Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Provinces and Territories

Key Terms

The Pacific Scandal

In April 1873, the government of Sir John A. Macdonald was charged with accepting illicit funds from Sir Hugh Allan. In return for these payments, Allan was assured that he would be awarded the lucrative contract to construct the transcontinental Canadian Pacific Railway. When evidence of the agreement was made public by Opposition members of Parliament and published in newspapers across Canada, the episode became known as the "Pacific Scandal."

Allan's correspondence revealed that he and his American partners had attempted to influence a range of public figures, including journalists and politicians. During the election campaign of 1872, large sums were contributed to individuals such as George-Étienne Cartier and Hector-Louis Langevin. A telegram from Macdonald to Allan's legal adviser, John J. C. Abbott, provided the scandal's most sensational evidence, as it read: "I must have another ten thousand; will be the last time of calling; do not fail me; answer today."

Macdonald employed a number of delay tactics in an attempt to avoid the political consequences of the scandal. However, there was no avoiding the public backlash and unrelenting attacks of the Opposition. The political cartoonist J. W. Bengough became popular for his illustrated commentaries on the Pacific Scandal.

A Royal Commission was appointed in August 1873 to examine the matter, and in November Macdonald's government finally resigned. A general election followed, and Macdonald managed to keep his seat in Parliament. For many individuals involved in the scandal, the long-term consequences were negligible. Macdonald's party returned to power in 1878 and Macdonald served as prime minister until his death in 1891, when he was succeeded by none other than John Abbott.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Provinces et territoires

Termes-clés

Le scandale du Pacifique

En avril 1873 éclate « le scandale du Pacifique » : le gouvernement de sir John A. Macdonald est accusé d'avoir accepté des fonds illicites de sir Hugh Allan, lequel s'est vu accorder en retour le lucratif contrat de construction du chemin de fer transcontinental, le Canadien Pacifique. Les députés de l'opposition divulguent cette entente et en fournissent la preuve; celle-ci paraît dans tous les journaux du Canada.

La correspondance d'Allan révèle que lui et ses partenaires américains ont tenté d'influencer tout un éventail de personnalités publiques, parmi lesquelles figurent des journalistes et des politiciens. Au cours de la campagne électorale de 1872, d'importantes sommes ont été versées à des hommes comme George-Étienne Cartier et Hector-Louis Langevin. Un télégramme de Macdonald à John J. C. Abbott, le conseiller juridique d'Allan, a constitué la preuve la plus sensationnelle de ce scandale. On peut y lire : « Il me faut un autre montant de dix mille; ce sera ma dernière demande; ne me décevez pas; répondez aujourd'hui. »

Macdonald emploie plusieurs tactiques dilatoires afin d'éviter les conséquences politiques d'un scandale, mais il ne réussit pas à esquiver les réactions du public, ni les attaques acharnées de l'opposition. Le caricaturiste politique J. W. Bengough publie alors de mordantes illustrations grâce auxquelles il restera connu.

Pour examiner l'affaire, une commission royale est créée en août 1873. En novembre, le gouvernement de Macdonald doit démissionner. Suit une élection générale, et Macdonald conserve malgré tout son siège au Parlement. Bien des protagonistes de ce scandale ne souffriront pas longtemps des conséquences. Le parti de Macdonald reprend le pouvoir en 1878, et lui-même occupe les fonctions de premier ministre jusqu'à sa mort, en 1891. Et c'est John Abbott qui lui succédera.