Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

William Alexander Henry

Photograph: William Alexander Henry

Source

William Alexander Henry.

(December 30, 1816 - May 3, 1888)

William Alexander Henry, Attorney General for Nova Scotia in 1864, was a delegate to all three Confederation conferences. He went on to become mayor of Halifax, and later one of the first judges appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada.

William Alexander Henry was born in Halifax, Nova Scotia. His family moved to Antigonish soon after. He attended Halifax High School before studying law. After being admitted to the bar, he established practices first at Antigonish, and later at Halifax. He was married twice, first in 1841 to Sophia C. McDonald (d. 1845), then to Christianna McDonald in 1850.

Henry was first elected in 1840 as a Liberal member for Antigonish, and represented the region almost continuously from that time until 1867. (Although he was defeated in 1843, he was re-elected in 1847 for his support of responsible government.) He attained the post of provincial secretary in 1856, but resigned the next year over the dismissal of the exciseman of the Port of Halifax. He transferred his support to the Conservative Party, and was elected as a member of that party in 1859. However, because of disputed results in some areas, the Liberals took control of the government. When the Conservatives finally regained power in 1863, Henry was appointed solicitor general, then attorney general in 1864.

Like some of his colleagues, Henry showed little interest in the idea of union prior to the Charlottetown Conference. His opinion changed dramatically after the meeting. He returned to Nova Scotia convinced that British American union would be the best means of achieving such benefits as free trade and the construction of the Intercolonial Railway. He took an active part in the social activities and the more serious negotiations of the Québec Conference. However, he faced the difficult task of defending the Québec Resolutions against the anti-Confederation movement.

After the Nova Scotia Assembly approved union in the spring of 1866, Henry was part of the delegation that travelled to the London Conference that year to compose the legislation. (Tradition holds that he was one of the gentlemen who actually adapted the Québec Resolutions into the British North America Act [http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/const/index.html]). Although he had objections about the limited number of senators, and the division of federal and provincial powers, Henry voted to accept the final agreement.

Once Confederation was achieved, Henry ran for the Antigonish seat in the Nova Scotia federal election of 1867. As Antigonish was one of the most anti-Confederation regions of the province, he suffered defeat for the first time in 24 years. He returned to his law practice in Halifax (although he would run for office again in 1869, losing in Richmond). In 1870, he was elected the mayor of Halifax. He was also the president of the Charitable Irish Society in 1873.

It was at around this time that Henry returned his allegiance to the Liberal party. While he still supported Confederation, he was dissatisfied with John A. Macdonald's leadership of the Conservatives, and resentful at being passed over for a judgeship in Nova Scotia. This resentment must have been appeased, in some measure, with his appointment to the newly created Supreme Court of Canada in 1875. Henry was a diligent attendee at the Court, and contributed greatly to reforms that helped it to run smoothly. He died at Ottawa.

Sources

Blakeley, Phyllis R. -- "Henry, William Alexander." -- Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Ed. Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1982. -- Vol. 11, p. 398-400.

"Henry, William Alexander". -- Macmillan dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Ed. W. Stewart Wallace. -- 4th ed. -- Toronto : Macmillan of Canada, 1978. --  P. 354.

Kernaghan, Lois. -- "Henry, William Alexander". -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Ed. James H. Marsh. -- 3rd print ed. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- P. 1065.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

William Alexander Henry

Photo : William Alexander Henry

Source

William Alexander Henry.

(30 décembre 1816 - 3 mai 1888)

William Alexander Henry, procureur général de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1864, est délégué aux trois conférences qui vont mener à la Confédération. Puis il sera maire de Halifax, et ensuite un des premiers juges nommés à la Cour suprême du Canada.

William Alexander Henry naît à Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse). Sa famille déménage à Antigonish peu après sa naissance. Il fait ses études à l'école secondaire de Halifax avant d'aller étudier le droit. Après avoir été reçu au barreau, il ouvre un cabinet d'abord à Antigonish, et ensuite à Halifax. Il se marie deux fois, la première, en 1841, avec Sophia C. McDonald (décédée en 1845), puis avec Christianna McDonald, en 1850.

W. A. Henry est élu pour la première fois, en 1840, député libéral dans la circonscription d'Antigonish. Il représentera la région presque sans interruption à partir de ce moment jusqu'en 1867. (Bien qu'il soit battu en 1843, il est réélu en 1847 en raison de son appui au gouvernement responsable.) Il accède au poste de secrétaire provincial en 1856, mais démissionne l'année suivante à cause de la destitution de l'agent du fisc du port de Halifax. Il reporte son appui sur le Parti conservateur et est élu membre de ce parti en 1859. Toutefois, en raison des résultats contestés dans certaines régions, les libéraux prennent le pouvoir. Lorsque les conservateurs reprennent finalement le pouvoir en 1863, W. A. Henry est nommé solliciteur général, puis procureur général en 1864.

Comme quelques-uns de ses collègues, W. A. Henry est peu intéressé à l'idée d'une union avant la Conférence de Charlottetown. Son opinion change complètement à la suite de la rencontre. Il revient en Nouvelle-Écosse convaincu qu'une union de l'Amérique britannique est le meilleur moyen de profiter d'avantages tels que le libre-échange et la construction du chemin de fer Intercolonial. Il prend une part active aux activités sociales et aux négociations, plus sérieuses, qui ont lieu à la Conférence de Québec. Toutefois, il a la tâche difficile de défendre les Résolutions de Québec contre le mouvement anticonfédération.

Après que l'assemblée de la Nouvelle-Écosse a approuvé l'union, au printemps 1866, W. A. Henry fait partie de la délégation qui se rend à la Conférence de Londres cette année-là en vue de rédiger le texte de loi. (La tradition veut qu'il soit l'un de ceux qui ont adapté les Résolutions de Québec pour en faire l'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique ¨[http://lois.justice.gc.ca/fr/const/index.html].) Bien qu'il ait des objections quant au nombre limité de sénateurs et au partage des pouvoirs fédéraux et provinciaux, W. A. Henry vote en faveur de l'entente finale.

Une fois la Confédération faite, W. A. Henry se présente dans la circonscription d'Antigonish aux élections fédérales de 1867. Étant donné qu'Antigonish est l'une des régions de la province qui s'opposent le plus à la Confédération, il est défait pour la première fois en 24 ans. Il retourne à la pratique du droit à Halifax (il se présentera de nouveau dans Richmond, en 1869, et il perdra). En 1870, il est élu maire de Halifax. Il sera également président de la Charitable Irish Society, en 1873.

C'est à peu près à ce moment qu'il revient au Parti libéral. Bien qu'il soit toujours en faveur de la Confédération, il est mécontent du leadership que John A. Macdonald exerce sur les conservateurs. De plus, il est amer parce qu'on lui a préféré quelqu'un d'autre à un poste de juge en Nouvelle-Écosse. Ce ressentiment doit avoir été apaisé, dans une certaine mesure, lorsqu'il a été nommé à la toute nouvelle Cour suprême du Canada, en 1875. W. A. Henry est assidu à la Cour, et il y est pour beaucoup dans les réformes qui permettront à cette dernière de bien fonctionner. Il meurt à Ottawa.

Sources

Blakeley, Phyllis R. -- « Henry, William  Alexander ». -- Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Sous la direction de Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1982. -- Vol. 11, p. 398-400

« Henry, William Alexander ». -- Macmillan dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Sous la direction de W. Stewart Wallace. -- 4e édition. -- Toronto : Macmillan of Canada, 1978. -- P. 354

Kernaghan, Lois. -- « Henry, William Alexander ». -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Sous la direction de James H. Marsh. -- 3e édition sur papier. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- P. 1065