Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Frederick Gordon Bradley

Photograph: Frederick Gordon Bradley

Source

Frederick Gordon Bradley.

(March 21, 1886 - March 30, 1966)

A member of the team that negotiated the terms of union between Newfoundland and Canada, F. Gordon Bradley became the province's first federal cabinet minister.

Frederick Gordon Bradley was born in St. John's, Newfoundland, the son of Norman Bradley and Evangeline Trimm. He was educated at Methodist College in St. John's. After finishing his education in 1906, he spent three years as the principal of the Methodist School at Bonavista. He then returned to St. John's, where he read law for three years with Justice James M. Kent before enrolling at Dalhousie University to continue his legal studies. He was called to the bar in 1915. Three years later he formed a law partnership with A. B. Morine that lasted until 1922, after which time he established his own practice.

Bradley was first elected to the House of Assembly in June 1924, as a Conservative member for Port de Grave. He served in the cabinet as a minister without portfolio until 1926; he then resigned his post over claims of broken government promises, choosing to sit as an Independent. In the election of 1928, he ran and won as a Liberal candidate in Trinity Centre. He was again appointed as minister without portfolio, but a year later accepted the post of solicitor-general. After the election of 1932, he was one of only two Liberals left in the Assembly. As the leader of the opposition, he argued against the creation of the Commission of Government. Once responsible government was suspended in 1933, Bradley returned to private law practice, and was later appointed chief magistrate. He resigned the position in 1939 to devote time to private business interests.

He was elected as a delegate to the National Convention in 1946. After the death of Cyril Fox, the Convention's first chairman, Bradley was named as his successor. He was the leader of both the London delegation, and the first Ottawa delegation that created proposed terms for union with Canada. After the referenda of 1948, Bradley was also a member of the final negotiating team that went to Ottawa. When Newfoundland joined Confederation in 1949, Bradley was appointed as the province's representative in the federal cabinet, in the position of secretary of state of Canada. He also participated in the celebrations in Ottawa marking Newfoundland's entry into Confederation. In the federal election of that summer, Bradley was elected as a Liberal member for Bonavista-Twillingate, a seat he would hold until his appointment to the Senate in 1953. Bradley died in Bonavista.

Sources

"Bradley, Frederick Gordon, LLB, MHA". -- Who's who in and from Newfoundland 1927. -- Ed. R. Hibbs. -- St. John's, Nfld. : R. Hibbs, 1927. -- P. 157-158

"Bradley, Hon. F. Gordon". -- Canadian who's who. -- Toronto : Trans-Canada Press, 1966. -- Vol. 10, p. 115

Harrington, Michael F. -- "Bradley, Frederick Gordon". -- Dictionary of Newfoundland and Labrador biography. -- St. John's, Nfld. : Harry Cuff Publications Ltd., 1990. -- P. 29-30

Murray, Ettie L. Gordon. -- "Bradley, F. Gordon". -- Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador. -- Ed. Joseph R. Smallwood. -- St. John's, Nfld. : Newfoundland Book Publishers Ltd., 1967. -- Vol. 1, p. 239

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Frederick Gordon Bradley

Photo : Frederick Gordon Bradley

Source

Frederick Gordon Bradley.

(21 mars 1886 - 30 mars 1966)

Membre de l'équipe qui négocie les conditions de l'union de Terre-Neuve au Canada, Frederick Gordon Bradley est le premier représentant de cette province à occuper un poste de ministre au Cabinet fédéral.

Frederick Gordon Bradley naît à St. John's (Terre-Neuve). Il est le fils de Norman Bradley et d'Evangeline Trimm. Il étudie au Methodist College, à St. John's. Ses études terminées, en 1906, il sera directeur de l'école méthodiste, à Bonavista, pendant trois ans. Il revient ensuite à St. John's, où il fait son droit pendant trois ans auprès du juge James M. Kent avant de s'inscrire en droit à la Dalhousie University. Il est admis au barreau en 1915. Trois ans plus tard, il s'associe à un autre avocat, A. B. Morine, avec qui il travaille jusqu'en 1922. Il ouvre ensuite son propre cabinet.

F. Gordon Bradley est d'abord élu à la Chambre d'assemblée, en juin 1924, en tant que député conservateur de Port de Grave. Jusqu'en 1926, il est ministre sans portefeuille au Cabinet. Il démissionne alors de son poste, déclarant que le gouvernement n'a pas tenu ses promesses. Il préfère siéger comme député indépendant. Aux élections de 1928, il se présente comme candidat libéral et est élu dans la circonscription de Trinity-Centre. Il est de nouveau nommé ministre sans portefeuille. Un an plus tard, il accepte le poste de solliciteur général. Après les élections de 1932, il n'y a plus que deux députés libéraux à l'Assemblée, dont lui-même. À titre de chef de l'opposition, il argumente contre la création de la Commission de gouvernement. Après la suspension du gouvernement responsable, en 1933, F. Gordon Bradley retourne à la pratique privée du droit et est plus tard nommé premier magistrat. Il quitte ce poste en 1939 pour se consacrer à ses affaires.

Il est élu délégué à la convention nationale en 1946. À la suite du décès de Cyril Fox, le premier président de la convention, F. Gordon Bradley est désigné pour lui succéder. Il est à la tête de la délégation de Londres et de la première délégation d'Ottawa qui propose les conditions de l'union de Terre-Neuve au Canada. Après les référendums de 1948, F. Gordon Bradley fait également partie de la dernière équipe de négociation à se rendre à Ottawa. Au moment de la Confédération, en 1949, il est nommé représentant de Terre-Neuve au Cabinet fédéral, où il occupe le poste de secrétaire d'État du Canada. Il prend aussi part aux célébrations qui se déroulent à Ottawa pour marquer l'entrée de Terre-Neuve dans la Confédération. Aux élections fédérales qui ont lieu à l'été 1949, il est élu député libéral dans la circonscription de Bonavista-Twillingate; il occupera ce siège jusqu'à sa nomination au Sénat en 1953. Il décède à Bonavista.

Sources

« Bradley, Frederick Gordon, LLB, MHA ». -- Who's who in and from Newfoundland 1927. -- Sous la direction de R. Hibbs. -- St. John's (Terre-Neuve) : R. Hibbs, 1927. -- P. 157-158

« Bradley, Hon. F. Gordon » -- Canadian who's who. -- Toronto : Trans-Canada Press, 1966. -- Vol. 10, p. 115

Harrington, Michael F. -- « Bradley, Frederick Gordonnbsp ». -- Dictionary of Newfoundland and Labrador biography. -- St. John's (Terre-Neuve) : Harry Cuff Publications Ltd., 1990. -- P. 29-30

Murray, Ettie L. Gordon. -- « Bradley, F. Gordonnbsp ». -- Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador. -- Sous la direction de Joseph R. Smallwood. -- St. John's (Terre-Neuve) : Newfoundland Book Publishers Ltd., 1967. -- Vol. 1, p. 239