Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

About the Collection

Acquisition of Private Sector Records

Gifts to Library and Archives Canada

The mandate of Library and Archives Canada

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) is a federal cultural institution whose mandate is to acquire, preserve, promote and make accessible Canada's documentary heritage. This heritage includes works and documents of all types that relate to our country's history and culture.

The collection of Library and Archives Canada

Since 1872, LAC has assembled an outstanding collection that reflects the achievements of Canadian society and that continues to be enriched through new acquisitions. LAC acquires various works and documents through a number of ways, including legal deposit, partnerships and the legislation governing federal departments. By far, the most valued source of acquisitions is private gifts donated by individuals, companies, organizations or associations.

What type of works or documents is Library and Archives Canada looking for?

LAC is interested in works or documents created or published in Canada, regardless of subject, language or format, and those created or published outside of Canada, provided the author or subject has some national relevance. They can be archival documents, books, films or videos, photographs, maps or architectural plans, portraits or other works of art, sound recordings, musical scores, microfilm, digital or analog material.

Why make a donation?

By offering your gift to LAC, you help enrich the national collection, you ensure the preservation of your works or documents and you contribute to the passing of knowledge from one generation to the next.

How do you go about it?

  • Before you contact LAC, it is useful to have a brief description of the material you wish to give. This can include such information as titles, dates, quantity and physical condition.
  • The items are then assessed by staff according to the selection criteria and needs of LAC.
  • Items accepted are subsequently processed by LAC; they are described, preserved, promoted and made accessible by means of the latest technology.

What if your donation is not accepted?

LAC does not accept every gift. Various factors such as an item's genuineness, age, rareness, condition, relationship to other items in the collection, and restrictions on access or use are considered in the final decision.

LAC may also decide that it is more appropriate to give certain items to provincial or regional archives, or other heritage centres.

Tax credits

Donors of documentary heritage are eligible for tax credits according to provisions in the Income Tax Act and the Cultural Property Export and Import Act. LAC is authorized to issue official tax receipts to donors. The value of most works or documents is determined by a committee of experts independent of LAC. Appraisal of value for tax credit purposes is applied exclusively to items received as donations.

More information

If you wish to give works or documents to LAC, discuss the donation of a collection, or learn more about our donations policy, call 819-934-5793.
Email: gifts@bac-lac.gc.ca

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

À propos de la collection

Acquisition de documents du secteur privé

Dons à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Le mandat de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) est une institution culturelle fédérale qui a pour mandat principal d'acquérir, de préserver, de diffuser et de rendre accessible à tous le patrimoine documentaire du Canada. Ce patrimoine comporte des documents de toutes sortes et de tous formats liés à l'histoire et à la culture du pays.

La collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

BAC a constitué depuis 1872 une prestigieuse collection qui s'enrichit au fil des ans et qui témoigne des réalisations de la société canadienne. BAC dispose de plusieurs moyens pour acquérir des documents (dépôt légal, partenariats, règlement du versement obligatoire pour les ministères fédéraux), mais sa source d'acquisition la plus précieuse reste encore le don. Qui sont les donateurs ? Ce sont soit des particuliers, des compagnies, des organisations ou des associations.

Les documents que BAC cherche à acquérir

BAC cherche à obtenir des documents créés ou publiés au Canada, sans distinction de sujet, de langue ou de format, ainsi que des documents créés ou publiés à l'extérieur du Canada et dont l'auteur ou le sujet ont un lien avec le Canada. Il peut s'agir de documents d'archives, de livres, de films ou de vidéos, de photographies, de cartes ou de plans architecturaux, de portraits ou d'autres œuvres d'art, d'enregistrements sonores, de partitions musicales, de microfilms, de documents numériques ou analogiques.

Pourquoi faire un don ?

Par vos dons, vous aidez BAC à diversifier et à compléter sa collection nationale, vous assurez la pérennité de vos documents et vous contribuez à la transmission du savoir d'une génération à l'autre.

Comment procéder ?

  • Avant de communiquer avec BAC, il serait préférable que vous ayez une description sommaire des documents que vous souhaitez donner. Cette description pourrait par exemple présenter la liste des titres et la date des documents, préciser la grandeur et le genre de documents, et donner un aperçu de leur état physique.
  • Les documents sont ensuite examinés par des employés de BAC en fonction des critères de sélection et des besoins de l'institution.
  • Les documents acceptés sont par la suite traités par BAC, qui s'engage à les décrire, à les préserver, à les rendre accessibles et à les faire connaître en ayant recours à des technologies de pointe.

Et si vos documents ne sont pas retenus ?

BAC n'accepte pas tous les documents qui lui sont offerts. Des facteurs comme leur authenticité, leur ancienneté, leur rareté, leur état ou leurs liens avec d'autres documents déjà gardés à BAC, de même que des restrictions excessives quant à leur accessibilité ou à leur utilisation peuvent jouer dans sa décision.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada peut aussi estimer qu'il serait plus approprié d'acheminer les documents offerts à des archives provinciales ou régionales, ou à d'autres établissements du patrimoine.

Crédits d'impôt

La Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu et la Loi sur l'exportation et l'importation de biens culturels prévoient des crédits d'impôt pour les donateurs de patrimoine documentaire. BAC peut donc émettre des reçus officiels pour fins de l'impôt. La valeur d'un document est généralement déterminée par un comité d'experts indépendant de BAC. L'évaluation des documents porte uniquement sur les documents reçus en don.

Pour en savoir plus

Si vous souhaitez offrir des documents à BAC, discuter du don d'une collection, ou obtenir plus de renseignements sur notre politique des dons, veuillez composer le 819-934-5793.
Courriel : dons@bac-lac.gc.ca