Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Peter John Cashin

Photograph: Major Peter John Cashin

Source

Major Peter John Cashin.

(March 8, 1890 - May 21, 1977)

Peter J. Cashin was a hero of the First World War. A supporter of responsible government for Newfoundland, he led the anti-Confederation forces during the National Convention and the 1948 votes on the colony's future.

Peter John Cashin was born in Cape Broyle, Newfoundland, the son of Sir Michael and Lady Gertrude (Maloney) Cashin. After attending St. Bonaventure College in St. John's, he joined his family's fishery supply firm in 1908. In 1911, he moved to western Canada, returning in 1915 to enlist with the Newfoundland Regiment. After being promoted through the ranks to 2nd Lieutenant, Cashin was wounded in France in June of 1916. Returning to England, he was seconded to the British Machine Gun Corps. He took part in many campaigns with them, attaining the rank of Major by 1918. He remained in France until the signing of the armistice, then returned to Newfoundland to rejoin the family business.

Cashin was first elected to the House of Assembly as a Liberal-Labour-Progressive for Ferryland in 1923, but a few years later "crossed the floor" in a dispute over government tariff policies. He ran and won as a Liberal in 1928, accepting a cabinet post as minister of finance and customs. He resigned the post in 1932, alleging widespread corruption within the cabinet. His action was responsible for precipitating that year's general election. After losing his seat, Cashin left political life for a number of years, moving to Montréal in 1933. Upon his return in 1942, he began criticizing the Commission of Government, and agitating for a return to responsible government.

Cashin was elected as a delegate for St. John's West to the National Convention in 1946, and established himself as the leading advocate of responsible government and critic of union with Canada. With Joseph Smallwood, Cashin was recognized as one of the dominant personalities of the Convention. He led the campaign for responsible government during the referenda of 1948, as chairman of the Responsible Government League. In the first post-union election in 1949, Cashin ran as an independent member, winning a seat at Ferryland. However, after the Conservative leader lost his seat that same year, Cashin was recruited to lead the party in the 1951 election, in which the party won five seats.

Cashin remained as party leader until 1953, when he resigned to run as an independent in St. John's East. After his defeat, he resigned from politics. Smallwood appointed Cashin director of civil defence in 1954, a post he held until 1965. After his retirement, he began writing his memoirs, but died before they were completed.

Sources

"Cashin, Maj. Peter J." -- Canadian who's who. -- Toronto : Trans-Canada Press, 1963. -- Vol. 9, p. 178

"Cashin, Maj. Peter J., MHA". -- Who's who in and from Newfoundland 1927. -- Ed. R. Hibbs. -- St. John's, Nfld. : R. Hibbs, 1927. -- P. 146-147

Harrington, Michael F. -- "Cashin, Peter John". -- Dictionary of Newfoundland and Labrador biography. -- Ed. Michael F. Harrington. -- St. John's, Nfld. : Harry Cuff Publications Ltd., 1990. -- P. 55-56

Janes, Diane P. -- "Cashin, Maj. Peter J." -- Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador. -- Ed. Joseph R. Smallwood. -- St. John's, Nfld. : Newfoundland Book Publishers Ltd., 1967. -- Vol. 1, p. 380-381

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Peter John Cashin

Photo : Le major Peter John Cashin

Source

Le major Peter John Cashin.

(8 mars 1890 - 12 mai 1977)

Peter John Cashin a été un héros de la Première Guerre mondiale. Partisan du principe du gouvernement responsable pour Terre-Neuve, il dirige les forces s'opposant à la Confédération au cours de la convention nationale et des suffrages de 1948 sur l'avenir de la colonie.

Peter John Cashin naît à Cape Broyle (Terre-Neuve). Il est le fils de sir Michael et de lady Gertrude (Maloney) Cashin. Après avoir fait ses études au St. Bonaventure College à St. John's, il se joint à l'entreprise familiale de matériel de pêche en 1908. En 1911, il déménage dans l'Ouest canadien et revient à Terre-Neuve en 1915 pour s'enrôler dans le Newfoundland Regiment. Il est blessé en France, en juin 1916, après avoir été promu au grade de sous-lieutenant. À son retour en Angleterre, il est détaché au British Machine Gun Corps. Il participe à de nombreuses campagnes au sein de cette formation et obtient le grade de major en 1918. Il demeure en France jusqu'à l'armistice, puis revient à Terre-Neuve dans l'entreprise familiale.

P. J. Cashin est d'abord élu à la Chambre d'assemblée comme député libéral travailliste progressiste de Ferryland, en 1923, mais quelques années plus tard, il change de camp à la suite d'une dispute à propos des politiques tarifaires du gouvernement. Il se présente et remporte la victoire sous la bannière libérale en 1928, et il accepte un poste au Cabinet comme ministre des Finances et des Douanes. Il démissionne en 1932, alléguant que la corruption règne en maître au sein du Cabinet. Sa démission entraîne la tenue d'élections générales la même année. Après avoir perdu son siège, P. J. Cashin quitte la vie politique pendant un certain nombre d'années. Il déménage à Montréal en 1933. Lorsqu'il revient à Terre-Neuve en 1942, il se fait critique de la Commission de gouvernement et réclame le retour au gouvernement responsable.

P. J. Cashin est élu comme délégué représentant St. John's-Ouest à la convention nationale, en 1946, et se présente en tant que principal défenseur du gouvernement responsable et critique de l'union avec le Canada. Avec Joseph Smallwood, il est reconnu comme l'une des figures dominantes de la convention. Il dirige la campagne pour rétablir le gouvernement responsable pendant les référendums de 1948, à titre de président de la Responsible Government League. Aux premières élections suivant la Confédération, en 1949, P. J. Cashin se présente comme indépendant et remporte le siège de Ferryland. Toutefois, après que le chef du Parti conservateur aura perdu son siège, la même année, on lui demandera de devenir chef du Parti aux élections de 1951, où les conservateurs décrochent cinq sièges.

P. J. Cashin demeure chef du Parti jusqu'en 1953. Il démissionne alors pour se présenter comme candidat indépendant dans St. John's-Est. Après sa défaite, il quitte la politique. Joseph Smallwood le nomme directeur de la protection civile en 1954, poste qu'il occupe jusqu'en 1965. À la retraite, il commence à rédiger ses mémoires, mais rend l'âme avant de les avoir terminés.

Sources

« Cashin, Maj. Peter J. » -- Canadian who's who. -- Toronto : Trans-Canada Press, 1963. -- Vol. 9, p. 178

« Cashin, Maj. Peter J., MHA ». -- Who's who in and from Newfoundland 1927. -- Sous la direction de R. Hibbs. -- St. John's (Terre-Neuve) : R. Hibbs, 1927. -- P. 146-147

Harrington, Michael F. -- « Cashin, Peter John ». -- Dictionary of Newfoundland and Labrador biography. -- Sous la direction de Michael F. Harrington. -- St. John's (Terre-Neuve) : Harry Cuff Publications Ltd., 1990. -- P. 55-56

Janes, Diane P. -- « Cashin, Maj. Peter J. » -- Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador. -- Sous la direction de Joseph R. Smallwood. -- St. John's (Terre-Neuve) : Newfoundland Book Publishers Ltd., 1967. -- Vol. 1, p. 380-381