Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Paul Okalik

Photograph: Hon. Paul Okalik

Source

Hon. Paul Okalik.

(1964 - )

Paul Okalik was born at Pangnirtung, Northwest Territories (N.W.T.), the youngest of ten children of Auyaluk, a hunter, and his wife. He received his early education at Pangnirtung, and the Iqaluit residential school. Okalik's teen years were marked by a combination of alcohol and crime (partway through grade ten, he was expelled from high school for drinking), and the suicide of an older brother when Okalik was 14. He served a three-month sentence for breaking and entering when he was 17. Upon his release, he took a welding course at Fort Smith, N.W.T. Later, he worked at Nanisivik Mine on Baffin Island.

It was not until he obtained a position as a researcher and negotiator with the Tungavik Federation of Nunavut (TFN) that he made the first steps towards changing his life. He earned praise from his TFN colleagues, and gained some much-needed confidence. His work led him to settle in Ottawa, but he returned to the North to enter a drug and alcohol rehabilitation program in 1991.

Okalik's experience with the TFN encouraged him to resume his education. He enrolled at Carleton University, graduating with a bachelor's degree in political science in 1995. He went on to enter the law school program at the University of Ottawa, obtaining his degree in 1997. He returned to Iqaluit, where he began articling at a local law firm.

It was while finishing these studies that Okalik came to believe that he could best help his fellow Inuit through politics. He decided to run for public office, winning a seat as the member for Iqaluit West in the elections for Nunavut's first legislative assembly. It was an eventful week for Okalik. Only three days before the election, he had been called to the bar of the Northwest Territories. His fellow legislators selected him as their premier on March 5, 1999. Currently, in addition to his responsibilities as premier, Okalik serves as the minister for executive and intergovernmental affairs.

Sources

Crompton, Liz. --  "Northerner of the Year : Paul Okalik". --  Up here. --  Vol. 15, no. 8 (Nov/Dec 2000). -- P. 22-27; 57.

"Paul Okalik : Premier of Nunavut" [online]. -- Contemporary Canadian biographies (June 1999) [Cited November 30, 2000]. -- Indexed on Canadian periodical index online website.

Participants : Honourable Paul Okalik, B.A., L.L.B., Nunavut [online]. -- Western Premiers' Conference '99. -- [Cited November 29, 2000]. -- Access [Website not currently available]: www.aeda.gov.ab.ca/premier/premconf99/participants_paulokalic.cfm

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Paul Okalik

Photo : L'honorable Paul Okalik

Source

L'honorable Paul Okalik.

(1964 - )

Paul Okalik est né à Pangnirtung (Territoires du Nord-Ouest [T.N.-O.]). Il est le cadet d'une famille de 10 enfants. Son père, Auyaluk, était chasseur. Il a fait son école primaire à Pangnirtung, puis au pensionnat d'Iqaluit. L'adolescence de Paul Okalik porte la marque de l'alcool et du crime (il s'est fait chasser de l'école pour alcoolisme en 4e secondaire) et, à 14 ans, il est marqué par le suicide d'un de ses frères aînés. À 17 ans, il a été incarcéré pendant trois mois pour introduction par effraction. Une fois sorti de prison, il a suivi un cours de soudeur à Fort Smith (T.N.-O.). Plus tard, il a travaillé à la mine de Nanisivik, sur l'île de Baffin.

Il n'a commencé à changer de vie que lorsqu'il a été engagé comme chercheur et négociateur à la Fédération Tungavik de Nunavut. Il s'est gagné l'admiration de ses collègues, et cela lui a donné la confiance en soi dont il avait désespérément besoin. Son travail l'a amené à s'installer à Ottawa, mais en 1991, il est retourné dans le Nord afin de suivre un programme de réadaptation pour alcooliques et toxicomanes.

Le travail de Paul Okalik à la Fédération l'a encouragé à reprendre ses études. Il s'est inscrit à l'Université Carleton et a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences politiques en 1995. Il est alors entré en droit à l'Université d'Ottawa, et a obtenu son diplôme en 1997. Il est ensuite retourné à Iqaluit pour faire un stage dans un cabinet d'avocats de la région.

Alors qu'il achevait ses études, Paul Okalik a réalisé que la meilleure façon d'aider ses concitoyens inuits était d'entrer en politique. Il a décidé de se présenter aux élections et a été élu député d'Iqaluit-Ouest à la première Assemblée législative du Nunavut. Cette semaine-là a été très occupée pour lui. Trois jours seulement avant l'élection, il a été reçu au barreau des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le 5 mars 1999, ses collègues de la législature l'ont élu premier ministre. Aujourd'hui, en plus de ses responsabilités de premier ministre, Paul Okalik est ministre de l'Exécutif et des Affaires intergouvernementales.

Sources

Crompton, Liz.  --  « Northerner of the Year : Paul Okalik ».  --  Up here.  --  Vol. 15, no 8 (Nov/Déc 2000).  --  P. 22-27; 57

« Paul Okalik : Premier of Nunavut  » [en ligne].  --  Contemporary Canadian biographies (June 1999) [Consulté le 30-11-2000].  --  Indexed on Canadian periodical index online website.

Participants : Honourable Paul Okalik, B.A., L.L.B., Nunavut [en ligne].  --  Western Premiers' Conference '99. -- [Consulté le 29-11-2000]. -- Access [site Web n'est pas en ligne] : www.aeda.gov.ab.ca/premier/premconf99/participants_paulokalic.cfm