Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Sir Alexander Tilloch Galt

Photograph: Alexander Tilloch Galt, 1869.

Copyright/Source

Alexander Tilloch Galt, 1869.

(September 6, 1817 - September 19, 1893)

Alexander Tilloch Galt was one of the most influential politicians of his time. His role was most prominent during the constitutional conferences; he was involved in the issue of economic development and was committed to defending the rights of religious minorities. These things together made him truly one of the Fathers of Confederation.

In 1824, Alexander's father John Galt founded the Canada Company -- a settlement company active in the area of Lake Huron -- and laid the groundwork for the city of Guelph, Ontario. It was during this time that the young Alexander first came to Canada, in 1828. He remained for two years.

Despite the failure of the Canada Company, John Galt helped found the British American Land Company in 1834 and arranged for his son to be taken on as a clerk in the Sherbrooke office. Thus, in 1835, Alexander Tilloch Galt returned to Canada for the second time. In 1840, he drafted a report on the company's successes and failures, and the document made its way to London. Galt had made an impression: in October 1843, the London office made him secretary of the British American Land Company and, in 1844, he was named commissioner.

Galt's first foray into politics was short-lived. It was in 1853 that he made his real political début. He would remain active in Canadian politics until 1872. Early in his career, Galt could have been considered a supporter of the"parti rouge", which favoured the abolition of seigneurial tenure, the secularization of clergy land reserves, secret ballot elections, and the separation of Church and State. Nonetheless, the remainder of his career would clearly show him to be a Conservative, first and foremost. When the government was dissolved in 1858, Governor General Edmund Walker Head asked Alexander Galt to form a new government. He refused, but suggested the job be given to George-Étienne Cartier, who agreed to form the new government with John A. Macdonald. Galt became inspector general (finance minister of the time).

Galt's agreement to join the government was conditional on the serious consideration of a project to federate the British North American colonies. In October 1858, supported by the governor, Alexander Tilloch Galt, George-Étienne Cartier and John Ross travelled to London to present their proposal to Queen Victoria. The project was received with polite indifference and was then shelved until 1863.

In 1863, the Macdonald-Taché government had a House majority, and a parliamentary committee was created to study the political restructuring of the colony. After another change in government, the Great Coalition was formed in 1864 and the confederation process got going in earnest. Galt participated in the conferences in Charlottetown, Québec and London. He was among those who helped organize the new country's administration, and championed the right to education for the Protestant minority in Quebec. In 1866, Galt resigned from Cabinet when most Upper Canadian politicians opposed the same rights for the Catholic minority in their province. His contribution was too great to be ignored, however; when the final constitution was drafted, the right to education for religious minorities was in place for all provinces.

Prime Minister Macdonald appointed Alexander Tilloch Galt to the position of finance minister in the first Cabinet of the Canadian Government, but he would hold this position for only a year. In 1867, the bankruptcy of the Commercial Bank of Kingston forced him to resign. He left active politics for good in 1872 over his disagreement with a number of government policies.

The remainder of Galt's political career was spent as the Canadian government's representative abroad until 1883, when he returned to the business world. Chronic health problems late in life forced him to limit his activities after 1890. He died at home in Montréal on September 19, 1893.

Source

Kesteman, Jean-Pierre. -- "Galt, sir Alexander Tilloch." -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- Vol. XII. -- Québec : Presses de l'Université Laval, 1983. -- P. 378-387.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Sir Alexander Tilloch Galt

Photo : Alexander Tilloch Galt, 1869.

Source

Alexander Tilloch Galt, 1869.

(6 septembre 1817 - 19 septembre 1893)

Alexander Tilloch Galt est l'un des hommes politiques canadiens les plus influents de son époque. Son rôle est prédominant au moment des conférences constitutionnelles; il s'implique dans le dossier du développement économique et il se consacre à la défense des droits des minorités religieuses. Tout cela en fait l'un des hommes qui méritent pleinement le titre de Père de la Confédération.

En 1824, John Galt, le père d'Alexander, fonde la Canada Company, une compagnie de colonisation active dans la région du lac Huron, et jette les bases de la ville de Guelph (Ontario). C'est ce qui explique la venue du jeune homme pour la première fois au Canada en 1828. Il y reste deux ans.

Malgré l'échec de la Canada Company, John Galt participe à la fondation, en 1834, de la British American Land Company et fait nommer son fils Alexander commis aux écritures au bureau de Sherbrooke. En 1835, ce dernier vient donc pour la deuxième fois au Canada. En 1840, Alexander Tilloch Galt rédige un rapport concernant les succès et les échecs de l'entreprise, et ce document se rend jusqu'à Londres. Alexander Tilloch Galt impressionne : en octobre 1843, le bureau de Londres le nomme secrétaire de la British American Land Company et, en 1844, il est nommé commissaire.

La première incursion d'A. T. Galt en politique est de courte durée. C'est finalement en 1853 qu'il fait sa véritable entrée en politique; il y restera jusqu'en 1872. Au début de sa carrière, A. T. Galt peut être perçu comme un « rouge » qui appuie l'abolition du régime seigneurial, la sécularisation des réserves foncières du clergé, le vote secret aux élections ainsi que la séparation de l'Église et de l'État. Mais la suite de sa carrière démontre clairement qu'il est avant tout d'allégeance conservatrice. À la suite de la dissolution du gouvernement, en 1858, le gouverneur général, Edmund Walker Head, demande à A. T. Galt de former le nouveau gouvernement. Il refuse, mais suggère de confier la tâche à George-Étienne Cartier. Celui-ci accepte et forme le gouvernement avec John A. Macdonald; Alexander Tilloch Galt sera inspecteur général (ministre des Finances de l'époque).

L'entrée d'A .T. Galt au gouvernement est conditionnelle à ce qu'il entreprenne d'étudier sérieusement le projet d'une fédération des colonies de l'Amérique du Nord britannique. En octobre 1858, encouragés par le gouverneur, Alexander Tilloch Galt, George-Étienne Cartier et John Ross partent pour Londres afin de présenter leur proposition à la reine Victoria. Le projet est reçu avec une indifférence polie et est mis sur les tablettes jusqu'en 1863.

La majorité en Chambre du gouvernement Macdonald-Taché permet, en 1863, la création d'un comité parlementaire chargé d'étudier la réorganisation de la structure politique « canadienne ». Mais après un autre changement de gouvernement, la Grande Coalition se forme, en 1864, et le processus menant à la Confédération s'enclenche définitivement. Alexander Tilloch Galt prend part aux conférences de Charlottetown, de Québec et de Londres. Il est de ceux qui participent à l'organisation administrative du nouveau pays. Il se fait aussi le champion de la clause concernant le respect des droits scolaires de la minorité protestante du Québec. L'hostilité de la majorité des politiciens du Haut-Canada relativement à l'octroi des mêmes privilèges pour la minorité catholique de leur province pousse A. T. Galt à démissionner du Cabinet en 1866. Mais son apport est trop important pour qu'on le laisse à l'écart. Lors de la rédaction définitive du texte constitutionnel, on inclut la protection des droits scolaires des minorités religieuses, et ce, pour toutes les provinces.

Le premier ministre J. A. Macdonald nomme A. T. Galt ministre des Finances dans le premier cabinet ministériel canadien. Il n'occupera ce poste qu'une année. En 1867, la faillite de la Commercial Bank of Kingston le force à démissionner. Son désaccord avec certaines politiques gouvernementales l'amène à quitter définitivement la politique active en 1872.

Le reste de la carrière politique d'A. T. Galt se déroule à titre de représentant du gouvernement canadien à l'étranger jusqu'en 1883, année où il retourne au monde des affaires. Comme il a des problèmes de santé récurrents vers la fin de sa vie, A. T. Galt est très limité dans ses activités, après 1890. Il meurt à sa résidence de Montréal le 19 septembre 1893.

Source

Kesteman, Jean-Pierre. -- « Galt, sir Alexander Tilloch ». -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- Vol. XII. -- [Québec] : Presses de l'Université Laval, 1983.-- P. 378-387