Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Provinces and Territories

Key Terms

Labrador Boundary Dispute

It is impossible to determine exactly when the first Europeans, other than the Vikings, came to Labrador. Certainly by the early 1500s Basque whalers and fishermen had established themselves along part of its coastline. The French gradually became a prominent presence in the area, regarding it as an extension of New France. When the French ceded most of their North American territory to the British under the Treaty of Paris in 1763, the so-called "coasts of Labrador" fell under the jurisdiction of the governor of Newfoundland.

Over the next century and a half, responsibility for the area transferred several times between Quebec (later Canada) and Newfoundland. At the same time, Newfoundland continued to maintain jurisdiction over some portions of the coast. As late as 1888 a Newfoundland judge indicated to the island's governor that there was a discrepancy between what Newfoundland claimed of the territory, and what was indicated as Newfoundland territory on a Canadian government map. Although efforts were made at the time to settle the question, it was not considered an important issue, and interest dwindled.

The modern boundary argument began in 1902, when the Newfoundland government granted a lumber company license to harvest trees on both sides of the Hamilton River (now called the Churchill River). The Quebec government considered the southern part of the river to be part of Quebec, and complained to Canada's secretary of state. Newfoundland refused to cancel the license. The island maintained that it had rights to the watershed of all rivers draining into the Atlantic Ocean. In 1904 the Canadian government suggested that the boundary question be put before the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council. Three years later, in 1907, Newfoundland indicated that it agreed to the proposal, and would prepare a submission.

Disagreement over the content of the submissions, and the interruption caused by World War I, delayed the matter until 1922. The British Privy Council was finally asked to determine the boundary of the disputed territory as indicated in various proclamations, statutes and imperial orders-in-council. Deliberations began in October of 1926. In 1927 the Privy Council decided in Newfoundland's favour, a verdict accepted by Canada. The decision was further strengthened by Newfoundland's entry into Canada under the terms of the British North America Act, 1949 (http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/const/index.html).

Sources

Chadwick, St. John.  --  Newfoundland : island into province.  --  London : Cambridge University Press, 1967.  --  268 p.

Harris, Leslie.  --  "Labrador Boundary Dispute".  --  Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador.  --  Ed. Cyril F. Poole & Joseph R. Smallwood.  --  St. John's, Nfld. : Harry Cuff Publications Ltd., 1991.  --  Vol. 3, p. 216-221

Hiller, James K.  --  Confederation : deciding Newfoundland's future, 1934-1949.  --  St. John's, Nfld. : Newfoundland Historical Society, 1998.  --  75 p.

McEwen, Alan C.  --  "Labrador Boundary Dispute".  --  The Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition.  --  Ed. James H. Marsh.  --  3rd print ed.  --  Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999.  --  P. 1273

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Provinces et territoires

Termes-clés

Litige au sujet de la frontière du Labrador

Il est impossible de déterminer avec précision le moment où les premiers Européens, à part les Vikings, sont venus au Labrador. Mais dès le début des années 1500, les Basques, qui viennent pêcher et chasser la baleine, sont sans doute établis sur une partie de la côte. Les Français font de plus en plus sentir leur présence dans la région, qu'ils voient comme un prolongement de la Nouvelle-France. Lorsque les Français cèdent la plus grande partie de leur territoire en Amérique du Nord à l'Angleterre, en vertu du traité de Paris, en 1763, les «  côtes du Labrador  », comme on les appelle, passent sous l'autorité du gouverneur de Terre-Neuve.

Au cours des 150 années qui vont suivre, la responsabilité de la région passe plusieurs fois du Québec (par l'entremise du Canada) à Terre-Neuve. Parallèlement, certaines parties du littoral terre-neuvien continuent à relever de la compétence de Terre-Neuve. Aussi tard qu'en 1888, un juge de Terre-Neuve signale au gouverneur de l'île qu'il y a des différences entre ce que Terre-Neuve revendique comme territoire et ce qui est indiqué comme territoire appartenant à Terre-Neuve sur une carte du gouvernement canadien. Bien que l'on fasse des efforts, à l'époque, pour régler la question, celle-ci n'est pas jugée importante, et l'intérêt s'effrite.

Le conflit contemporain au sujet de la frontière commence en 1902, lorsque le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve donne un droit de coupe pour abattre les arbres des deux côtés du fleuve Hamilton (aujourd'hui Churchill). Comme le gouvernement du Québec considère le sud du fleuve comme son territoire, il se plaint auprès du Secrétaire d'État du Canada. Mais Terre-Neuve refuse d'annuler le permis. Le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve maintient qu'il possède les droits jusqu'à la ligne de partage des eaux de tous les cours d'eau qui se jettent dans l'océan Atlantique. En 1904, le gouvernement canadien suggère que la question de la frontière soit référée au Comité judiciaire du Conseil privé de Londres. Trois années plus tard, en 1907, le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve indique qu'il est d'accord avec la proposition du gouvernement canadien et qu'il va préparer les documents.

Des différends à propos du contenu des documents et l'éclatement de la Première Guerre mondiale reportent le règlement de la question en 1922. On demande finalement au Conseil privé de Londres de déterminer la limite du territoire faisant l'objet du litige, comme l'indiquent les divers statuts, décrets impériaux et proclamations. Les délibérations commencent en octobre 1926. En 1927, le Conseil privé tranche en faveur de Terre-Neuve, verdict qu'accepte le Canada. La décision est renforcée par l'entrée de Terre-Neuve dans la Confédération, conformément aux modalités de l'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique, 1949 (http://lois.justice.gc.ca/fr/const/index.html).

Sources

Chadwick, St. John.  --  Newfoundland : island into province.  --  London : Cambridge University Press, 1967.  --  268 p.

Harris, Leslie.  --  « Labrador Boundary Dispute ».  --  Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador.  --  Sous la direction de Cyril F. Poole et Joseph R. Smallwood.  --  St. John's (Terre-Neuve) : Harry Cuff Publications Ltd., 1991.  --  Vol. 3, p. 216-221

Hiller, James K.  --  Confederation : deciding Newfoundland's future, 1934-1949.  --  St. John's (Terre-Neuve) : Newfoundland Historical Society, 1998.  --  75 p.

McEwen, Alan C.  --  « Labrador Boundary Dispute ».  --  The Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition.  --  Sous la direction de James H. Marsh.  --  3e édition sur papier.  --  Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999.  --  P. 1273