Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

William Henry Pope

Photograph: William Henry Pope

Source

William Henry Pope.

(May 29, 1825 - October 7, 1879)

William Henry Pope was a prominent land agent and lawyer who supported union, attending both the Charlottetown and Québec Conferences. After Prince Edward Island joined Confederation in 1873, he became a respected judge.

William Pope was born in Bedeque, Prince Edward Island (P.E.I.), the elder son of James Pope and Lucy Colledge. He was educated on P.E.I. and later in England, reading law at the Inner Temple before returning to article with Edward Palmer at Charlottetown. He was called to the bar in 1847. In addition to the practice of law, Pope also acted as a land agent. Through his family connections (his father was a prominent merchant), he was able to obtain many prominent and influential clients.

After becoming increasingly involved with the Conservative party through the 1850s, Pope began his official political career in 1859. Although he was not elected to the legislature that year, he was appointed colonial secretary under the government's new policy of "nondepartmentalism", an effort to combat patronage. (He also became editor of The Islander, a prominent Conservative newspaper, that same year.) The government at this time was primarily occupied with the issue of absentee landlords. Pope's opinion was that property rights had to be respected, and that the imperial government was to blame for problems.

Pope also became involved in an attempt to reconcile differences between Protestants and Catholics that had arisen during the 1859 election. After several failed efforts, the matter was given up in favour of solidifying Protestant support of the Conservatives, resulting in a Conservative win in the 1863 general election. Pope won a seat as the member for Belfast, and remained in his post as colonial secretary. Early in his term, he introduced a bill to incorporate the Orange Lodge. He was also a member of the three-person commission created to examine the land question, and make recommendations to the imperial government.

Pope was one of the few P.E.I. supporters of colonial union. He attended both the Charlottetown and Québec Conferences, acting as honorary secretary in Québec City. His position, unfortunately, put him at odds with Edward Palmer, who opposed the idea and was actively trying to regain the premiership from Col. John Hamilton Gray (a union supporter). Although Palmer was successful in unseating Gray in December of 1864, Pope's defence of Gray prevented Palmer from taking the presidency of the Executive Council. It was a victory of great cost for Pope, however -- the resulting disarray of the Conservative party prevented it from forming the next government. Pope's brother, James C. Pope, formed an interim government, but he himself became increasingly isolated from the other members. Matters came to a head in 1866, when James passed a "No Terms" resolution against Confederation while William Henry Pope was away on a trade mission. He resigned his seat over the matter, and did not contest the 1867 election.

Even after resigning from the legislature, Pope continued to support Confederation, campaigning for it through letters and lectures, and rebuilding the Conservatives into a pro-union party. In the end, it was his advocacy of railway construction for P.E.I. that indirectly led to union. The resulting plans, which nearly bankrupted the colony, forced an election in 1872. Even though Edward Palmer and Robert Haythorne, who formed a coalition government, were against Confederation, financial woes forced them to begin negotiations with Ottawa. In an 1873 election, James Pope won on a promise to obtain "better terms" for entry into the Canadian union. It was his coalition that led the Island into Confederation that July.

William Pope remained as editor of The Islander until 1872. With the coming of Confederation, he was appointed Prince County Court judge. His term was extremely successful: only two of his decisions were appealed, and those two were upheld by other courts. In 1878, he did a revision and consolidation of the province's statutes (he had previously performed the task in 1861). He was preparing a history of P.E.I. at the time of his death, at St. Eleanor's, on P.E.I.

Sources

"Pope, William Henry". -- Macmillan dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Ed. W. Stewart Wallace. -- 4th ed. -- Toronto : Macmillan of Canada, 1978. -- P. 671-672.

Robertson, Ian Ross. -- "Pope, William Henry". -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Ed. James H. Marsh. -- 3rd print ed. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- P. 1862-1863.

Robertson, Ian Ross. -- "Pope, William Henry". -- Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Ed. Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1972. -- Vol. 10, p. 593-599.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

William Henry Pope

Photo : William Henry Pope

Source

William Henry Pope.

(29 mai 1825 - 7 octobre 1879)

William Henry Pope est un agent des terres et un avocat bien connu qui appuie l'idée de l'union. Il participe aux conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec. Après l'entrée de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard dans la Confédération, en 1873, il deviendra un juge respecté.

William Pope naît à Bedeque (Île-du-Prince-Édouard). Il est le fils aîné de Joseph Pope et de Lucy Colledge. Il fait ses études à l'Île d'abord, puis en Angleterre, étudiant le droit à l'Inner Temple avant de revenir les continuer auprès d'Edward Palmer, à Charlottetown. Il est reçu au barreau en 1847. En plus de pratiquer le droit, W. H. Pope est agent des terres. Grâce à ses relations familiales (son père est un marchand bien en vue), il se fait de nombreux clients importants et influents.

Après s'être engagé de plus en plus dans le Parti conservateur au cours des années 1850, W. H. Pope commence officiellement sa carrière politique en 1859. Bien qu'il ne soit pas élu à la législature cette année-là, il est nommé secrétaire colonial en vertu de la nouvelle politique de « nomination non sectorielle » du gouvernement, qui vise à combattre le favoritisme. (Il devient également rédacteur en chef de l'Islander, journal conservateur important, la même année.) Le gouvernement, à l'époque, est principalement préoccupé par la question des propriétaires terriens non résidents. Selon W. H. Pope, il faut respecter les droits de propriété et blâmer le gouvernement impérial dans cette affaire.

W. H. Pope participe également à la tentative de régler les différends entre protestants et catholiques qui se sont manifestés au cours des élections de 1859. Après plusieurs efforts inutiles, on abandonne l'idée au profit du renforcement de l'appui des protestants aux conservateurs, ce qui permet à ces derniers de gagner les élections générales de 1863. W. H. Pope est élu député de Belfast et garde son poste de secrétaire colonial. Au début de son mandat, il présente un projet de loi visant à constituer l'ordre d'Orange en société. Il est également membre de la commission, constituée de trois personnes, chargée examiner la question des terres et de formuler des recommandations au gouvernement impérial.

W. H. Pope est l'une des rares personnes de l'Île à soutenir l'union des colonies. Il participe aux conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec, et est secrétaire bénévole à Québec. Son poste, malheureusement, le met en conflit avec Edward Palmer, qui s'oppose à l'idée et essaie par tous les moyens de reprendre le poste de premier ministre du colonel John Hamilton Gray (en faveur de l'union). Bien qu'Edward Palmer réussisse à faire tomber J. H. Gray en décembre 1864, la protection que reçoit ce dernier de W. H. Pope empêche E. Palmer d'accéder à la présidence du Conseil exécutif. Mais cette victoire sera très coûteuse pour W. H. Pope, car la confusion qui s'ensuit au sein du Parti conservateur l'empêche de former le gouvernement suivant. Le frère de W. H. Pope, James C. Pope, forme un gouvernement provisoire, mais il est lui-même de plus en plus isolé des autres membres. Les choses en arrivent à un point critique, en 1866, lorsque James fait adopter la résolution dite « No Terms » (aucune condition) contre l'union, alors que William Henry est en mission commerciale. Celui-ci démissionne de son poste relativement à cette affaire, et il ne conteste pas les élections de 1867.

Même après avoir quitté la législature, W. H. Pope continue à soutenir l'union en faisant valoir les mérites de celle-ci par le biais de lettres et de conférences de même qu'en faisant du Parti conservateur un parti en faveur de la Confédération. C'est le fait qu'il préconise la construction d'un chemin de fer pour l'Île qui conduira, indirectement, à la Confédération. Les plans qui en découlent, et qui mènent la colonie au bord de la faillite, forcent la tenue d'élections en 1872. Même si Edward Palmer et Robert Haythorne, qui forment un gouvernement de coalition, s'opposent à la Confédération, des ennuis financiers les obligent à entamer des négociations avec Ottawa. À l'élection de 1873, James Pope remporte la victoire en promettant d'obtenir de « meilleures conditions » d'entrée dans la Confédération pour l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. C'est sa coalition qui fait entrer cette dernière dans la Confédération en juillet de la même année.

William Pope demeure rédacteur en chef du journal The Islander jusqu'en 1872. À l'avènement de la Confédération, il est nommé juge à la cour de Prince County. Son mandat est très réussi : deux de ses décisions seulement seront portées en appel et les deux seront maintenues par d'autres tribunaux. En 1878, il passe en revue et consolide les statuts de la province (travail qu'il avait fait précédemment, en 1861). Il est en train de préparer un récit historique sur l'Île lorsque la mort le surprend; elle survient à St. Eleanors (Île-du-Prince-Édouard).

Sources

« Pope, William Henry ». -- Macmillan dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Sous la direction de W. Stewart Wallace. -- 4e édition. -- Toronto : Macmillan of Canada, 1978. -- P. 671-672

Robertson, Ian Ross. -- « Pope, William Henry ». -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Sous la direction de James H. Marsh. -- 3e édition sur papier. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- P. 1862-1863

Robertson, Ian Ross. -- « Pope, William Henry ». -- Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Sous la direction de Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1972. -- Vol. 10, p. 593-599