Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Towards Confederation

Upper Canada

From the Constitutional Act (1791) to the Act of Union (1841)

Upper Canada, the precursor of modern-day Ontario, was created by the Constitutional Act of 1791, which divided the former Province of Quebec into two parts: Upper Canada and Lower Canada. These two provinces were joined once again to form the Province of Canada in 1840 and were then referred to as Canada West (Upper Canada, or Ontario) and Canada East (Lower Canada, or Quebec). The terms "Upper Canada" and "Lower Canada," in the Canadian historical context, therefore refer to the period between 1791 and 1841. Much of the heritage of the Ontario we know today can be traced to this Upper Canada period.

The Constitutional Act of 1791 was London's answer to the American Revolution with regard to the administration of its North American colonies. A lieutenant-governor, assisted by an executive council, a legislative council and a house of assembly, was appointed in every province. Until 1848, when London agreed to grant responsible government to the Province of Canada, the Executive Council was answerable to London rather than to the House of Assembly.

In 1791, Upper Canada had a population of about 10 000 people. Most inhabitants were United Empire Loyalists who profited substantially from London's generosity. During the War of Independence (1776-1783), subjects who wished to remain loyal to England left what would later become the United States to settle in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and the Province of Quebec (modern-day Quebec and Ontario). At that time, Upper Canada also had significant Francophone and Aboriginal populations.

The first lieutenant-governor of Upper Canada, John Graves Simcoe, played an important role in establishing Upper Canadian society. He wanted to model the new territory on his native England and institute Anglicanism as the state religion. The American invasion of Canada during the War of 1812 was also crucial to defining the Upper Canadian identity. By taking up arms against the new republic, the former American settlers  --  who made up a large part of Upper Canada's population  --  strengthened their existing ties to England.

The Family Compact that had governed the province since the early 19th century became a point of growing dissension in the 1820s. The contention culminated in the 1837 rebellions, led by William Lyon Mackenzie. Although they failed, the rebellions proved that the general population did not share the Family Compact's vision of society. Influential men such as Robert Baldwin and Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine --  who led a coalition government on two separate occasions (1841-43 and 1848-51) in the decade following the Act of Union of 1841  --  introduced a number of important reforms. The main changes, however, would be imposed by the London authorities when they adopted many of the recommendations in the report drafted by Lord Durham after the rebellions of 1837 and 1838 in Upper and Lower Canada. One such recommendation led to the Act of Union of 1841, which marked the end of Upper Canada and the beginning of a new political era, that of United Canada.

The 1837 Rebellions

In Upper Canada (as in Lower Canada), part of the population was critical of how the political elite governed the colony. Matters of contention included political patronage, policies on education, the economy and land grants (particularly clergy reserves) and the favouritism shown to the Anglican Church.

The reformers took control of the House of Assembly in 1828 and in 1834, but were unable to effect the desired changes. The arrival of Lieutenant-Governor Francis Bond Head, meant to win over the reformers, did not achieve the expected outcome. Head adopted a confrontational attitude and helped elect Conservatives. Moderate reformers like Robert Baldwin were defeated as a result. This played in favour of William Lyon Mackenzie and his more radical approach.

Initially, W. L. Mackenzie wanted to pressure the colonial authorities and government by urging a boycott of imported goods, encouraging political unions and associating with reformers from Lower Canada. In late summer 1837, however, he abandoned non-violent tactics and turned increasingly toward armed revolt. In early December 1837, W. L. Mackenzie and nearly 1,000 men met at Montgomery's Tavern in Toronto to attempt to overthrow the government. Between 200 and 300 volunteers and militiamen, whom the government had won over to its cause, drove back the rebels. Three days later, between 1,000 and 1,500 Loyalists marched on the tavern and forced the rebels to flee. The rebellion was almost over. A few skirmishes broke out in 1838, but none posed much threat to the government.

The Durham Report and the Act of Union

Lord Durham was sent to Canada to report on the reasons for the rebellions in Upper and Lower Canada.

His report contained three main recommendations: that responsible government be granted to the British North American colonies; that Upper and Lower Canada be amalgamated to form a united Province of Canada; and that French Canadians be assimilated. He also openly criticized the political cliques that controlled government power in both colonies.

The implications of the Durham Report were much different for Upper Canada than for Lower Canada. Lord Durham wanted to re-establish peace in the colonies, and so recommended a political union. He believed this peace could best be achieved by ensuring a loyal English majority in British North America, by anglicizing French Canadians, and by granting responsible government. By making English the only official language of the Parliament of United Canada, the Act of Union afforded protection to Upper Canadian culture. By giving Upper Canada as many parliamentary representatives as the more populous Lower Canada, the Act of Union favoured Upper Canadian political life. By recommending the assimilation of French Canadians, the Durham Report bolstered the presence of English-speaking Canadians in America. The Durham Report was therefore not a threat to Upper Canada, quite the contrary. It was thus not surprising that Upper Canada should welcome the report, while it met with an angry outcry by the French-speaking population, primarily in Lower Canada.

The people of Lower Canada protested against the Durham Report's drastic measures so loudly that in 1848, seven years after the Act of Union came into effect, London was forced to recognize and accept the use of French. The Durham Report also created a new political class -- moderate reformers who believed in co-operation between Canada's two main groups at the time. In Canada West, there would be Robert Baldwin; in Canada East, there would be Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine.

The Baldwin-La Fontaine Governments

In the election of 1841, the first under the Union, London did what it could to favour Conservative candidates. In Canada West, 26 reformist members were elected under Robert Baldwin; in Canada East, only seven true reform members were elected under Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine. Both politicians understood that they would have to join forces to counter London's attempts to dictate the colony's affairs. The arrangement offered advantages to both parties. Baldwin wanted real power for the House of Assembly. La Fontaine believed he must abandon the concept of a French state in America and play British politics to ensure the survival of French Canadians in British North America.

Baldwin and La Fontaine worked together to make sure both became members of the House of Assembly and the Executive Council. Favoured by the presence of Governor Charles Bagot, who broke with former Governor General Lord Sydenham's policy of blocking Executive Council access to Francophones, Baldwin and La Fontaine formed the country's first coalition government. This brief period of relative independence in United Canada ended when Governor Bagot died in 1843 and was replaced by Charles Metcalfe. Governor Metcalfe firmly intended to put the reformers in their place, making co-operation between the two halves of the colony more difficult.

But Baldwin and La Fontaine were again called to form a coalition government from 1848 to 1851. The "Great Ministry," as it was called, would contribute substantially to the legal and municipal system in United Canada. The coalition government also adopted a number of important reforms that would change the colony's political and social landscape.

Ministerial Responsibility

The evolution of the political system introduced by the Act of Union culminated in the granting of responsible government to the North American colonies in 1848. From then on, ministers would need the confidence of the House of Assembly or would have to resign. This concession by London, a great step toward parliamentary democracy, was partly responsible for the instability that marked Canadian political history in the ten years before Confederation in 1867.

Sources

Charland, Jean-Pierre, et al.  --  Le Canada, un pays en evolution : manuel d'apprentissage.  --  Montreal : Lidec, 1994.  --  555 p.

Hall, Roger.  --  "Upper Canada".  --  The 1999 Canadian encyclopedia : world edition.  --  Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1998.

Mills, David.  --  "Durham Report".  --  The 1999 Canadian encyclopedia : world edition.  --  Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1998.

Wilson, Bruce G.  --  "Loyalists".  --  The 1999 Canadian encyclopedia : world edition.  --  Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1998.

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Vers la Confédération

Le Haut-Canada

De l'Acte constitutionnel (1791) à l'Acte d'Union (1841)

Ancêtre de ce qui est aujourd'hui la province de l'Ontario, le Haut-Canada est créé par l'Acte constitutionnel de 1791. Celui-ci sépare l'ancienne Province de Québec en deux parties : le Haut-Canada et le Bas-Canada. Dans l'histoire canadienne, on parle de Haut-Canada et de Bas-Canada pour la période de 1791 à 1841. Après cette date, les deux provinces sont unies pour former le Canada-Uni, et on parlera alors de Canada-Ouest (Haut-Canada, ou Ontario) et de Canada-Est (Bas-Canada, ou Québec). Toutefois, le plus gros héritage qu'a reçu l'Ontario d'aujourd'hui lui est venu du Haut-Canada.

L'Acte constitutionnel de 1791 représente la réponse de Londres à la Révolution américaine pour ce qui est de l'administration de ses colonies nord-américaines. Un lieutenant-gouverneur est nommé pour chaque province, et il est assisté par un conseil exécutif, un conseil législatif et une chambre d'assemblée. Jusqu'en 1848, au moment où Londres octroie le gouvernement responsable, le Conseil exécutif rend compte à Londres plutôt qu'à la Chambre d'assemblée.

En 1791, le Haut-Canada compte environ 10 000 habitants. La majorité d'entre eux sont des loyalistes, en provenance des États-Unis, qui ont grandement profité de la générosité de Londres. Ils ont fui le territoire américain lors de la guerre de l'Indépendance (1776-1783). Voulant rester fidèle à la couronne d'Angleterre, ils ont quitté ce qui allait devenir les États-Unis et sont venus s'installer en Nouvelle-Écosse, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et dans la Province de Québec (comprenant le Québec et l'Ontario d'aujourd'hui). Notons que des Amérindiens et des Français habitaient également le territoire du Haut-Canada, à cette époque.

Le premier lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada, John Graves Simcoe, joue un rôle très important dans l'établissement de la société du Haut-Canada. Il veut modeler le nouveau territoire sur son Angleterre natale et instaurer l'anglicanisme comme religion d'État. Le moment où les Américains envahissent le Canada, lors de la guerre de 1812, est également marquant pour la formation de l'identité du Haut-Canada. Le combat que les anciens colons américains, qui constituent en grande partie la population du Haut-Canada, livrent à la nouvelle république renforce les liens qui les unissaient déjà à l'Angleterre.

Le Family Compact, qui dirige la province depuis le début du XIXe siècle, est de plus en plus contesté à partir des années 1820. Les rébellions de 1837, menées par William Lyon Mackenzie, sont l'apothéose de cette contestation. Malgré le fait qu'elles aient échoué, elles prouvent que la population ne partage pas la vision du Family Compact. Des hommes influents comme Robert Baldwin et Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine, qui vont diriger de concert un gouvernement de coalition à deux reprises pendant la décennie suivant l'Acte d'Union, signé en 1841, soit de 1841 à 1843 et de 1848 à 1851, vont réussir à amener plusieurs réformes importantes. Toutefois, les principaux changements vont être imposés par Londres, qui applique plusieurs des recommandations faites par lord Durham dans son fameux rapport rédigé à la suite des rébellions de 1837 et de 1838 dans le Haut-Canada et le Bas-Canada. Une de ces recommandations mène à la création de l'Acte d'Union en 1841, qui marque la fin du Haut-Canada et le début d'une nouvelle ère politique, celle du Canada-Uni.

Les rébellions de 1837

Dans le Haut-Canada (comme dans le Bas-Canada d'ailleurs), une partie de la population critique la façon qu'a l'élite politique de gouverner la colonie. Mentionnons, entre autres pommes de discorde, les excès de « patronage » politique, le désaccord au sujet des politiques d'octroi des terres, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les réserves du clergé, les politiques élaborées en matière d'éducation, les priorités en matière de politiques économiques ainsi que le favoritisme à l'endroit de l'Église anglicane.

Le parti réformiste prend le contrôle de la Chambre d'assemblée en 1828 et en 1834, mais ne réussit pas à obtenir les changements voulus. La venue du lieutenant-gouverneur Francis Bond Head, dans le but de concilier les éléments réformistes, ne donne pas les résultats escomptés. F. B. Head adopte plutôt une attitude d'affrontement et aide à faire élire des conservateurs. De ce fait, certains réformistes modérés, comme Robert Baldwin, sont défaits. Cela joue en faveur de William Lyon Mackenzie et de son approche plus radicale.

Initialement, W. L. Mackenzie voulait faire pression sur les autorités coloniales et sur le gouvernement en incitant les gens à boycotter les denrées importées, en encourageant les unions politiques et en entrant en contact avec les réformistes du Bas-Canada. Mais à la fin de l'été 1837, il abandonne ses tactiques non violentes et s'oriente de plus en plus vers la révolte armée. Au début de décembre 1837, W. L. Mackenzie et près de 1000 hommes se réunissent à la taverne Montgomery, à Toronto, pour tenter de prendre le contrôle du gouvernement. Entre 200 et 300 volontaires et miliciens, gagnés à la cause du gouvernement, repoussent les rebelles. Trois jours plus tard, entre 1 000 et 1 500 loyalistes marchent sur la taverne et forcent les rebelles à fuir. C'en est presque fait de la Rébellion. Au cours de l'année 1838, certaines escarmouches éclatent, mais rien qui ne mette vraiment le gouvernement en danger.

Le rapport Durham et l'Acte d'Union

Lord Durham est envoyé au Canada afin de faire rapport sur les causes ayant mené aux rébellions du Haut-Canada et du Bas-Canada.

Les trois recommandations principales de son rapport sont l'octroi du gouvernement responsable aux colonies britanniques de l'Amérique du Nord, l'union du Haut-Canada et du Bas-Canada en Canada-Uni ainsi que l'assimilation des Canadiens français. Il critique aussi ouvertement les « cliques » politiques qui contrôlent le pouvoir gouvernemental dans ces deux colonies.

L'impact du rapport Durham est bien différent selon qu'on regarde ce qu'il implique pour le Haut-Canada ou pour le Bas-Canada. En recommandant l'union politique des colonies, lord Durham visait à rétablir la paix. Pour ce faire, il croyait devoir assurer, dans les colonies britanniques de l'Amérique du Nord, une majorité anglaise et loyale, angliciser les Canadiens français et octroyer la responsabilité ministérielle. En faisant de l'anglais la seule langue officielle du Parlement du Canada-Uni, l'Acte d'Union protège la culture de la population du Haut-Canada. En accordant autant de représentants parlementaires au Haut-Canada qu'au Bas-Canada, qui a pourtant une population plus nombreuse, l'Acte d'Union favorise la vie politique du Haut-Canada. En recommandant l'assimilation des Canadiens français, le rapport Durham encourage la présence de Canadiens de langue anglaise en terre d'Amérique. Le rapport Durham ne constitue donc pas une menace pour le Haut-Canada. Au contraire. On ne doit pas alors s'étonner qu'il y soit bien reçu. On ne doit également pas s'étonner de la levée de boucliers qu'il provoque chez la population francophone, principalement dans le Bas-Canada.

Les mesures draconiennes du rapport Durham amènent la population du Bas-Canada à manifester si bruyamment qu'en 1848, sept ans après l'entrée en vigueur de l'Acte d'Union, Londres doit reconnaître et accepter l'usage du français. Le rapport Durham conduit également à la formation d'une nouvelle classe politique. Il s'agit de réformistes modérés qui croient en la coopération des deux principaux groupes formant le Canada de cette époque. Pour le Canada-Ouest, il y aura Robert Baldwin; pour le Canada-Est, ce sera Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine.

Les gouvernements Baldwin-La Fontaine

Lors de l'élection de 1841, la première sous le régime de l'Union, Londres essaie tant bien que mal de favoriser les candidats conservateurs. Au Canada-Ouest, Robert Baldwin réussit à faire élire 26 députés; au Canada-Est, Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine ne réussit à faire élire que 7 députés véritablement réformistes. Les deux hommes politiques comprennent alors qu'ils doivent s'associer pour contrer les tentatives de Londres de dicter la conduite de la colonie. Chacun y trouve son compte. Baldwin veut que les volontés de la Chambre d'assemblée soient respectées. L  Fontaine, de son côté, est d'avis qu'il doit abandonner l'idée d'un État français en Amérique et jouer le jeu du système politique britannique pour assurer la survie des Canadiens français en Amérique du Nord britannique.

Baldwin et La Fontaine se soutiennent ainsi mutuellement afin de s'assurer que l'un et l'autre sont membres de la Chambre d'assemblée et du Conseil exécutif. Favorisés aussi par la présence du gouverneur Charles Bagot, qui rompt avec la politique de l'ancien gouverneur général, lord Sydenham, qui bloquait l'accès des francophones au Conseil exécutif, Baldwin et La Fontaine forment le premier gouvernement de coalition. Cette brève période d'indépendance relative du Canada-Uni prend fin lorsque, au décès du gouverneur Bagot, en 1843, Charles Metcalfe le remplace. Celui-ci a la ferme intention de remettre les réformistes à leur place. De ce fait, il est plus difficile pour les deux parties de la colonie britannique de coopérer.

Mais Baldwin et La Fontaine sont de nouveau appelés à former un gouvernement de coalition, de 1848 à 1851. Le « Grand Ministère », comme il sera convenu de l'appeler, façonnera de manière importante le système judiciaire et municipal du Canada-Uni. Il réalisera également plusieurs réformes importantes qui marqueront le paysage politique et social de la colonie.

La responsabilité ministérielle

L'évolution du système politique instauré par l'Acte d'Union culmine avec l'octroi aux colonies nord-américaines, de la part de Londres, de la responsabilité ministérielle, vers 1848. Les ministres devront dorénavant avoir la confiance des députés qui siègent à la Chambre d'assemblée ou démissionner. Cette concession de Londres, grand pas vers la démocratie parlementaire, est en partie responsable de l'instabilité qui marquera l'histoire politique du Canada durant la décennie précédant la Confédération, en 1867.

Sources

Charland, Jean-Pierre, et al.  --  Le Canada, un pays en évolution : manuel d'apprentissage.  --  Montréal : Lidec, 1994.  --  555 p.

Hall, Roger.  --  « Upper Canada ».  --  The 1999 Canadian encyclopedia : world edition.  --  Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1998.

Mills, David.  --  « Durham Report ».  --  The 1999 Canadian encyclopedia : world edition.  --  Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1998.

Wilson, Bruce G.  --  « Loyalists ».  --  The 1999 Canadian encyclopedia : world edition.  --  Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1998.

Précédent | Suivant