent une importance cruciale et doivent répondre à un besoin pressant.

La première réunion du Conseil a eu lieu en février 2001. Le Conseil devait d'abord digérer l'essence du rapport du Groupe de travail et regrouper les recommandations pour en accélérer le traitement et en poursuivre l'amélioration à long terme.

Ayant entendu parler des programmes mis en œuvre dans des ministères clés et dans certains organismes gouvernementaux phares, le Conseil a, lors de ses deux réunions subséquentes, décidé des mesures à prendre et a examiné différentes démarches en matière de politique, de service et de financement. Entre les réunions, les membres du Conseil et le Secrétariat ont poursuivi la mise en œuvre des décisions du Conseil.

Points saillants

  • Après une lettre et une réunion avec les représentants du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, on a renforcé la nouvelle politique des communications du gouvernement du Canada, le document incluant désormais la nécessité des formats multiples dans son introduction et dans les parties subséquentes;

  • Grâce aux ressources du Conseil du Trésor, Industrie Canada a, grâce au Bureau d'industrie des appareils et accessoires fonctionnels, mené de vastes consultations publiques dans le cadre de la préparation du Guide des gestionnaires sur les formats multiples. Ce document, en français, en anglais et dans des formats multiples, offert au début de 2002, servira de référence à tout auteur et éditeur de documents en formats multiples à publier et à diffuser sur Internet;

  • Le Guide des gestionnaires sur les formats multiples sera également annexé à la politique sur les communications du gouvernment du Canada;

  • On prévoit organiser des séances de formation sur l'utilisation du Guide des gestionnaires; la Conférence annuelle des agents de communication du gouvernement, à Ottawa, les 23, 24 et 25 avril 2002 tiendra une telle séance;

  • Le Conseil a félicité la décision prise par la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada de rendre AMICUS gratuit aux fournisseurs de services et utilisateurs finaux; la base de données AMICUS a quelque 250 000 documents en médias substituts;

  • Le Conseil a tenu plusieurs réunions avec des hauts fonctionnaires de Patrimoine Canada pour voir à ce que les modalités de leurs accords de financement accordés aux organismes de production de contenu numérique touchent aussi l'accessibilité de ces produits sur les sites Web;

  • Le Conseil a participé à la réforme de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur et a écrit aux membres de la délégation canadienne à l'Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle (OMPI) pour leur rappeler la nécessité de se doter d'une convention internationale sur les documents en médias substituts;

  • Les membres du Conseil ont rencontré de hauts fonctionnaires de Patrimoine Canada pour discuter des programmes et des démarches pouvant être entamés en vue de débloquer des fonds pour financer la production de documents en formats multiples, à l'aide des technologies du numérique et des normes reconnues à l'échelle internationale;

  • L'un des comités du Conseil s'est réuni avec les membres de la collectivité canadienne de l'édition pour planifier la création d'un base de données central de textes électroniques originaux. Un tel bureau central servirait à faciliter la production rapide et abordable de titres en formats multiples, tout en permettant de protéger les droits et de garder une copie du texte original à des fins d'archivage;

  • À la suite d'une discussion avec des éditeurs scolaires, on prévoit lancer un projet pilote en 2002 pour apprendre les procédés, normes et systèmes dont se servent éditeurs, organismes de dépôt et producteurs autorisés de médias substituts;

  • Le ministre de l'Industrie a obtenu le feu vert pour tenter d'obtenir des fonds en vue de financer un projet visant à renforcer la recherche et la commercialisation de l'industrie canadienne des technologies fonctionnelles; entre autres, la proposition envisage d'aider les bibliothèques à desservir le public en devenant accessibles dans leur manière de présenter les documents et d'offrir leurs services, tant en format imprimé qu'en format numérique;

  • Fin octobre, la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada a tenu un fructueux atelier d'une trentaine de personnes, à Ottawa, sur la mise en commun des ressources. Ont participé quatre utilisateurs, des producteurs de médias substituts, des fournisseurs de services et des employés de plusieurs types de bibliothèques. Il s'agissait de les renseigner sur les documents et services mis à la disposition des Canadiennes et des Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés; de partager les expériences et les connaissances en matière de formation, de technologie, de politique et de service; d'élaborer des lignes directrices et des renseignements cohérents sur les services aux élèves, depuis la maternelle jusqu'à la fin du secondaire, aux étudiants des collèges et des universités, aux adultes actifs et au chômage ainsi qu'aux personnes âgées. Le rapport de l'atelier est disponible sur le site Web, à l'adresse suivante :
    www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/accessinfo/005003-3001-10-2001-f.html.

  • Les membres du Conseil et le personnel du Secrétariat ont rendu visite à plusieurs producteurs de médias substituts et fournisseurs de services à Montréal, à savoir l'Institut canadien pour les aveugles (INCA), La Magnétothèque, l'Institut Nazareth et Louis Braille; d'autres personnes ont eu l'occasion de faire une visite guidée de la bibliothèque de l'INCA à Toronto;

  • Le personnel du Secrétariat a assisté à des démonstrations de services à l'Université Carleton, où 800 étudiants handicapés (dont 400 ayant des difficultés d'apprentissage) font leurs études; le personnel du Secrétariat va se rendre à l'Université d'Ottawa au début du mois de janvier;

  • Le Conseil a organisé une rencontre avec le personnel de Recordings for the Blind & Dyslexic (RFB&D), de Princeton (New Jersey). Un certain nombre de Canadiennes et de Canadiens se procurent des titres audio auprès de cet organisme; le Conseil est en train de mettre au point des méthodes visant à accroître le nombre de sources et de types de documents en médias substituts offerts aux Canadiens, y compris certains documents de RFB&D.

  • Les activités du Conseil sont régulièrement présentées au Comité directeur de sous-ministres adjoints chargé du Plan d'action du gouvernement du Canada concernant les personnes handicapées ainsi qu'aux comités parlementaires et aux fonctionnaires concernés;

  • Plusieurs séances d'information et de formation sur les documents et les services à l'intention des Canadiennes et des Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés ont été organisées en 2001, dans le cadre de conférences et de réunions régionales; en 2002, on prévoit d'en organiser d'autres à l'échelle locale, provinciale et nationale, afin de répondre aux préoccupations exprimées à l'égard du manque de sensibilisation aux besoins des Canadiennes et des Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés et du besoin en formation pour les fournisseurs de services et les utilisateurs;

  • Les fournisseurs de services se partagent des outils de formation, afin de pouvoir offrir des services plus cohérents et plus uniformes à l'ensemble des Canadiennes et des Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés;

  • Le premier numéro d'Info Accès, le bulletin du Conseil, est sorti à l'automne 2001, à la suite de consultations sur son format menées auprès du personnel de Troubles d'apprentissage - Association canadienne.

  • Plusieurs magazines publiés par des organismes de personnes handicapées ont fait paraître des articles sur les activités du Conseil et renvoyant à son site Web;

  • Le site Web sur les activités du Conseil
    www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/accessinfo/005003-5000-f.html contient une page de ressources et son contenu est régulièrement mis à jour.

  • On a créé des serveurs de listes pour encourager les discussions et les échanges à InfoAccès-L, à l'adresse courriel suivante : accessinfo@bac-lac.gc.ca. En outre, les serveurs de listes tenus à jour par les organismes de personnes handicapées sont reliés au site Web du Conseil.

Le Secrétariat du Conseil est heureux de faciliter la communication entre les lecteurs et les membres du Conseil, ainsi que d'autres groupes et organismes. Si vous désirez obtenir des renseignements, trouver un conférencier ou vous faire aiguiller vers des fournisseurs de services ou des experts, veuillez écrire à accessinfo@bac-lac.gc.ca ou composer le 613?995-3904. Notre personnel se fera un plaisir de vous aider.