Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Sir Frederic Bowker Terrington Carter

Photograph: Hon. Frederic Bowker Terrington Carter, Prime Minister of Newfoundland

Source

Hon. Frederic Bowker Terrington Carter, Prime Minister of Newfoundland.

(February 12, 1819 - March 1, 1900)

F. B. T. Carter was one of two delegates from Newfoundland who attended the Québec Conference, but was unsuccessful in his attempts to bring the colony into Confederation. He later became chief justice of the Newfoundland Supreme Court.

Frederic Bowker Terrington Carter was born in St. John's, Newfoundland, the son of Peter Carter and Sydney Livingstone. He attended a private school in St. John's. Later, he studied law in Newfoundland, and possibly in England, in 1840 and 1841, before being called to the bar in 1842. Elected as solicitor to the Legislative Assembly in 1848, he held the position until 1852. However, much of his time in the 1840s and 1850s was spent in establishing his law practice. He was married to Eliza Bayly in 1846.

Although initially opposed to the idea of responsible government, Carter ran in the first responsible government election in 1855, as a Conservative member for Trinity Bay. One of his early actions was the sponsorship of a bill that attempted to block public officials from also holding seats in the legislature. The bill eventually passed in 1862. He was on a delegation to the other British North American colonies and to England in 1857, protesting the draft terms of an agreement created between Britain and France regarding the French Shore. When Premier Hugh Hoyles lost his seat after the 1859 election, Carter acted as temporary Conservative leader in the assembly. There followed a time of great political turmoil, culminating in the collapse of the Liberal government in 1861. The Conservatives were returned to power in the ensuing election, and Carter became Speaker.

To this point, union with the other British North American colonies had not been a major issue in Newfoundland politics. It was not until John A. Macdonald issued an invitation to the Québec Conference that the legislature gave any real consideration to the idea. Carter was selected as one of two delegates, with Ambrose Shea. Although not previously a strong supporter of Confederation, Carter was much impressed with the Québec Resolutions created at the conference. During the post-conference tour of the Canadas he spoke in favour of the idea. He believed that union with the other colonies would stabilize Newfoundland's economy and its political climate. He and Shea predicted broad public support for the agreement, but upon their return to Newfoundland were met by an anti-union campaign, led by Charles Fox Bennett. After much legislative discussion, it was decided in 1865 to put off voting on the matter until after a general election.

Carter succeeded Hugh Hoyles in the office of premier later that year. He strengthened the pro-Confederation position in the assembly by creating a Liberal/Catholic-Conservative/Protestant coalition, a major change after years of sectarian differences. Carter received much praise for this new approach. The coalition won the 1865 election, despite widespread opposition to Confederation; it was helped by the disorganized state of the opposition. Initially, other problems occupied the administration; once the British North America Act [http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/const/index.html] took effect in 1867, it became clear that the Newfoundland government would have to make a decision regarding Confederation.

By 1869, Carter had steered draft terms for union through the Newfoundland legislature. He then led a delegation to Ottawa to negotiate a final agreement. However, his refusal to call an immediate election upon his return, in order to capitalize upon Liberal disarray, allowed that party time to regroup its forces under Bennett. Economic conditions in the colony also improved during the delay, convincing many citizens that Confederation was not necessary for their survival. The Carter government suffered a resounding defeat, winning only nine seats out of 30. Carter himself retained his seat by only five votes.

In opposition, Carter and the Conservatives distanced themselves from Confederation as being a futile cause. Carter also had difficulties with his own supporters, particularly those who advocated the use of sectarian tactics in order to disrupt the Liberals. Although conflicts caused the emergence of a new "party" within the Conservative ranks in 1873, Carter negotiated an alliance allowing him to remain as the overall party leader. The Liberals won that year's provincial election but the party was in such disarray that its majority evaporated before the legislature began sitting, giving power to the Conservatives. As a result, Carter began his second term as premier in 1874, with a majority of one vote.

During this term, his administration's major accomplishments were the subdivision of the Protestant school grant, and the consideration of a Newfoundland railway. Though Carter felt a railway was a costly proposition, the government financed a survey of the proposed route in 1875. Carter was instrumental in negotiating a compromise over difficulties encountered with the location of a terminus for the line. He was also protective of Newfoundland's interests regarding the American presence in the fishery, negotiating a generous agreement that allowed Newfoundland greater control over exports.

After the 1878 election, Carter stepped down as premier in favour of William Whiteway. He received a knighthood that year, and was appointed to the Newfoundland Supreme Court. Carter became chief justice in 1880. As chief justice, he served as an advisor to succeeding governors, occasionally acting as political administrator of the colony in the governor's absence. This function probably stirred Carter's ambition to become governor himself. While he was supported by Whiteway, the Colonial Office declined his nomination because of his previous political activity. When they instead nominated Ambrose Shea, Carter organized protests that caused Shea's name to be withdrawn. Carter continued to serve as chief justice until his retirement in 1898, dying in St. John's two years later.

Sources

Budden, Geoff. -- "Carter, Sir Frederick Bowker Terrington". -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Ed. James H. Marsh. -- 3rd print ed. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- P. 406

"Carter, Sir Frederic Bowker Terrington". -- Macmillan dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Ed. W. Stewart Wallace. -- 4th ed. -- Toronto : Macmillan of Canada, 1978. -- P. 134-135

Hiller, James K. -- "Carter, Sir Frederic Bowker Terrington". -- Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Ed. Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1990. -- Vol. 12, p. 161-165

Riggs, Bertram G. -- "Carter, Sir Frederick Bowker Terrington". -- Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador. -- Ed. Joseph R. Smallwood. -- St. John's, Nfld. : Newfoundland Book Publishers Ltd., 1967. -- P. 363-365

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Sir Frederic Bowker Terrington Carter

Photo : L'honorable Frederic Bowker Terrington Carter, premier ministre de Terre-Neuve

Source

L'honorable Frederic Bowker Terrington Carter, premier ministre de Terre-Neuve.

(12 février 1819 - 1er mars 1900)

F. B. T. Carter est l'un des deux délégués de Terre-Neuve à la Conférence de Québec. Il échoue toutefois dans sa tentative de faire entrer la colonie dans la Confédération. Il devient plus tard juge en chef de la Cour suprême de Terre-Neuve.

Frederic Bowker Terrington Carter naît à St. John's (Terre-Neuve). Il est le fils de Peter Carter et de Sydney Livingstone. Il fréquente une école privée à St. John's. Plus tard, il fait des études de droit à Terre-Neuve, et peut-être en Angleterre, en 1840 et 1841, avant d'être admis au barreau en 1842. En 1848, il est élu en tant qu'avocat à l'Assemblée législative, poste qu'il occupe jusqu'en 1852. Toutefois, dans les années 1840 et 1850, il passe le plus clair de son temps à mettre sur pied son cabinet d'avocat. En 1846, il épouse Eliza Bayly.

Opposé à l'origine au principe du gouvernement responsable, il se présente néanmoins aux premières élections de ce gouvernement, en 1855, sous la bannière du Parti conservateur, dans la circonscription de Trinity Bay. L'une de ses premières actions consiste à présenter un projet de loi visant à empêcher les fonctionnaires d'occuper également un siège à l'assemblée. La loi est finalement adoptée en 1862. Il fait partie de la délégation qui se rend dans les autres colonies britanniques d'Amérique du Nord et en Angleterre, en 1857, afin de contester les modalités préliminaires d'un accord conclu entre la Grande-Bretagne et la France au sujet du rivage français. Lorsque le premier ministre Hugh Hoyles perd son siège aux élections de 1859, F. B. T. Carter assure l'intérim comme chef des conservateurs à l'Assemblée. Il s'ensuit une période de grande agitation politique qui aboutit à la chute du gouvernement libéral, en 1861. Les conservateurs reprennent le pouvoir aux élections suivantes, et F. B. T. Carter devient président.

Jusqu'à ce moment, le projet d'union avec les autres colonies britanniques d'Amérique du Nord n'a pas dominé la scène politique terre-neuvienne. Ce n'est qu'après l'invitation à la Conférence de Québec, lancée par John A. Macdonald, que l'Assemblée législative commence à s'intéresser réellement au projet. F. B. T. Carter et Ambrose Shea y sont dépêchés comme délégués. N'ayant pas été un chaud partisan de la confédération avant ce moment, F. B. T. Carter est très impressionné par les Résolutions de Québec. Pendant la tournée du Canada-Est et du Canada-Ouest qui suit la Conférence, il milite en faveur de la confédération. Il croit qu'une union avec les autres colonies stabiliserait l'économie et le climat politique à Terre-Neuve. Ambrose Shea et lui pensent que l'accord recevra un large soutien de la part de la population. Mais à leur retour à Terre-Neuve, ils se heurtent à un mouvement anticonfédération mené par Charles Fox Bennett. Après de nombreuses discussions à l'Assemblée législative, on décide, en 1865, de ne voter sur la question qu'après les élections générales.

Plus tard dans l'année, F. B. T. Carter succède à Hugh Hoyles comme premier ministre. Il renforce la position en faveur de la confédération à l'Assemblée en créant une coalition libéraux/catholiques-conservateurs/protestants, ce qui représente un changement fondamental après des années de querelles religieuses.

F. B. T. Carter reçoit beaucoup d'éloges relativement à cette nouvelle approche. La coalition remporte les élections de 1865 en dépit de la grande opposition à la confédération (elle a été bien servie par le désordre qui régnait dans l'opposition). À l'origine, d'autres problèmes préoccupent l'administration, mais après l'entrée en vigueur de l'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique [http://lois.justice.gc.ca/fr/const/index.html], en 1867, il est clair que le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve doit prendre une décision au sujet de la confédération.

En 1869, F. B. T. Carter fait entériner les conditions préliminaires de l'union à la législature de Terre-Neuve. Il dirige par la suite la délégation qui se rend à Ottawa pour négocier l'accord définitif. Toutefois, son refus de déclencher des élections dès son retour d'Ottawa et de profiter ainsi de la confusion qui règne chez les libéraux permet au Parti libéral de regrouper ses troupes derrière Charles Fox Bennett. Les conditions économiques se sont aussi améliorées pendant ce temps, ce qui convainc nombre de citoyens que la Confédération n'est pas essentielle à leur survie. Le gouvernement Carter essuie un cuisant revers aux élections suivantes, où il ne remporte que 9 circonscriptions sur 30. F. B. T. Carter lui-même ne conserve la sienne que par une majorité de cinq voix.

Dans l'opposition, F. B. T. Carter et les conservateurs prennent leurs distances par rapport à la confédération, jugeant qu'elle est sans intérêt. De plus, F. B. T. Carter a des problèmes avec ses propres partisans, particulièrement avec ceux qui prônent le recours à des tactiques de nature religieuse pour déstabiliser les libéraux. Bien que les conflits donnent lieu à l'émergence d'un nouveau « parti » dans le camp conservateur, en 1873, F. B. T. Carter négocie une alliance qui lui permet de rester chef du Parti dans son ensemble. Les libéraux gagnent les élections provinciales de 1873, mais ils se trouvent dans une situation si lamentable que leur majorité s'envole avant même que la législature ait eu le temps de siéger, tant et si bien que les conservateurs reprennent le pouvoir. F. B. T. Carter commence donc, en 1874, son second mandat comme premier ministre avec une majorité de une voix.

Durant ce mandat, les principales réalisations de son administration seront la subdivision des subventions accordées aux écoles protestantes et l'étude d'un projet de chemin de fer pour Terre-Neuve. Bien que le premier ministre Carter estime qu'un tel projet est coûteux, le gouvernement finance l'arpentage du tracé projeté en 1875. F. B. T. Carter joue un rôle déterminant dans la négociation du compromis quant à l'emplacement du terminus de la ligne de chemin de fer. Il défend également les intérêts de Terre-Neuve lors des négociations concernant la présence américaine dans l'industrie des pêches terre-neuvienne. Il conclut un accord profitable pour Terre-Neuve, qui lui donne un plus grand droit de regard sur les exportations.

Après les élections de 1878, F. B. T. Carter quitte son poste de premier ministre et William Whiteway prend sa relève. Il est fait chevalier la même année, et est nommé à la Cour suprême de Terre-Neuve. Il devient juge en chef en 1880. Dans ce rôle, il conseille les gouverneurs subséquents et agit parfois à titre d'administrateur politique de la colonie en l'absence du gouverneur. C'est probablement ce qui le pousse à briguer lui-même ce poste. Bien que William Whiteway lui accorde son appui, le ministère des Colonies rejette sa candidature à cause de ses activités politiques antérieures. On lui préfère plutôt Ambrose Shea; ce dernier se verra toutefois retirer son poste à la suite des protestations de F. B. T. Carter. Celui-ci sera juge en chef jusqu'à sa retraite, en 1898. Il mourra à St. John's deux ans plus tard.

Sources

Budden, Geoff. -- « Carter, Sir Frederick Bowker Terrington ». -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Sous la direction de James H. Marsh. -- 3e édition sur papier. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- P. 406

« Carter, Sir Frederic Bowker Terrington ». -- Macmillan dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Sous la direction de W. Stewart Wallace. -- 4e édition. -- Toronto : Macmillan of Canada, 1978. -- P. 134-135

Hiller, James K. -- « Carter, Sir Frederic Bowker Terrington ». -- Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Sous la direction de Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1990. -- Vol. 12, p. 161-165

Riggs, Bertram G. -- « Carter, Sir Frederick Bowker Terrington ». -- Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador. -- Sous la direction de Joseph R. Smallwood. -- St. John's (Terre-Neuve) : Newfoundland Book Publishers Ltd., 1967. -- P. 363-365