Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Provinces and Territories

Yukon Territory

Entered Confederation: 1898

Earliest Peoples

Historical evidence suggests that the area that is now the Yukon Territory was home to the earliest people of North America. They probably travelled from Asia over a land bridge now covered by Bering Strait. There is some disagreement as to exactly when humans were first in the area, but estimates place the date around 11,000 years ago.

At the time of the arrival of the first European explorers to the Yukon, the region was home to such Native peoples as the Dene, the Inland Tlingit, the Gwitch'in, the Han, the Kaska, the Tagish, and the Tutchone. The people lived a mainly nomadic existence, following the migration patterns and natural cycles of food sources such as the caribou. This lifestyle lent itself to small living and travelling groups, although the people did gather in larger numbers at times like the fishing season. In spite of the harsh conditions of living on the land, these early people survived and prospered.

Explorers

The first Europeans to come to the Canadian North were explorers looking for new territory. Martin Frobisher was the first of these, arriving in the eastern Arctic in 1576 on his quest for the Northwest Passage. Other early visitors to the North included John Davis, Thomas Baffin, and Henry Hudson. After the Hudson's Bay Company (HBC) received its charter in 1670 over the territory known as Rupert's Land, men travelled the area seeking new resources for the fur trade. Among them was Samuel Hearne, who mapped the course of the Coppermine River from 1770 to 1772. The North West Company (NWC), formed in the 1780s in Montréal, sent its own men to survey the area beyond Rupert's Land. Of these, the most famous was probably Alexander Mackenzie, who explored the length of the Mackenzie River in 1789.

Still later were the scientific surveyors who came to learn about the Yukon's plant and animal life, as well as its topography. Robert Kennicott, an American working on behalf of the Smithsonian Institute, and later for the Overland Telegraph Company, travelled extensively in the area during the early 1860s. He enlisted the aid of HBC employees in collecting data and samples. In 1883, an expedition led by Frederick Schwatka, an American soldier, travelled through the western part of the Yukon while conducting a survey of Alaska.

Although Canada had acquired its northwestern holdings in 1870, it was not until American expeditions, such as Schwatka's, passed through the area that the Canadian government sent its own explorers. George M. Dawson, the assistant director of the Geological Survey of Canada, led a team through the region in the summer of 1887. He mapped the area, and made scientific observations; if he was unable to explore a certain region personally, he gained knowledge of it by talking to miners who worked there. Another member of the Geological Survey team, William Ogilvie, entered the area through the Chilkoot Pass, and spent most of his time in the Yukon discussing proposed mining policies. Upon his return to Ottawa, however, Ogilvie advised the government that the time was not yet right to assert authority in the Yukon.

Missionaries

Close on the heels of the fur traders and early explorers of the Northwest were the Anglican and Catholic missionaries intent on converting the Native people of the area to Christianity. They established missions near the trading posts of the fur companies, and made extended journeys through the country, in order to reach as many people as possible. One of the most notable missionaries was W. C. Bompas, who came to the region in 1865 and who eventually became the first bishop of the Yukon diocese. While the missionaries did not immediately publish accounts of their travels and observations outside of the church, they too ultimately contributed to the store of knowledge about the region.

The Fur Trade

The fur trade was for many years the most important part of the northern economy, at least for people to the south. Although Native people had long traded with one another, European interest in furs gave the trade a new pattern. Native "middlemen" would bring furs to the trading posts and exchange them for desired goods, which they would then distribute amongst their own people. Both the HBC and the NWC established trading posts throughout the area; after the HBC took over the NWC in 1821, it controlled the fur trade as far west as the Mackenzie Valley.

It was not until the 1840s that the HBC began moving into what is now the Yukon Territory. Robert Campbell, starting from what is now northern British Columbia, travelled as far as the Pelly River in 1839-40. John Bell, also on behalf of the HBC, reached the Yukon River in 1845. Trading posts were established, beginning with Lapierre House in 1846, Fort Youcon in 1847, and Fort Selkirk in 1848 (this last destroyed in 1852). The Yukon region grew in importance, as resources in Rupert's Land became depleted. At the same time, fashionable interest was turning from beaver pelts (used in the manufacture of hats) to luxury furs such as ermine and fox, which the Yukon had in abundance.

Boundary Disputes

Britain had laid claim to a large portion of northwestern North America, particularly after the purchase of Rupert's Land. However, Russia had also been trading in the Alaska region since the mid-1700s, and their claim overlapped with much of Britain's. Disputes arose in the early 1800s over where the precise border fell between their two claims. After much negotiation, it was agreed in 1825 to set the border at the 141st meridian, running north from the 60th parallel. The permanent western border of the Yukon Territory was thus established. A strip of land known as the "panhandle", extending partway down the coast of British Columbia to 54°40' N, was left to Russia. Both countries were content with the arrangement: Russia could continue to trade with coastal Native groups in the panhandle, and Britain could maintain a monopoly for the HBC on its side of the border. Under the new border agreement, Fort Youcon was located deep in Russian territory; fortunately for Canada, however, the Russian government was willing to ignore this.

The northwestern region created further political difficulties when the Alaska territory was purchased by the United States in 1867. The Americans took a much more aggressive interest in the area and by 1869 they had told the HBC to vacate Fort Youcon. (The company moved its operations upriver to Rampart House, remaining there until 1890 when another border survey indicated that this post was also in American territory.) As well, the United States began wider-reaching trade policies that cut into HBC profits. The HBC eventually all but abandoned its interests in the border territory. Disputes over where exactly the panhandle boundary fell continued until about 1870, and even after they were resolved through international arbitration, many people remained uncertain about who had authority over what part of the area. This uncertainty was highlighted during the Klondike gold rush.

"There's Gold in Them Thar Hills!"

The benign neglect that the Canadian government exhibited towards its holdings in the North ended with the discovery of gold. Prospectors had been working the area for years, striking gold at such places as Fortymile in 1886, but the major discovery was made in the summer of 1896, by George Carmack, Skookum Jim, and Tagish Charley at the Klondike River. When news of the discovery reached the outside world in 1897, it seemed as though half of North America dropped what it was doing to head for northern Canada. Although a few miners took all-Canadian routes, such as the trail through Edmonton, most of those going to the Klondike took passage to the Alaskan town of Skagway, climbed over the Chilkoot or White pass into Canadian territory, and then travelled from Lake Lindeman or Lake Bennett down the Yukon River to Dawson City.

Of the many people who arrived in search of gold, most were Americans, who not only established towns with a reputation for lawlessness in their own territory -- such as at Skagway and Dyea -- but also spread into Canadian territory. Instead of appealing to conventional authority, miners administered justice through informal meetings at which all the members of a community gathered to hear disputes, and decide on punishments. Many miners felt that as they, and not the Canadian government, were the people developing the territory, they should not be bound by Canadian rules and regulations. Customs duties on gold from strikes often went unpaid. All of these factors presented challenges to Canadian control of the area.

"Sgt. Preston to the Rescue!"

Early Canadian actions toward establishment of sovereignty were made with the assistance of the North West Mounted Police (NWMP). As early as 1893, requests were made for the presence of an authority other than the miners' meetings. After official investigation into the matter, 20 men went to the region in 1895 to establish Fort Constantine. This contingent increased to 196 by 1898. At the gold rush's height, there were upwards of 300 NWMP officers in the territory. Their presence was augmented by two hundred soldiers from the Canadian army, called the Yukon Field Force.

The NWMP came to be a prominent symbol of Canadian authority in the Yukon, embodied by such men as Sgt. Sam Steele. In addition to their duties as keepers of the peace, they acted as agents of the government in all aspects of Yukon life. Establishing posts at the tops of the Chilkoot and White passes, on the Canadian border, Steele and his men acted as customs and immigration officers, turning away "undesirables", preventing guns and other illegal items from entering the territory, and ensuring that each potential prospector had enough supplies to last for six months. They also served as claims agents, safety officers, postal workers, and -- on occasion -- medical staff. Despite the large numbers of men who were used to the freedom of the frontier, most miners were content to maintain law and order and acceded to the NWMP's regulations.

Canadian Government

The Canadian government began establishing a more permanent authority in 1895, when it named the Yukon one of four new districts within the Northwest Territories -- along with Mackenzie, Franklin and Ungava. The government also recognized the Yukon's special status within the Territories, sending Inspector Charles Constantine of the NWMP as the government's primary agent in the district. Nevertheless, the region was still officially governed from Regina, the territorial capital.

Rapid population growth soon made the government realize that further action was required. As well, the people living in the Yukon were clamouring for more governmental representation -- at least at the local level. As a result, Canada passed the Yukon Act in 1898, designating the Yukon as a separate territory, with the capital at Dawson City. To administer the area, James M. Walsh was appointed Territorial Commissioner. (Walsh soon resigned, and was replaced by William Ogilvie.) The Commissioner governed with the aid of an appointed council of four members, all of them Canadian government officials. Because of the instability of the area and the strong American presence, the Canadian government did not immediately appoint local members; initially, the council's proceedings were even closed to members of the public.

After the Gold Rush

Unfortunately, the rosy future predicted for the Yukon in the wake of its becoming a partner in Confederation failed to materialize. As gold resources became depleted, the territory's population decreased, many of the miners moving on to other strikes, in places such as at Nome, Alaska. After 1904, the administrative presence in the territory was greatly reduced, and there was talk of replacing the elected council with appointed members. This action was avoided, although the number of members was reduced to three in 1919. The once roaring Dawson City saw its saloons and dance halls close one by one. The city eventually lost its status as territorial capital to Whitehorse in 1953. The Yukon's population only approached gold-rush-era levels with the construction of the Alaska Highway during the Second World War, an event that brought thousands of American servicemen into the area.

Sources

Black, Martha L. -- Martha Black. -- Edited and updated by Flo Whyard. -- Rev. ed. -- Anchorage, Alaska : Alaska Northwest Publishing Co., 1986. -- 166 p.

Berton, Pierre. -- Klondike : the last great gold rush, 1896-1899. -- Rev. ed. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1972. -- 472 p.

Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Ed. James H. Marsh. -- 3rd print ed. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- 2573 p.

Coates, Ken S. ; Morrison, W. R. -- Land of the midnight sun : a history of the Yukon. -- Edmonton : Hurtig Publishers, 1988. -- 336 p.

Morrison, William R. -- True North : the Yukon and Northwest Territories. -- Toronto : Oxford University Press, 1998. -- 202 p.

Zaslow, Morris. -- "The Yukon : northern development in a Canadian-American context". -- Regionalism in the Canadian community, 1867-1967. -- Ed. Mason Wade. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1969. -- 300 p.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Provinces et territoires

Le Yukon

Adhésion à la Confédération : 1898

Les premiers habitants

Des marques historiques indiquent que la région appelée maintenant le Yukon a abrité les premiers habitants de l'Amérique du Nord. Ils sont probablement venus d'Asie à pied par une langue de terre maintenant recouverte par les eaux du détroit de Béring. Les opinions divergent concernant l'époque précise de l'arrivée des premiers hommes dans la région, mais les estimations la situent à il y a environ 11 000 ans.

Lorsque les premiers explorateurs européens arrivent au Yukon, la région est habitée par des peuples autochtones comme les Dénés, les Inland Tlingits, les Gwitch'ins, les Hans, les Kaskas, les Tagishs et les Tutchones. Ce sont plutôt des nomades, suivant les migrations et le cycle naturel des sources de nourriture comme le caribou. Ce mode de vie favorise la vie en petits groupes qui se réunissent en plus grand nombre pour la saison de la pêche. Malgré des conditions de vie difficiles, ces premiers habitants réussissent à survivre et à prospérer.

Les explorateurs

Les premiers Européens à venir dans le Nord canadien sont des explorateurs cherchant de nouveaux territoires. Martin Frobisher a été le premier de tous, arrivant par l'est de l'Arctique, en 1576, à la recherche du passage du Nord-Ouest. Parmi ces visiteurs du Nord, on compte aussi John Davis, Thomas Baffin et Henry Hudson. La Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson (CBH) obtient sa charte en 1670, sur le territoire connu sous le nom de Terre de Rupert; les hommes sillonnent alors la région à la recherche de nouvelles ressources pour le commerce des fourrures. Mentionnons, entre autres, Samuel Hearne qui a cartographié le parcours de la rivière Coppermine de 1770 à 1772. La Compagnie du Nord-Ouest (CNO), fondée dans les années 1780 à Montréal, y envoie ses propres employés pour étudier la région au-delà de la Terre de Rupert. Le plus célèbre d'entre eux est probablement Alexander Mackenzie, qui explore le parcours du fleuve MacKenzie en 1789, sur toute sa longueur.

Plus tard arrivent les experts venus étudier la vie végétale et animale du Yukon ainsi que sa topographie. Robert Kennicott, un Américain travaillant pour le Smithsonian Institute et ensuite pour la Overland Telegraph Company, voyage beaucoup dans la région au début des années 1860. Il engage des employés de la CBH pour l'aider à collecter des données et des échantillons. En 1883, une expédition menée par Frederick Schwatka, un soldat américain, explore toute la partie ouest du Yukon tout en procédant à des relevés en Alaska.

En 1870, le Canada fait l'acquisition de terres dans le Nord-Ouest. Cependant, ce n'est qu'après les expéditions américaines comme celle de Schwatka que le gouvernement canadien envoie ses propres explorateurs. George M. Dawson, le directeur adjoint de la Commission géologique du Canada, est un de ceux-là. Il conduit une équipe à travers toute la région au cours de l'été 1887. Il en trace la carte et procède à des observations scientifiques. Lorsqu'il ne peut explorer personnellement certaines régions, il les découvre en parlant avec les mineurs qui y ont travaillé. Un autre membre de la Commission géologique, William Ogilvie, arrive dans la région en traversant le col Chilkoot. Il passe la plus grande partie du temps de son expédition au Yukon à discuter de politiques d'exploitation des ressources minérales. Cependant, à son retour à Ottawa, Ogilvie informe le gouvernement : il est encore trop tôt pour affirmer son autorité sur le Yukon.

Les missionnaires

Dans la foulée des commerçants de fourrures et des premiers explorateurs du Nord-Ouest arrivent des missionnaires anglicans et catholiques. Ils sont bien décidés à convertir au christianisme les Autochtones de la région. Ils installent leurs missions près des comptoirs commerciaux des compagnies de fourrures. Ils sillonnent le pays, afin d'atteindre le plus de personnes possible. Un des missionnaires les mieux connus se nomme W. C. Bompas. Il arrive dans la région en 1865 et, plus tard, il devient le premier évêque du diocèse du Yukon. Les missionnaires n'ont pas immédiatement rendu compte de leurs voyages et de leurs observations, sauf à leur Église. Toutefois, eux aussi ont contribué à l'ensemble des connaissances sur la région.

Le commerce des fourrures

Pendant de nombreuses années, le commerce des fourrures est l'élément le plus important de l'économie du Nord, du moins aux yeux des gens du Sud. Toutefois, les Autochtones commerçaient entre eux depuis longtemps. L'intérêt des Européens pour les fourrures donne cependant un nouveau visage à ce commerce. Les « intermédiaires » autochtones apportent les fourrures aux comptoirs commerciaux et les échangent contre des biens qu'ils redistribuent ensuite aux leurs. La CBH et la CNO ont toutes deux établi des comptoirs commerciaux dans toute la région. Après avoir pris le contrôle de la CNO en 1821, la CBH exploite le commerce des fourrures à l'ouest, jusqu'à la vallée du Mackenzie.

Ce n'est qu'au cours des années 1840 que la CBH entre dans ce qu'on appelle maintenant le territoire du Yukon. Robert Campbell commence par ce qui est aujourd'hui le nord de la Colombie-Britannique. Il explore aussi loin que la rivière Pelly en 1839-1840. John Bell, également au nom de la CBH, atteint la rivière Yukon en 1845. Des comptoirs commerciaux sont établis, en commençant par la Maison Lapierre en 1846, Fort Youcon en 1847 et Fort Selkirk en 1848 (ce dernier est détruit en 1852). À mesure que les ressources de la Terre de Rupert s'épuisent, la région du Yukon prend de l'importance. Pendant ce temps, la mode change. Elle passe des peaux de castor pour fabriquer des chapeaux aux fourrures de luxe comme l'hermine et le renard. Le Yukon en regorge.

Les conflits de frontières

L'Angleterre avait alors revendiqué une large part du Nord-Ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, particulièrement après l'acquisition de la Terre de Rupert. La Russie faisait également du commerce dans la région de l'Alaska depuis le milieu des années 1700, et ses revendications chevauchaient une grande partie de celles de l'Angleterre. Des conflits éclatent au début des années 1800; l'objet de ces litiges est le tracé précis de la frontière séparant les territoires que revendiquent les deux pays. En 1825, après de nombreuses négociations, un accord est enfin conclu. La frontière sera fixée au 141e méridien, en remontant vers le nord jusqu'au 60e parallèle. La frontière occidentale permanente du Yukon est alors établie. La Russie garde une bande de terre appelée « l'enclave », et qui s'étend partiellement le long de la côte de Colombie-Britannique, jusqu'à 54°40' N. Les deux pays sont satisfaits de cet arrangement. La Russie peut continuer à faire du commerce avec les Autochtones de la côte sur le territoire de l'enclave. L'Angleterre, elle, peut maintenir son monopole pour la CBH de son côté de la frontière. Dans le cadre du nouvel accord frontalier, Fort Youcon se retrouve très loin à l'intérieur du territoire russe. Heureusement pour le Canada, le gouvernement russe est disposé à ignorer cette particularité.

La région du Nord-Ouest est la cause d'autres difficultés politiques lorsque les États-Unis font l'acquisition de l'Alaska en 1867. Les Américains montrent un intérêt considérable pour cette région. Avant la fin de l'année 1869, ils demandent à la CBH d'évacuer Fort Youcon. (La compagnie déplace alors ses activités plus haut le long de la rivière, à Rampart House. Elle y reste jusqu'en 1890, jusqu'à ce qu'un autre relevé des frontières indique que ce poste se trouve lui aussi en territoire américain). Les États-Unis appliquent alors une politique commerciale beaucoup plus intensive, qui réduit les bénéfices de la CBH. Cette dernière doit finalement abandonner ses intérêts dans la région frontalière. Les conflits sur le tracé exact de la frontière continuent jusqu'en 1870. Même après l'arbitrage international, plusieurs continuent à se demander à qui appartient le territoire et quelle est sa répartition exacte. Cette incertitude est particulièrement mise en évidence lors de la ruée vers l'or du Klondike.

« Il y a de l'or dans ces collines! »

Lorsque la nouvelle de la découverte d'or se répand, le gouvernement canadien met fin au laisser-aller qu'il affichait à l'égard de ses possessions dans le Nord. Des prospecteurs sont dans cette région depuis des années. Ils ont trouvé de l'or dans des endroits comme Fortymile en 1886. Cependant, la découverte majeure est faite au cours de l'été 1896 par George Carmack, Skookum Jim et Tagish Charley dans la rivière du Klondike. Lorsque la nouvelle de la découverte se répand dans le monde en 1897, il semble que la moitié de l'Amérique du Nord laisse tout en plan pour se rendre dans le nord du Canada. Quelques mineurs empruntent les routes canadiennes comme la piste traversant Edmonton. Toutefois, la plupart de ceux qui se rendent au Klondike passent par la ville de Skagway en Alaska, franchissant le col de Chilkoot ou le col de White, en territoire canadien, pour ensuite aller du lac Lindeman ou du lac Bennett jusqu'à la rivière Yukon et la ville de Dawson.

Un grand nombre de chercheurs d'or sont Américains. Ils ont non seulement établi des villes réputées sans loi sur leur propre territoire -- comme Skagway et Dyea -- mais se sont également installés en territoire canadien. Au lieu de faire appel aux autorités, les mineurs appliquent leur propre justice. Ils organisent des réunions non officielles auxquelles sont invités tous les membres d'une collectivité pour entendre les disputes, juger et décider des peines. Beaucoup de mineurs pensent que ce sont eux qui développent le territoire, et non le gouvernement canadien. Ils n'ont donc pas à se plier aux lois et règlements du Canada. En conséquence, les frais de douane sur l'or découvert restent souvent impayés. Tous ces facteurs représentent autant de défis qui se posent au Canada pour le contrôle de cette région.

« Le sergent Preston à la rescousse! »

Les premières mesures prises par le Canada pour asseoir sa souveraineté sont menées avec le concours de la Police montée du Nord-Ouest (PMNO). Dès 1893, des demandes sont faites pour remplacer les réunions de mineurs par une autorité légale. En 1895, à la suite d'une enquête officielle sur la situation, 20 hommes se rendent dans la région pour créer Fort Constantine. Ce contingent comporte 196 hommes en 1898. À l'apogée de la ruée vers l'or, il y a plus de 300 agents de la PMNO sur le territoire. Leur présence est renforcée par 200 soldats de l'Armée canadienne, appelés la Troupe de campagne du Yukon.

La PMNO devient un symbole remarquable de l'autorité du Canada au Yukon, personnifiée par des hommes comme le sergent Sam Steele. En plus de leurs tâches de gardiens de la paix, ils exercent aussi des fonctions d'agents du gouvernement pour tous les aspects de la vie au Yukon. Ils établissent des postes au sommet des cols Chilkoot et White, à la frontière canadienne. Steele et ses hommes agissent à titre d'agents des douanes et de l'immigration et refoulent les « indésirables ». Ils empêchent aussi l'entrée sur le territoire d'armes à feu et d'autres articles illicites. Ils s'assurent, en outre, que les prospecteurs potentiels ont assez de provisions pour survivre pendant six mois. Enfin, ils agissent également à titre d'agents de revendication, d'agents de sécurité, de facteurs et -- à l'occasion -- de personnel médical. Malgré le grand nombre d'hommes habitués à la liberté dans les régions frontalières, la plupart des mineurs acceptent de maintenir la loi et l'ordre et d'obéir aux règlements de la PMNO.

Le gouvernement canadien

Le gouvernement canadien commence vraiment à établir une autorité plus permanente en 1895, lorsqu'il fait du Yukon un des quatre nouveaux districts des Territoires du Nord-Ouest -- les autres étant Mackenzie, Franklin et Ungava. Le gouvernement reconnaît également le statut spécial du Yukon au sein des territoires. Il envoie alors l'inspecteur Charles Constantine de la PMNO, comme premier agent du gouvernement dans le district. La région est tout de même officiellement gouvernée par Regina, la capitale territoriale.

Source

« Acte ayant pour objet de pourvoir à l'administration du district du Yukon » (titre abrégé : Acte du Territoire du Yukon), Statuts du Canada 1898 (v. I-II), c. 6, p. 55-61.

Une croissance rapide de la population fait bientôt constater au gouvernement canadien que d'autres mesures s'imposent. Les habitants du Yukon réclament, eux aussi, plus de représentants du gouvernement -- au moins au niveau local. Le Canada vote donc la Loi sur le Yukon en 1898, désignant le Yukon territoire indépendant avec Dawson pour capitale. Pour administrer la région, James M. Walsh est nommé commissaire territorial. (Walsh démissionne peu de temps après et est remplacé par William Ogilvie.) Le commissaire gouverne avec l'aide d'un conseil composé de quatre membres, tous représentants du gouvernement canadien. Considérant l'instabilité de la région et une forte présence des Américains, le gouvernement canadien ne nomme pas immédiatement de membres locaux. Au tout début, les débats du conseil se tiennent même à huis clos.

À la suite de pressions des résidents locaux, le gouvernement accepte de rendre ces débats publics. Cette concession est rapidement suivie par l'ajout de deux nouveaux membres au conseil, élus en 1901. En 1905, le nombre de membres du conseil augmente à dix -- cinq élus et cinq nommés. Plus tard, en 1908, tous les membres sont élus, et une modification à la Loi sur le Yukon en 1902 donne au territoire un représentant à la Chambre des communes. La première personne élue à ce poste est James H. Ross. Pour sa part, la ville de Dawson même a élu une administration municipale en 1901.

Après la ruée vers l'or

Malheureusement, l'avenir florissant que l'on prédit au Yukon, à la suite de son adhésion à la Confédération, ne se matérialise jamais. Comme les ressources en or diminuent, la population du territoire diminue également. Beaucoup de mineurs déménagent alors vers d'autres lieux de découverte, comme Nome en Alaska. Après 1904, la présence administrative sur le territoire est très réduite. Il est même question de remplacer le conseil élu par un conseil nommé. Cela ne s'est jamais fait, même si le nombre de membres a été réduit à trois en 1919. La ville de Dawson, si vivante, voit ses saloons et ses salles de danse fermer les uns après les autres. La ville perd son statut de capitale territoriale en faveur de Whitehorse en 1953. La population du Yukon n'approche de nouveau le niveau de prospérité de la ruée vers l'or qu'avec la construction de l'autoroute de l'Alaska au cours de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Cet événement attire des milliers de militaires américains dans la région.

Sources

Black, Martha L. -- Martha Black. -- Direction et mise à jour : Flo Whyard. -- Édition révisée. -- Anchorage (Alaska) : Alaska Northwest Publishing Co., 1986. -- 166 p.

Berton, Pierre. -- Klondike : the last great gold rush, 1896-1899. -- Édition révisée. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1972. -- 472 p.

Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Sous la direction de James H. Marsh. -- 3e édition sur papier. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- 2573 p.

Coates, Ken S. ; Morrison, W. R. -- Land of the midnight sun: a history of the Yukon. -- Edmonton : Hurtig Publishers, 1988. -- 336 p.

Morrison, William R. -- True North : the Yukon and Northwest Territories. -- Toronto : Oxford University Press, 1998. -- 202 p.

Zaslow, Morris. -- « The Yukon : northern development in a Canadian-American context ». -- Regionalism in the Canadian community, 1867-1967. -- Sous la direction de Mason Wade. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1969. -- 300 p.