Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

George Coles

Photograph: George Coles

Source

George Coles.

(September 20, 1810 - August 21, 1875)

George Coles served as the premier of Prince Edward Island three times between 1851 and 1868. Although initially in favour of union, he changed his views when he felt that the Québec Resolutions were insufficient for the Island's needs.

George Coles was born on Prince Edward Island, the son of James Coles and Sarah Tally. He received little formal schooling, travelling to England at age 19, where he learned about the brewing industry. While there, he married Mercy Haine on August 14, 1833. That same year Coles and his wife returned to Prince Edward Island, where he worked as a merchant, brewer, steam mill operator, farm operator, landlord and politician. Coles was always a colourful figure. He is said to have duelled with Edward Palmer, and to have challenged James C. Pope to a duel as well. He was convicted of assault in the 1850s. As a member of the provincial government in 1846, he spent 31 days in the custody of the sergeant-at-arms for refusing to retract a statement made in the assembly.

In 1842, Coles ran for and was elected to the Prince Edward Island House of Assembly. At first Coles voted as a Conservative, but he frequently found himself in conflict with the party leadership. He broke ties with the Tories in 1847 to join the reformers. Coles was a prominent figure in the push for responsible government in the 1840s. He became the first Island premier under the new system of government in 1851. He held the post, with one brief break, until 1859, when his government lost power and he became the leader of the opposition. Like many Island politicians of the era, Coles grappled with the absentee landlord question that plagued Island politics for nearly a century. He was not an ally of the landowners, nor did he support radical groups like the Tenant League, a mass movement which counselled the non-payment of rent.

In 1864, Coles was a delegate to the Charlottetown Conference. He also attended the Québec Conference (his daughter, Mercy, kept a diary of the proceedings there). He at first favoured Confederation, on the condition that the terms of union include a solution to the land question. However, when the offer to purchase foreign-owned land holdings was not made part of the discussions at Québec City, Coles reversed his position. He returned to Prince Edward Island to lead the Liberal party in opposition to Confederation.

Coles became premier of Prince Edward Island for a third time in 1867, but it was evident that he was in declining health. In 1868 he resigned as premier, and was not a major figure in subsequent sessions of the legislature. He died in Charlottetown.

Sources

Callbeck, Lorne. -- The cradle of Confederation. -- Fredericton : Brunswick Press, 1964.

Robertson, Ian Ross. -- "Coles, George". -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Ed. James H. Marsh. -- 3rd print ed. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- P. 506.

Robertson, Ian Ross. -- "Coles, George". - Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Ed. Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1972. -- Vol. 10, p. 182-188.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

George Coles

Photo : George Coles

Source

George Coles.

(20 septembre 1810 - 21 août 1875)

George Coles sera premier ministre de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard à trois reprises entre 1851 et 1868. Bien qu'il soit en faveur de l'union au début, il change d'avis à l'examen des Résolutions de Québec, qui l'amènent à croire que l'entente ne répond pas aux besoins de l'Île.

George Coles naît à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Il est le fils de James Coles et de Sarah Tally. Il fait peu d'études et se rend en Angleterre à 19 ans, où il s'initie à l'industrie brassicole. Pendant qu'il est en Angleterre, il épouse Mercy Haine le 14 août 1833. La même année, sa femme et lui reviennent à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, où il sera marchand, brasseur, opérateur de machinerie à vapeur, exploitant agricole, propriétaire terrien et politicien. G. Coles est un personnage haut en couleur. On dit qu'il s'est battu en duel avec Edward Palmer et a provoqué James C. Pope en duel. Il est reconnu coupable de voie de fait dans les années 1850. Alors qu'il est membre du gouvernement provincial, en 1846, il passe 31 jours sous la garde du sergent d'armes parce qu'il a refusé de retirer une affirmation faite devant l'Assemblée.

En 1842, G. Coles est élu à la Chambre d'assemblée de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Au début, il est pour le Parti conservateur, mais il se trouve souvent en conflit avec la direction du Parti. Il rompt avec les conservateurs (« Tories ») en 1847 et se joint aux réformistes. Il est l'une des figures dominantes de la promotion du gouvernement responsable dans les années 1840. En 1851, il devient le premier premier ministre de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard sous le nouveau système de gouvernement. Il occupera le poste, à part une brève interruption, jusqu'en 1859, lorsque son gouvernement perd le pouvoir. Il passera alors chef de l'opposition. Comme bien des politiciens de l'Île, à l'époque, G. Coles est aux prises avec la question des propriétaires terriens non résidents, qui affligera la politique de l'Île pendant près d'un siècle. Il n'est pas un allié des propriétaires terriens et ne soutient pas non plus les groupes radicaux comme la Tenant League (ligue des fermiers à bail), mouvement de masse qui recommande le non-paiement des redevances.

En 1864, G. Coles est délégué à la Conférence de Charlottetown. Il participe également à la Conférence de Québec (sa fille Mercy tiendra un journal personnel des délibérations qui y ont lieu). Il est en faveur de l'union, au début, à condition que les modalités comprennent une solution à la question des terres. Toutefois, comme l'offre d'achat des terres appartenant à des propriétaires fonciers se trouvant à l'étranger ne fait pas partie des discussions à Québec, il change son fusil d'épaule. Il retourne à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard pour diriger le Parti libéral, qui s'oppose à l'union.

G. Coles devient premier ministre de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard pour la troisième fois en 1867, mais il est évident que sa santé décline. En 1868, il donne sa démission comme premier ministre et ne sera pas une figure dominante aux sessions suivantes de la législature. Il meurt à Charlottetown.

Sources

Callbeck, Lorne. -- The cradle of Confederation. -- Fredericton : Brunswick Press, 1964.

Robertson, Ian Ross. -- « Coles, George ». -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Sous la direction de James H. Marsh. -- 3e édition sur papier. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- P. 506

Robertson, Ian Ross. -- « Coles, George ». -- Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Sous la direction de Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1972. -- Vol. 10, p. 182-188