Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Joseph-Édouard Cauchon

Photograph: Joseph-Édouard Cauchon

Source

Joseph-Édouard Cauchon.

(December 31, 1816 - February 23, 1885)

A journalist and politician, Joseph-Édouard Cauchon founded Le Journal de Québec in 1842. He was owner and editor from 1842 to 1875. In 1844, he was elected to the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada as the member for Montmorency; he would represent the riding for his entire political career. He was commissioner of Crown lands for United Canada in the MacNab-Taché government, then in the Taché-John A. Macdonald government from 1855 to 1857. He was minister of public works in 1861-62 and was mayor of Québec from 1865 to 1867.

Although initially opposed to the confederation project proposed by Alexander Tilloch Galt in 1858, Joseph-Édouard Cauchon was won over to the pro-union side in 1864. When Confederation was adopted in 1867, Cauchon was the member for Montmorency, (Quebec) and would remain so until 1874. He was Speaker of the Senate from 1867 to 1869. Ousted from the provincial government after a brief return to Quebec in 1872, he resigned his seat in the Legislative Assembly when dual representation was abolished. Around 1873 Cauchon publicly changed his political allegiance from George-Étienne Cartier and John A. Macdonald's Liberal-Conservative Party to the Liberal Party. He sat in the House of Commons in Ottawa as an independent member for Quebec-Centre from 1872 to 1877. While he was in Ottawa, he was president of the Privy Council, then minister of inland revenue. Following his eviction from Cabinet and the federal government, Cauchon was named lieutenant-governor of Manitoba by Prime Minister Alexander Mackenzie in October 1877. Cauchon remained lieutenant-governor until 1882.

Throughout his eventful political career, he continued to manage several business interests, including land and real estate speculation and railway financing.

Source

Andrée Désilets. -- "Cauchon, Joseph-Édouard." -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- Vol. XI. -- Québec : PUL, 1982. -- P. 175-182.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Joseph-Édouard Cauchon

Photo : Joseph-Édouard Cauchon

Source

Joseph-Édouard Cauchon.

(31 décembre 1816 - 23 février 1885)

Journaliste et homme politique, en 1842, J.-É. Cauchon lance Le Journal de Québec. Il en est le propriétaire et le rédacteur de 1842 à 1875. En 1844, il est élu à l'Assemblée législative de la Province du Canada; il représentera la circonscription de Montmorency pendant toute sa carrière politique. Il est commissaire des terres de la Couronne pour le Canada-Uni dans le gouvernement MacNab-Taché, puis dans le ministère Taché-John A. Macdonald de 1855 à 1857 et ministre des Travaux publics en 1861-1862. Il est également maire de Québec de 1865 à 1867.

Après s'être initialement opposé au projet de confédération proposé par Alexander Tilloch Galt en 1858, Joseph-Édouard Cauchon se rallie au projet de Québec en 1864. Lorsque la Confédération est adoptée, en 1867, J.-É. Cauchon est député de Montmorency (Québec); il le restera jusqu'en 1874. Il est président du Sénat de 1867 à 1869. Évincé du gouvernement provincial après un bref retour à Québec en 1872, il démissionne de son siège à l'Assemblée législative à la suite de l'abolition du double mandat. Vers 1873, J.-É. Cauchon change publiquement d'allégeance politique; il passe du Parti libéral-conservateur de George-Étienne Cartier et de John A. Macdonald au Parti libéral. Il siège à la Chambre des communes, à Ottawa, comme député indépendant de Québec-Centre, de 1872 à 1877. Pendant les années où il est en poste à Ottawa, il est président du Conseil privé, puis ministre du Revenu de l'intérieur. Évincé du Cabinet et du gouvernement fédéral cette fois, J.-É. Cauchon est nommé lieutenant-gouverneur du Manitoba par le premier ministre Alexander Mackenzie en octobre 1877. Il occupe ce poste jusqu'en 1882.

Parallèlement à sa vie politique très mouvementée, il s'occupe de plusieurs entreprises. Tout au long de sa carrière, il s'occupera de spéculation foncière et immobilière ainsi que de financement de projets liés aux chemins de fer.

Source

Andrée Désilets. -- « Cauchon, Joseph-Édouard ». -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- Vol. XI. -- Québec : PUL, 1982. -- P. 175-182