Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Tagak Curley

Photograph: Tagak Curley

Source

Tagak Curley.

(1944 - )

Tagak Curley was a founding member and the first president of the Inuit Tapirisat of Canada. He has for many years been politically active at the local and territorial level. Currently he is president of the Nunavut Construction Corporation.

Tagak Curley was born in Coral Harbour. Although he was raised in the traditional Inuit manner, he also attended local English schools.

From 1966 to 1970, he worked as a development officer with the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. His first-hand view of rapidly disappearing culture and traditions moved Curley to become involved in the political organization and leadership of his people at the local level, serving as the Repulse Bay settlement manager in 1970-71. He also acted as editor of the Keewatin Echo, the first English-Inuktitut newspaper in Canada.

Curley formed the Inuit Tapirisat of Canada (ITC) in 1971, out of a desire to have the Inuit represented by their own organization, and became its first president. He later held positions with the Nunavut land claim negotiating team, the Inuit Cultural Institute, and the Nunasi Corporation. At the territorial level, he was a member of the legislative assembly from 1979 to 1987. While a member, he held several cabinet posts: minister of economic development, minister of Mines and Resources Secretariat, and minister of public utilities from 1984 to 1987, and minister of government services in 1986-87. He also ran as a federal Liberal candidate in the 1979 election.

In the years following the passage of the Nunavut Act [laws.justice.gc.ca/en/N-28.6/index.html], Curley acted as business manager for Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI), the organization implementing the land claim. Currently, he is president of the Nunavut Construction Corporation (NCC), the company responsible for building the government offices and housing necessary for the new territory. He has held this position since April 1997.

Sources

Aboriginal people profiles, politicians : Tagak Curley [online]. -- Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, 2000 [Cited December 1, 2000]. -- Access: www.ainc-inac.gc.ca/ks/english/3106_e.html

National Aboriginal Achievment Awards, 1998 recipients : Tagak Curley [online]. -- National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation [Cited December 1, 2000]. -- Access: www.naaf.ca/rec98.html#Curley

Windspeaker profiles of outstanding Aboriginal people : Tagak Curley [online]. -- AMMSA (Aboriginal Multi-Media Society). -- [Cited November 29, 2000]. -- Access: www.ammsa.com/achieve/AA98-T.Curley.html

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Tagak Curley

Photo : Tagak Curley

Source

Tagak Curley.

(1944 - )

Tagak Curley a été l'un des membres fondateurs et le premier président de l'Inuit Tapirisat du Canada. Il a été actif pendant de nombreuses années sur la scène politique, à l'échelle locale et territoriale. Il est actuellement président de la firme Nunavut Construction Corporation.

Tagak Curley est né à Coral Harbour. Bien qu'il ait été élevé à la manière traditionnelle des Inuits, il est également allé à l'école anglaise de sa région.

De 1966 à 1970, il a occupé un poste d'agent de développement au ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien. Il s'était bien aperçu que la culture et les traditions étaient en voie de disparition rapide, alors il s'est impliqué sur les plans de l'organisation politique et du leadership de son peuple, à l'échelle locale, en gérant le dossier de l'établissement de Repulse Bay, en 1970-1971. Il a également publié l'Echo du Keewatin, le premier journal anglais-inuktitut au Canada.

Tagak Curley a formé l'Inuit Tapirisat du Canada (ITC), en 1971, pour que les Inuits disposent d'un organisme qui leur appartienne en propre et qui les représente; il en est devenu le premier président. Ensuite, il a occupé des postes au sein de l'équipe de négociation des revendications territoriales du Nunavut, de l'Inuit Cultural Institute et de la Nunasi Corporation. À l'échelle territoriale, il a été membre de l'Assemblée législative de 1979 à 1987. Alors qu'il était en fonctions, il a occupé plusieurs postes au Cabinet : ministre du Développement économique, ministre du Secrétariat des Mines et des Ressources, ministre des Services publics de 1984 à 1987 ainsi que ministre des Services gouvernementaux en 1986-1987. Il s'est également présenté comme candidat libéral aux élections fédérales de 1979.

Au cours des années qui ont suivi l'adoption de la Loi sur le Nunavut (lois.justice.gc.ca/fr/N-28.6/index.html), Tagak Curley a été administrateur du bureau de la Nunavut Tunngavik Inc., organisme chargé de mettre en œuvre la revendication territoriale. À l'heure actuelle, il est président de la société Nunavut Construction Corporation, entreprise responsable de la construction des bureaux du gouvernement et des habitations qu'il faut bâtir dans le nouveau territoire. Il occupe ce poste depuis avril 1997.

Sources

Personnalités [autochtones], politiciens : Tagak Curley [en ligne]. -- Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, 2000 [Consulté le 24-10-2001]. -- Internet : www.ainc-inac.gc.ca/ks/francais/3106_f.html

National Aboriginal Achievment Awards, 1998 recipients : Tagak Curley [en ligne]. -- National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation [Consulté le 1-12-2000]. -- Internet : www.naaf.ca/rec98.html#Curley

Windspeaker profiles of outstanding Aboriginal people : Tagak Curley [en ligne]. -- AMMSA (Aboriginal Multi-Media Society). -- [Consulté le 29-11-2000]. -- Internet : www.ammsa.com/achieve/AA98-T.Curley.html