Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Cataloguing and Metadata

Policy on Levels of Cataloguing Treatment1 for Publications Acquired by LAC

Return to Policies Page

Table of Contents


The policy in brief:

Full level cataloguing treatment

Includes:

No restriction on the number of access points; authority records are created for all name access points; standardized subject access using Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH); LC and Dewey Decimal classification numbers.

Is given to:

All publications for LAC's Reference, Staff Resource Centre, and Genealogy and Family History collections, current Canadian children's literature, aboriginal and multicultural publications, publications of significant topical interest or special heritage value (see Annex 2) in the areas of Canadian music, literature, and the historical development of Canadian society

Core level cataloguing treatment

Includes:

Access points for primary names and titles only; authority records for name headings; a maximum of two Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH); LC and Dewey Decimal classification numbers.

Is given to:

Most current music sound recordings and federal government publications

Minimal level cataloguing treatment

Includes:

Access points for primary names and titles only; LC classification (for most types of publications)2 ; abridged Dewey Decimal classification; authority records are created for name access points. No subject headings are assigned.

Is given to:

Current provincial government publications, aging Canadian music publications, scores and recordings, current foreign music publications and recordings, publications for the Rare Books and Lowy collections, conference proceedings, research reports, and educational materials.

Abbreviated level cataloguing treatment

Includes:

A maximum of two access points (usually the title and one name heading); LC classification only if it is needed for shelving purposes. No authorities are created for name access points; no LC subject headings are assigned.

Is given to:

Older publications of all types (mostly those older than the current year minus 3 years), pamphlets, municipal government publications, foreign and international official publications, non-music sound recordings, mass market genre fiction, newsletters, publications of interest to a limited audience.

Priorities

A system of four priority levels is used to determine the order in which incoming materials are processed.

Top priority is given to pre-publication material in the Cataloguing in Publication (CIP) program, current material in the federal Depository Services Program, public opinion research (POR) reports prepared for the Government of Canada, and acquisitions for LAC's Reference and Staff Resource Centre collections, all of which are to be catalogued within 10 days of receipt.

Next in priority are post-publication updates for material in the CIP program, current publications for LAC's special collections and in areas of special emphasis for LAC (i.e., aboriginal, multicultural, Canadian music, literature, and historical development), which are to be catalogued within 3 months of receipt.

Current publications are processed before older imprints.

Digital publications are processed before print and other analogue publications.


Policy on levels of cataloguing treatment

Context

The bibliographic records created within the Resource Description area of Library and Archives Canada (LAC) serve a variety of purposes, including:

  • to identify and provide access to published items in the LAC collection;
  • to record the existence of Canadian publications within the national bibliography;
  • to provide Canadian libraries with standardized catalogue records that can be copied into local systems and to which local holdings can be attached as part of a national union catalogue and to support Canada's inter-library loan system; and,
  • to provide a valuable source of reference and research for Canadian studies; and
  • to ensure that related works are brought together (by subject, creators' names, titles, geographic area, etc.) when searching AMICUS and other large bibliographic databases.

The policy on levels of cataloguing treatment was first introduced by the former National Library of Canada in 1996 and was revised in 2003. The present version (2009) was created to reflect the strategic directions and acquisitions orientation of Library and Archives Canada, including the focus on digital publications. It provides for an overall reduction in the number of publications that are fully catalogued, and a corresponding increase in the number of items done at lower levels of detail in order to adjust cataloging resources to handle an increased number of digital and legal deposit publications with reasonable timeliness.

Levels of treatment

There are five levels of cataloguing treatment for published heritage materials acquired by LAC: full, core, minimal, and abbreviated, plus the access level record for web sites. The data elements within each level conform to national cataloguing standards and the cataloguing level is encoded in each record for easy recognition by libraries and other organizations that use LAC catalogue records.

The full and core levels of cataloguing treatment include standardized subject headings (LCSH, CSH and RVM) and classification (Dewey Decimal and/or LC classification). The full, core and minimal levels include the creation of authority records for name access points and series titles.

Full level treatment is given to publications in the Cataloguing in Publication (CIP) program, items selected for LAC's special collections, publications of aboriginal and multicultural interest, and current publications in the areas of Canadian music, Canadian literature and the historical approach to the development of Canadian society.

All works by foreign authors published in Canada are catalogued at the abbreviated level unless a significant portion (usually more than 30%) of the content is about the Canadian experience.

Currency factor

All materials (with the exception of CIP, aboriginal and multicultural publications and items for certain special collections) drop to lower levels of cataloguing treatment as their dates of imprint age - on the assumption that there is less demand over time for LAC's record as a source of cataloguing copy for other libraries and in order to keep older publications out of processing backlogs.

Most trade publications will drop from full to abbreviated level cataloguing treatment when their dates of publication are older than the "current year minus 3 [years]". Details on the application of the currency factor are given in Annex 1.

Priority system

The priority system is used to designate a turnaround time for processing incoming materials from the point of acquisition to the point at which a catalogue record is made available to LAC's users. Priorities are assigned as part of the acquisitions function and determine the order in which materials are catalogued. This revised policy reduces the number of priority levels used in Published Heritage from seven to four, as follows.

  • Priority 1 is assigned to digital and analogue publications in special programs (DSP, POR reports, and preliminary CIP) and some special collections (Reference and the Staff Resource Centre).
    At priority 1, the service standard for delivering a catalogue record to Canadian libraries and LAC users is ten business days.
  • Priority 2 is assigned to acquisitions for LAC's special collections (Canadian Geneaology Centre, Rare Books, Lowy, and Canadian Children's Literature), to digital and analogue acquisitions of aboriginal and multicultural interest, and to current acquisitions of special heritage value in the areas of Canadian literature, Canadian music and the historical development of Canadian society.
    Priority 2 is also assigned to updates of CIP preliminary records after the item has been published and acquired by LAC.
    At priority 2, the service standard for delivering a catalogue record (including updated CIP records) to Canadian libraries and LAC users is three months or less.
    Guidelines for determining that an individual publication is of special heritage value are given in Annex 2.
    Digital publications within priority 2 are to be processed before analogue publications.
  • Priority 3 is assigned to all other digital3 publications. No turnaround time is specified. Special projects are undertaken as resources become available to process categories of digital publications in backlogs.
  • Priority 4 is assigned to all other analogue publications. No turnaround time is specified. Special projects are undertaken as resources become available to process categories of analogue publications in backlogs.

Derived cataloguing

By virtue of LAC's unique position in relation to Canada's published heritage, most of its cataloguing for current Canadian publications is original cataloguing. However, LAC uses cataloguing data derived from other sources as the basis for its own catalogue records whenever possible, particularly for older materials and foreign imprints of Canadian interest.

Additional access points and notes are not removed from derived records. For example, subject headings may be retained on a minimal or abbreviated level record if they appear on the source record from which the LAC record is derived. Data in the derived record is not modified unless obviously incorrect (e.g., a typographic mistake in the transcription of a title).

Data elements

The bibliographic data elements included in each level of cataloguing are shown in Annex 5 (available as a separate document).

Annexes

Download Freeware

Annex 1. Application of the currency factor [PDF 106 KB] [RTF 818 KB]

Annex 2. Supplementary criteria for determining whether a publication should receive full level cataloguing treatment [PDF 138 KB] [RTF 827 KB]

Annex 3. Categories of material and their levels of cataloguing treatment [PDF 152 KB] [RTF 1,027 KB]

Annex 4. Supplementary information on cataloguing treatment of digital published resources [PDF 128 KB] [RTF 846 KB]

Annex 5. Data elements included at the full, core, minimal and abbreviated levels (excluding printed music, music sound recordings and music videorecordings) [PDF 122 KB] [RTF 945 KB]

Annex 6. Data elements included at the full, core, minimal and abbreviated levels (printed music, music sound recordings and music videorecordings) [PDF 44 KB] [RTF 926 KB]

Annex 7. LAC cataloguing priorities [PDF 128 KB] [RTF 857 KB]


1 Effective 1 September 2009 (approved 25 May 2009 by the Documentary Heritage Collection Sector of Library and Archives Canada).
2 Except serial publications and provincial government publications catalogued at the minimal level.
3 In the context of this policy, digital publications are those that will be accessible remotely to users of LAC's collection through a communications network such as the Internet. Electronic publications issued on physical carriers (e.g. DVDs, CD-ROMs, CDs, Blu-ray discs, etc.) are not included in this category.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Catalogage et métadonnées

Directives concernant les niveaux de catalogage1 pour les publications acquises par BAC

Retour à la Page de Politiques

Table des matières


Les directives en bref :

Niveau complet de catalogage

Comprend :

Aucune restriction sur le nombre de points d'accès; des notices autorité sont créées pour tous les points d'accès de nom; accès sujet normalisé utilisant les vedettes-matières de la Library of Congress (LCSH); indice de classification LC et indice de classification décimale Dewey complet.

Attribué à :

Toutes les publications pour les collections de référence de BAC, du Centre de ressources des employés et du Généalogie et histoire familiale, la littérature canadienne contemporaine pour la jeunesse, les publications autochtones et multiculturelles, les publications sur des sujets de grand intérêt ou qui ont une valeur patrimoniale spéciale (voir l'annexe 2) dans les domaines de la musique et de la littérature canadienne et de l'évolution historique de la société canadienne.

Niveau de base de catalogage

Comprend :

Points d'accès pour les noms et titres principaux seulement; notices autorité pour les vedettes de nom; un maximum de deux vedettes-matières LCSH; indice de classification LC et indice de classification décimale Dewey abrégé.

Attribué à :

La plupart des enregistrements sonores musicaux contemporains et des publications du gouvernement fédéral.

Niveau minimal de catalogage

Comprend :

Points d'accès pour les noms et titres principaux seulement; indice de classification LC (pour la plupart des types de publications)2; indice de classification décimale Dewey abrégé; des notices autorité sont créées pour les points d'accès de nom. Aucune vedette-matière n'est assignée.

Attribué à :

Publications courantes des gouvernements provinciaux, publications, partitions et enregistrements musicaux canadiens vieillissants, publications et enregistrements de musique étrangère contemporaine, publications pour les collections de livres rares et Lowy, comptes-rendus de conférences, rapports de recherche et matériel éducatif.

Niveau abrégé de catalogage

Comprend :

Un maximum de deux points d'accès (habituellement le titre et une vedette de nom); la classification LC seulement si nécessaire pour fin de rangement. Aucune autorité n'est créée pour les points d'accès de nom; aucune vedette-matière LC n'est assignée.

Attribué à :

Publications de tous les genres de dates moins récentes (surtout celles antérieures à l'année courante moins 3 ans), brochures, publications de gouvernements municipaux, publications officielles étrangères et internationales, enregistrements sonores non musicaux, fiction de marché de masse, bulletins d'information, publications d'intérêt pour un auditoire limité.

Priorités

Un système de quatre niveaux de priorité est utilisé pour déterminer l'ordre dans lequel le matériel reçu est traité.

La première priorité est accordée au matériel courant du Programme de catalogage avant publication (CIP) et du Programme des services de dépôt fédéral, aux rapports de recherche sur l'opinion publique préparés pour le Gouvernement du Canada, et aux acquisitions pour les collections de référence de BAC et du Centre de ressources du personnel, qui doivent tous être catalogués dans les 10 jours de leur réception.

Par la suite, la priorité est accordée aux mises à jour des monographies du programme CIP et aux publications courantes pour les collections spéciales de BAC et qui traitent de domaines privilégiés par BAC (c. à d., la musique et la littérature canadiennes, l'approche historique au développement de la société canadienne, les autochtones, et les collectivités multiculturelles), lesquelles doivent être cataloguées dans les 3 mois de leur réception.

Les publications courantes sont traitées avant celles dont la date d'impression est moins récente.

Les publications numériques sont traitées avant les imprimés et autres publications analogiques.


Directives concernant les niveaux de catalogage

Contexte

Les notices bibliographiques créées dans le secteur de la Description des ressources de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) ont différentes utilités, y compris :

  • sélectionner et rendre accessibles des documents publiés dans la collection de BAC;
  • consigner l'existence de publications canadiennes dans la bibliographie nationale;
  • fournir aux bibliothèques canadiennes des notices de catalogage normalisées qui peuvent être copiées dans leurs systèmes locaux et auxquelles les fonds locaux peuvent être rattachés dans un catalogue collectif national et soutenir le système de prêt entre bibliothèques du Canada;
  • fournir une source précieuse de référence et de recherche pour les études canadiennes;
  • faire en sorte que les ouvrages connexes soient réunis (par sujet, noms des créateurs, titres, région géographique, etc.) pour les recherches dans AMICUS et d'autres grandes bases de données bibliographiques

Les directives sur les niveaux de catalogage ont d'abord été introduites par l'ancienne Bibliothèque nationale du Canada en 1996 et ont été révisées en 2003. La version actuelle (2009) a été créée en fonction de l'orientation stratégique et des projets d'acquisition de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, y compris l'accent qui est mis sur les publications numériques. Ces directives permettent de réduire le nombre de publications cataloguées au niveau complet, et ainsi d'accroître le nombre de documents dont le catalogage est moins détaillé en vue d'ajuster les ressources de catalogage de façon à mieux gérer le nombre croissant de publications numériques et de publications du dépôt légal dans des délais raisonnables.

Niveaux de catalogage

On compte cinq niveaux de catalogage pour le matériel du patrimoine de l'édition acquis par BAC : complet, de base, minimal et abrégé, en plus de la notice de niveau d'accès pour les sites Web. Les éléments bibliographiques de chaque niveau sont conformes aux normes nationales de catalogage et le niveau de catalogage est encodé dans chaque notice pour faciliter la reconnaissance par les bibliothèques et les organisations qui utilisent les notices de catalogage de BAC.

Les niveaux complet et de base de catalogage comprennent les vedettes-matières (LCSH, CSH et RVM) et les classifications (décimale Dewey et/ou LC) normalisées. Les niveaux complet, de base et minimal comprennent la création de notices autorité pour les points d'accès de nom et les titres de séries.

Le niveau complet de catalogage est attribué aux publications du porgramme CIP, aux éléments sélectionnés pour les collections spéciales de BAC, aux publications d'intérêt autochtone et multiculturel et aux publications courantes dans les domaines de la musique canadienne, de la littérature canadienne et de l'approche historique au développement de la société canadienne.

Tous les ouvrages d'auteurs étrangers publiés au Canada sont catalogués au niveau abrégé, à moins qu'une portion importante (habituellement plus de 30 p. 100) du contenu porte sur l'expérience canadienne.

Facteur d'actualité

Le niveau de catalogage de tous les documents (à l'exclusion des publications du CIP, des publications autochtones et multiculturelles et des éléments destinés à des collections spéciales) passe graduellement à des niveaux inférieurs suivant leur date d'impression - puisque, avec le temps, il semble y avoir une moins grande demande pour les notices de BAC comme source de copie de catalogage par d'autres bibliothèques et dans le but d'éviter de créer un arriéré de traitement des publications moins récentes.

La majorité des publications commerciales passeront du niveau complet au niveau abrégé de catalogage lorsque leur date d'impression sera antérieure à l'« année courante moins 3 ans ». Pour des détails concernant l'application du facteur d'actualité, voir l'annexe 1.

Système de priorité

Le système de priorité est utilisé en vue d'attribuer un délai d'exécution pour le traitement du matériel entrant du point d'acquisition au point auquel la notice de catalogage est mise à la disposition des utilisateurs de BAC. Les priorités sont attribuées dans le cadre de la fonction d'acquisition et déterminent l'ordre dans lequel le matériel est catalogué. Les directives révisées réduisent le nombre de niveaux de priorité utilisés pour le patrimoine de l'édition de sept à quatre, comme suit :

  • Priorité 1 : est attribuée aux publications numériques et analogiques des programmes spéciaux (PSD, rapports de ROP et CIP préliminaire) et de certaines collections spéciales (Référence et Centre de ressources des employés). Au niveau de priorité 1, la norme de service pour faire parvenir une notice de catalogage aux bibliothèques canadiennes et aux utilisateurs de BAC est de dix jours ouvrables.
  • Priorité 2 : est attribuée aux acquisitions pour les collections spéciales de BAC (Centre de canadien de généalogie, livres rares, Lowy et littérature canadienne pour la jeunesse), aux acquisitions numériques et analogiques d'intérêt autochtone et multiculturel et aux acquisitions courantes de valeur patrimoniale spéciale dans les domaines de la littérature canadienne, de la musique canadienne et de l'évolution historique de la société canadienne.
    Les livres dans le CIP font l'objet d'une vérification des données de prépublication une fois que l'article publié est acquis par BAC. Au niveau de priorité 2, la norme de service pour faire parvenir une notice de catalogage aux bibliothèques canadiennes et aux utilisateurs de BAC est de trois mois ou moins.
    Les lignes directrices pour établir qu'une publication particulière a une valeur patrimoniale spéciale sont fournies à l'annexe 2.
    Les publications numériques de priorité 2 doivent être traitées avant les publications analogiques.
  • Priorité 3 : est attribuée à toutes les autres publications numériques3. Aucun délai d'exécution n'est spécifié. Des projets spéciaux sont entrepris à mesure que les ressources deviennent disponibles pour le traitement par catégories des arriérés de publications numériques.
  • Priorité 4 : est attribuée à toutes les autres publications analogiques. Aucun délai d'exécution n'est spécifié. Des projets spéciaux sont entrepris à mesure que les ressources deviennent disponibles pour le traitement par catégories des arriérés de publications analogiques.

Catalogage dérivé

En raison de la position unique de BAC en ce qui concerne le patrimoine de l'édition du Canada, la majorité de son catalogage pour les publications canadiennes courantes se résume au catalogage original. Toutefois, BAC utilise les données de catalogage dérivées d'autres sources comme données de base pour ses propres notices de catalogue chaque fois que cela est possible, surtout dans le cas de matériel moins récent et des publications étrangères ayant trait au Canada.

Les points d'accès et les notes supplémentaires ne sont pas supprimés des notices dérivées. Par exemple, les vedettes-matière peuvent être conservées sur une notice de niveau minimal ou abrégé si elles apparaissent sur la notice originale dont découle la notice de BAC. Les données sur la notice dérivée ne sont pas modifiées à moins qu'elles ne soient visiblement erronées (p. ex. une coquille dans la transcription d'un titre).

Éléments bibliographiques

Les éléments bibliographiques compris pour chaque niveau de catalogage sont indiqués à l'annexe 5 (disponible dans un document séparé).

Annexes

Télécharger les logiciels gratuits

Annexe 1. Application du facteur d'actualité [PDF 107 Ko] [RTF 819 Ko]

Annexe 2. Critères supplémentaires pour déterminer si le niveau complet de catalogage doit être attribué à un document [PDF 34 Ko] [RTF 826 Ko]

Annexe 3. Tableau des types de documents et leurs niveaux de catalogage [PDF 159 Ko] [RTF 1 031 Ko]

Annexe 4. Renseignements supplémentaires sur le catalogage des ressources numériques [PDF 129 Ko] [RTF 848 Ko]

Annexe 5. Tableau des éléments propres aux niveaux complet, de base, minimal et abrégé (à l'exclusion des éléments propres aux imprimés musicaux, enregistrements sonores et vidéo musicaux) [PDF 122 Ko] [RTF 953 Ko]

Annexe 6. Tableau des éléments propres aux niveaux complet, de base, minimal et abrégé : imprimés musicaux, enregistrements sonores musicaux et enregistrements vidéo musicaux [PDF 119 Ko] [RTF 942 Ko]

Annexe 7. Priorités pour le traitement des publications à BAC [PDF 128 Ko] [RTF 886 Ko]


1 À partir du 1er septembre 2009 (approuvé le 25 mai 2009 par le Secteur de la collection du patrimoine documentaire de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada).
2 À l'exception des publications en série et des publications des gouvernements provinciaux cataloguées au niveau minimal.
3 Dans le contexte de ces directives, les publications numériques sont celles qui peuvent être mises à la disposition des utilisateurs à distance de la collection de BAC au moyen d'un réseau de communication comme Internet. Les publications électroniques sur supports physiques (p. ex DVD, CD-ROM, CD, disques Blu-ray, etc.) ne sont pas incluses dans cette catégorie.