Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine

Photograph: Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine

Source

Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine.

(October 4, 1807 - February 26, 1864)

Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine was first elected to the Assembly of Lower Canada in 1830. Although a Papineau supporter, he disagreed with the latter's call to arms and tried to find a peaceful solution to the imminent conflicts. Arrested and released following the 1837-38 rebellions, La Fontaine would later become a moderate reformer.

Despite clauses that offended many French Canadians, La Fontaine was in favour of the 1841 union of Upper and Lower Canada. He felt that union would permit reformers from both areas to bring about the changes necessary for the smooth operation of the Canadian parliamentary system. Called to form the government in 1842, he put forward, along with Robert Baldwin, a bold plan for reform. The alliance between La Fontaine and Baldwin was so strong that when Baldwin was defeated in the 1843 election, La Fontaine offered him the reform seat of Rimouski -- returning a gesture Baldwin had made several years earlier. Unable to work with the new governor, Charles Metcalfe, the reformers of Canada East and Canada West resigned from the government en masse in November 1843.

La Fontaine spent the next four years in opposition. One of his main concerns during that time was that French be recognized as an official language  --  the Act of Union of 1841 had removed French's official language status. In 1842 La Fontaine addressed the House of Assembly in French; the Anglophone members snubbed him accordingly. La Fontaine's action, and those of his Francophone colleagues, forced Governor Metcalfe to revive the old Lower Canadian tradition of having an official version of the Speech from the Throne read in French at the opening of Parliament.

With Robert Baldwin, La Fontaine returned to power in 1848. He announced a new linguistic policy recognizing French as an official language in the House of Assembly. To this end, Governor Lord Elgin read the Throne Speech in French.

La Fontaine also called for members to vote for a bill on compensation for losses incurred by the repression of the 1837-38 rebellions. Ratified by Lord Elgin on April 25, 1849, this law set off the frustrations of Anglophone merchants in Montréal and culminated in the ransacking of La Fontaine's home and the burning of the Parliament building in Montréal. During his short term in office, La Fontaine succeeded in securing amnesty for the participants in the 1837-38 rebellions. With the help of reformers from Canada West, he brought in responsible government. He also reformed the Canada East judicial system and opened the public service to French Canadians.

In ill health for several years, La Fontaine was growing tired of public life. His wife's illness and Baldwin's resignation motivated him to leave politics, and he resigned on September 26, 1851.

Sources

Monet, Jacques.  -- "La Fontaine, Sir Louis-Hippolyte". -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- Vol. IX. -- Québec : Presses de l'Université Laval, 1977. -- P. 486-497.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine

Photo : Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine

Source

Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine.

(4 octobre 1807 - 26 février 1864)

Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine est élu pour la première fois à l'Assemblée du Bas-Canada en 1830. Sympathisant de Papineau, il n'est pas d'accord avec l'appel aux armes lancé par celui-ci et il tente de trouver une solution pacifique aux confrontations qui semblent imminentes. Arrêté puis relâché à la suite des rébellions de 1837 et de 1838, il deviendra par la suite un réformiste modéré.

Malgré les clauses qui portaient offense aux Canadiens français, La Fontaine est favorable à l'Union de 1841. Cette union, selon lui, permettra aux réformistes des deux sections de revendiquer les modifications nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du « parlementarisme » canadien. Appelé à former le gouvernement en 1842, il met de l'avant, avec Robert Baldwin, un courageux plan de réforme. Cette alliance est si solide qu'en 1843, lorsque Baldwin est défait aux élections, La Fontaine lui offre le siège réformiste de Rimouski, comme Baldwin l'avait fait quelques années plus tôt. Ne pouvant travailler avec le nouveau gouverneur Metcalfe, les réformistes du Canada-Est et du Canada-Ouest démissionnent en bloc du gouvernement en novembre 1843.

La Fontaine passera les quatre prochaines années dans l'opposition. Un de ses chevaux de bataille pendant cette période sera l'obtention de la reconnaissance du statut officiel de la langue française, reconnaissance ôtée par l'Acte d'Union de 1841. En 1842, La Fontaine s'exprime en français à la Chambre d'assemblée, action qui lui vaut d'être fortement rabroué par la députation anglophone. Ce geste de La Fontaine et des députés francophones fait en sorte que le gouverneur Metcalfe doit renouer en 1844 avec une vieille coutume du Bas-Canada en faisant lire une version officielle en français du discours du Trône à l'ouverture de la session parlementaire.

De retour au pouvoir en 1848 avec Robert Baldwin, La Fontaine annonce une nouvelle politique linguistique qui reconnaît cette fois le français comme langue officielle à l'Assemblée et, à cette fin, le gouverneur lord Elgin lit le discours du Trône en français.

Une autre action de La Fontaine est de faire voter la loi sur l'indemnisation des pertes occasionnées par la répression des rébellions de 1837 et de 1838. C'est cette loi qui, sanctionnée par lord Elgin le 25 avril 1849, déclenche chez les commerçants anglophones de Montréal un sentiment de frustration qui se solde par le sac de la résidence de La Fontaine et surtout par l'incendie de l'édifice abritant le Parlement à Montréal. Pendant son bref mandat, La Fontaine réussit à faire amnistier les rebelles de 1837-1838, il obtient, avec l'aide des réformistes du Canada-Ouest, le gouvernement responsable, il réforme le système judiciaire du Canada-Est et il ouvre les postes de la fonction publique aux Canadiens français.

Malade depuis plusieurs années, La Fontaine est fatigué de la vie politique. Ainsi, la maladie de son épouse et la démission de Baldwin le mènent à remettre sa démission le 26 septembre 1851.

Source

Monet, Jacques.  --  « La Fontaine, Sir Louis-Hippolyte ».  --  Dictionnaire biographique du Canada.  --  Vol. IX.  --  Québec : Presses de l'Université Laval, 1977.  --  P. 486-497