Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Directory of Special Collections of Research Value in Canadian Libraries
Introduction SearchHelp

Introduction

To facilitate the use of library resources throughout the country, Library and Archives Canada (LAC) promotes and participates in several aspects of resource sharing. The Directory of Special Collections of Research Value in Canadian Libraries originated as one of two projects of the National Plan for Collections Inventories which were endorsed by the National Library Advisory Board in 1984.

Originally published in 1992, the Directory was encoded by the University of Saskatchewan Library in 1995 in order to be posted online as part of Industry Canada's SchoolNet Digital Collections program. Later, Canadian research libraries agreed that the Directory should be updated and expanded. Accordingly, the Directory was transformed into an electronic database for the Web; it is fully searchable and can be easily updated and expanded.

Libraries of all types are encouraged to suggest new entries for the Directory and to keep existing entries up-to-date. New entries and updates should be sent to:

Interlibrary Loan Services
Library and Archives Canada
395 Wellington Street
Ottawa, ON   K1A 0N4
CANADA
Telephone: 613-996-7527
Fax: 613-996-4424
Email: illservicespeb@bac-lac.gc.ca

Definition

The following definition is used for collections included in the Directory:

A special collection of research value is one recognized by its own library, and by others, as an important resource at the regional and/or national level. In general, libraries aim to make each collection exhaustive: it should include any significant works of recorded knowledge, in all relevant languages, for a defined and limited subject field. Libraries must ensure that bibliographic and physical access to a collection is available; they must also provide an adequate level of reference service for researchers.

Criteria for Inclusion

The following criteria are intended as guidelines for libraries seeking to identify special collections for inclusion in the Directory. All criteria need not be satisfied for a collection to be identified in the Directory of Special Collections of Research Value.

  1. The collection is recognized as an important resource at the provincial, regional, and/or national level. The collection is considered to be significant within a discipline.

  2. The subject field is limited; the focus is on a particular subject or individual.

  3. The collection is more than an area of strength in a broader subject field. For example, Anglo-Irish fiction in a collection of English literature may constitute an area of strength; a James Joyce collection may represent a "special collection of research value."

  4. The collection is a research-level collection. The Research Libraries Group (RLG) defines a research-level collection as: "A collection that includes the major published source materials required for dissertations and independent research, including materials containing research reports, new findings, scientific experimental results, and other information useful to researchers. It is intended to include all important reference works and a wide selection of specialized monographs, as well as a very extensive collection of journals and major indexing and abstracting services in the field. Pertinent foreign language materials are included. Older material is retained for historical research."

  5. The collection is a comprehensive-level collection. The Research Libraries Group (RLG) defines a comprehensive-level collection as: "A collection in which a library endeavours, so far as is reasonably possible, to include all significant works of recorded knowledge (publications, manuscripts, other forms), in all applicable languages, for a necessarily defined and limited field. This level of collecting intensity is one in which the aim, if not the achievement, is exhaustiveness."

  6. The collection is separated physically and/or bibliographically from the general library collection.

  7. The collection is named, although not all named collections meet the requirements of a research or comprehensive-level collection (e.g., collections named after a donor are not necessarily of research value).

Criteria for Exclusions

  1. Predominantly manuscript collections.

  2. Collections such as a university archives that might be expected to be found at a particular institution, and local history collections relating to a community which are presumed to be held in that community, are excluded. Regional history collections that encompass more than one community, and those dealing with large municipalities might be included.

  3. Collections composed more of realia than published material (e.g., a collection of printer's tools).

  4. Collections which show no evidence of the supporting bibliographic apparatus necessary to access the collection for research purposes.

  5. Collections comprised of a series of specimens which do not meet the criterion of comprehensiveness or cohesiveness, e.g., specimens of incunabula.

  6. Collections which represent the interests of an individual and which do not have an intrinsic focus or historical dimension.

  7. Specialized research collections, with a broad subject coverage.

Purpose

The purpose of the Directory of Special Collections of Research Value is to assist researchers, scholars, and librarians in locating the specialized resources necessary to support research. By identifying resources in Canadian libraries, the Directory may also assist interlibrary loan activities by helping to direct loan requests to the institution most likely to hold an item.

Arrangement of Entries

Entries are classified within twenty-four broad subject divisions.

Entry Components

Name of Collection:

  • In most cases, collection names reflect the subject focus of the collection. Some collections are, however, named after a benefactor and the collection names may not indicate their subject content.

Name of Library:

  • The name of the library or department is listed above the university or college name.

Subjects:

  • Subject terms are drawn, for the most part, from the subject terminology used by respondents to best describe the subject strength(s) of each collection. The respondents' terminology was used in most cases, but some control was imposed so that readers could identify collections in the same subject. In some cases, collections include material on a variety of subjects. The subject terms listed reflect the subject strength(s) of the collection and do not exhaust all the subjects that may be included in a collection. Some geographic and chronological subdivisions have been added when appropriate.

History:

  • This section of the entry includes such information as the date the collection was established; the person(s) responsible for developing the collection; major donors, gifts and grants.

Description:

  • This is the most detailed section of the entry and includes information on the subject scope of the collection; the geographic and chronological emphases of the material; details on some of the holdings; exclusions from the collection, etc.

Language:

  • The language(s) of the material in the collection.

Holdings:

  • Holdings should be treated as approximate.

Bibliographic Access:

  • Details on whether the collection is catalogued and classified are given here. Wherever possible, the classification scheme(s) and subject heading(s) used are given. Special bibliographies, catalogues, indexes, and finding aids are listed here and may include in-house finding aids; subject bibliographies, which have been annotated to reflect the library holdings; union catalogues; and databases. In some cases, access is through "imprint" card files arranged by printer and/or publisher, place of publication, and date.

Physical Access:

  • Hours of operation are given here. Libraries which reported varying hours may include a "consult the library for hours" note. Special restrictions on the use of the collections will be noted here. Interlibrary loan, reprography, and reference services are also indicated.

Publications Describing Collection:

  • This section includes journal articles, newsletters, catalogues, and bibliographies.

As a final note, the cooperation of librarians, archivists, and other library staff across the country must be acknowledged. Without their efforts to describe special collections and complete the questionnaire, the Directory of Special Collections of Research Value in Canadian Libraries could not have been published on the Web.


Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : Répertoire des collections spécialisées utiles à la recherche dans les bibliothèques canadiennes
Introduction RechercheAide

Introduction

Afin de faciliter l'utilisation des ressources de bibliothèques partout au pays, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) assure la promotion et participe à plusieurs aspects de la mise en commun des ressources. Le Répertoire des collections spécialisées utiles à la recherche dans les bibliothèques canadiennes était, à l'origine, l'un des deux projets du Plan national d'inventaires des collections qui avaient été endossés par le Conseil consultatif de la Bibliothèque nationale en 1984.

Publié pour la première fois en 1992, ce répertoire a été encodé en 1995 afin d'être présenté sur Internet par la bibliothèque de l'Université de la Saskatchewan dans le cadre du Programme des Collections numérisées de Rescol d'Industrie Canada. Ensuite, les bibliothèques de recherche canadiennes se sont mises d'accord pour dire que le répertoire devrait être mis à jour et agrandi. Subséquemment, le répertoire est devenu une base de données électronique pour le Web. Celle-ci est entièrement interrogeable et peut facilement être mise à jour et étoffée.

Les bibliothèques de tous les types sont invitées à suggérer de nouvelles entrées pour le répertoire et à tenir à jour les entrées déjà existantes. Veuillez faire parvenir les nouvelles entrées et mises à jour à l'adresse suivante :

Services de prêt entre bibliothèques
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
395, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0N4
CANADA
Tél. : 613-996-7527
Téléc. : 613-996-4424
Courriel : illservicespeb@bac-lac.gc.ca

Définition

Les collections incluses dans ce répertoire sont définies de la façon suivante :

Une collection spécialisée utile à la recherche est, de l'avis de la bibliothèque qui la possède et de l'avis d'autres bibliothèques, une ressource importante à l'échelle régionale et (ou) nationale. L'objectif des bibliothèques est de faire en sorte que chaque collection soit exhaustive, c'est-à-dire qu'elle réunisse, dans un domaine particulier, l'ensemble des ouvrages importants dans toutes les langues pertinentes. Les bibliothèques doivent s'assurer que la collection est accessible de façon bibliographique et physique. Elles doivent également s'assurer qu'un service de référence adéquat est fourni aux chercheurs.

Critères d'inclusion

Les critères suivants servent de lignes directrices aux bibliothèques cherchant à déterminer si des collections spécialisées peuvent être incluses dans le Répertoire, et il se peut que certaines collections décrites dans le Répertoire ne les remplissent pas tous.

  1. La collection est reconnue comme étant une ressource importante aux échelons provincial, régional ou national. On la considère de grande portée dans une certaine discipline.

  2. Le contenu de la collection est limité à un sujet ou à une personne en particulier.

  3. La collection constitue plus qu'un domaine d'expertise à l'intérieur d'un sujet plus général. Par exemple, la fiction anglo-irlandaise peut, à l'intérieur d'une collection de littérature anglaise, constituer un domaine d'expertise alors qu'une collection sur James Joyce représente, quant à elle, une collection spécialisée utile à la recherche.

  4. La collection est d'un niveau adéquat pour la recherche. Le Research Libraries Group définit une telle collection comme « une collection qui comprend les sources principales publiées requises pour les dissertations et la recherche indepéndante, y compris les documents contenant les rapports de recherche, les découvertes, les résultats scientifiques d'expériences et d'autres renseignements utiles aux chercheurs. La collection doit comporter tous les ouvrages de référence importants, un vaste choix de monographies spécialisées, une collection très importante de périodiques ainsi que les sources d'indexation et d'analyse de contenu les plus importants dans son domaine. Les documents en langues étrangères appropriés doivent être inclus. Les documents plus anciens sont conservés pour la recherche historique ».

  5. La collection doit être vaste. Le Research Libraries Group définit une vaste collection comme « une collection pour laquelle une bibliothèque tente tout ce qui est raisonnablement possible pour inclure tous les ouvrages importants connus (publications, manuscrits, autres formats), dans toutes les langues pertinentes, dans un domaine nécessairement défini et limité. Ce niveau de rassemblement vise à l'exhaustivité, sans nécessairement l'atteindre ».

  6. La collection est séparée, aux niveaux physique ou bibliographique, de la collection générale de la bibliothèque.

  7. La collection porte un nom, bien que certaines collections ayant un nom ne remplissent pas les critères requis pour une collection exhaustive ou de niveau recherche, par exemple, les collections portant le nom d'un donateur ne sont pas nécessairement utiles pour la recherche.

Critères d'exclusion

  1. Les collections où les manuscrits prédominent.

  2. Les collections, telles les archives d'une université - que l'on s'attend à trouver dans l'institution même - ainsi que les collections sur l'histoire locale d'une communauté - que l'on présume être conservées dans la communauté - sont exclues.

  3. Les collections sur l'histoire régionale qui englobent plus d 'une communauté et celles traitant de très grandes municipalités peuvent être incluses.

  4. Les collections comportant plus de realia que de documents publiés (p. ex. une collection d'outils d'imprimeur).

  5. Les collections qui ne semblent pas posséder les outils bibliographiques nécessaires pour offrir accès à la collection à des fins de recherche.

  6. Les collections constituées de séries de spécimens qui ne répondent pas aux critères d'exhaustivité et d'uniformité, p. ex. des spécimens d'incunables.

  7. Les collections qui reflètent l'intérêt d'une personne, mais n'ont aucun intérêt intrinsèque ou historique.

  8. Les collections de recherche spécialisées de vaste portée.

Objectif

Le Répertoire des collections spécialisées utiles à la recherche dans les bibliothèques canadiennes a pour objectif d'aider les chercheurs, les universitaires et les bibliothécaires à identifier les ressources spécialisées nécessaires au soutien à la recherche. En décrivant les ressources des bibliothèques canadiennes, le Répertoire permet également de faciliter le prêt entre bibliothèques en dirigeant les demandes vers l'établissement le plus susceptible de conserver un document.

Disposition des notices

Les notices sont classifiées en 23 catégories correspondant à des sujets généraux.

Composantes de la notice

Nom de la collection :

  • Dans la plupart des cas, le nom reflète le sujet principal de la collection. Certaines collections tirent cependant leur nom d'un bienfaiteur; il se peut donc que ce nom n'en indique pas le contenu.

Nom de la bibliothèque :

  • Le nom de la bibliothèque ou du département précède le nom de l'université ou du collège.

Matières :

  • Les vedettes-matière proviennent, pour la plupart, des termes utilisés par les répondants. Cependant, un certain contrôle des synonymes a été imposé afin d'aider le lecteur à repérer les collections portant sur un même sujet. Dans certains cas, une collection comprend des documents portant sur une grande variété de sujets. Les vedettes-matière reflètent alors les points forts de la collection, sans pour autant en décrire tous les sujets. Des subdivisions géographiques et chronologiques ont été ajoutées au besoin.

Historique :

  • Cette section de la notice comprend des renseignements tels la date de création de la collection, les personnes responsables de son développement, les principaux donateurs, les dons et les subventions.

Description :

  • Cette section est la plus détaillée de la notice. Elle décrit le domaine d'intérêt de la collection et contient des indications géographiques et chronologiques sur les documents, des détails sur certains fonds, les éléments qui en ont été exclus, etc.

Langue :

  • La langue des documents de la collection.

Fonds documentaires :

  • On doit considérer les fonds comme approximatifs.

Accès bibliographique :

  • On y indique si la collection est répertoriée et classée. Dans la mesure du possible, la méthode de classification et les vedettes-matière utilisées sont précisées. On y retrouve la liste des bibliographies spécialisées, des répertoires, des index et des instruments de recherche, parmi lesquels se retrouvent des instruments de recherche internes et des bibliographies par domaines annotées afin de correspondre au fonds, aux répertoires collectifs et aux bases de données de la bibliothèque. Dans certains cas, l'accès se fait par l'intermédiaire de dossiers d'édition, qui sont des fichiers classés selon le nom de l'imprimeur ou de l'éditeur, ou selon le lieu ou la date de publication.

Accès matériel :

  • Les heures d'ouverture sont indiquées. Les bibliothèques dont les heures varient peuvent inclure une note demandant de communiquer avec la bibliothèque afin de connaître les heures d'ouverture. Les restrictions particulières concernant l'utilisation des collections sont mentionnées. On y précise également l'existence de services de prêt entre bibliothèques, de réprographie et de référence.

Publications qui décrivent la Collection :

  • Cette section inclut les articles de périodiques, bulletins, répertoires et bibliographies.

En conclusion, la coopération des bibliothécaires, des archivistes et des autres membres du personnel des bibliothèques de tout le pays doit être soulignée. Sans leurs efforts pour décrire leurs collections spécialisées, le Répertoire des collections spécialisées utiles à la recherche dans les bibliothèques canadiennes n'aurait pu être publié sur le Web.


Divulgation proactive