Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Canadian ISBN Service System (CISS)

Canadian ISBN Publishers' Directory

About the Directory

What's Included in the Directory

The Canadian ISBN Publishers' Directory contains name and contact information for most Canadian publishers, past and present, who use the ISBN system. It currently lists over 33,000 publishers who use ISBNs for their Canadian publications.

Information in the directory is provided by the Canadian ISBN Service System (CISS). CISS is a free online service allowing publishers to manage their ISBN logbooks, to assign ISBNs in real time to future publications, and to modify information about publications.

What's Not in the Directory

Many French-language publishers are not included in the directory because they obtain their ISBN assignments from the Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec. These ISBN assignments can be found in the Répertoire des numéros ISBN des éditeurs francophones canadiens, located on the Web at www.banq.qc.ca/portal/dt/services/services_par_clientele/?bnq_langue=en.

For more information please contact:

Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec
2275 Holt Street
Montréal, QC  H2G 3H1
CANADA
Telephone (in Montréal): 514-873-1101, ext. 3785
or 1-800-363-9028, ext. 3785 (Toll free in Quebec)
Fax: 514-873-4310
Email: isbn@banq.qc.ca

Currency of the Information

The information in the Canadian ISBN Publishers' Directory is updated by the publishers themselves. The Canadian ISBN Agency may also update information as it becomes available. If a publisher has not entered CISS recently, the information in that publisher's listing may not be up to date.

Publishers Who Have Ceased Operations

The Canadian ISBN Publishers' Directory is a complete record of all publishers who have registered with the Canadian ISBN Agency, including publishers who have ceased operations. As the information becomes available, records in the directory are updated to indicate that a publisher has ceased operations.

Information in the Directory Listings

Each listing in the directory gives the publisher's name and postal address, plus telephone and fax numbers, and email address where applicable. If the publisher has a website, a link to that site is also included.

The publisher information is displayed in the following order:

  • Publisher name
  • Address
  • Phone numbers
  • Email and website addresses (if applicable)
  • ISBN Prefix

ISBN Prefix(es)

The ISBN prefix assigned to a publisher is shown in every listing of that publisher. If a publisher has been assigned more than one ISBN prefix, all prefixes are displayed, separated by a semicolon.

Each ISBN prefix contains a hypertext link to the ISBN file in AMICUS (Library and Archives Canada's online catalogue). If Library and Archives Canada has catalogue records for any of a publisher's publications, those ISBNs are included in the ISBN list shown in AMICUS.

To view Library and Archives Canada's catalogue records associated with a publisher, select any ISBN that begins with that publisher's prefix.

To return to the Canadian ISBN Publishers' Directory, use your Web browser's "Back" button.

Further Information

For more information about ISBNs, please contact:

Canadian ISBN Agency
Library and Archives Canada
395 Wellington Street
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0N4
CANADA
Telephone: 819-994-6872
or 1-866-578-7777 (Select 1+7+3) (Toll free in Canada)
Fax: 819-934-6777
Email: isbn@bac-lac.gc.ca

Bibliothèque et archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Système du Service canadien de l'ISBN (SSCI)

Répertoire ISBN des éditeurs canadiens

À propos du Répertoire

Que contient le Répertoire?

Le Répertoire ISBN des éditeurs canadiens contient les noms de la majorité des éditeurs canadiens qui ont utilisé ou utilisent encore le système de l'ISBN, ainsi que leurs coordonnées. Il comprend présentement 33 000 éditeurs utilisant l'ISBN dans leurs publications canadiennes.

L'information dans le répertoire est fournie par le Système de service canadien de l'ISBN en ligne (SSCI). Le SSCI est un service en ligne gratuit permettant aux éditeurs de gérer leurs registres d'ISBN, d'attribuer des ISBN au moment présent pour des publications futures, et de modifier l'information relative aux publications.

Information non contenue dans le Répertoire

Plusieurs éditeurs francophones ne sont pas dans le Répertoire, car ils obtiennent leurs attributions de numéros d'ISBN de Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec. Ces numéros sont compris dans le Répertoire des numéros ISBN des
éditeurs francophones canadiens
, à l'adresse Web suivante : www.banq.qc.ca/portal/dt/services/services_par_clientele/?bnq_langue=fr

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec
2275, rue Holt
Montréal (Québec)  H2G 3H1
CANADA
Téléphone (à Montréal) : 514-873-1101, poste 3785
ou 1-800-363-9028, poste 3785 (sans frais au Québec)
Télécopieur : 514-873-4310
Courriel : isbn@banq.qc.ca

Exactitude de l'information

L'information contenue dans le Répertoire ISBN des éditeurs canadiens est mise à jour par les éditeurs. L'Agence canadienne de l'ISBN peut également mettre à jour l'information lorsqu'elle devient disponible. Si un éditeur n'est pas entré récemment dans le SSCI, l'information sur cet éditeur peut ne pas être à jour.

Éditeurs n'étant plus dans le domaine de l'édition

Le Répertoire ISBN des éditeurs canadiens constitue un registre complet de tous les éditeurs qui se sont inscrits auprès de l'Agence canadienne de l'ISBN, y compris ceux qui ne sont plus dans le domaine de l'édition. Cependant, au fur et à mesure que l'information devient disponible, les notices du Répertoire sont mises à jour pour indiquer que l'éditeur n'est plus dans le domaine de l'édition.

Information contenue dans le Répertoire

Chaque inscription au Répertoire renferme le nom et l'adresse postale de l'éditeur ainsi que ses numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur et son adresse de courrier électronique, le cas échéant. Si on sait que l'éditeur possède un site Web, on ajoute également un lien à son site.

Les renseignements sur l'éditeur sont affichés dans l'ordre suivant :

  • Nom de l'éditeur
  • Adresse
  • Numéros de téléphone
  • Adresse électronique et site Web (le cas échéant)
  • Préfixe ISBN

Préfixe(s) ISBN

Le préfixe ISBN attribué à l'éditeur paraît dans chaque inscription de l'éditeur. Si plusieurs préfixes ISBN ont été attribués à un éditeur, tous les préfixes sont affichés et ils sont séparés par un point-virgule.

Chaque préfixe ISBN contient un lien hypertexte au fichier ISBN dans AMICUS, la version Web du catalogue en direct de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Si Bibliothèque et Archives Canada possède des notices catalographiques sur une ou plusieurs publications de cet éditeur, leur ISBN sera inclus dans la liste des ISBN présentés dans AMICUS. Pour consulter les notices catalographiques de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada associées à cet éditeur, sélectionnez n'importe quel ISBN qui commence par le préfixe ISBN de cet éditeur.

Pour retourner au Répertoire ISBN des éditeurs canadiens, veuillez cliquer sur le bouton « Précédent » de votre navigateur Web.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les ISBN, veuillez communiquer avec :

Agence canadienne de l'ISBN
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
395, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0N4
CANADA
Téléphone : 819-994-6872
ou 1-866-578-7777 (choisir 2+7+3) (sans frais au Canada)
Télécopieur : 819-934-6777
Courriel : isbn@bac-lac.gc.ca