Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Provinces and Territories

Nunavut

Entered Confederation: 1999

Early History

The earliest people to inhabit the region now known as Nunavut were the Tuniit (Dorset) people, believed to have crossed the Bering Strait -- then a land bridge -- from Russia, approximately 5,000 years ago. The Tuniit were the sole occupants of the land until about 1,000 years ago, when the Thule, the ancestors of today's Inuit, began appearing in the area. The Thule, who eventually displaced the Tuniit, relied on whales as their main source of food and necessities, and had a trading relationship with the Norse through which they acquired metal tools. About 500 years ago, for unknown reasons, the Thule abandoned the high Arctic and their whaling ventures for the smaller living groups and the caribou and seal hunts that characterized the Inuit way of life at the time of European expansion into the Canadian Arctic.

The Inuit's early contact with Europeans, other than the Norse, was probably with the Basque and Portuguese whalers working off Newfoundland and Labrador shores. As well, there were the explorers who sought the Northwest Passage. Both groups had minimal influence on the Inuit way of life. The whalers were integrated into the barter system of trade that the Inuit had already established, and the explorers tended not to stay in the Arctic for extended periods of time.

Later History

Europeans began exerting a more long-lasting influence in the Arctic with the formation of the Hudson's Bay Company (HBC) in 1670. Rapidly establishing a commercial network throughout the Arctic, the HBC relied on the Inuit to supply furs and hides in return for tools and food. This caused substantial changes in Inuit culture: on one level, the focus shifted from hunting entirely for food, clothing, and other needs, to supplying outsiders with desirable goods. Traditional trade and migration patterns were altered, as the Inuit began trading almost exclusively with the HBC, abandoning their seasonal migrations to remain near trading posts. This influence continued into the twentieth century. When the Canadian government began asserting its sovereignty over the Arctic, the HBC acted as a de facto government agency. Unfortunately, when the fur market collapsed in the 1930s, the Inuit were left without the means to continue a way of life to which they had grown accustomed.

The years during and following World War II brought even more disruption. The war had exposed the Inuit's economic situation to many in the south for the first time and other nations criticized Canada for not providing enough assistance. As a result of this pressure, the Canadian government made the Inuit wards of the state in 1941. Then, in the 1950s, the government relocated many of the Inuit to centralized villages, in areas where they would supposedly have a greater degree of prosperity, an action that may also have been meant to solidify Canadian sovereignty in the Arctic by spreading the population throughout the area. Children were taken from their families and placed in residential schools. Not only did these actions force the Inuit to rely almost totally upon others for their livelihood, they seriously injured the traditional social structure by breaking up families, or by forcing them to relocate. Various social programs, while well intentioned, also fostered dependence. The government, which administered the area directly from Ottawa, was perceived as distant and out of touch with Northern concerns.

Exploration of the natural resources in the Arctic was conducted with little, if any, consultation with the Inuit who lived on the land. Developers traversed the area in various vehicles, sunk wells, and dug mines without considering the environmental effects of their actions.

There was a change in the system of government in 1967 with the establishment of the territorial government at Yellowknife, but in reality there was little difference to the people. Although Yellowknife was closer than Ottawa, its location in the western Arctic was still perceived as remote by those in the eastern half of the territory. The government itself was dominated by people who were more interested in transferring the Southern style of government to the North, than in adapting it to the needs and circumstances of the region.

Interestingly, an early attempt at territorial division was discussed just prior to the transfer of government, during the period between 1959 and 1963, when the territorial council contemplated creating the Mackenzie Territory. The motivation for this was more economic than socio-political; those who supported division felt that the more populous and diverse western half of the Northwest Territories (NWT) would develop more quickly if separated from the eastern half. Neither the opinions of the Inuit, nor indeed those of anyone from the eastern Arctic, were considered. Still, the campaign for division progressed far enough that in 1963 federal legislation was introduced to create the territories of Mackenzie (western NWT) and Nunassiaq (eastern NWT). The matter stalled, however, when it became clear that the idea was not supported in the eastern NWT, and had only scant support in the western NWT; the legislation died with the dissolution of Parliament in 1963. In the aftermath of this debate, the Carrothers Commission of 1966 concluded that while division was probably inevitable, discussion of the idea should be delayed for ten years. The Commission also stated that the Inuit would be isolated, with little if any political power, if division were carried out in the wrong way.

Early Aboriginal Claims

There were several cases in 1973 that brought the concept of Aboriginal land title and rights to national prominence. One of these was the "Calder Case", a grievance brought by the Nishga Indians of northwestern British Columbia against the provincial government. This case was the first to use the terms "Aboriginal rights" and "land claim," acknowledging that Aboriginals did have some original claim to land, albeit in a narrow sense. The Inuit and Cree of Northern Quebec also began their grievance (reaching a settlement in 1975) against the James Bay hydroelectric project, which they claimed was in violation of their Aboriginal rights. As well, the Dene of the Western Arctic were given leave to file an Aboriginal claim in the NWT. These cases demonstrated to the Inuit the possibility of success in making their own such claim in the Eastern Arctic.

The early 1970s also saw the creation of the Inuit Tapirisat of Canada (ITC), formed in 1971 from a meeting of Native leaders at Coppermine, NWT, with Tagak Curley as its founding president. The first conference, held at Carleton University in Ottawa, brought together thirty delegates from all regions of the NWT, as well as Inuit from Quebec and Labrador. The ITC would become an important force in the quest for Nunavut.

The ITC was in fact heavily involved in the preparation of the first Inuit claims proposal, submitted to the federal government in 1976. It proposed not only a land claim, but also the creation of a new territory, suggesting a new form of government and infrastructure, with Inuktitut as the official language. The guiding principle of these recommendations was that land claims and political development had to be settled at the same time. The proposal was later withdrawn, however, because of complexity, lack of community input, and a general feeling that it had been too much influenced by its Southern advisors.

In the wake of this proposal, the NWT Inuit Land Claims Commission (ILCC) was formed in 1977, to focus exclusively on claims negotiations. That same year, it submitted a claims proposal, which -- while similar to that of 1976 -- was much less complex. While the ILCC was able to negotiate with these principles for some time, discussions eventually stalled on the question of the Inuit political future: the Inuit wished to settle this matter before moving on to land claims, and the federal government did not wish to make political matters part of a claims discussion. The ILCC eventually disbanded over the deadlock, in 1979, and the Nunavut Land Claims Project (NLCP) took over negotiation of claims matters.

1979

1979 proved to be an important year in the development of Nunavut. The NWT election of that year saw Inuit leaders agree to participate for the first time. As a result, a majority of Inuit members were elected to an assembly that became much friendlier towards the idea of Aboriginal rights. One of this government's first acts was to create a special legislative committee to study the question of division. Concurrently, the NWT was divided into two federal electoral districts, with the new eastern district of Nunatsiaq roughly corresponding to the proposed territory of Nunavut. The first member elected in that district, Peter Ittinuar, was also the first Inuk to sit in the House of Commons.

At that year's ITC meeting, the members drafted Political Development in Nunavut, a claims proposal that blended elements of earlier proposals. Like the earlier claims, this one asserted that settlement had to be accompanied by a commitment to division of the NWT; it outlined a fifteen-year schedule for achieving this goal. The same meeting was attended by a federal representative, marking one of the first times that the federal government actively solicited Inuit opinions on constitutional change.

1982

Another landmark year for the Nunavut claim was 1982. At the national level, it saw the patriation of the Constitution, which included a clause protecting Aboriginal land claims. At the territorial level, the recommendations made two years earlier by the committee examining division were acted on and a plebiscite was held on the question. Though there was only a moderate voter turnout, 56% of those who did vote were in favour of division; moreover, in the eastern Arctic, where the Inuit population was highest, the percentage in favour of division was around 80%.

The plebiscite campaign saw the formation of the Constitutional Alliance of the Northwest Territories (CA). After the results of the vote were known, the CA agreed to create two forums, intended to provide a medium for formal debate and planning: the Nunavut Constitutional Forum (NCF) for the eastern Arctic, and the Western Constitutional Forum (WCF) for the western, with the CA acting as moderator. At the same time, the Tungavik Federation of Nunavut (TFN) was formed to pursue actual claims negotiation, taking over these duties from the NLCP.

The NCF began meeting in September of 1982; all proceedings were open, with the media having full access. Among its activities were the production of a "history" of Nunavut, and many studies about matters affecting its creation. Within a year, the NCF had drafted a comprehensive working proposal, entitled "Building Nunavut." A revised and expanded edition followed two years later.

Negotiations

Early successes with negotiations included agreements on an Inuit role in wildlife management (reached in 1981), on offshore rights, and on a wide-ranging resource management system that included a prominent role for Inuit in the decision-making process.

There were difficult areas, however; one of these was the negotiation of a boundary. Although Inuit lived primarily in the eastern Arctic, and the Dene-Métis in the western Arctic, there were overlapping areas in the central part of the territory where both claimed traditional rights. A tentative agreement, endorsed by both the NCF and WCF, was reached in 1985; however, it fell apart at the last minute when the Dene-Métis refused to ratify it. A similar fate befell the Iqaluit Agreement of 1987. Finally, John Parker, a former territorial commissioner, was appointed to decide on a boundary in 1991. Though this proposed line was also disputed, it was passed in a territory-wide plebiscite with a narrow majority.

The concept of Nunavut itself also presented difficulties. The Inuit were adamant that it be incorporated directly into the claims agreement, as an embodiment of Aboriginal rights. Federal representatives, on the other hand, stated that it was inappropriate to use an Aboriginal land claim to create a public government that was meant to serve all people, including the white minority, within the proposed territory. A compromise was reached by including a clause in the claim. This clause committed the government to negotiating a political accord that would provide for the creation of the new territory, without actually making division part of the claim.

Nunavut Agreement

An agreement-in-principle was finally reached in 1990, a final version of which appeared in December of 1991. Members of both the TFN and federal negotiating teams signed this document, the "Nunavut Land Claims Agreement" (NLCA), in September of 1992. It was then put to a plebiscite in October of 1992, and saw a record turnout of voters. The Agreement passed the plebiscite with an overwhelming majority of 84.7%. Once past this hurdle, matters moved quickly. The Nunavut Land Claims Agreement Act, ratifying the agreement, and the Nunavut Act [laws.justice.gc.ca/en/N-28.6/index.html], which created the new territory, were both passed on June 10, 1993.

Towards 1999

After ratification of the two acts in 1993, attention turned towards implementation; a deadline of April 1, 1999 had been fixed for the completion of all arrangements. Jack Anawak was appointed Interim Commissioner of Nunavut. The Nunavut Implementation Commission (NIC) formed to undertake planning for the new government; it was a nine-member committee, overseen by Chief Commissioner John Amagoalik. To ensure the integrity of the NLCA, Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (NTI) was created, with Jose Kusugak as its president. It assumed what had previously been the responsibilities of the TFN. Both organizations had much to do in a relatively short span of time, and had to face many challenges: a vast territory to cover, new departments to create, and employees to train. Added to these were the desire to decentralize the new government as much as possible, and the commitment to employing a percentage of Inuit representative of the general population.

An election also had to be held in order to choose the nineteen members of the new legislative assembly; this took place on February 15, 1999. After the election, the new members chose Paul Okalik as their premier. On March 26 of that year, Helen Maksagak was appointed as the first Commissioner of Nunavut by the federal government.

Celebration!

As with the ratification of the Nunavut Act in 1993, the actual birth of Nunavut on April 1, 1999 became an international news story. Parties, speeches, fireworks, traditional Inuit games and dances, and other activities marked the occasion.

Sources

Cameron, Kirk ; White, Graham. -- Northern governments in transition : political and constitutional development in the Yukon, Nunavut, and the western Northwest Territories. -- Montréal : Institute for Research on Public Policy, 1995. -- 151 p.

Jull, Peter. -- An Aboriginal northern territory : creating Canada's Nunavut. -- [Casuarina, N. T. : Australian National University, North Australia Research Unit], 1992. -- 39 p.

Merritt, John et al. -- Nunavut : political choices and manifest destiny. -- Ottawa : Canadian Arctic Resources Committee, 1989. -- 126 p.

The Nunavut Handbook 1999. -- Ed. Marion Soublière. -- Iqaluit : Nortext Multimedia Inc., 1999. -- [414 p.].

Nunavut '99 : changing the map of Canada : the birth of a territory fulfills a dream. -- Ed. Marion Soublière ; Greg Coleman. -- Iqaluit : Nortext Multimedia Inc., 1999. -- 131 p.

Purich, Donald. -- The Inuit and their land : the story of Nunavut. -- Toronto : James Lorimer & Co., 1992. -- 126 p.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Provinces et territoires

Le Nunavut

Adhésion à la Confédération : 1999

Les débuts

Les premiers habitants de la région maintenant appelée le Nunavut sont les Tuniits (Dorset) qui, croit-on, seraient venus de Russie en traversant le détroit de Béring -- alors une langue de terre -- il y a environ 5 000 ans. Les Tuniits restent les seuls occupants de cette terre jusqu'à il y a 1000 ans environ, alors que les Thule, les ancêtres des Inuits d'aujourd'hui, commencent à faire leur apparition dans la région. Les Thule, qui devaient éventuellement supplanter les Tuniits, tirent l'essentiel de leur nourriture et de leurs objets de première nécessité de la baleine et ils commercent avec les Vikings, qui leur font découvrir les outils de métal. Il y a environ 500 ans, pour des raisons inconnues, les Thule abandonnent le nord de l'Arctique et la chasse à la baleine pour une vie en plus petits groupes et la chasse au caribou et au phoque qui caractérisent le mode de vie des Inuits au temps de l'expansion européenne dans l'Arctique canadien.

Les premiers contacts des Inuits avec les Européens, mis à part les Vikings, ont probablement lieu avec les chasseurs de baleines basques et portugais qui travaillent au large des côtes de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador, ainsi qu'avec les explorateurs qui cherchent le passage du Nord-Ouest. Les deux groupes ont peu d'influence sur le mode de vie des Inuits. Les chasseurs de baleines s'intègrent au système du traficotage commercial qu'ont déjà établi les Inuits, tandis que les explorateurs, eux, ne restent généralement pas très longtemps dans l'Arctique.

L'histoire récente

Les Européens commencent à exercer une influence plus profonde dans l'Arctique avec la création de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson (CBH) en 1670. Mettant rapidement en place un réseau commercial dans tout l'Arctique, la CBH s'approvisionne en fourrures et en peaux chez les Inuits en échange d'outils et de nourriture. Le troc entraîne des changements importants dans la culture des Inuits; dorénavant, ils ne chassent plus seulement pour leur nourriture, leurs vêtements et autres besoins, mais aussi pour fournir aux étrangers les marchandises que ces derniers recherchent. Le commerce traditionnel et les habitudes de migration se modifient profondément quand les Inuits commencent à commercer presque exclusivement avec la CBH, abandonnant leurs migrations saisonnières pour demeurer près des comptoirs de traite. Cette influence continue de s'exercer au cours du XXe siècle. Lorsque le gouvernement canadien commence à affirmer sa souveraineté sur l'Arctique, la CBH agissait déjà, en fait, comme un organisme gouvernemental. Malheureusement, l'effondrement du marché des fourrures, au cours des années 1930, prive les Inuits des moyens de maintenir un mode de vie auquel ils s'étaient habitués.

Les années pendant et après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale apportent encore plus de perturbation. Pour la première fois, la guerre fait découvrir la situation économique des Inuits à nombre de gens du Sud et les autres nations critiquent le Canada pour l'insuffisance de son aide. Réagissant à cette pression, le gouvernement canadien met les Inuits sous la tutelle de l'État en 1941. Puis, au cours des années 1950, le gouvernement réinstalle de nombreux Inuits dans des villages centralisés, dans des secteurs où ils pourraient théoriquement devenir plus prospères, mesure qui pourrait aussi avoir pour objectif d'asseoir la souveraineté du Canada sur l'Arctique en éparpillant la population dans toute la région. On retire les enfants de leur famille pour les placer dans des pensionnats. Non seulement ces mesures forcent les Inuits à dépendre presque complètement des autres pour leur subsistance, mais elles altèrent aussi sérieusement leur structure sociale traditionnelle en disloquant les familles ou en les obligeant à se réimplanter ailleurs. Divers programmes sociaux, pourtant bien intentionnés, renforcent également leur dépendance. Le gouvernement qui administre la région directement d'Ottawa est perçu comme une entité très distante et complètement coupée des préoccupations de l'Arctique.

L'exploration des ressources naturelles de l'Arctique se fait sans que les Inuits qui vivent sur ces terres soient consultés. Les promoteurs traversent la région avec des véhicules de toutes sortes, forent des puits et creusent des mines sans aucune considération pour les conséquences environnementales de leurs activités.

Un changement se produit dans le système du gouvernement en 1967 avec l'établissement d'un gouvernement territorial à Yellowknife, mais, en réalité, cela ne change pas grand-chose pour le peuple. Même si la ville est plus proche qu'Ottawa, son emplacement dans l'ouest de l'Arctique la fait paraître encore très éloignée à tous ceux qui vivent dans l'est du territoire. Le gouvernement lui-même est dominé par des gens plus intéressés à transplanter au nord leur style de gouvernement du sud, plutôt que de l'adapter aux besoins et aux conditions de la région.

Il est intéressant de constater qu'une tentative de division du territoire avait été discutée auparavant, juste avant le transfert du gouvernement, au cours de la période 1959-1963 quand il a été question de créer le territoire du Mackenzie. La motivation derrière cette idée était de nature plus économique que sociopolitique; les gens en faveur de la division croyaient que la moitié ouest des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (T.N.-O.), plus peuplée et diversifiée, se développerait plus rapidement si elle était séparée de la moitié est. On ne se préoccupe même pas de l'opinion des Inuits, ni de celle de quiconque vit dans l'est de l'Arctique. Pourtant, la campagne en faveur de la division va si loin que, en 1963, on incorpore une législation fédérale pour créer les territoires du Mackenzie (T.N.-O. de l'ouest) et de Nunassiaq (T.N.-O. de l'est). Cependant, l'idée ne va pas plus loin quand il devient clair qu'elle ne reçoit aucun appui à l'est et très peu à l'ouest; la législation meurt avec la dissolution du Parlement en 1963. À la suite de ce débat, la Commission Carrothers de 1966 conclut que, même si la séparation était probablement inévitable, toute discussion sur le sujet devrait être repoussée d'au moins dix ans. La Commission conclut également que les Inuits seraient isolés, avec peu ou pas de pouvoir politique, si cette division ne se faisait pas de la bonne manière.

Les premières revendications autochtones

Plusieurs cas, en 1973, ont élevé au niveau de la conscience nationale le concept de titres fonciers et de droits des Autochtones. Un de ces cas a été l'affaire Calder, grief soumis par les Indiens Nishgas du nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique contre le gouvernement provincial. Ce cas est le premier dans lequel apparaissent les termes « droits des Autochtones » et « revendication territoriale » qui affirment que les Autochtones ont des revendications territoriales initiales bien que ce soit au sens étroit des termes. Les Inuits et les Cris du nord du Québec déposent également des griefs (obtenant un accord en 1975) sur les projets hydroélectriques de la baie James, qu'ils dénoncent comme une violation de leurs droits. De même, les Dénés de l'Arctique de l'Ouest reçoivent l'autorisation de déposer une revendication territoriale autochtone sur les T.N.-O. Ces cas démontrent aux Inuits qu'ils peuvent déposer leur propre revendication territoriale sur l'est de l'Arctique et avoir des chances que leur demande soit acceptée.

Au début des années 1970, on assiste également à la naissance de l'Inuit Tapirisat du Canada (ITC) en 1971, issu d'une réunion des chefs autochtones à Coppermine, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest; le président fondateur est Tagak Curley. La première conférence de l'ITC, tenue à la Carleton University, réunit trente délégués de toutes les régions des T.N.-O., de même que des Inuits du Québec et du Labrador. L'ITC est devenu, par la suite, une force importante dans la quête du Nunavut.

De fait, le ITC est profondément engagé dans la préparation de la première proposition de revendication territoriale soumise au gouvernement fédéral en 1976. Elle propose non seulement une revendication territoriale, mais également la création d'un nouveau territoire, suggérant une nouvelle forme de gouvernement et d'infrastructure avec l'inuktitut comme langue officielle, le principe directeur de cette recommandation étant que les revendications territoriales et le développement politique devaient être réglés en même temps. Cependant, la proposition est ultérieurement retirée en raison de sa complexité, du manque de participation de la communauté et du sentiment général qu'elle est trop influencée par les conseillers venus du Sud.

À la lumière de ces propositions, on crée la Commission des revendications territoriales (CRT) des T.N.-O. en 1977 pour se concentrer exclusivement sur les négociations reliées à ces revendications. Cette même année, la Commission soumet une proposition de revendication qui -- bien qu'elle soit similaire à celle de 1976 -- est beaucoup moins complexe. Bien que la CRT puisse négocier pendant quelque temps d'après ces principes, les discussions finissent par bloquer sur la question de l'avenir politique des Inuits : les Inuits souhaitent régler ce problème avant d'entreprendre les négociations sur les revendications territoriales, alors que le gouvernement fédéral ne veut pas que les problèmes de nature politique fassent partie des discussions sur les revendications territoriales. Finalement, on dissout la CRT sur cette impasse en 1979 et le projet de revendications territoriales du Nunavut (PRTN) reprend les négociations sur les revendications.

1979

L'année 1979 est une année importante en matière de développement pour le Nunavut. Pour la première fois, les chefs inuits acceptent de participer aux élections des T.N.-O. de cette même année, ce qui a pour effet de faire élire une majorité de membres inuits à l'Assemblée, qui devient du même coup beaucoup plus réceptive à l'idée des droits des Autochtones. Une des premières actions de ce gouvernement est la création d'un comité législatif spécial pour étudier la question de la division. Simultanément, les T.N.-O. sont partagés en deux circonscriptions fédérales comprenant celle de Nunatsiaq, qui correspond à peu près au territoire proposé du Nunavut. Le premier membre élu dans cette circonscription est Peter Ittinuar, qui a également été le premier Inuit à siéger à la Chambre des communes.

À la réunion du ITC, cette même année, les membres préparent une ébauche de Political Development in Nunavut, proposition sur les revendications qui rassemble les éléments des propositions antérieures. Comme les revendications antérieures, celle-ci affirme que l'accord doit être accompagné d'un engagement sur la division des T.N.-O. Elle suggère un calendrier étalé sur quinze ans pour atteindre cet objectif. Un représentant fédéral participe à cette réunion, et c'est une des premières fois que le gouvernement fédéral sollicite activement l'opinion des Inuits pour un changement de nature constitutionnelle.

1982

L'année 1982 est une autre année marquante dans la revendication du Nunavut. À l'échelon national, le rapatriement de la Constitution comprend une disposition qui protége les revendications territoriales des Autochtones. À l'échelon territorial, les recommandations faites deux années plus tôt par le comité qui examinait le projet de division sont mises en œuvre et l'on tient un référendum sur la question. Bien que le taux de participation à l'élection soit moyen, 56 % de ceux qui ont voté sont en faveur de la division; de plus, dans l'est de l'Arctique, là où la population inuite est la plus élevée, le pourcentage en faveur de la division tourne autour de 80 %.

La campagne du référendum engendre la création de la Constitutional Alliance of the Northwest Territories. Après avoir pris connaissance des résultats du vote, la CA accepte de créer deux forums fournissant ainsi une tribune pour des débats et pour la planification officielle : l'Assemblée constitutionnelle du Nunavut pour l'est de l'Arctique et l'Assemblée constitutionnelle de la région ouest pour l'ouest de l'Arctique, avec la CA comme modératrice. En même temps, on crée la Fédération Tungavik du Nunavut (FTN) pour poursuivre les négociations sur les revendications actuelles, reprenant ces tâches au PRTN.

L'Assemblée constitutionnelle du Nunavut commence ses réunions en septembre 1982; toutes les procédures sont ouvertes et les médias y ont totalement accès. On y procède, entre autres, à l'élaboration d'une « histoire » du Nunavut et l'on fait plusieurs études sur sa création. En un an, l'Assemblée constitutionnelle du Nunavut ébauche une proposition de travail détaillée intitulée « Bâtir le Nunavut ». Une édition révisée et plus complète suit deux ans plus tard.

Les négociations

Les premières négociations menées avec succès comprennent des accords sur le rôle des Inuits dans la gestion des réserves fauniques (conclus en 1981), des droits off-shore et un vaste système de gestion des ressources dans lequel les Inuits joueraient un rôle majeur dans le processus décisionnel.

Il y a cependant des domaines difficiles, dont celui de la négociation d'une frontière. Même si les Inuits vivent principalement dans l'est de l'Arctique et les Dénés et les Métis dans l'ouest, la partie centrale du territoire comporte des régions qui se chevauchent et sur lesquelles les deux parties revendiquent leurs droits traditionnels. Un accord préliminaire, endossé à la fois par l'Assemblée constitutionnelle du Nunavut et l'Assemblée constitutionnelle de la région ouest, est accepté en 1985; pourtant, l'accord ne peut se réaliser parce que les Dénés et les Métis refusent de le ratifier à la dernière minute. En 1987, l'entente d'Iqaluit subit le même sort. Pour finir, John Parker, ancien commissaire territorial, est nommé en 1991 pour définir une frontière. La frontière proposée est aussi contestée, mais elle est tout de même acceptée à faible majorité dans un référendum organisé sur l'ensemble du territoire.

Le concept même du Nunavut cause des problèmes. Les Inuits restent intransigeants sur le fait que le territoire doit être intégré à l'accord sur les revendications, comme partie intégrante des droits des Autochtones. Par ailleurs, les représentants fédéraux soutiennent qu'il est inapproprié d'utiliser les revendications territoriales pour créer un gouvernement public destiné à servir tous les habitants du territoire proposé, y compris la minorité blanche. Ils parviennent tout de même à un compromis en insérant une disposition additionnelle dans la revendication. Cette disposition stipule que le gouvernement s'engage à négocier un accord politique pour la création d'un nouveau territoire, sans que la division soit incluse dans la revendication.

L'accord sur le Nunavut

Un accord de principe est enfin atteint en 1990, accord dont la version finale est produite en décembre 1991. Les membres des équipes de la FTN et du gouvernement fédéral signent le document, « Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut » (ARTN), en septembre 1992. Cet accord fait l'objet d'un référendum en octobre 1992, attirant une participation électorale record. L'accord est accepté à une majorité extraordinaire de 84,7 %. Une fois cet obstacle franchi, les choses vont très vite. La Loi concernant l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut, qui ratifie l'accord, et la Loi sur le Nunavut [laws.justice.gc.ca/fr/N-28.6/index.html], qui crée le nouveau territoire, sont toutes deux votées le 10 juin 1993.

Vers 1999

À la suite de la ratification des deux lois, en 1993, l'attention se concentre sur leur mise en œuvre; on fixe la date limite du 1er avril pour la fin de tous les arrangements. Jack Anawak est nommé commissaire intérimaire du Nunavut. On crée la Commission d'établissement du Nunavut (CÉN) pour entreprendre l'organisation du nouveau gouvernement; il s'agit d'un comité de neuf membres dirigé par le commissaire en chef John Amagoalik. Pour assurer l'intégrité de l'ARTN, on crée le Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (NTI). Jose Kusugak en assure la présidence; il hérite des responsabilités qui avaient été celles de la Fédération Tungavik de Nunavut. Les deux organisations ont beaucoup de travail à faire dans un temps relativement court et doivent relever plusieurs défis : un vaste territoire à couvrir, de nouveaux ministères à créer et des employés à former. En outre, on désire décentraliser le plus possible le nouveau gouvernement et engager un certain nombre d'Inuits représentatifs de la population.

Il faut également organiser des élections pour élire les dix-neuf membres de la nouvelle Assemblée législative; ces élections ont lieu le 15 février 1999. Après l'élection, les nouveaux membres élus choisissent Paul Okalik comme premier ministre. Le 26 mars de cette même année, le gouvernement fédéral nomme Helen Maksagak comme première commissaire du Nunavut.

Célébration!

Comme pour la ratification de la Loi sur le Nunavut, en 1993, la naissance effective du Nunavut, le 1er avril 1999, fait partie des nouvelles internationales. Des fêtes, des discours, des feux d'artifice, des danses et des jeux traditionnels inuits et d'autres activités soulignent l'occasion.

Sources

Cameron, Kirk ; White, Graham. -- Northern governments in transition: political and constitutional development in the Yukon, Nunavut, and the western Northwest Territories. -- Montréal : Institute for Research on Public Policy, 1995. -- 151 p.

Jull, Peter. -- An Aboriginal northern territory: creating Canada's Nunavut. -- [Casuarina (N. T.)] : Australian National University, North Australia Research Unit], 1992. -- 39 p.

Merritt, John, et al. -- Nunavut: political choices and manifest destiny. -- Ottawa : Canadian Arctic Resources Committee, 1989. -- 126 p.

The Nunavut Handbook 1999. -- Sous la direction de Marion Soublière. -- Iqaluit : Nortext Multimedia Inc., 1999. -- [414 p.].

Nunavut '99: changing the map of Canada: the birth of a territory fulfills a dream. -- Sous la direction de Marion Soublière et de Greg Coleman. -- Iqaluit : Nortext Multimedia Inc., 1999. -- 131 p.

Purich, Donald. -- The Inuit and their land: the story of Nunavut. -- Toronto : James Lorimer & Co., 1992. -- 126 p.