Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Codex canadensis

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Introduction

Library and Archives Canada (LAC), in partnership with the Gilcrease Museum and the Gail and Stephen A. Jarislowsky Institute for Studies in Canadian Art, is pleased to present the virtual exhibition Codex canadensis, featuring Louis Nicolas's exquisite illustrated manuscript (ca.1700) about the flora, fauna and peoples of the New World.

This digitized collection contains images of 180 drawings that depict the Aboriginal peoples of North America as well as the fauna and flora of New France in the late 17th century. The original drawings, done on parchment with brown ink or brown ink and watercolour, are now held by the Gilcrease Museum in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

In Nicolas's manuscript, 53 plates are devoted to natural history. They illustrate 18 plants, 67 mammals, 56 birds, 33 fish and about 10 reptiles, batrachians and insects. In addition, a large number of sketches and drawings depict objects made by the Aboriginal peoples of North America. Of particular interest are the portraits of Aboriginal peoples belonging to some 15 nations. No other iconographic document of such antiquity illustrates so exactly the paintings and tattoos with which Aboriginal peoples of North America decorated their bodies during the late 17th century.

Pictorial representations of New France from that time are extremely rare, which makes the Codex canadensis an invaluable document. LAC's presentation of this fascinating manuscript in digital format allows these delicate pages, too fragile for general consultation, to be viewed by everyone.

On this site, we invite you to learn about the history of this document, and to view Codex canadensis.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Codex canadensis

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Introduction

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC), en collaboration avec le Gilcrease Museum et l'Institut de recherche en art canadien Gail et Stephen A. Jarislowsky, se réjouit d'annoncer la tenue de l'exposition virtuelle Codex canadensis. Les visiteurs pourront y voir le superbe manuscrit qui, réalisé vers 1700 par Louis Nicolas, illustre la flore, la faune et les peuples du Nouveau Monde.

Cette collection numérique de 180 dessins représente les peuples autochtones d'Amérique du Nord, ainsi que la faune et la flore de Nouvelle-France vers la fin du XVIIe siècle. Les originaux, tracés sur parchemin à l'encre brune, ou à l'aquarelle et à l'encre brune, sont aujourd'hui conservés au Gilcrease Museum de Tulsa, en Oklahoma.

Les 53 planches que Nicolas consacre à l'histoire naturelle illustrent 18 plantes, 67 mammifères, 56 oiseaux, 33 poissons et environ 10 reptiles, batraciens et insectes. De plus, nombre de croquis et dessins représentent des artéfacts produits par les peuples autochtones d'Amérique du Nord. Les portraits d'Autochtones issus de 15 nations sont d'un intérêt particulier. En effet, aucun document iconographique de cette époque ne représente avec autant de précisions les peintures et tatouages dont ornaient leur corps, à la fin du XVIIe siècle, les Autochtones d'Amérique du Nord.

La rareté des images de la Nouvelle-France datant de cette époque confère au Codex canadensis une grande valeur. En présentant ce fascinant manuscrit - trop fragile pour être consulté de tous - en version numérique, BAC le rend accessible au grand public.

Nous vous invitons à découvrir sur ce site l'histoire de ce document ainsi que d'explorer Codex canadensis.