Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

John Hamilton Gray

Portrait: John Hamilton Gray

Source

John Hamilton Gray.

(1814 - June 5, 1889)

John Hamilton Gray of New Brunswick was one of two men by that name involved in the Confederation Conferences. He was a long-standing supporter of British North American union. He was also a respected lawyer, who went on to serve on the Supreme Court of British Columbia after his political career.

John Hamilton Gray was born at St. George, Bermuda, in 1814; his father, although based in Halifax, was naval commissioner there. He studied at King's College in Windsor, Nova Scotia, where he earned a Bachelor of Arts degree. He later studied law and was admitted to the bar in New Brunswick by 1837. He established a practice at Saint John, where he developed a reputation as a powerful courtroom speaker. For his legal efforts, he was made a Queen's Counsel in 1853. Gray also joined the colonial militia in 1840. He married Elizabeth Ormond, the daughter of an army associate, while on a trip to Ireland in 1845.

Gray began his political career in 1850, when he was elected to the provincial assembly as a reformer (despite his conservative roots). He became a leading member of the opposition, with a reputation even among his opponents as a great orator. He so impressed the governor that he was invited to become a member of the Executive Council. However, his acceptance of the position drew criticism from his reform colleagues, and gained him a reputation for vacillation that followed him for the rest of his career. Gray became the Tory leader in the assembly, but when the Liberals won a majority in 1854, he was once again relegated to the opposition. Two years later, in 1856, the provincial governor dismissed the Liberal Executive Council and replaced them with a government led by Gray.

Source

"The Chesapeake Affair", The British Colonist (Halifax), December 22, 1863.

Gray's tenure as premier was brief. By 1857, he was unable to muster a majority in the assembly, and he resigned. He did attempt a political comeback in 1860, realigning himself with the Liberals, but was defeated in the election of 1861. While he was out of politics, Gray took part in several official inquiries, acted as a facilitator in fishing disputes between the United States and Great Britain, and was part of a commission looking at the absentee landlord question in Prince Edward Island. Gray also practised law, and acted as counsel for three New Brunswick men involved in the Chesapeake Affair.

Despite his changing political affiliations, Gray was a long-time supporter of British North American union. He made remarks supporting the idea as early as 1849. After being re-elected to the provincial assembly in a by-election in the early 1860s with the support of the premier Samuel Leonard Tilley, Gray was chosen as a delegate to the Charlottetown Conference and the Québec Conference in 1864. The extreme unpopularity of union in the province of New Brunswick saw Gray and many of his colleagues lose their seats in the general election of 1865. An anti-Confederation coalition led by Albert Smith took power, but was unable to effectively unite its disparate elements; after another general election in 1866, Tilley returned as the premier. Gray was re-elected to the assembly but was no longer at the centre of the struggle for union; he was not invited to the London Conference.

Gray was elected to the House of Commons in the first federal election after Confederation, but did not stand for re-election in 1872. Instead, he sought and was given an appointment to British Columbia's Supreme Court, beginning in 1872. As a judge, Gray was noted for his defence of the rights of the Chinese, and for his authoritative work on Canada-United States boundary issues. In 1889, Gray was planning a reception for Tilley when he was stricken with paralysis. He died that June.

Sources

"Gray, John Hamilton". -- Macmillan dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Ed. W. Stewart Wallace. -- 4th ed. -- Toronto : Macmillan of Canada, 1978. -- P. 313-314.

Wallace, Carl M. -- "Gray, John Hamilton (NB Premier)". -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Ed. James H. Marsh. -- 3rd print ed. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- P. 1011.

Wallace, C. M. -- "Gray, John Hamilton". -- Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Ed. Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1982. -- Vol. 11, p. 372-376.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

John Hamilton Gray

Portrait : John Hamilton Gray

Source

John Hamilton Gray.

(1814 - 5 juin 1889)

John Hamilton Gray, du Nouveau-Brunswick, est l'un des deux hommes du même nom à participer aux conférences qui mèneront à la Confédération; il est partisan, depuis longtemps, de l'unification de l'Amérique du Nord britannique. Il est également un avocat respecté qui sera nommé à la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique à la fin de sa carrière politique.

John Hamilton Gray naît à St. George, aux Bermudes, en 1814 (son père, bien qu'en poste à Halifax, était commissaire de la Marine aux Bermudes). Il fait ses études au King's College, à Windsor (Nouvelle-Écosse), où il décroche un baccalauréat ès arts. Ensuite, il fait son droit et est reçu au barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1837. Il ouvre un cabinet à Saint-Jean, où il se fait une réputation de brillant plaideur, au tribunal. En raison de son travail dans le domaine juridique, on le nommera conseil de la reine en 1853. Également, il s'enrôle dans la milice de la colonie en 1840. Il épouse Elizabeth Ormond, la fille d'un de ses compagnons d'armée, pendant un voyage en Irlande en 1845.

La carrière politique de J. H. Gray commence en 1850, lorsqu'il est élu à l'Assemblée provinciale comme réformiste, malgré ses racines conservatrices. Il devient l'un des chefs de file de l'opposition et se taille une réputation de brillant orateur, même parmi ses adversaires. Il impressionne tellement le gouverneur qu'on l'invite à faire partie du Conseil exécutif. Toutefois, le fait d'accepter ce poste lui attire les critiques de ses collègues réformistes, et cela lui fait une réputation de girouette qui le suivra le reste de sa carrière. J. H. Gray devient chef des conservateurs (« Tories ») à l'Assemblée, mais lorsque les libéraux l'emportent, en 1854, il est une fois de plus renvoyé dans l'opposition. Deux années plus tard, en 1856, le gouverneur de la province dissout le Conseil exécutif libéral et le remplace par un gouvernement dirigé par J. H. Gray.

Source

« L'affaire du Chesapeake », [traduction libre], The British Colonist (Halifax), 22 décembre 1863.

Son mandat de premier ministre sera de courte durée. En 1857, il est incapable d'obtenir la majorité à l'Assemblée et démissionne. Il tente un retour en politique, en 1860, cette fois avec les libéraux, mais il est battu aux élections de 1861. À l'extérieur de la vie politique, J. H. Gray participe à plusieurs enquêtes officielles, sert d'arbitre dans des litiges au sujet de la pêche opposant les États-Unis et la Grande-Bretagne, et fait partie de la commission qui se penche sur la question des propriétaires terriens non résidents à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Il pratique également le droit et défendra trois hommes du Nouveau-Brunswick mêlés à l'affaire du Chesapeake.

Malgré ses affiliations politiques changeantes, J. H. Gray est partisan, depuis longtemps, de l'unification de l'Amérique du Nord britannique. Aussi tôt qu'en 1849, il fait des commentaires favorables à ce sujet. Après avoir été réélu à l'Assemblée provinciale lors d'une élection partielle, au début des années 1860 (grâce à l'appui du premier ministre Samuel Leonard Tilley), il est choisi comme délégué à la Conférence de Charlottetown et à la Conférence de Québec, en 1864. À cause de l'extrême impopularité de l'union au Nouveau-Brunswick, J. H. Gray et plusieurs de ses collègues perdent leur siège aux élections générales de 1865. Une coalition anticonfédération, dirigée par Albert Smith, prend le pouvoir, mais est incapable de rassembler efficacement ses différents éléments, de sorte qu'après d'autres élections générales, en 1866, S. L. Tilley redevient premier ministre. J. H. Gray est réélu à l'assemblée, mais n'est plus au centre de la lutte pour l'union; il ne sera pas invité à la Conférence de Londres.

J. H. Gray est élu à la Chambre des communes aux premières élections fédérales suivant la Confédération, mais ne se porte pas candidat aux élections de 1872. Il cherche plutôt à se faire nommer à la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique, où il entre en fonctions en 1872. En sa qualité de juge, il sera reconnu pour avoir défendu les droits des Chinois et fera autorité en matière de questions frontalières entre le Canada et les États-Unis. En 1889, alors qu'il est en train de préparer une réception en l'honneur de S. L. Tilley, il est frappé de paralysie. Il mourra en juin de cette année-là.

Sources

« Gray, John Hamilton ».  --  Macmillan dictionary of Canadian biography.  --  Sous la direction de W. Stewart Wallace.  --  4e édition.  --  Toronto : Macmillan of Canada, 1978.  --  P. 313-314

Wallace, Carl M.  --  « Gray, John Hamilton (NB Premier) ».  --  Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition.  --  Sous la direction de James H. Marsh.  --  3e édition sur papier.  --  Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999.  --  P. 1011

Wallace, C. M.  --  « Gray, John Hamilton ».  --  Dictionary of Canadian biography.  --  Sous la direction de Francess G. Halpenny.  --  Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1982.  --  Vol. 11, p. 372-376