Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

William Lyon Mackenzie

Photograph: William Lyon Mackenzie, ca. 1851-1861

Source

William Lyon Mackenzie, ca. 1851-1861.

(March 12, 1795 - August 28, 1861)

William Lyon Mackenzie's political impact is important in studying Upper Canada's reform movement and the significance of the reformers in the years before Confederation in 1867.

Born in Dundee, Scotland, Mackenzie left his homeland for Canada in 1820. He arrived in Montréal, and after working on the Lachine Canal and as a journalist for the Montreal Herald, he settled in York (now Toronto).

Mackenzie began his public life in 1824 when he founded the Colonial Advocate, a reform paper that openly criticized the Family Compact. The same year, he moved his paper to Toronto, where his popularity soared. Mackenzie was elected to the legislature for the first time in 1828, representing York. There, he demanded reforms in the areas of agriculture, commerce and the post. His meeting with President Andrew Jackson during a trip to the United States in 1829 was a defining moment in Mackenzie's ideological development. He returned to Upper Canada filled with admiration for the American government, and became increasingly wary of British colonialism.

W. L. Mackenzie led the Rebellion of 1837 in Upper Canada, fighting the oligarchy of the Family Compact. His involvement forced him into exile in the United States until 1849, when the government of United Canada offered the rebels amnesty. He resigned his seat in Parliament in 1858.

Sources

Armstrong, Frederick H. ; Stagg, Ronald J. -- "Mackenzie, William Lyon." -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- Vol. IX. -- Québec : Presses de l'Université Laval, 1977. -- P. 546-562.

Russell, Victor L. -- "Mackenzie, William Lyon." -- The 1999 Canadian encyclopedia : world edition. -- Toronto : McClelland and Stewart, 1998.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

William Lyon Mackenzie

Photo : William Lyon Mackenzie, entre 1851 et 1861

Source

William Lyon Mackenzie, entre 1851 et 1861.

(12 mars 1795 - 28 août 1861)

L'impact que William Lyon Mackenzie a eu est important lorsqu'on étudie le mouvement de réforme dans le Haut-Canada et l'importance que le parti qui prône cette réforme prend au cours des années qui précèdent la Confédération, en 1867.

Né à Dundee, en Écosse, il s'embarque en 1820 pour le Canada. Il arrive à Montréal et, après avoir travaillé au canal Lachine et comme journaliste au Montreal Herald, il se rend à York (Toronto).

La carrière publique de W. L. Mackenzie commence en 1824, alors qu'il fonde le Colonial Advocate, journal réformiste critiquant vertement le Family Compact. En 1824, il déménage son journal à Toronto, où il devient de plus en plus populaire. W. L. Mackenzie est élu pour la première fois député de York en 1828. Dès lors, il se met à revendiquer des réformes dans les domaines de l'agriculture, du commerce et des postes. La rencontre qu'il a avec le président Andrew Jackson, alors qu'il effectue un voyage aux États-Unis, en 1829, est marquante sur le plan de son développement idéologique. Il revient dans le Haut-Canada rempli d'admiration pour le fonctionnement de l'État américain. À cela s'ajoute une méfiance grandissante à l'égard du colonialisme de la Grande-Bretagne.

W. L. Mackenzie est le chef de la rébellion de 1837 dans le Haut-Canada. Il combat l'oligarchie du Family Compact. Cette participation le force à s'exiler aux États-Unis jusqu'en 1849, moment où le gouvernement du Canada-Uni amnistie les rebelles. Il démissionne de son siège à l'Assemblée législative en 1858.

Sources

Armstrong, Frederick H. ; Stagg, Ronald J. -- « Mackenzie, William Lyon ». -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- Vol. IX. -- Québec : PUL, 1977. -- P. 546-562

Russell, Victor L. -- « Mackenzie, William Lyon ». -- The 1999 Canadian encyclopedia : world edition. -- Toronto : McClelland and Stewart, 1998