Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Provinces and Territories

Key Terms

The North-Western Territory and Rupert's Land

Although these were two separate territories, the terms used to refer to them are often somewhat confused in Canadian history textbooks.

Rupert's Land included the hydrographic basin of Hudson Bay -- what is today northern Quebec and Ontario, the entire province of Manitoba, most of Saskatchewan, and part of southern Alberta. The North-Western Territory consisted of the areas to the north and west of Rupert's Land.

In 1870, when Canada purchased these territories from the Hudson's Bay Company, they were renamed the Northwest Territories.