Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

About the Collection

Digital Collection Development Policy

Prepared by the Documentary Heritage Collection Sector

(Approved by the Management Board of LAC on February 1, 2006)


Contents

1. Policy Framework
2. Definitions
3. Basic Policy Statements
4. Selection Guidelines
4.1 Web Sites
4.2 Networked Publications
4.3 Government Records [In development]
4.4 Private Records [In development]
5. Roles and Responsibilities
6. Monitoring and Review

1. Policy Framework

Purpose

This policy indicates the directions Library and Archives Canada takes to ensure the collection of digital documentary heritage materials of enduring interest to the history and culture of Canada, and in collaboration with others, to enable the collection of other digital information resources of value to Canadians.

Objectives

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) is guided by its mandate to preserve the documentary heritage of Canada for the benefit of present and future generations, to be a source of enduring knowledge accessible to all, and to serve as the continuing memory of the Government of Canada and its institutions.

Increasingly, the documentary heritage of Canada is being born digital and made accessible to Canadians in digital form. The rapid move to a digital environment has changed everything the LAC mandate touches - publishing, government, research, learning, and culture. Library and Archives Canada has therefore set as a primary objective to become a truly digital institution. In terms of collection development, this means that LAC will become as adept in collecting documentary heritage materials in digital form as it has long been with traditional materials.

Library and Archives Canada also seeks to help others acquire, describe, or preserve the Canadian digital information resources for which they accept responsibility. LAC is committed to develop with others national collaborative strategies and initiatives for the collection of digital materials.

Mandate

Development of the LAC collection of digital materials is based on the broad collecting mandate established by the Library and Archives of Canada Act http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/L-7.7/80647.html to acquire the documentary heritage of Canada. It is also governed by the more specific powers outlined in the legislation that relate to the transfer of government and ministerial records of historical or archival value1 and the transfer of government records at risk, the powers that relate to the legal deposit of online publications and the representative sampling of the Internet, and by the provisions in the accompanying Legal Deposit of Publications Regulations.

Scope

The Library and Archives Canada Collection Development Framework (2005) establishes as a key direction for the period 2005-2010 the development of the policy, procedures, technology, and staff skills that will be required to work effectively in the digital realm. The necessary first step in this process is the creation of this collection development policy that applies to all types of digital materials acquired or produced by LAC.

Library and Archives Canada has direct responsibility for the systematic collection, preservation, and ongoing access to digital heritage materials of enduring interest to the history and culture of Canada. LAC began to first acquire digital records in the form of data sets in the mid 1970's. Since then the archival acquisition program has evolved to meet changes in technology and the creation of increasing complex digital objects such as database structures, textual records, graphics, audio recordings, and moving images. LAC began to systematically acquire digital publications such as music recordings on compact disc in the 1980s. CD ROMs became subject to legal deposit in 1993 and electronic publications on all types of physical format in 1995. The organized acquisition of Internet publications began in 1993 and was accomplished through voluntary arrangements with publishers. Experimentation with the acquisition of a limited number of websites began in 2000 and has continued since then. Digitization of collection content has been undertaken by LAC since the early 1990s and has increased substantially over the years.

The digital documentary heritage materials acquired or produced by LAC that form part of the LAC collection include:

  • Digital publications, either published on physical carriers such as diskettes, compact discs, and CD-ROMs, or published online through the Internet

  • Digital records, whether received digitally, or on a physical carrier

  • Web sites, whether collected individually, or as part of a broader harvest of selected domains on the Internet

  • Digital materials, created to enable increased access, that are digital copies of traditional format materials contained in the LAC collection2

  • Digital materials, created as a result of the conversion of LAC collection materials in obsolete technical formats to digital formats, where the new digital version replaces the original version of the material

Over time, this list can be expected to change in response to new forms of digital communication, new technologies, and changing collection development needs and priorities.

Challenges

One of the main challenges in developing policy for digital materials is the tremendous amount of digital material of all types that is being produced and the exponential pattern of growth exhibited in many areas. In addition, the speed at which digital materials can disappear or become inaccessible means decisions to select and acquire must be taken earlier rather than later.

Other challenges include:

  • More analysis is required to determine the quality and value of content

  • Technical requirements and capacities have to be considered and analyzed as part of the acquisition process

  • The structure and content of material is frequently dynamic in nature

  • Maintaining accessibility and authenticity requires the capacity for active management of the material's dependence on rapidly changing hardware and software

  • New approaches to description are necessary to complement new methods of collection and preservation (e.g. harvesting) and to accommodate the different ways information is searched for in the online environment (e.g. full text keyword access)

  • New models of authorship and ownership can impose rights-based constraints

  • The cooperation and collaboration of creators is critical to success

  • Users expectations of access to content are high

Principles

The key principles and assumptions guiding the collection of digital materials are those outlined in the Collection Development Framework for Library and Archives Canada.

Commitments

In implementing this policy with regard to its own collection, the Library and Archives will:

  • Ensure cross-sector collaboration and planning for all aspects of digital collection development within LAC

  • Ensure a financial commitment to an acquisition, description, accessibility, and preservation program for digital materials

  • Ensure an organizational focus that supports a coordinated corporate approach to digital materials

  • Adopt an active management approach, including working with creators at the digital resource creation stage where possible

  • Support standards development and research that facilitate LAC's business needs

  • Adapt to the changing nature of technological developments, and to evolving standards and best practices

Cooperation /Collaboration

Library and Archives Canada is one part of a larger national network of those with an interest in ensuring the national documentary heritage is collected, preserved, and accessible. Others involved include: archives, libraries, museums, creators, publishers, governments, and information users.

The LAC seeks to work with others who have responsibility for components of Canada's digital documentary heritage. In working with others, LAC desires to:

  • Understand the goals, objectives, and needs of the communities of creators and the communities of consumers of digital documentary heritage materials

  • Identify appropriate partners and stakeholders to contribute to a national effort

  • Help develop national strategies and initiatives that enable the distribution of collecting, description, service delivery, and preservation activity

  • Establish understandings or agreements with members of the documentary heritage community that respect the mandates of all members of the community

  • Work actively with creators of documentary heritage materials to encourage and promote practices that will enable the collection and preservation of the digital heritage

  • Develop and promote in collaboration with creators guidelines and standards to direct or assist creators in the transfer of digital materials to LAC

Selection and Acquisition Criteria

The selection of Canadian heritage materials in digital form will be guided by the same general objectives that direct the selection of materials in other media, that is to say, LAC will develop:

  • a comprehensive collection of published Canadiana that documents the published heritage of Canada and materials published elsewhere of interest to Canada, and that supports the creation of a comprehensive national bibliography to make that heritage known and accessible,

  • records holdings sufficient to document the functions and activities of the Government of Canada, and

  • a representative collection of records of heritage value that document the historical development and diversity of Canadian society.

For published digital materials, the intention is to be comprehensive for those publications received on legal deposit and representative for those websites acquired by sampling from the Internet. The selection of digital records, both government and private, is to be guided by the same methodologies and practices that direct the acquisition of records in traditional formats.

Specific policy, criteria, and guidelines related to the selection of digital materials for the LAC collection, such as websites, are also required and these are a component of the collection development policy.

LAC also acquires on a selective basis non-Canadian digital materials that are not considered to be part of the documentary heritage but which are acquired because they are necessary to support the collecting mandate and to support services to the public.

In most cases digital materials identified to be of value by LAC will be acquired and preserved by LAC in its permanent collection. LAC will also provide organized access to a range of digital materials whose acquisition and preservation is the responsibility of others. Included within this approach are digital materials of recognized national heritage value acquired and preserved by others in Canada at either the local or regional level; non-Canadian digital materials to supplement the LAC collection; and digital materials to support the research or client services of LAC.

Related Policies

The LAC maintains various other policy documents and guidelines relevant to digital materials that include:

Guidelines for Computer File Types, Interchange Formats and Information Standards[www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/government/products-services/007002-3017-e.html] (June 2004)

Electronic Publishing Guide to Best Practices for Canadian Publishers (2001)


1 Historical or archival value is determined by LAC through the application of macro-appraisal methodology as outlined in "Appraisal Methodology: Macro-Appraisal and Functional Analysis Part A and Part B" and "Drafting an Appraisal Report for the Disposition of Government Records".

2 Such copies are produced as part of LAC's mandate to make the documentary heritage known and are not therefore the result of collection development activity per se. They are preserved as part of the LAC collection in accordance with the approaches and standards laid out in the preservation policy of LAC.

Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

À propos de la collection

Politique de développement des collections numériques

Conçue par le Secteur de la collection du patrimoine documentaire

(Adoptée par le Conseil de gestion de BAC le 1er février 2006)


Table des matières

1. Cadre stratégique
2. Définitions
3. Énoncés de politiques fondamentales
4. Lignes directrices relatives à la sélection
4.1 Sites Web
4.2 Publications en réseau
4.3 Documents de l'administration fédérale [en cours d'élaboration]
4.4 Documents privés [en cours d'élaboration]
5. Rôles et responsabilités
6. Contrôle et révision

1. Cadre stratégique

Objet

La présente politique indique les orientations suivies par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada pour constituer la collection de ressources du patrimoine documentaire numérique qui présentent un intérêt durable pour l'histoire et la culture du Canada et, en collaboration avec d'autres institutions, pour permettre la collecte d'autres ressources d'information précieuses pour les Canadiens.

Objectifs

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) agit en conformité avec son mandat de préserver le patrimoine documentaire du Canada pour les générations présentes et futures, d'être une source d'information permanent et accessible à tous et d'agir comme mémoire permanente de l'administration fédérale et de ses institutions.

De plus en plus, le patrimoine documentaire du Canada est créé ou rendu accessible aux Canadiens sous une forme numérique. Le passage rapide à un environnement numérique a changé tous les éléments du mandat de BAC - la publication, l'administration, la recherche, l'apprentissage et la culture. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada s'est donc fixé comme objectif premier de devenir une institution numérique, ce qui signifie de devenir aussi habile à rassembler le patrimoine documentaire dans un format numérique qu'il l'a longtemps été à rassembler les ressources traditionnels.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada cherche aussi à aider d'autres institutions ou individus à acquérir, décrire ou conserver les ressources d'informations canadiennes numériques dont il accepte la responsabilité. De plus, BAC s'engage à élaborer, avec d'autres institutions, des stratégies et initiatives nationales de collaboration pour la collection de documentation numérique.

Mandat

Le développement de la collection de ressources numériques de BAC répond au vaste mandat prévu par la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada http://lois.justice.gc.ca/fr/L-7.7/index.html, soit d'acquérir le patrimoine documentaire du Canada, et répond aux exigences plus particulières, indiquées dans la Loi, concernant le transfert des documents ministériels et de l'administration publique qui sont d'intérêt historique ou archivistique1 et le transfert de documents de l'administration publique qui sont à risque, aux exigences qui ont rapport au dépôt légal d'ouvrages publiés en ligne et à l'échantillonnage représentatif d'Internet, et aux réserves mentionnées dans les Règlements sur le dépôt légal des publications correspondants.

Portée

Le Cadre de travail du développement de la collection (2005) de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada établit comme une orientation clé pour la période 2005-2010 le perfectionnement des politiques, des procédures, des technologies et des compétences du personnel qui seront nécessaires pour travailler de manière efficace dans le domaine numérique. La première étape obligatoire de ce processus est de créer la présente politique de développement des collections, qui s'applique à tous les types de ressources numériques acquis ou produits par BAC.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada est directement responsable de collectionner et de préserver le patrimoine documentaire numérique qui présente un intérêt durable pour l'histoire et la culture du Canada, ainsi que de le rendre accessible en permanence. BAC a commencé à acquérir des documents numériques sous forme d'ensembles de données vers le milieu des années 70. Depuis, le programme d'acquisition d'archives a évolué au fil des progrès technologiques et de la création d'objets numériques de plus en plus complexes tels que les bases de données, les textes, les images, les enregistrements sonores et les vidéos. BAC a commence l'acquisition systématique des publications numériques comme les enregistrements sonores sur disque compact pendant les années 80. Les CD-ROM sont assujettis au dépôt légal depuis 1993, les publications électroniques sur tous les types de format physique depuis 1995. L'acquisition organisée de publications sur Internet a commencé en 1993 grâce à des accords volontaires avec les éditeurs. L'expérimentation avec l'acquisition d'un nombre restreint de sites Web a débuté en 2000 et a continué depuis cette date. BAC a commencé à numériser le contenu de sa collection dès le début des années 90 et a considérablement accru le nombre de documents numérisés au fil des années.

Les ressources du patrimoine documentaire numérique acquis ou produits par BAC et qui font partie de la collection de BAC comprennent :

  • Des publications numériques, publiées sur des supports physiques, tels que des disquettes, des disques compacts et des CD-ROM, ou en ligne sur Internet

  • Des documents numériques, reçus en format numérique ou sur support physique

  • Des sites Web, acquis individuellement ou dans le cadre d'une collecte plus vaste de domaines sélectionnés sur Internet

  • Des ressources numériques qui visent à améliorer l'accès et qui sont des copies numériques de ressources en format traditionnel figurant dans la collection de BAC2

  • Des ressources numériques qui résultent de la conversion de ressources de la collection BAC d'un format technique dépassé dans un format numérique, où la nouvelle version numérique remplace l'ancienne version originale

Avec le temps, cette liste évoluera sans doute en fonction des nouvelles formes de communication numérisée, des nouvelles technologies et des changements des besoins et des priorités de développement.

Défis

L'un des principaux défis de l'élaboration d'une politique sur les ressources numériques réside dans le volume considérable de ressources numériques de tous types qu'on produit et dans son augmentation exponentielle dans de nombreux secteurs. De plus, la vitesse à laquelle les ressources numériques peuvent disparaître ou devenir inaccessibles implique de prendre rapidement la décision de choisir et d'acquérir une ressource.

Parmi les autres défis, on peut citer :

  • La nécessité d'analyser davantage le contenu pour déterminer sa qualité et sa valeur

  • La nécessité de tenir compte des exigences et des capacités techniques et de les analyser pendant le processus d'acquisition

  • La structure et le contenu des ressources sont souvent dynamiques

  • Pour conserver l'accessibilité et l'authenticité, il faut pouvoir gérer activement la dépendance de une ressource par rapport aux changements rapides des matériels informatiques et des logiciels

  • De nouvelles approches à la description sont nécessaires pour compléter les nouvelles méthodes de collecte et de conservation (par exemple collecte de sites Web) et pour s'adapter aux diverses méthodes de recherche de l'information en ligne (par exemple, l'accès aux mots clés dans le texte d'un article)

  • Les nouveaux modèles de paternité et de propriété peuvent imposer des contraintes liées au droit d'auteur

  • La collaboration des créateurs est essentielle au succès

  • Les utilisateurs s'attendent à avoir accès à beaucoup d'information

Principes

Les principes et hypothèses essentiels qui guident la collecte de ressources numériques sont énoncés dans le Cadre de travail du développement de la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Engagements

En appliquant cette politique à sa propre collection, Bibliothèque et Archives :

  • Assurera la collaboration et la planification intersectorielles pour tous les aspects du développement des collections numériques de BAC

  • Assurera un engagement financier pour un programme d'acquisition, de description, d'accessibilité et de conservation des ressources numériques

  • Assurera un accent organisationnel soutenant une approche d'entreprise coordonnée en matière de ressources numériques

  • Appliquera une approche de gestion active, notamment en travaillant avec les créateurs à l'étape de la création des ressources numériques lorsque ce sera possible

  • Appuiera l'élaboration de normes et la recherche qui facilitent la satisfaction des besoins organisationnels de BAC

  • S'adaptera aux changements technologiques et à l'évolution des normes et des pratiques exemplaires

Collaboration

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada fait partie d'un grand réseau national qui vise à assurer la collecte, la conservation et l'accessibilité du patrimoine documentaire national. Ses partenaires sont : les archives, les bibliothèques, les musées, les créateurs, les éditeurs, les gouvernements et les utilisateurs de l'information.

BAC cherche à travailler avec d'autres institutions responsables des composantes du patrimoine documentaire numérique du Canada. Dans sa collaboration avec les autres organismes, BAC désire :

  • Comprendre les buts, objectifs et besoins des créateurs et des consommateurs des ressources du patrimoine documentaire numérique

  • Identifier les parties prenantes et les partenaires appropriés pour participer aux efforts nationaux

  • Aider à élaborer des stratégies et des initiatives nationales qui assureront la diffusion des activités de collecte, de description, de prestation de services et de conservation

  • Mettre en place des accords avec les membres de la communauté du patrimoine documentaire qui respectent les mandats de tous les membres de la communauté

  • Collaborer activement avec les créateurs du patrimoine documentaire pour encourager et favoriser les pratiques qui permettront de collecter et de préserver le patrimoine numérique

  • Élaborer et favoriser, en collaboration avec les créateurs, des normes et des lignes directrices pour orienter les créateurs ou les aider à transmettre des ressources numériques à BAC

Critères de sélection et d'acquisition

La sélection des ressources du patrimoine documentaire du Canada au format numérique répondra aux mêmes objectifs généraux que la sélection des ressources dans les autres formats. En d'autres termes, BAC créera :

  • une collection complète d'ouvrages publiés au Canada qui décrit le patrimoine documentaire du Canada et les ouvrages d'intérêt pour le Canada publiés à l'étranger, et qui appuie la création d'une bibliographie nationale exhaustive afin de faire connaître ce patrimoine et de le rendre accessible;

  • des collections de documents suffisamment complètes pour permettre de répertorier les fonctions et les activités du gouvernement du Canada;

  • une collection représentative de documents ayant une valeur patrimoniale qui démontre le développement historique et la diversité de la société canadienne.

Le but est de dresser une liste exhaustive des publications numériques reçues au dépôt légal et une liste représentative des sites Web acquis par échantillonnage d'Internet. La sélection des documents numériques, tant privés que de l'administration publique, sera guidée par les mêmes méthodologies et pratiques que celles qui gèrent l'acquisition de documents dans les formats traditionnels.

Des politiques, critères et lignes directrices spécifiques à la sélection de ressources numériques pour la collection de BAC, tels les sites Web, sont aussi requis et constituent des composantes de la politique de développement de la collection.

BAC se procure aussi cas par cas des ressources numériques noncanadiens qui ne forment pas partie du patrimoine documentaire, mais qui sont nécessaires à l'appui du mandat de collection et des services au public.

Dans la plupart des cas, les ressources numériques jugés intéressants par BAC seront acquis et conservés par BAC dans sa collection permanente. BAC offrira aussi un accès organisé à un éventail de ressources numériques dont l'acquisition et la conservation relèvent d'autres institutions. Cette approche englobe les ressources numériques de valeur reconnue pour le patrimoine national qui sont acquis et conservés par d'autres institutions canadiennes à l'échelle locale ou régionale, les ressources numériques noncanadiens qui complètent la collection de BAC et les ressources numériques qui appuient la recherche ou le service à la clientèle de BAC.

Politiques connexes
BAC conserve de nombreux autres documents stratégiques et lignes directrices qui ont rapport aux documents numériques, notamment :

Lignes directrices relatives aux types de fichiers informatiques, aux formats de transfert et aux normes d'information[www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/gouvernement/produits-services/007002-3017-f.html] (juin 2004)

L'Édition électronique : guide des pratiques exemplaires à l'intention des éditeurs canadiens (2001)


1 L'intérêt historique ou archivistique est déterminée par BAC en appliquant de la méthodologie de macro-évaluation telle qu'énoncée dans « Méthodologie d'évaluation : macro-évaluation et analyse fonctionnelle Partie A et Partie B » et « Préparation d'un rapport d'évaluation sur la disposition des documents gouvernementaux ».

2 Ces copies sont produites sous le mandat de BAC qui vise à rendre le patrimoine documentaire accessible et ne sont donc pas des résultats du développement de la collection en soi. Elles sont conservées dans la collection de BAC en vertu des propositions et des normes énoncées dans la politique de préservation de BAC.

Suivant