Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Towards Confederation

The Atlantic Colonies

From Settlement to the Treaty of Utrecht (1713)

Photograph:  Two men and two women in front of ships HMS NILE, NIMBLE, and DESPERATE, Halifax, Nova Scotia, circa 1860

Source

Group in front of HMS Nile, Nimble, and Desperate, Halifax, Nova Scotia, circa 1860

Environmental conditions and changing sea levels have erased most of the traces of ancient human life on the Atlantic coast of Canada; however, archeologists have determined that the region has been inhabited for at least 11,000 years. Evidence of European settlement dates back approximately 1,000 years, to when Norse explorers established a community at L'Anse aux Meadows, in present-day Newfoundland and Labrador.

Newfoundland captured Europe's attention after John Cabot's voyage in 1497. The island's unique geographical situation and resources continued to favour commercial ties with Europe long after neighbouring Maritime colonies had become provinces of Canada. Consequently, Newfoundland and Labrador is distinguished from the Maritime provinces, a term that usually signifies Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island.

Newfoundland and Labrador and the Maritime provinces have in common their experience of colonization and early commercial development. European fishing and trade with the Native peoples along the Atlantic and St. Lawrence coasts increased in the late 16th century. This relationship had a profound impact on Native culture; in Newfoundland the entire Beothuk population vanished as a result of disease and a shrinking land base.

By the mid-17th century, whaling and fishing fleets arrived regularly from England, France, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain, while French and British settlements were established in Newfoundland, Nova Scotia and Acadia. The uncertain territorial distinction between Nova Scotia and Acadia was both a result and a source of decades of conflict between France and England. Beginning with the settlement of Port-Royal in 1605, Acadia evolved primarily as a French colonial population. In 1621, however, control of "New Scotland", or Nova Scotia, was conferred on Sir William Alexander by King James I of England (James VI of Scotland).

Following a series of ineffective treaties, war broke out between England and France in 1689 and again in 1702. Control of the Atlantic colonies was a central issue in both instances. During these years, the settlements in Acadia, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland endured devastating raids. Francis Nicholson's attack on Port-Royal in 1710 signaled the conquest of Acadia, as Nicholson subsequently proclaimed England's authority over the colony. The Treaty of Utrecht followed in 1713, when France officially ceded part of Acadia to Great Britain.

Conflict in Acadia and the First Treaty of Paris (1763)

The Treaty of Utrecht put the Acadian people in a difficult situation. Under the agreement, France retained control of Île Royale (Cape Breton Island), and Acadians were encouraged to relocate from Nova Scotia to this French territory. However, most of the Acadian population chose to remain in Nova Scotia, where they maintained a neutral position between the interests of the British and the French. When the new governor of Nova Scotia, Richard Philipps, demanded that the Acadians swear an oath of allegiance to the British crown in 1720, the Acadians refused.

This was not the last time such an oath would be rejected, though in this case the governor had little choice but to accept Acadian neutrality. The British were preoccupied with the Mi'kmaq and Abenaki populations who were attacking fishing vessels from New England. A treaty in 1725 failed to resolve the situation with the Mi'kmaq and hostilities continued for several decades.

In 1744, England and France declared war again. The French forces at Louisbourg on Île Royale were the first to learn of this development, and they immediately launched a surprise attack on Nova Scotia, achieving an easy victory at Canso. The subsequent siege of the British fortification at Annapolis Royal was far less successful, since the arrival of reinforcements from New England caused France's allied Mi'kmaq forces to retreat. In 1745 the British captured Louisbourg, and only returned the fort following a treaty with the French in 1748.

War broke out yet again in the 1750s, this time with tragic consequences for the Acadians. During the conflict, the neutral Acadians refused to swear an oath of allegiance to the British King. This, combined with the fact that they continued to provide supplies to the French, led Governor Charles Lawrence to approve a mass deportation. A decisive British victory at Beauséjour in 1755 was followed by the expulsion of thousands of Acadians. Their homes, possessions and the land that they had worked for generations were all confiscated. The Acadians were loaded onto ships and scattered along the Atlantic coast from Massachusetts to the Caribbean. Although some Acadians escaped to parts of New Brunswick, Île Royale and Île Saint-Jean (Prince Edward Island), many individuals were separated from their families, or did not survive the forced voyage. The expulsion of Acadians continued until 1762. The following year the first Treaty of Paris was signed, transferring control of all French lands in North America to Britain.

Acadian communities persisted in spite of the expulsion policy, poverty and discrimination, and contributed their unique identities to Maritime culture.

From the Second Treaty of Paris (1783) to the War of 1812

The first Treaty of Paris enabled the British to take full control of colonial policies in former French territories. Consequently, Île Saint-Jean was renamed the Island of St. John in 1769 and then Prince Edward Island in 1799; Île Royale was renamed Cape Breton Island. The name New Brunswick was in use regionally in the 1750s, but it was not until after the second Treaty of Paris that this Maritime colony was identified formally.

The 1783 Treaty of Paris followed the American Revolution, which had generated violent conflict between New England and the neighbouring British colonies. Settlement in the Atlantic region had increased throughout the 1770s, and grew dramatically with the arrival of exiles and Loyalists from the American states. The incoming settlers included a sizeable Black population, even though slavery was not abolished in the Atlantic colonies for many more decades.

The Loyalist settlers had a profound influence on the political, commercial and cultural life of the Atlantic colonies. For example, the establishment of New Brunswick as a separate colony in 1784 was primarily the result of a Loyalist lobby effort. The Loyalist Thomas Carleton became the first governor of New Brunswick in 1784, in spite of protests against the division from the government at Halifax and Governor John Parr.

The 1790s and the first decade of the 1800s were anxious but prosperous times in the Atlantic region. Renewed war between England and France boosted the shipbuilding and timber markets, and commercial ties with England were further strengthened when the United States declared war on Britain in 1812. The prosperity of the war years was reflected in the growth of urban centers such as Halifax, Saint John and St. John's. However, the achievement of peace was equally momentous, as it brought a period of economic depression and a new wave of immigration from Ireland and Scotland. The colonies were entering into a new phase of profound social and political change.

Toward Responsible Government

As commercial, religious and cultural patterns became more complex in the Atlantic region, the political environment also gained complexity. Some of the key challenges were built into the local systems of government. For example, while New Brunswick's achievement of colonial status had represented a victory for its upper class -- mainly Loyalist officers and prosperous merchants -- the general population did not feel that their interests were represented in the Legislative Assembly.

In Nova Scotia, a similar divide between the urban and rural population had been growing since the Legislative Assembly was established in 1758. Prince Edward Island (then called the Island of St. John) achieved official colonial status in 1769, and within a decade its elite citizens had formed a Legislative Assembly, though the Island's population was only about 1,500. That population grew increasingly dissatisfied with absentee landlords and their associates, who ruled the Legislative Assembly. Like Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland had to struggle to free local government from the influence of European stakeholders, particularly in relation to the fishing industry, which remained subject to early treaties between the British and French.

Political reform movements gained momentum in the 1840s and 1850s, as individuals called for increased governmental accountability, improved voting and administrative practices, and more diverse official representation. Responsible government arrived in the Atlantic colonies, beginning in 1848 with Nova Scotia. Within a few years the other colonies followed Nova Scotia's example. Prince Edward Island achieved responsible government in 1851, New Brunswick in 1854, and Newfoundland in 1855.

Political accountability did not necessarily mean political stability, however. Volatile governments, the American Civil War, commercial risks and regional ambitions all served to guide the Atlantic colonies toward Confederation.

Sources

The Atlantic provinces in Confederation. -- Edited by E. R. Forbes ; D. A. Muise. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1993. -- 628 p.

The Atlantic region to Confederation : a history. -- Edited by Philip A. Buckner ; John G. Reid. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1994. -- 491 p.

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Vers la Confédération

Les colonies de la côte atlantique

De la colonisation au Traité d'Utrecht (1713)

Photo: Deux hommes et deux femmes devant les navires HMS NILE, HMS NIMBLE et HMS DESPERATE, à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, vers 1860

Droit d'auteur/Source

Groupe de gens devant les navires HMS Nile, HMS Nimble et HMS Desperate, à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, vers 1860

Les conditions environnementales et les variations du niveau de la mer ont effacé la plupart des traces de vie humaine ancienne sur la côte atlantique canadienne; cependant, les archéologues affirment que la région est habitée depuis au moins 11 000 ans. Les signes de l'existence de colonies établies par les Européens remontent à environ 1000 ans, époque où les explorateurs vikings fondent une communauté à l'Anse aux Meadows, aujourd'hui Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Terre-Neuve capte l'attention des Européens après le voyage de John Cabot en 1497. L'emplacement géographique et les ressources de l'île favorisent les échanges commerciaux avec l'Europe longtemps après que les colonies maritimes voisines sont devenues des provinces canadiennes. Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador se distingue donc des provinces Maritimes, appellation désignant habituellement la Nouvelle-Écosse, le Nouveau-Brunswick et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et les provinces Maritimes partagent une même expérience de leur colonisation et de leur développement commercial initial. À la fin du XVIe siècle, la pêche et le commerce entre Européens et peuples autochtones établis sur la côte atlantique et les rives du fleuve Saint-Laurent augmentent. Ce commerce marque profondément la culture autochtone; ainsi, à Terre-Neuve, le peuple béothuk disparaît par suite de maladies et en raison du rétrécissement de son territoire.

Dès le milieu du XVIIe siècle, des flottes de baleinières et des flottilles de pêche arrivent régulièrement d'Angleterre, de France, des Pays-Bas, du Portugal et d'Espagne, en même temps que Français et Britanniques établissent des colonies à Terre-Neuve, en Nouvelle-Écosse et en Acadie. La distinction territoriale mal définie entre la Nouvelle-Écosse et l'Acadie alimente, pendant des décennies, des conflits entre la France et l'Angleterre, en même temps qu'elle découle de ces conflits. Depuis Port-Royal en 1605, l'Acadie devient principalement une colonie française. En 1621, toutefois, le roi James Ier d'Angleterre (James VI d'Écosse) confie le contrôle de la « nouvelle Écosse » à sir William Alexander.

Une succession de traités inefficaces provoque la guerre entre l'Angleterre et la France, d'abord en 1689, puis en 1702. Le contrôle des colonies de la côte atlantique est au centre de ces conflits. Durant ce temps, les colonies d'Acadie, de Nouvelle-Écosse et de Terre-Neuve subissent des assauts dévastateurs. En 1710, Francis Nicholson attaque Port-Royal, et sa victoire signale la conquête de l'Acadie, car Nicholson proclame subséquemment l'autorité de l'Angleterre sur la colonie. Le Traité d'Utrecht suit en 1713, lorsque la France cède officiellement une partie de l'Acadie à la Grande-Bretagne.

Le conflit en Acadie et le premier Traité de Paris (1763)

Le Traité d'Utrecht place le peuple acadien dans une situation difficile. Selon l'entente, la France garde le contrôle de l'île Royale (île du Cap-Breton), et l'on encourage les Acadiens à quitter la Nouvelle-Écosse et à s'installer dans ce territoire français. Cependant, la plupart des Acadiens choisissent de demeurer en Nouvelle-Écosse et conservent leur neutralité, ne prenant parti ni pour les intérêts de la Grande-Bretagne, ni pour ceux de la France. Lorsque, en 1720, le nouveau gouverneur de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Richard Philipps, leur demande de prêter serment d'allégeance à la Grande-Bretagne, les Acadiens refusent.

Ce refus de prêter serment n'est pas un cas unique, mais cette fois le gouverneur se trouve forcé d'accepter la neutralité des Acadiens. Les Britanniques s'inquiètent des Micmacs et des Abénaquis qui attaquent les bateaux de pêche en Nouvelle-Angleterre. On n'a pas réussi, en 1725, à résoudre par un traité les conflits existant avec les Micmacs, et les hostilités continuent pendant plusieurs décennies.

En 1744, l'Angleterre et la France se déclarent la guerre une fois de plus. Les forces françaises à Louisbourg, sur l'île Royale, apprennent la nouvelle en premier et lancent immédiatement une attaque surprise en Nouvelle-Écosse, remportant une victoire facile à Canso. Mais le siège de la fortification britannique à Annapolis Royal se solde par un échec, car, en raison de l'arrivée de renforts de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, leurs alliés Micmacs doivent battre en retraite. En 1745, les Britanniques reprennent Louisbourg et ne céderont de nouveau le fort qu'après avoir conclu un traité avec les Français, en 1748.

La guerre éclate de nouveau dans les années 1750 et provoque de tragiques conséquences pour les Acadiens. Pendant le conflit, les Acadiens neutres refusent de prêter serment d'allégeance au roi de Grande-Bretagne. Ce refus, en plus du fait de continuer d'approvisionner les Français, pousse le gouverneur Charles Lawrence à approuver une déportation massive. En 1755, une décisive victoire britannique à Beauséjour entraîne l'expulsion de milliers d'Acadiens. La terre qu'ils avaient travaillée pendant des générations, leurs maisons, leurs possessions, tout leur est confisqué. Les Acadiens sont entassés dans des navires qui les déportent le long de la côte atlantique, depuis le Massachusetts jusqu'aux Caraïbes. Bien que certains Acadiens se soient évadés vers d'autres régions du Nouveau-Brunswick, l'île Royale ou l'île Saint-Jean (aujourd'hui l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard), nombre d'entre eux sont séparés de leur famille, ou ne survivent pas à ce voyage forcé. L'expulsion des Acadiens se poursuit jusqu'en 1762. Le premier Traité de Paris signé l'année suivante donne à la Grande-Bretagne le contrôle de toutes les terres françaises en Amérique du Nord.

Les communautés acadiennes tiennent bon malgré la politique d'expulsion, la pauvreté et la discrimination, et donnent une empreinte unique à la culture des Maritimes.

Du second Traité de Paris (1783) à la guerre de 1812

Le premier Traité de Paris confère aux Britanniques le plein contrôle des politiques coloniales dans les anciens territoires français. Par conséquent, l'île Saint-Jean prend le nom anglais d'Island of St. John en 1769, et celui d'Île-du-Prince-Édouard en 1799. Quant à l'île Royale, on la rebaptise île du Cap-Breton. En usage dans la région depuis les années 1750, l'appellation Nouveau-Brunswick ne devient le nom officiel de cette colonie qu'après le second Traité de Paris.

Ce traité (1783) suit la Révolution américaine, laquelle a suscité un violent conflit entre la Nouvelle-Angleterre et les colonies britanniques voisines. La population de la région de l'Atlantique, qui s'est développée pendant les années 1770, augmente radicalement avec l'arrivée des exilés et des loyalistes venus des États américains. Parmi ces nouveaux pionniers se trouvent bon nombre de Noirs, même si l'abolition de l'esclavage ne survient pas dans les colonies de la côte atlantique avant plusieurs décennies.

Les pionniers loyalistes influencent fortement la vie politique, commerciale et culturelle des colonies de la côte atlantique. À titre d'exemple, le Nouveau-Brunswick devient en 1784 une colonie distincte surtout en raison des pressions exercées par ce groupe. C'est ainsi que, malgré les protestations du gouvernement en place à Halifax et du gouverneur John Parr, le loyaliste Thomas Carleton devient le premier gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1784.

Les années 1790 et la première décennie des années 1800 sont, pour les habitants de la région atlantique, des années d'inquiétude mais aussi de prospérité. Une nouvelle guerre entre l'Angleterre et la France suscite la construction de navires et stimule les marchés du bois d'œuvre; de plus, les liens commerciaux avec l'Angleterre se resserrent lorsque les États-Unis déclarent la guerre à ce pays en 1812. Cette prospérité acquise durant les années de guerre se reflète dans la croissance de centres urbains tels Halifax, Saint-Jean et St. John's. Mais l'instauration de la paix, qui se solde par une période de crise économique et une nouvelle vague d'immigration de gens venus d'Irlande et d'Écosse, marque la région tout autant. Les colonies entrent alors dans une ère de profonds changements sociaux et politiques.

Vers un gouvernement responsable

Au fur et à mesure que les structures commerciales, religieuses et culturelles de la région atlantique deviennent plus complexes, le monde politique reproduit cette même tendance. C'est dans les systèmes de gouvernement locaux même que résident les principaux défis. Ainsi, bien que l'accession du Nouveau-Brunswick au statut de colonie marque une victoire pour la classe supérieure, surtout composée d'officiers loyalistes et de marchands prospères, le grand public, lui, ne sent pas ses intérêts défendus à l'Assemblée législative.

En Nouvelle-Écosse, semblable fossé entre les populations urbaine et rurale s'élargit depuis l'établissement de l'Assemblée législative, en 1758. L'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (appelée l'Island of St. John à l'époque) obtient le statut de colonie en 1769 et, en moins d'une décennie, son élite constitue une Assemblée législative, même si la population atteint à peine 1500 habitants. La question des propriétaires terriens non résidents et de leurs associés, qui dirigent l'Assemblée législative, augmente la frustration de la population. Tout comme l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Terre-Neuve doit se battre pour libérer le gouvernement local de l'emprise des parties prenantes d'Europe, surtout en ce qui a trait à l'industrie de la pêche, toujours régie par les traités conclus entre les Britanniques et les Français.

Les mouvements de réforme politique se développent dans les années 1840 et 1850, au fur et à mesure que le gouvernement doit rendre davantage de comptes, que les pratiques électorales et administratives s'améliorent et que le gouvernement bénéficie d'une représentation officielle plus diversifiée. Les colonies de la côte atlantique sont dirigées par un gouvernement responsable dès 1848 en Nouvelle-Écosse et, peu après, les autres colonies emboîtent le pas : l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard en 1851, le Nouveau-Brunswick en 1854 et Terre-Neuve en 1855.

Mais la stabilité politique n'a pas toujours accompagné l'obligation de rendre compte. Des gouvernements éphémères, la guerre de Sécession aux États-Unis, les risques commerciaux et les ambitions régionales ont conduit les colonies de la côte atlantique à opter pour la confédération.

Sources

The Atlantic provinces in Confederation. -- Sous la direction de E. R. Forbes ; D. A. Muise. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1993. -- 628 p.

The Atlantic region to Confederation : a history. -- Sous la direction de Philip A. Buckner ; John G. Reid. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1994. -- 491 p.

Précédent | Suivant