Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Provinces and Territories

Key Terms

The National Métis Committee

The National Métis Committee was formed around October 16, 1869, with John Bruce as president and Louis Riel as secretary. Created with the support of Father Ritchot, the Committee met at his house on the Sale River. Ritchot hoped to minimize the unilateral actions of the federal authorities regarding the administration of the territory of the Red River colony.

It was by order of this committee that Lieutenant-Governor McDougall was refused entry to the Red River colony on November 2, 1869.