Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

John Amagoalik

Photograph: John Amagoalik

Source

John Amagoalik.

(November 26, 1947 - )

John Amagoalik has been active in Inuit politics for many years, and was instrumental in the campaign for the creation of Nunavut. He was also involved in the quest for compensation for Inuit families that were relocated.

John Amagoalik was born at a seasonal camp near Inukjuaq in northern Quebec. At the age of five, his family and 17 others were relocated to the high Arctic communities of Resolute and Grise Fiord. He was educated at residential schools in Churchill and Iqaluit.

Amagoalik began his political career as the Baffin Regional Information Officer with the Northwest Territories (N.W.T.) territorial government, a position he held from 1971 to 1974. It was at around this time that he became the first of many to call for the creation of an Inuit homeland, to be called "Nunavut". To help achieve this goal, he acted as head of the N.W.T. Nunavut Land Claims Commission (NLCC) from 1977 to 1979. When that organization dissolved, Amagoalik became part of the Inuit Tapirisat of Canada (ITC), acting as its vice-president from 1979 to 1981, and serving two terms as president (1981-1985; 1988-1991). At the same time, from 1982 to 1985, he was co-chair of the Inuit Committee on National Issues; in 1986-87, he was chair of the Nunavut Constitutional Forum (NCF). From 1991 to 1993, he was a political advisor to the Tungavik Federation of Nunavut (TFN). After the ratification of the Nunavut Act (laws.justice.gc.ca/en/N-28.6/index.html) in 1993, Amagoalik was appointed chief commissioner of the Nunavut Implementation Commission (NIC), the organization overseeing the arrangements leading up to Nunavut's creation on April 1, 1999.

Amagoalik has received accolades for his work with Aboriginal rights and the Nunavut claim, including the ITC's 20th Anniversary Award, a National Aboriginal Achievement Award, and an honorary degree from St. Mary's University in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Sources

Aboriginal people profiles, politicians : John Amagoalik [online]. -- Indian and Northern Affairs Canada. -- [Cited November 29, 2000]. -- Access: www.ainc-inac.gc.ca/ks/3101_e.html

Chartrand, Luc. -- "Interview : cet Inuit a changé la carte". -- L'actualité. -- Vol. 18, no. 3 (1er mars 1993). -- P. 16-18.

National Aboriginal Achievement Awards, 1998 recipients : John Amagoalik [online]. -- National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation. -- [Cited December 1, 2000]. -- Access: www.naaf.ca/rec98.html#Amagoalik

Okalik, Looee. -- "Role models : John Amagoalik". -- Inuktitut. -- No. 84 (1999). -- P. 15.

Windspeaker profiles of outstanding Aboriginal people : John Amagoalik [online]. -- AMMSA (Aboriginal Multi-Media Society), 1998. -- [Cited November 29, 2000]. -- Access: www.ammsa.com/achieve/AA98-J.Amagoalik.html

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

John Amagoalik

Photo : John Amagoalik

Source

John Amagoalik.

(26 novembre 1947 - )

John Amagoalik est une figure dominante de la politique inuite depuis bien des années. Il a joué un rôle essentiel dans la création du Nunavut et a participé à la campagne visant à compenser les familles inuites qui ont été déplacées.

John Amagoalik est né dans un camp saisonnier situé près d'Inukjuak, dans le nord du Québec. Alors qu'il avait cinq ans, sa famille et 17 autres ont été réinstallées dans les collectivités de Resolute et de Grise Fiord, dans le Haut-Arctique. Il a fait ses études dans les pensionnats de Churchill et d'Iqaluit.

John Amagoalik a commencé sa carrière politique en tant qu'agent d'information régional de Baffin pour le gouvernement territorial des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (T.N.-O.); il a occupé ce poste de 1971 à 1974. À cette époque, il a été le premier d'une longue liste de personnes à exiger la création d'un territoire pour les Inuits, qui s'appellerait le « Nunavut ». Pour atteindre ce but, il a présidé la Commission des revendications territoriales du Nunavut, dans les T.N.-O., de 1977 à 1979. Après la dissolution de l'organisme, il est devenu membre de l'Inuit Tapirisat du Canada (ITC), dont il a été le vice-président de 1979 à 1981 et le président pendant deux mandats, soit de 1981 à 1985 et de 1988 à 1991. Au même moment, de 1982 à 1985, il a été coprésident du Comité inuit sur les affaires nationales et, en 1986 et 1987, président de l'Assemblée constitutionnelle du Nunavut. De 1991 à 1993, il a été conseiller politique à la Fédération Tungavik de Nunavut. Après la ratification de la Loi sur le Nunavut, (http://lois.justice.gc.ca/fr/N-28.6/index.html) en 1993, John Amagoalik a été nommé commissaire en chef de la Commission d'établissement du Nunavut, l'organisme qui a veillé à l'application des accords qui allaient mener à la création du Nunavut, le 1er avril 1999.

John Amagoalik a été honoré pour sa contribution dans le dossier des droits des Autochtones et des revendications territoriales du Nunavut. Il a notamment reçu le Prix du 20e anniversaire de l'ITC, un des prix nationaux d'excellence décernés aux Autochtones, et un doctorat honoris causa de la St. Mary's University, à Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse).

Sources

Personnalités [autochtones], politiciens : John Amagoalik [en ligne]. -- Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien. -- [Consulté le 24-10-2001]. -- Internet : www.ainc-inac.gc.ca/ks/3101_f.html

Chartrand, Luc. -- « Interview : cet Inuit a changé la carte ». -- L'actualité. -- Vol. 18, no. 3 (1er mars 1993). -- P. 16-18

National Aboriginal Achievement Awards, 1998 recipients : John Amagoalik [en ligne]. -- National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation. -- [Consulté le 1-12-2000]. -- Internet : www.naaf.ca/rec98.html#Amagoalik

Okalik, Looee. -- « Role models : John Amagoalik ». -- Inuktitut. -- No. 84 (1999). -- P. 15

Windspeaker profiles of outstanding Aboriginal people : John Amagoalik [en ligne]. -- AMMSA (Aboriginal Multi-Media Society), 1998. -- [Consulté le 29-11-2000]. -- Internet : www.ammsa.com/achieve/AA98-J.Amagoalik.html