Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Amor De Cosmos

(August 20, 1825 - July 4, 1897)

Amor De Cosmos played a major role in bringing British Columbia into Confederation. He promoted union with Canada through his newspaper and, as a founding member of the Confederation League, helped organize the Yale Conference that formalized the demands for union. For a time he held seats in both the provincial and federal legislatures, and served as British Columbia's premier from 1872 to 1874.

Amor De Cosmos was born William Alexander Smith in Windsor, Nova Scotia, the son of Jesse Smith and Charlotte Esther McKievers. He attended a private school in Windsor, before continuing his studies at King's College School. Around 1840, his family moved to Halifax, where De Cosmos joined the Dalhousie College debating club, attended a grammar school by night and took a day job as a clerk in a wholesale grocer. In 1852, he left this job to join the California Gold Rush, travelling there by way of New York and St. Louis. Once he arrived in California, he began working as a photographer. His brother later joined him there, and the two began a business venture. It was while he was in California, in 1854, that he changed his name to Amor De Cosmos, out of a desire to express, as he said, his "love of order, beauty, the world, the universe."

In 1858, De Cosmos moved to the colony of Vancouver Island, settling in Victoria. In December of that year, he founded a newspaper, the British Colonist. He used his paper as a vehicle to demand the union of the two west coast British colonies, (Vancouver Island and British Columbia), to campaign for responsible government, and to advocate Confederation. De Cosmos was an outspoken critic of the upper class in Victoria. His views were much influenced by Nova Scotian politician Joseph Howe. He ran for office twice before being elected to the Legislative Assembly of Vancouver Island, where he served from 1863 until 1866. After the union of the two west coast colonies, he served in the Legislative Council of British Columbia from 1867 to 1868, and from 1870 to 1871.

De Cosmos was a founding member of the Confederation League in 1868. His rival John Robson, another newspaper editor turned reform politician, also joined. They helped to organize the Yale Conference of September 1868, at which delegates formalized their demands for responsible government and union with Canada. During the Great Confederation Debate in the provincial legislature in 1870, De Cosmos famously hinted at rebellion over Clause 15, which stated that British Columbia would continue without responsible government after Confederation.

Following British Columbia's entry into Confederation in 1871, De Cosmos was elected to both the new provincial legislature and the federal parliament. He maintained both seats, serving as the premier of British Columbia from 1872 until 1874, while also acting as a member of Parliament (he spent most of his time in Ottawa). In 1879, frustrated by the slow progress on the transcontinental railway, he put forward a motion in the House of Commons calling for the separation of British Columbia from Canada. During the latter part of his career, he was also much concerned with racial issues in British Columbia. He left the Commons and public life in 1882, after losing in that year's federal election.

Always an eccentric individual, De Cosmos's unconventional behavior increased in his later years. He was reported to be afraid of electricity, refusing to have it in his house or even to ride on electric streetcars. A heavy drinker, he was given to making emotional speeches and, from time to time, street brawling. In 1895, shortly after an abortive attempt at a return to politics, De Cosmos was declared insane. He died two years later.

Sources

British Columbia and Confederation. -- Ed. George Shelton. -- Victoria : Morriss Printing Company, Ltd., 1967. -- 250 p.

McDonald, Robert A. J. ; H. Keith Ralston. -- "De Cosmos, Amor". -- Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Ed. Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1990. -- Vol. 12, p. 237-243.

Woodcock, George. -- Amor De Cosmos. -- Toronto : Oxford University Press, 1975. -- 177 p.

Woodcock, George. -- "de Cosmos, Amor". -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Ed. James H. Marsh. -- 3rd print ed. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- P. 638.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Amor De Cosmos

Photo : Amor De Cosmos, septembre 1874

Source

Amor De Cosmos, septembre 1874.

(20 août 1825 - 4 juillet 1897)

Amor De Cosmos joue un rôle important en ce qui concerne l'entrée de la Colombie-Britannique dans la Confédération. Il fait la promotion de l'union avec le Canada dans son journal et, en sa qualité de membre fondateur de la Confederation League, il participe à l'organisation du congrès de Yale, qui officialise les demandes relatives à l'union. Pendant un certain temps, il occupe un siège aux législatures provinciale et fédérale, et il est premier ministre de la Colombie-Britannique de 1872 à 1874.

Amor De Cosmos naît à Windsor (Nouvelle-Écosse). Il reçoit le nom de William Alexander Smith à la naissance. Il est le fils de Jesse Smith et de Charlotte Esther McKievers. Il commence ses études dans une école privée de Windsor et les poursuit à la King's College School. Vers 1840, sa famille s'installe à Halifax, où le jeune homme se joint au cercle de débats du Dalhousie College, fréquente les cours du soir d'un lycée et est commis, le jour, chez un grossiste en alimentation. En 1852, il quitte son emploi pour participer à la ruée vers l'or de la Californie, où il se rend en passant par New York et St. Louis. Une fois en Californie, il commence à travailler comme photographe. Son frère le rejoint plus tard, et les deux se lancent en affaires. C'est pendant son séjour en Californie, en 1854, qu'il change son nom pour celui d'Amor De Cosmos, qui provient du désir d'exprimer, comme il dit, son « amour de l'ordre, de la beauté, du monde et de l'univers ».

En 1858, Amor De Cosmos déménage à Victoria, dans la colonie de l'île de Vancouver. En décembre de la même année, il fonde le British Colonist. Il se sert de son journal pour demander l'union des deux colonies britanniques de la côte ouest (l'île de Vancouver et la Colombie-Britannique), faire valoir le principe du gouvernement responsable et défendre l'idée de la Confédération. Amor De Cosmos critique ouvertement la classe supérieure de Victoria. Ses opinions sont largement influencées par le politicien Joseph Howe, de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Il se présente à deux reprises avant d'être élu à l'Assemblée législative de l'île de Vancouver, où il siégera de 1863 à 1866. Après l'union des deux colonies de la côte ouest, il fait partie du Conseil législatif de la Colombie-Britannique en 1867-1868 et en 1870-1871.

Amor De Cosmos est l'un des membres fondateurs de la Confederation League en 1868. Son rival, John Robson, un autre rédacteur en chef de journal devenu politicien réformiste, se joint également au groupe. Ils participent à l'organisation du congrès de Yale en septembre 1868, où les délégués officialisent leurs demandes relativement au gouvernement responsable et à l'union avec le Canada. Au cours du grand débat sur la Confédération que tient le Parlement provincial, en 1870, Amor De Cosmos fait allusion, ce qui le rendra célèbre, à une révolte au sujet de l'article 15, qui stipule que la Colombie-Britannique va continuer comme avant, sans que ses institutions soient régies par le principe du gouvernement responsable, après son entrée dans la Confédération.

À la suite de l'entrée de la Colombie-Britannique dans la Confédération, en 1871, Amor De Cosmos est élu à la nouvelle législature provinciale et au Parlement fédéral. Il garde ses deux sièges : il est premier ministre de la Colombie-Britannique de 1872 à 1874 tout en restant député (il passe le plus clair de son temps à Ottawa). En 1879, contrarié par la lente progression des travaux de construction du chemin de fer transcontinental, il présente une motion à la Chambre des communes demandant la séparation de la Colombie-Britannique du Canada. Au cours des dernières années de sa carrière, les questions raciales, en Colombie-Britannique, le préoccupent également beaucoup. Il quitte les Communes et la vie publique en 1882, après avoir perdu les élections fédérales cette année-là.

Amor De Cosmos est très excentrique; son comportement non conformiste empire dans les dernières années de sa vie. Certains disent qu'il craint l'électricité, qu'il refuse de l'avoir chez lui ou même de prendre le tramway. Gros consommateur d'alcool, il a tendance à faire des discours émotifs et, de temps à autre, à se battre dans les rues. En 1895, peu après avoir tenté en vain de reprendre la vie politique, Amor De Cosmos est déclaré aliéné. Il décédera deux ans plus tard.

Sources

British Columbia and Confederation. -- Sous la direction de George Shelton. -- Victoria : Morriss Printing Company, Ltd., 1967. -- 250 p.

McDonald, Robert A. J. ; Ralston, H. Keith. -- « De Cosmos, Amor ». -- Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Sous la direction de Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1990. -- Vol. 12, p. 237-243

Woodcock, George. -- Amor De Cosmos. -- Toronto : Oxford University Press, 1975. -- 177 p.

Woodcock, George. -- « de Cosmos, Amor ». -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Sous la direction de James H. Marsh. -- 3e édition sur papier. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- p. 638