Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Noël-Joseph Ritchot

(December 25, 1825 - March 16, 1905)

Noël-Joseph Ritchot was a Catholic priest and a missionary ordained in 1855. In 1862 he volunteered to work in the West under Monsignor Taché, Bishop of St. Boniface. In Manitoba, he was assigned to the predominantly Métis St. Norbert parish. He became a spokesperson for the Métis people during the Red River rebellion that led, in part, to the entry of Manitoba into Confederation.

Father Ritchot became involved in the Métis resistance from its beginning in 1869, receiving its leaders at his home, advising them and serving as their chaplain. Having support from a member of the Catholic clergy gave some legitimacy to the resistance movement.

After having distanced himself somewhat from the movement, Father Ritchot, along with Judge John Black and Alfred H. Scott, was named as a delegate to the Canadian government. If Judge Black was seen as the spokesman for the Anglophone population and Alfred H. Scott for that of the American element, Father Ritchot must be viewed as spokesman for the Métis population. On February 11, 1870, the delegation was charged with transmitting the fourth "list of rights" to John A. Macdonald and George-Étienne Cartier. Upon their arrival in Ottawa, Father Ritchot and Alfred H. Scott were imprisoned due to an accusation made by Thomas Scott's brother. They were released shortly thereafter.

Father Ritchot was, undoubtedly, the most able negotiator of the three delegates. Alfred H. Scott was practically ignored and Judge Black, although respected, aligned himself almost immediately on the side of the government. Father Ritchot tried to obtain from the Canadian government an amnesty for the insurgents. The governor general, Sir John Young, gave him only verbal assurance, while George-Étienne Cartier handed him only ambiguous notes. Ritchot would never receive a written confirmation. He nevertheless returned to the Red River colony on June 24, 1870, almost a month and a half after the Manitoba Act received Royal Assent, to convince the colonists of the validity of the agreement. This marked the end of his mission.

Father Ritchot felt betrayed by John A. Macdonald and George-Étienne Cartier when he understood that federal public servants would take several years to negotiate the land transfer and, especially, that the Métis rebels would never receive the amnesty that seemed to have been promised.

Reverend Father Ritchot dedicated the rest of his life to his fellow citizens and parishioners. In 1897, he was named as apostolic prothonotary, which was added to his responsibilities as vicar general. On his death, in 1905, he was dean of secular clergy in the St. Boniface diocese.

Sources

Manitoba : the birth of a province. -- Ed. W. L. Morton. -- [Winnipeg] : Manitoba Record Society, 1984. -- P. xix.

Mailhot, Philippe R. -- "Noël-Joseph Ritchot". -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- Vol. XIII. -- [Québec] : Presses de l'Université Laval, 1982. -- P. 952-953.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Noël-Joseph Ritchot

(25 décembre 1825 - 16 mars 1905)

Noël-Joseph Ritchot est prêtre et missionnaire catholique. Il est ordonné prêtre en 1855. En 1862, il se porte volontaire pour aller travailler dans l'Ouest, sous l'autorité de l'évêque de St. Boniface, Mgr Taché. Arrivé au Manitoba, il est affecté à la paroisse de St. Norbert, à prédominance métisse. Il est un des représentants des Métis lors de la rébellion de la rivière Rouge et les négociations menant à l'entrée du Manitoba dans la Confédération.

Dès les premiers mouvements de la résistance métisse en 1869, le révérend père Ritchot s'implique en recevant les dirigeants chez lui, en les conseillant et en leur servant d'aumônier. Le fait de recevoir le soutien d'un membre du clergé catholique donne à la résistance une légitimité certaine.

Après s'être effacé quelque peu du mouvement, le père Ritchot est nommé, avec le juge Black et Alfred H. Scott, délégué auprès du gouvernement canadien. Si le juge Black est le porte-parole de la population anglophone et Alfred H. Scott, celui de l'élément américain, le père Ritchot est celui de la population métisse. La délégation est chargée, le 11 février 1870, de transmettre la quatrième « liste des droits » à John A. Macdonald et à George-Étienne Cartier. Arrivé à Ottawa, le père Ritchot et Alfred H. Scott sont emprisonnés à la suite d'une accusation du frère de Thomas Scott. Ils sont relâchés peu de temps après.

Le père Ritchot est sans contredit le plus habile négociateur des trois délégués. Alfred H. Scott est presque ignoré, et le juge Black, bien que fort respecté, se range, presque initialement, du côté du gouvernement. Le père Ritchot tente également d'obtenir du gouvernement canadien une amnistie pour les insurgés. Le gouverneur général, sir John Young, le rassure de vive voix, tandis que George-Étienne Cartier ne lui remet que des notes ambiguës. Jamais on ne lui donnera de confirmation écrite. Le père Ritchot retourne tout de même à la colonie de la rivière Rouge le 24 juin 1870, près d'un mois et demi après que l'Acte du Manitoba ait reçu la sanction royale, afin de convaincre les colons de la validité de l'entente intervenue. Ce sera mission accomplie.

Le père Ritchot s'est senti trahi par John A. Macdonald et George-Étienne Cartier lorsqu'il a compris que les fonctionnaires fédéraux prendraient plusieurs années à négocier le transfert des terres, et surtout que les rebelles métis ne recevraient jamais l'amnistie pourtant promise.

Le révérend père Ritchot vouera le reste de sa vie à ses concitoyens et paroissiens. En 1897, il est nommé protonotaire apostolique, ce qui s'ajoute à ses responsabilités de vicaire général. À son décès, en 1905, il était le doyen du clergé séculier du diocèse de St. Boniface.

Sources

Manitoba : the birth of a province. -- Sous la direction de W. L. Morton. -- [Winnipeg] : Manitoba Record Society, 1984. -- P. xix

Mailhot, Philippe R. -- « Noël-Joseph Ritchot ». -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- Vol. XIII. -- [Québec] : Presses de l'Université Laval, 1982. -- P. 952-953