Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Provinces and Territories

Key Terms

The Great Coalition

Soon after the Sandfield Macdonald-Dorion government resigned, Governor Monck again called on Sandfield Macdonald to form the next government. He refused, and the Governor turned to Étienne-Paschal Taché. Étienne-Paschal Taché had left politics and George-Étienne Cartier's intervention was necessary before he accepted the Governor's offer. Étienne-Paschal Taché joined forces with John A. Macdonald to form a government that would remain in power for only a few months. This new setback demonstrated to the political authorities that it was impossible to govern the Canadas under Union.

A consensus was therefore reached on the need to create a coalition of all Canadian political parties to reform the political system. The coming together of George Brown, the Clear Grits in Canada West, the Parti Bleu in Canada East, and the Conservatives finally occurred in June 1864. On June 30, the ministers of the Great Coalition were sworn in. Only the members of the Parti Rouge under Jean-Baptiste-Éric Dorion were left out.

Representatives of the Coalition would attend the Charlottetown Conference. As the delegates for United Canada were eloquent, they convinced the Maritime colonies' representatives of the merits of uniting the British North American colonies. With this, the process of negotiation leading up to Confederation in 1867 had begun.

Source

Cornell, Paul G. -- La grande coalition. -- Ottawa : Commission du Centenaire, 1967. -- 26 p.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Provinces et territoires

Termes-clés

La Grande Coalition

Au lendemain de la démission du gouvernement Sandfield Macdonald-Dorion, le gouverneur Monck fait de nouveau appel à Sandfield Macdonald pour qu'il forme le prochain gouvernement. Ce dernier refuse et le gouverneur s'adresse à Étienne-Paschal Taché. Mais celui-ci a quitté la vie politique et l'intervention de George-Étienne Cartier est nécessaire pour qu'il accepte l'offre du gouverneur. Étienne-Paschal Taché s'associe donc à John A. Macdonald et forme un gouvernement qui ne garde le pouvoir que quelques mois. Ce nouvel échec montre aux autorités politiques qu'il est impossible de gouverner le Canada-Uni sous le régime de l'Union.

Un consensus s'établit donc sur la nécessité de créer une coalition de l'ensemble des partis politiques canadiens afin d'en arriver à une réforme du système politique. Le rapprochement entre George Brown, les « clear grits » du Canada-Ouest, les « bleus » du Canada-Est et les conservateurs est définitivement accompli en juin 1864. Le 30 juin, les ministres de la Grande Coalition sont assermentés. Seuls les « rouges » de Jean-Baptiste-Éric Dorion en sont tenus à l'écart.

Des représentants de cette coalition vont assister à la Conférence de Charlottetown. Comme les délégués du Canada-Uni sont éloquents, ils réussissent à convaincre les représentants des colonies maritimes du bien-fondé d'une union de toutes les colonies britanniques de l'Amérique du Nord. Le processus de négociations menant à la Confédération, en 1867, est alors enclenché.

Source

Cornell, Paul G. -- La grande coalition. -- Ottawa : Commission du Centenaire, 1967. -- 26 p.