Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Photograph: Sir George-Étienne Cartier, after 1882 / Montréal, Quebec

Source

Sir George-Étienne Cartier, after 1882 / Montréal, Quebec.

(September 6, 1814 - May 20, 1873)

George-Étienne Cartier was one of the most influential politicians of his generation. Together with John A. Macdonald, he was co-premier of the Province of Canada. He took part in the Charlottetown, Québec and London conferences, and was among the most ardent supporters of Confederation. As one of the primary architects of Canadian Confederation, George-Étienne Cartier fully deserves to be called a Father of Confederation.

Admitted to the Bar of Lower Canada in 1835, the first part of George-Étienne Cartier's public life was linked to the cause of the Patriotes. In 1834, he worked to elect Louis-Joseph Papineau and Robert Nelson. He was also a member of the Fils de la Liberté (Sons of Liberty) and, during the 1837 Rebellion, fought in the battle of Saint-Denis (November 22). After a brief exile in the United States, he returned to Lower Canada, where he practiced law from 1839 to 1848. The Sulpicians and the Grand Trunk Railway were among his clients. In fact, it was George-Étienne Cartier who, in 1852, presented a bill to the Union parliament to create the Grand Trunk Railway Company of Canada.

George-Étienne Cartier entered politics in 1848, when he was elected to the Legislative Assembly of the Union of Canada as the representative for the riding of Verchères. In 1854 he joined the Cabinet, becoming provincial secretary for Canada East. When Étienne-Paschal Taché left political life, George-Étienne Cartier replaced him to form the government with John A. Macdonald, first from 1857 to 1858, and then from 1858 to 1862. After Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine left and Étienne-Paschal Taché retired from politics, George-Étienne Cartier became the most influential politician in Canada.

Following in the intellectual footsteps of Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine, George-Étienne Cartier was in agreement with the Act of Union but began in 1858 to actively promote a federation of the provinces in North America. To this end, he travelled to London with Alexander Tilloch Galt and John Ross to try to convince Queen Victoria of the merits of a British North American union.

Political instability in the Province of Canada reached its peak at this time, with no less than six governments in six years. George-Étienne Cartier joined the Great Coalition of 1864 to mitigate this situation and to set in motion the process leading to Confederation.

On July 1, 1867, George-Étienne Cartier entered John A. Macdonald's first government as minister of militia and defence. As the law of the time allowed, he also ran in the provincial election and was elected into the government of Pierre-Joseph-Olivier Chauveau. Defeated in the 1872 federal elections in Montréal East, he was parachuted into the Provencher constituency in Manitoba. He would never see his riding.

George-Étienne Cartier oversaw the negotiations between the Canadian and British governments and the Hudson's Bay Company in the purchase of Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory. He also negotiated the creation of the province of Manitoba with Bishop Taché. He later played an active role in the negotiations leading to the entry of British Columbia into Confederation. It was also Cartier who, in 1872, introduced the bill on the construction of the Canadian Pacific Railway in the House of Commons.

After his defeat in Montréal East in 1872, George-Étienne Cartier travelled to London hoping to find a cure for the chronic kidney condition which had plagued him for many years. His health did not improve and he died in London at the age of 58.

When John A. Macdonald, his political ally for close to 20 years, announced news of Cartier's death to the House of Commons, he was reduced to tears. George-Étienne Cartier's funeral in Montréal drew a crowd the likes of which the city had never seen before.

Sources

Bonenfant, J.-C. -- "Cartier, Sir George-Étienne". -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- Vol. X. -- [Québec] : Presses de l'Université Laval, 1983. -- P. 155-166

Sweeny, Alastair. -- "Cartier, Sir George-Étienne". -- The 1999 Canadian encyclopedia: world edition. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1998.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Photo : Sir George-Étienne Cartier, après 1882 / Montréal (Québec)

Source

Sir George-Étienne Cartier, après 1882 / Montréal (Québec).

(6 septembre 1814 - 20 mai 1873)

George-Étienne Cartier est l'un des politiciens les plus influents de sa génération. Il est copremier ministre du Canada-Uni avec John A. Macdonald. Il participe aux conférences de Charlottetown, de Québec et de Londres. Il est de ceux qui encouragent et défendent le plus ardemment le projet de confédération. En tant qu'un des principaux responsables de la création de la Confédération canadienne, George-Étienne Cartier mérite pleinement le titre de Père de la Confédération.

Admis au Barreau du Bas-Canada en 1835, la première partie de la vie publique de George-Étienne Cartier est associée à la cause des Patriotes. En 1834, il travaille à l'élection de Louis-Joseph Papineau et de Robert Nelson. Il est également membre des Fils de la Liberté et, lors de la rébellion de 1837, il participe à la bataille de Saint-Denis (22 novembre). Après un bref exil aux États-Unis, il revient au Bas-Canada et pratique le droit de 1839 à 1848. Il compte parmi ses clients les Sulpiciens et la Grand Trunk. C'est en effet George-Étienne Cartier qui, en 1852, présente au Parlement du Canada-Uni le projet de loi visant à créer la Grand Trunk Railway Company of Canada.

George-Étienne Cartier fait son entrée en politique en 1848, alors qu'il est élu à l'Assemblée législative du Canada-Uni comme représentant de la circonscription de Verchères. C'est en 1854 qu'il entre au Cabinet en devenant secrétaire provincial pour le Canada-Est. Lorsque Étienne-Paschal Taché abandonne la vie politique, George-Étienne Cartier le remplace pour former le gouvernement avec John A. Macdonald, de 1857 à 1858, puis de 1858 à 1862. À la suite du départ de Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine et du retrait d'Étienne-Paschal Taché de la vie politique, George-Étienne Cartier devient le politicien le plus influent du Canada-Est.

Suivant la tradition intellectuelle de Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine, George-Étienne Cartier est d'accord avec l'Acte d'Union, mais à partir de 1858, il milite activement en faveur d'un projet de fédération des provinces de l'Amérique du Nord. À cette fin, il se rend à Londres avec Alexander Tilloch Galt et John Ross afin de tenter de convaincre la reine Victoria du bien-fondé de ce plan.

L'instabilité ministérielle du Canada-Uni atteint son paroxysme durant cette période, alors qu'il y a six gouvernements en six ans. C'est pour pallier cette situation et mettre en branle de véritables démarches menant à la Confédération que George-Étienne Cartier se joint à la Grande Coalition de 1864.

Le 1er juillet 1867, George-Étienne Cartier entre dans le premier gouvernement de John A. Macdonald à titre de ministre de la Milice et de la Défense. Comme le permet la loi à cette époque, il se présente également aux élections provinciales et se fait élire dans le gouvernement de Pierre-Joseph-Olivier Chauveau. Défait aux élections fédérales de 1872 dans Montréal-Est, on le parachute dans la circonscription de Provencher, au Manitoba. Il ne verra jamais sa circonscription.

George-Étienne Cartier est responsable des négociations entre le gouvernement canadien, le gouvernement britannique et la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson en ce qui concerne l'achat de la Terre de Rupert et du Territoire du Nord-Ouest. C'est aussi lui qui négocie avec monseigneur Taché la création de la province du Manitoba. Puis il est fort actif dans les négociations menant à l'entrée de la Colombie-Britannique dans la Confédération. On lui doit enfin la présentation, en 1872, du projet de loi sur la construction du chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique.

Après sa défaite dans Montréal-Est en 1872, George-Étienne Cartier s'embarque pour Londres afin d'aller y faire soigner une néphrite chronique dont il souffre depuis quelques années. Son état de santé ne s'améliore pas et il meurt à Londres à 58 ans.

Lorsqu'il annonce la nouvelle de la mort de Cartier à la Chambre des communes, John A. Macdonald, son allié politique depuis près de 20 ans, ne peut s'empêcher de fondre en larmes. Les funérailles de George-Étienne Cartier attirent à Montréal une foule comme la ville n'en avait jamais connu auparavant.

Sources

Bonenfant, J.-C. -- « Cartier, Sir George-Étienne ». -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- Vol. X. -- [Québec] : Presses de l'Université Laval, 1983. -- P. 155-166

Sweeny, Alastair. -- « Cartier, Sir George-Étienne ». -- The 1999 Canadian encyclopedia : world edition. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1998