Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

George Brown

Photograph: George Brown

Source

George Brown.

(November 29, 1818 - May 9, 1880)

George Brown, an emigrant from Scotland, arrived in Toronto in 1843 and founded the Globe newspaper the following year. Shortly after his arrival in the colony, he stepped into politics by supporting the reformers, who were campaigning for rep by pop. In 1848, he helped the reformers achieve victory. He was elected to the Legislative Assembly in 1851.

George Brown was a reformer and reorganized the Clear Grit Party in 1857. This party supported representation by population, the separation of church and state and the annexation of the North-Western Territory. It was during these years that Brown developed the idea of a legislative union; with the political instability of the 1860s, he began to promote the concept more and more. In 1864, he proposed the Great Coalition to John A. Macdonald and George-Étienne Cartier, and went on to play a major role at the Charlottetown and Québec Conferences. He resigned from the coalition in 1865.

In 1880, a disappointed and frustrated former employee of the Globe shot George Brown in a scuffle at the paper's Toronto offices. The injury to his leg seemed minor enough at first, but an infection developed and subsequently took George Brown's life.

Sources

Careless, J. M. S. -- "Brown, George." -- The 1999 Canadian encyclopedia : world edition. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1998.

Careless, J. M. S.. -- "Brown, George. " -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- vol. X. -- Québec : Presses de l'Université Laval, 1972. -- P. 97-112.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

George Brown

Photo : George Brown

Droit d'auteur/Source

George Brown.

(29 novembre 1818 - 9 mai 1880)

Émigrant écossais, George Brown arrive à Toronto en 1843 et dès 1844, il fonde le Globe. À peine arrivé dans la colonie, il s'implique en politique en appuyant les réformistes qui militent pour la « rep. by pop. ». En 1848, il participe à la victoire des réformistes. En 1851, il est élu à l'Assemblée législative.

Réformiste, George Brown réorganise le parti appelé Clear Grit en 1857. Ce parti défend alors les causes de la « rep. by pop. », la séparation de l'Église et de l'État ainsi que l'annexion des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. C'est au cours de ces années qu'il creuse son idée d'une union législative. L'instabilité ministérielle des années 1860 l'incite à promouvoir davantage ce concept. En 1864, il propose la Grande Coalition à John A. Macdonald et George-Étienne Cartier, et il joue un rôle de premier plan à la Conférence de Charlottetown et à la Conférence de Québec. Il démissionne de la coalition en 1865.

En 1880, un ancien employé du Globe, déçu et frustré, fait feu sur George Brown lors d'une bagarre dans les bureaux torontois du journal. La blessure à la jambe, qui semblait mineure à première vue, s'infecte. George Brown en meurt.

Sources

Careless, J. M. S. -- « Brown, George ». -- The 1999 Canadian encyclopedia : world edition. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1998.

Careless, J. M. S.. -- « Brown, George ». -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- vol. X. -- Québec : Presses de l'Université Laval, 1972. -- P. 97-112.