Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Provinces and Territories

Prince Edward Island

Entered Confederation: 1873

Pre-Confederation Prince Edward Island

Prince Edward Island before Confederation was home to approximately 87,000 people. Most of the population was of Irish, Scottish, English, and Acadian descent, but there were also small Black and Mi'kmaq communities. Life had a decidedly rural flavour. Charlottetown was the only incorporated city in the province, with just 7,000 inhabitants.

The Island had a strong economy, built on the farming, timber and shipbuilding industries, and with a merchant fleet that shipped goods around the world. Like other parts of British North America, the Island benefited from the Reciprocity Treaty. It also had strong trade links with the New England states. Despite the health of the economy, however, many Islanders lived and worked on plots owned by absentee landlords, whose exorbitant rents or refusal to sell their property gave rise to many problems.

Island politics were characterized by a strong sense of independence in relation to the outside world, and by intense political battles internally. Responsible government came to the Island in 1851. Most men had the right to vote, though no women did. Conflicts in the legislature often arose between the reformers, who were mainly anti-landowners, and the Conservatives, who generally supported the rights of landowners. At the time of the Charlottetown Conference, the Conservative Colonel John Hamilton Gray was premier of Prince Edward Island. George Coles, a former premier and veteran of the fight for responsible government, was leader of the opposition in the Legislative Council.

The Charlottetown Conference, September 1864

Photograph: Charlottetown (view of Grafton St. from Province House), 1860s.

Source

Charlottetown (view of Grafton St. from Province House), 1860s.

In 1864, Prince Edward Island played host to the Charlottetown Conference. The choice of location was somewhat peculiar, as the members of the Island's delegation were nearly all opposed to either Maritime Union, or the larger union proposed by the Canadians. (It has been suggested that the Island government refused to attend any conference unless it was allowed to be the host.) The Island's delegates were Premier John Hamilton Gray, Attorney General Edward Palmer, Member William Henry Pope, Upper House Reform Leader Andrew Archibald Macdonald, and Lower House Opposition Leader George Coles.

Most of the Island delegates initially saw little benefit to joining a united British North America. There were concerns that the province would lose its legislature and control of its own affairs. Edward Palmer, ardently anti-Confederation, went so far as to remind his colleagues that they were only authorized to listen, not to make decisions. However, the Island delegates warmed to the idea of a larger union, particularly after the other colonies suggested a purchase of large land holdings -- financed by the proposed new government -- as a solution to the problem of absentee landlords.

Photograph: Queen St., Charlottetown, 1860s.

Source

Queen St., Charlottetown, 1860s.

Prince Edward Islanders were enthusiastic hosts. The Charlottetown Conference is remembered for its parties, elegant dinners and excursions on the island, all held for the visitors from the mainland. The Canadians returned this hospitality by hosting a luncheon aboard their ship. The final 'grand ball' at Province House was held on Thursday, September 8. It began at ten o'clock in the evening -- dinner was served until one o'clock the following morning, and was followed by several hours of speeches.

After the discussions at Charlottetown ended, the conference delegates toured the region, visiting cities in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick.

The Québec Conference, October 1864

After the favourable discussions at the Charlottetown Conference, representatives from the provinces reconvened at Québec to create a formal union agreement. Thomas Heath Haviland and Edward Whelan joined the Prince Edward Island delegation at this time.

Source

"The Union scheme", The Herald, October 12, 1864.

The Prince Edward Island delegation's interest in Confederation quickly waned at Québec. The delegation suffered from infighting -- hardly surprising, considering the inter-party animosity existing between its members. Coles and Palmer, for instance, had once fought a duel with each other, and Colonel Gray had ousted Palmer from the premiership only the year before. There were also problems with the agreement that was taking shape; the Island delegation protested the composition of the proposed union government. Perhaps most damaging, however, was the withdrawal of the offer to repurchase land from absentee landlords.

As at Charlottetown, there were many social events to entertain the delegates to Québec. Impressions of the dinners and balls can be found in the diary of Mercy Coles, daughter of George Coles, and in the newspaper accounts by Edward Whelan. Still, such events could not iron out the problems faced by the Island delegation or the disharmony among its own numbers.

Reactions in Prince Edward Island

The Confederation debate exploded in Prince Edward Island once the delegates returned from Québec. The Québec Resolutions, established at the conference, were quickly published in a local paper, and received little popular support. Some of the most bitter arguments were within the Conservative government, between pro-Confederationist Colonel Gray, and anti-Confederationist Palmer. Within months both had resigned from the Cabinet over the matter.

Coles, the official opposition leader, quickly withdrew his support for union upon returning from the Québec Conference, joining fellow delegates Palmer and MacDonald in opposition to Confederation. Five out of seven Island newspapers were opposed to union, as were many Islanders. Opponents claimed that union with the other colonies would lead to excessive taxation, spending of tax dollars on things that would not directly benefit the Island, and conscription of Islanders for Canadian conflicts. They also feared the loss of the Island's legislature.

Source

"The 'bribe' knocked into a cocked hat", The Herald, November 14, 1866.

Although Whelan remained a dedicated proponent of Confederation, with support from a couple of Island newspapers and from William Pope, his efforts were in vain. In December 1864, Whelan wrote that the Island was "dead set against Union in all shapes and forms." In May 1866 the provincial legislature passed the "No Terms" resolution, under the leadership of a new Conservative, anti-Confederation premier, James Pope. The resolution rejected the terms of the Québec Conference and of Confederation.

There was one more attempt to sway the Island towards union in the autumn of 1866. It came in the form of a renewed offer to purchase absentee landlord holdings with an $800,000 fund. Samuel Leonard Tilley and Charles Tupper, in London awaiting the start of the London Conference, met with James Pope to make the offer. The offer was viewed as a bribe by many Islanders, and was rejected.

Trade Talks, 1866-1868

After rejecting Confederation in 1866, Prince Edward Island focused its efforts on securing its economic future. That same year the Reciprocity Treaty with the Americans expired, greatly reducing the Island's exports to the United States. To the consternation of the Colonial Office, and the new Canadian government, the Island decided to pursue its own trade agreement with the United States. In 1868, the colony hosted a delegation from the United States Congress. The meetings went well, with the United States delegation presenting a favourable report to Congress. However, the Island legislature, under pressure from the Colonial Office, passed a resolution acknowledging it could not pursue a trade deal without British permission -- something that was not forthcoming.

Better Terms, 1869

Although Prince Edward Island did not implement an independent trade deal with the Americans, the possibility of stronger ties between Prince Edward Island and the United States concerned Canada. In 1869, the new country decided to try again to convince the Island to join Confederation with a deal known as "Better Terms". In addition to an offer to assume the Island's debts, the deal provided a debt allowance, and an annual per capita subsidy of 80 cents. As well, Canada offered a steamer service to the mainland for delivery of passengers and post, and a renewed pledge of $800,000 to purchase remaining absentee landlord holdings. The government of Robert Haythorne rejected this offer in January of 1870.

The Railway and Confederation, 1871-73

Following the rejection of the latest union offer, Prince Edward Island embarked on a period of railway construction. James Pope believed that a railway network would generate employment, and provide an efficient means of transporting goods throughout the Island. As well, he believed it would benefit tourism. With wide public support, construction began in 1871. However, concerns soon arose over the mounting cost of the project. A provincial election in 1872 failed to resolve the economic problems; within the year, the government realized that the province faced imminent financial collapse unless help was found. In November, the Island approached the Canadians about joining Confederation; it found the Canadians receptive and willing to discuss terms.

Source

"The latest terms", The Patriot, May 22, 1873.

In February 1873 Haythorne and David Laird travelled to Ottawa to begin negotiating terms for union. By March, a proposed union deal was put before Island voters in a general election. Although the terms secured by Haythorne were impressive, James Pope campaigned on a promise that he could obtain an even better agreement. He won a majority, and led a new delegation to Ottawa that also included Haviland and G. W. Howlan. They succeeded in gaining even better terms for the Island. When they returned to Charlottetown, a union resolution was put before the legislature and debated; all but two members voted in favour of Confederation.

The terms under which the Island joined Canada included those it had sought in Québec in 1864, and more. Canada was to assume Prince Edward Island's railway debt; the Island would be given an $800,000 grant to purchase land from absentee landlords, and a grant of $50 per head; a guarantee of continuous communication with the mainland was provided for; and, finally, Prince Edward Island was allotted six members of Parliament, one more than the five they had been offered at the Québec Conference.

"Long Courted, Won at Last," 1873

Prince Edward Island joined Confederation on July 1, 1873. Despite their long resistance to union, many Islanders celebrated the day. Buildings throughout Charlottetown were decorated with flags, bunting and streamers; even the ships in the harbour were festooned with ribbons. At noon there was a brief ceremony at the Colonial building, where the union proclamation was read, and the crowd sang the national anthem. Islanders still retained a strong sense of independence, however. When Lord Dufferin visited Charlottetown later that month, he was so impressed by the Islanders' lingering sense of independence, he reported he was "under the impression that it is the Dominion that has been annexed to Prince Edward Island."

That summer, James Pope was sent to Ottawa as a member of Parliament. He became the first Islander in the federal Cabinet, acting as fisheries minister for John A. Macdonald. Haythorne was appointed to the Senate.

Sources

The Atlantic Provinces in Confederation. -- Ed. E. R. Forbes ; D. A. Muise. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1993. -- 628 p.

The Atlantic region to Confederation : a history. -- Ed. Philip Buckner ; John G. Reid. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1994. -- 491 p.

Bolger, Francis. -- Prince Edward Island and Confederation, 1863-1873. -- [Charlottetown] : St. Dunstan's University Press, 1964. -- 308 p.

Callbeck, Lorne C. -- The cradle of Confederation. -- Fredericton, N.B. : Brunswick Press, 1964. -- 256 p.

Creighton, Donald. -- The road to Confederation : the emergence of Canada,1863-1867. -- Toronto : Macmillan, 1964. -- 489 p.

Moore, Christopher. -- 1867 : how the Fathers made a deal. -- Toronto : M & S, 1997. -- 279 p.

Waite, P. B. -- The life and times of Confederation : politics, newspapers, and the union of British North America. -- 2nd edition, with corrections. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1962. -- 379 p.

Weale, David ; Baglole, Harry. -- The Island and Confederation : the end of an era. -- [S.l. : s. n.], 1973. -- 166 p.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Provinces et territoires

L'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Adhésion à la Confédération : 1873

L'Île-du-Prince-Édouard avant la Confédération

Avant la Confédération, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard a une population d'environ 87 000 personnes. Presque tous ses habitants sont de descendance irlandaise, écossaise, anglaise ou acadienne, mais on y trouve également de petites communautés de Noirs et de Mi'kmaqs. La vie y a résolument une saveur rurale. Charlottetown est la seule ville constituée dans la province, avec tout juste 7000 habitants.

L'Île a une économie solide qui repose sur l'agriculture, la production de bois d'œuvre, la construction navale et une flotte marchande transportant des marchandises dans le monde entier. Comme d'autres parties de l'Amérique du Nord britannique, elle bénéficie du traité de réciprocité. Elle entretient aussi des liens commerciaux importants avec les États de la Nouvelle-Angleterre. Pourtant, malgré la bonne santé de l'économie, de nombreux habitants vivent et travaillent sur des parcelles de terrain appartenant à des propriétaires terriens non résidents qui demandent des loyers exorbitants ou refusent de vendre leurs terrains, ce qui soulève de nombreux problèmes.

La politique de l'Île se caractérise par une profonde indépendance à l'égard du monde extérieur et par d'intenses batailles politiques internes. On instaure un gouvernement responsable à l'Île en 1851. La plupart des hommes ont le droit de voter, mais pas les femmes. Des conflits éclatent souvent à l'Assemblée législative entre les réformistes, qui sont principalement anti-propriétaires, et les conservateurs, qui soutiennent généralement les droits des propriétaires. À l'époque de la Conférence de Charlottetown, le colonel John Hamilton Gray, conservateur, est premier ministre de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. George Coles, ancien premier ministre et vétéran de la lutte pour un gouvernement responsable, est le chef de l'opposition au conseil législatif.

La Conférence de Charlottetown, septembre 1864

Photo : Charlottetown (la rue Grafton vue de Province House), les années 1860.

Source

Charlottetown (la rue Grafton vue de Province House), les années 1860.

En 1864, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard accueille la Conférence de Charlottetown. Le choix du lieu s'avère un peu particulier en ce sens que les membres de la délégation de l'Île sont presque tous opposés à la fois à une union maritime et à l'union élargie que proposent les Canadiens. (On a laissé entendre que le gouvernement de l'Île a refusé de participer à toute conférence à moins d'en être l'hôte.) Parmi les délégués de l'Île se trouvent le premier ministre John Hamilton Gray, le procureur général Edward Palmer, le député William Henry Pope, le chef du parti réformiste à la Chambre haute Andrew Archibald Macdonald et le chef de l'opposition à la Chambre basse, George Coles.

Au départ, la plupart des délégués de l'Île voient peu d'avantages à se joindre à une union des colonies de l'Amérique du Nord britannique. Ils craignent que la province perde son assemblée ainsi que le contrôle de ses propres affaires. Edward Palmer, fervent opposant à la Confédération, va jusqu'à rappeler à ses collègues qu'ils sont autorisés uniquement à écouter et non à prendre des décisions. Cependant, les délégués de l'Île commencent à s'intéresser à l'idée d'une union élargie, surtout après que les autres colonies proposent l'achat de grandes parcelles de terrain  --  financé par le nouveau gouvernement proposé  --  en guise de solution au problème des propriétaires terriens non résidents.

Photo : Rue Queen, Charlottetown, les années 1860.

Source

Rue Queen, Charlottetown, dans les années 1860.

Les Prince-Édouardiens sont des hôtes passionnés. La Conférence de Charlottetown laisse un souvenir indélébile de ses fêtes, de ses dîners élégants et de ses excursions sur l'Île, organisés pour les visiteurs venus du continent. Les Canadiens ont répondu à cette hospitalité en conviant les délégués à déjeuner à bord de leur bateau. Le « grand bal » final a lieu à la Province House, le jeudi 8 septembre. Il débute à vingt-deux heures -- le dîner est servi jusqu'à une heure du matin suivant et est suivi de plusieurs heures de discours.

Une fois les discussions de Charlottetown terminées, les délégués de la conférence se promènent dans la région, visitant des villes en Nouvelle-Écosse et au Nouveau-Brunswick.

La Conférence de Québec, octobre 1864

À la suite des discussions encourageantes de la Conférence de Charlottetown, les représentants des provinces se rencontrent de nouveau à Québec pour mettre au point un accord officiel d'union. Cette fois-là, Thomas Heath Haviland et Edward Whelan se joignent à la délégation de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Source

« The Union scheme » (Le projet d'union), The Herald, 12 octobre 1864.

L'intérêt de la délégation de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard s'atténue rapidement à Québec. La délégation est le siège de querelles politiques intestines -- ce qui est peu surprenant, compte tenu de l'animosité entre les partis qui existe parmi ses membres. Coles et Palmer, par exemple, se sont déjà battus en duel et le colonel Gray a évincé Palmer du poste de premier ministre l'année précédente. Des problèmes surgissent également à propos de l'accord en cours d'élaboration; en effet, la délégation de l'Île n'est pas d'accord avec la composition du gouvernement de l'union proposée. Peut-être encore plus dommageable, cependant, est le retrait de l'offre de rachat des terres des propriétaires terriens non résidents.

Comme à Charlottetown, nombre d'activités mondaines divertissent les délégués à Québec. On retrouve, dans le journal intime de Mercy Coles, la fille de George Coles, ainsi que dans les comptes rendus de journal d'Edward Whelan, des impressions sur les dîners et les bals. Même ces événements ne réussissent pas à effacer les problèmes auxquels la délégation de l'Île doit faire face ni le manque d'harmonie entre ses propres membres.

Les réactions à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Le débat sur la Confédération éclate à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard après le retour des délégués de Québec. Les Résolutions de Québec, issues de la conférence, sont immédiatement publiées dans un journal local et reçoivent peu de soutien dans la population. Certaines des discussions les plus amères se déroulent au sein même du gouvernement conservateur, entre le colonel Gray, qui est en faveur de la Confédération, et Palmer, qui est contre. Au bout de quelques mois, les deux avaient démissionné du Cabinet en raison de cette divergence.

Coles, le chef de l'opposition officielle, cesse rapidement d'appuyer l'union dès son retour de la Conférence de Québec et il s'associe à ses collègues Palmer et MacDonald pour s'opposer à la Confédération. Cinq journaux sur sept, à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, sont opposés à l'union, comme le sont un grand nombre de Prince-Édouardiens. Les opposants prétendent qu'une union avec les autres colonies entraînerait des impôts excessifs, ferait dépenser l'argent des contribuables à des fins qui ne profiteraient pas directement aux habitants de l'Île et conduirait à la conscription des Prince-Édouardiens lors des conflits dans lesquels les Canadiens seraient engagés. Ils craignent aussi que l'Île perde son Assemblée législative.

Bien que Whelan demeure un ardent partisan de la Confédération et reçoive le soutien de quelques journaux de l'Île et de William Pope, ses efforts ne donnent aucun résultat. En décembre 1864, il écrit que l'Île est « définitivement opposée à toute forme d'union ». En mai 1866, l'Assemblée législative provinciale approuve la résolution « aucune condition » sous le leadership du nouveau premier ministre conservateur anti-Confédération, James Pope. Cette résolution rejette les conditions de la Conférence de Québec et de la Confédération.

Une autre tentative pour attirer de nouveau l'Île vers l'union se produit à l'automne 1866 sous la forme d'une nouvelle offre de rachat des terres des propriétaires terriens non résidents, pour un montant de 800 000 $. Samuel Leonard Tilley et Charles Tupper, alors qu'ils attendent à Londres l'ouverture de la Conférence, présentent l'offre à James Pope. Les Prince-Édouardiens perçoivent cette offre comme une tentative d'achat de leur adhésion et la rejettent.

Les discussions commerciales, 1866-1868

Après avoir rejeté la Confédération, en 1866, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard concentre ses efforts sur le renforcement de son avenir économique. La même année, le traité de réciprocité avec les Américains arrive à échéance, et les exportations de l'Île vers les États-Unis s'en trouvent considérablement réduites. À la consternation de l'office des colonies et du nouveau gouvernement du Canada, l'Île décide de poursuivre son accord commercial avec les États-Unis. En 1868, la colonie accueille une délégation du Congrès des États-Unis. Les réunions se déroulent bien et la délégation des États-Unis présente un rapport favorable au Congrès. Cependant, l'Assemblée législative de l'Île, sous la pression de l'office des colonies, adopte une résolution stipulant que l'Île ne peut pas négocier d'accords commerciaux sans la permission de l'Angleterre  --  permission qui ne sera jamais accordée.

De meilleures conditions, 1869

Même si l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard n'a pas conclu d'accord commercial indépendant avec les Américains, la possibilité qu'il existe des liens plus serrés entre l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et les États-Unis inquiète le Canada. En 1869, le nouveau pays tente encore une fois de convaincre l'Île de se joindre à la Confédération avec une proposition intitulée « Meilleures conditions ». En plus d'offrir de prendre en charge toutes les dettes de l'Île, la proposition accorde une allocation compensatrice et une subvention annuelle de 80 cents par habitant. De plus, le Canada offre un service à vapeur pour la livraison des passagers et de la poste sur le continent et renouvelle sa promesse d'acheter les terres restantes des propriétaires terriens non résidents pour un montant de 800 000 $. Le gouvernement de Robert Haythorne rejette cette offre en janvier 1870.

Le chemin de fer et la Confédération, 1871-1873

Après avoir rejeté la dernière offre d'union, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard entreprend la construction d'un chemin de fer. James Pope croit qu'un réseau de chemin de fer pourrait créer des emplois et fournir des moyens efficaces de transport des marchandises à travers l'Île. De plus, il estime que le réseau attirerait le tourisme. Grandement appuyée par la population, la construction commence en 1871. Les préoccupations ne tardent toutefois pas à survenir avec l'escalade des coûts du projet. Une élection provinciale, en 1872, ne permet pas de résoudre les problèmes économiques; au cours de l'année, le gouvernement se rend compte que la province fait face à un effondrement financier imminent à moins de trouver de l'aide. En novembre, le gouvernement de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard entreprend des démarches auprès des Canadiens pour se joindre éventuellement à la Confédération; il trouve les Canadiens réceptifs et prêts à discuter.

En février 1873, Haythorne et David Laird se rendent à Ottawa pour commencer à négocier les conditions d'un accord. En mars, une proposition d'accord est soumise aux électeurs de l'Île à l'occasion d'une élection générale. Les conditions que propose Haythorne sont impressionnantes; malgré cela, James Pope fait campagne sur la promesse d'obtenir des conditions encore meilleures. Il obtient la majorité et dirige une nouvelle délégation à Ottawa dont font également partie Haviland et G. W. Howlan. Ils réussissent à obtenir des conditions encore meilleures pour l'Île. À leur retour à Charlottetown, ils soumettent une résolution en faveur de l'union à l'Assemblée; tous les députés sauf deux votent en faveur de la Confédération.

Les conditions en vertu desquelles l'Île se joint au Canada comprennent toutes celles qu'elle avait essayé d'obtenir à Québec, en 1864, et plus encore. Le Canada prendrait en charge la dette du chemin de fer de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard; l'Île recevrait une subvention d'un montant de 800 000 $ pour acheter les terres des propriétaires terriens non résidents, plus une subvention de 50 $ par habitant; elle aurait la garantie d'une communication continue avec le continent; et, pour finir, elle aurait six sièges au Parlement, un siège de plus que ce qu'on lui avait offert lors de la Conférence de Québec.

« Longuement attendue, finalement gagnée », 1873

L'Île-du-Prince-Édouard se joint à la Confédération le 1er juillet 1873. Malgré leur longue résistance, nombre de Prince-Édouardiens célèbrent ce jour. Plusieurs immeubles à Charlottetown sont décorés avec des drapeaux, des banderoles et des serpentins en papier; même les bateaux sont ornés de rubans. À midi, une brève cérémonie se déroule à l'édifice Colonial; on lit la proclamation de l'union et la foule chante l'hymne national. Les Prince-Édouardiens conservent tout de même un sentiment profond d'indépendance. Lorsque Lord Dufferin visite Charlottetown, plus tard au cours du même mois, il est tellement impressionné par ce sentiment persistant d'indépendance qu'il déclare avoir eu « l'impression que c'était le Dominion qui avait été annexé à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard ».

Ce même été, James Pope fait son entrée à Ottawa à titre de membre du Parlement, devenant ainsi le premier Prince-Édouardien à faire partie du Cabinet fédéral en tant que ministre des Pêches pour John A. Macdonald. Haythorne est nommé au Sénat.

Sources

The Atlantic provinces in Confederation. -- Sous la direction de E. R. Forbes et D. A. Muise. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1993. -- 628 p.

The Atlantic region to Confederation : a history. -- Sous la direction de Philip Buckner et John G. Reid. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1994. -- 491 p.

Bolger, Francis. -- Prince Edward Island and Confederation, 1863-1873. -- [Charlottetown] : St. Dunstan's University Press, 1964. -- 308 p.

Callbeck, Lorne C. -- The cradle of Confederation. -- Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick) : Brunswick Press, 1964. -- 256 p.

Creighton, Donald. -- The road to Confederation : the emergence of Canada,1863-1867. -- Toronto : Macmillan, 1964. -- 489 p.

Moore, Christopher. -- 1867 : how the Fathers made a deal. -- Toronto : M & S, 1997. -- 279 p.

Waite, P. B. -- The life and times of Confederation : politics, newspapers, and the union of British North America. -- 2e édition revue et corrigée. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1962. -- 379 p.

Weale, David ; Baglole, Harry. -- The Island and Confederation : the end of an era. -- [S. l. : s. n.], 1973. -- 166 p.